Bowling Green, KY 
Natcher Elementary Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
-- / 110ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well…it’s not exactly “Seven of Nine”…

2-4    4/10/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though not mentioned often amongst the nicer courses in Bowling Green, Kentucky, Natcher is an elementary school nine (seven) holer which utilizes a younger grove of planted trees to define a few nice lines to its DGA baskets. It's a decent course for playing safari or practicing your approach game, when no one else is out there in the area.

The first picture here on DGCR has the course map pictured on a sign you'd walk by as you pass the ball field. I honestly couldn't tell you if the sign is still there (I had printed that for my use before I arrived)

With designated hole distances ranging from 110 to 270 feet, it's a course designed for kids, casuals, and maybe Rec players. There's plenty of parking (after school hours, of course), it's easy to get to, and poses a decent place to introduce newcomers to the sport so beloved in this town.
Cons: There are no tee signs, and if there were once ground markers, I couldn't find them. I used a map that was on here to approximate the intended holes. The grass hadn't gotten its first spring cutting yet.

After an opening shot from the left side of the entry path to the right, the course plays mostly inside an oval/rectangular jogging path that now has more attention paid to the par course equipment. It does attract exercisers, so if you go there to throw, you'll need to use caution for other park users.

The baskets for holes five and seven (in the open middle of the area) have been removed. The remaining baskets are starting to get a little rusty.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Natcher is NOT a destination course, but if you're driving into town for BG Ams like I was, from several hours away, after work, it's OK for a stretch and tune up before dark.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Looks like it used to be nice

1    9/19/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: Fluxell
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best I can say is that it's not a horrible walk.
Cons: Most of the holes have no tee marker. A few of the baskets appear to be missing. The grass was pretty long. The map for the course is no longer there and it's not straight forward to find the next hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Searching for tees

1    5/22/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 9 hole course is set on a beautiful and generous piece of land behind an elementary school. The land is very grassy and dotted with several mature trees and just screams "put disc golf course here". There is plenty of parking at the back of the school. Look for the kiosk that has a full color course map. The baskets are older but in playable shape, and they are easy to spot as the land is flat.
Cons: The biggest con for this course is the tees, specifically not being able to find them! They are natural, and are marked by small, flat, stone markers in the ground that are flush with the ground. They are beginning to be covered by soil and the grass around them was pretty tall and thick making them nearly impossible to find. Holes 1 and 2 did have worn dirt spots so you could spot them easier, but the others were almost like finding a needle in a haystack. My group of 4 diligently searched for each one but only managed to find tees for 5 holes and we just made up the rest. Considering there are supposed to be 2 tees per hole (which should increase the odds of finding at least 1 tee for the hole) this tee design is just too frustrating to have to spend more time searching for the tee than the time it takes to play the hole. You either have to know exactly where they are via a guide or previous experience or have the GPS coordinates for each tee!
Other Thoughts: The course map shows 2 sets of tees for each hole and numbers them as 18 holes (1=10, 2=11, etc.). There is a playground and a fitness course in the middle of the area, but the course plays around the perimeter so these can co-exist without too much interference.

This could be a really nice course, but I feel a course has to have baskets AND tees to be considered a course. (This one might as well not have tees since you can't find them anyways.) Which is really too bad because the land is perfect for a decent 9 hole course. Bowling Green has so many good courses, so leave this one for the school kids to learn the game and practice on.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good elementary course

1    5/30/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a field on the property of an elementary school. There are scattered small trees throughout the course, so that there are only a couple that are completely open. Though the space is small, none of the holes cross one another, and they have good flow through the course. There is a great course sign like all the Bowling Green courses have, and it makes a huge difference in finding your way around here. There are two tees for each hole, and lots of opportunity for safari golf.

The course is the perfect length and challenge level for an elementary course, and lends itself very well to new young players learning the game.
Cons: The navigation here is definitely the biggest issue. Most of the tee markers are either flush to the ground and overgrown with grass, or hidden under trees making it very difficult to find the next tee. Without the course map at the beginning we would have had little chance at finding the tees, but even so we had to make some up by guesstimating based on the map.

As with other school courses, this course has very little to offer in terms of challenge or variety. Most of the shots are short and straight, with only a few with trees that really affect a run at the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course does a great job of what it's designed for, and as an elementary school course I would rate it highly. Compared to other disc golf courses though, this one just doesn't really stack up.

It's a perfect place for kids and new players to learn the game, though it would be much better with some sort of tee markers. More experienced players won't find anything to challenge them here, it's an easy ace run course where you won't need anything but a putter and maybe a mid.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sad condition.

1    10/17/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout of the course may have been good at one time. It should be a good beginner course.
Cons: On the day we played it had not been mowed in weeks. There are no tee markers other than some cement in ground markers that were impossible to find. We spent most of our time looking for the tee markers. They should do some above ground markers.
Other Thoughts: This should have been a pleasant practice course but the frustration over finding markers ruined the round.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Natcher DGC is a decent little 9-hole course great for beginners. I really like that this course is located at an elementary school, which will be great to teach the younger kids about the sport, very cool. There is a course map located near the entrance, this is standard for all Bowling Green courses, and a nice feature (if you have a camera, I would advise taking a pic of the sign, it will be your best source for locating tees). The courses uses Mach 2 basket that are in good shape (except No2, has some rust and signs of wear), and natural tee areas, 2 tees per hole. There is one visible tee sign on a pole, that is at hole 1. The remaining holes use tee markers that are either small wood signs leaning against a tree, or concrete markers that are flush with the top of the ground, or both. Some holes have a concrete marker in the ground at the basket pointing toward the next tee. General course design is decent. The course is installed in a flat, open field with several mature trees spread throughout the area. There was no underbrush or anything like that to speak of, so other than throwing a disc in a cedar tree, not many places to