Dahlonega, GA 
Yahoola Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: Burritotoes Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Target



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Yahoola

1    8/4/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Yahoola disc golf course is set in a nice multi-use park in Dahlonega, GA. It's a somewhat scenic area set in a valley of the GA Mountains. You'll find yourself playing through several different areas in the park making for some decent variety. While maybe lacking in big distance shots, the reconciliation is the fun short holes. Several holes bring the nice sized creek into play and incorporate some other natural features into the layout as well. You'll find a pretty balanced shot type throughout the course too.

While only having nine Innova DISCatchers at the moment, the other 9 homemade targets aren't so bad. They're 4x4's with yellow painted tops with some recently added yellow plastic chains that help widen the target area. While they may not be ideal, they do the job nicely. Tee signs help you spot the next tee with the help of scattered next tee indicators pointing the way. There's plenty of parking, clean restrooms and water fountains.

The course is very family friendly or good for newer players to learn. It's a very easy course but there's enough trouble here and there to keep experienced players on their toes but not so difficult to be frustrating for newer players. In that respect the course is perfect for the type of park that it's located in given the other family activities.
Cons: I found the layout to be lacking in several aspects including but not limited to safety, flow, and hole design quality. Several holes are very congested with other park infrastructures, park users, and perhaps the most disappointing, other golf holes. Holes play through walking trails, over park roads, picnic areas, near play grounds, ball fields, and even over the river full of families swimming and sunning. There are also a couple of times where I feel like the targets are too close to tee pads. The most pronounced is the target for three which is basically right in front of four's pad. Other times pads are just too close to the baskets.

The concrete tee pad enthusiasts may also be disappointed at what even some natural tee pad tolerant folks might consider "rough". A few are unleveled/on a slight slope or are really narrow.

Of course the 4x4 targets aren't as desirable as actual baskets but I was thankful for the nine real baskets that were there.
Other Thoughts: While certainly not a destination course. It is quite sufficient for the local players or for a quick round if you're passing through. It would appear that, as in a lot of cases, this course is probably designed and installed by volunteer disc golf players. So for that we are all grateful. I think some more tweaking of the course and continued improvements are probably forthcoming based on the two times I've been here about 6 months apart and noticed subtle improvements. I noticed a new bridge or two, the chains on the posts, and maybe some new next tee signs.

As I mentioned previously and was noted in other reviews, the course is crowded during peak times with other parks users. This creates a safety issue and could potentially cause lots of problems should someone get injured by a disc. Unfortunately this is one of those things that will not improve with time but rather will likely get worse as the park gets more popular. It makes me wonder if there are other areas in the park more suited for golf holes. Be careful out there!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Go early or don't go at all

1    4/23/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: KrayzeeD
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most parts of this course are beautiful.
-Some well layed out holes.
-In the mountains, so most of the weather will be very nice other than the coldest parts of winter.
-The park appears to stay very well kept.
-Restrooms.
Cons: -With any foot traffic, your game will be hindered. With a lot, you may not even play.
-No signage other than some (sometimes) difficult to follow "Next Tee" signs and infoless tee markers.
-Basically all par 2s, maybe a couple par 3s, definitely no par 4s.
-Some pins are currently marked posts instead of baskets. I'm sure this will change before too long, so I'm not letting it effect the rating for now.
-The beautiful main creek that runs through the park can also be the end of your disc with a bad shot.
Other Thoughts: Let me say this first and foremost - don't even bother going to this course on a Summer weekend with nice weather. You will maybe be able to play 10 of the 18 holes, and will probably have to wait on foot traffic even then.

As other reviewers have said, most of this course utilizes grounds of the park that are the main traffic areas of the park. Walking paths, picnic benches, roads, etc. all ineract with basically every hole here. #1 throws over a walking trail, #2 throws over a walking trail, #3 same, #4 throws over a concrete walking path and a field I assume is used for recreational purposes on busy days - and so on and so on. Seriously, #6 throws over a walking path, 2 picnic benches, and the pin is about 10 feet or so from the playground fence and the restroom building is about 20 feet to the right from there.

We played on a Tuesday morning in April and the park wasn't really busy at all - yet there were still 3 or 4 instances we had to wait for walkers/joggers to pass. I cant even imagine what it would be like on a Saturday afternoon.

The creek is beautiful and after a good rain is full and fast and loud. This also poses a bit of a problem - in these conditions, if you put a disc in there even 4 or 5 feet from the shore, you might not get it back unless you go swimming. The current is very strong and at the points where you're throwing over it, it is very deep in the middle (at these parts, it's also about 30 feet across). Fortunately you only have to throw across it twice, but you're alongside it another 3. There are other smaller creeks throughout the course that will pose no serious problem as far as disc loss goes.

Most of the shots here favor any type of throw, there's only a couple that would hinder a forehand or backhand. As I said before, every hole is pretty much a par 2, though no official pars are printed. I cant see any reason all but one or two of them should be a par 3 and definitely none worthy of a par 4. There's not a huge amount of challenge here. In fact, there are, if I remember correctly, 4 or 5 holes that are litterally just shooting across open field (again, assuming there's not family's playing and picnicing on them).

All in all, if you can get to this course on a weekday, probably early in the morning, you can definitely have a good experience here. If you get there and see a lot of cars in the parking lot, you will be in for a rough round and possibly not be able to play much at all. #6 will definitely be unplayable with even mediocre traffic.

Also, to note - when you go in, park in the lot up the hill and to the right of the wooden bridge (main entrance). The path from this lot will take you down into a garden area and #1 tee is just beyond that and on your left. #18 basket is just to the left of this path before the garden.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Gem

1    12/27/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * beautiful area makes for a picturesque course!!
* most holes are well thought out and present challenging but doable shots!
* The makers of the course are very active, play often, and are continously improving.
* Layout is not hard to follow and is very logical.
* good variety of long and short, hyzer and anhyzer. You will use all the shots you have!
Cons: * no signs on the tees. Yardages are best guess. A few have some yardages inked on the tee post, and its not that hard to pick your disc. I'm sure this is part of a future upgrade.
* tees are marked but no actual pads.
* nine of the eighteen holes use targets rather than baskets.
Other Thoughts: I loved playing this course! Its in a beautiful setting and its obvious that the architects took their time with the layout. You start out with some gorgeous, tight wooded holes, play along side a small creek and then come to some beautiful, but scary holes. Depending on rainfall, Yahoola creek can be clear or fast and muddy. I came after rainfall and the creak was swollen and dark. Well, several holes play right beside or over the creek. And, let me tell you, they're wonderful holes. I could really appreciate the though that went into the course layout. Finally the last few holes skirt a montain and forest edge for some interesting shots, before ending by the creak again. It was a wonderful course with something for everyone. I met the designers when I played, and they explained that they are taking sponsorships for the final nine baskets. This is a super layout which could easily get 3.5 to 4 stars. And once the pads, signs and final baskets are in, I'm sure it will. Even without, its a course that I would love to play again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Yahoola Park

1    10/27/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great park in the beautiful foothills of north Georgia at the southern edge of the Chattahoochie National Forest. 18-hole course plays through various areas of the park including woods, trails, open areas, and along/across the clear running waters of Yahoola Creek. There are nine DisCatcher baskets and nine targets made of 4x4 posts painted yellow at basket height. Not sure why, but I really enjoyed the change of pace brought about by throwing at a target instead of a basket. There is lots of water in play; even the holes away from the creek have smaller ditches with running water in them--be sure to keep an eye out for these as most are not visible from the tee pad. Holes 6-7-8-9-10-11 play along and across the creek and are the signature holes of the course. The creek has swift running water but is clear, so a wet disc is not too difficult to retrieve. I played the course with my kids and they both successfully crossed the creek with their drives on 7 & 9--should have seen their faces! The layout is easy to follow but only if you take a look at the map posted on this website beforehand. Navigation would have been tricky without doing so. The tee pads are marked with the same 4x4 posts that are used for the targets, and every basket had a very helpful "next tee" sign.
Cons: There is a lot of congestion with other park activities making several holes unplayable. Many holes play along/across walkways, some play through picnic areas, and four holes (2-3-16-17) use the walking trail through the woods as their fairway. This is dangerous and requires a spotter to insure there is nobody blindly coming towards you when you throw! We were unable to play holes 14-15 because they play across the busy soccer field parking lot. My favorite hole of the course (8) plays along the bank of Yahoola Creek but has a picnic table mid fairway. Fortunately it was empty when we played but as we were leaving there was a family situated there. The tee pads are natural with white landscape timbers along the sides. Most tee pads are flat and in good condition, but there are a few that were narrow, sloped and slippery. Several tee pads have sharp drop-offs at the front edge that required starting run-ups well behind the actual pad. There is a long walk from the parking area to the first tee, and you really have to know where its located (using the online map) before you get to the park if you hope to find it. There are also long walks between several holes, especially from 11-12. You have to backtrack down the fairways of 2, 7 and 15 to reach the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course but the congestion and layout led to a very frustrating round. As it turns out, we were actually pretty lucky to play a few holes when we did before other park users showed up. It feels like the course is wedged into existing areas of the park that were designed for uses other than a disc golf course. Atlanta area disc golfers will be reminded of the congestion that caused the same problems at Wills Park prior to the 2010 rebuild. There appears to be a lot of unused land in the park that can be taken advantage of. Regardless of the issues, I am thankful that some folks put in a lot of effort to bring another disc golf course to the north Georgia area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.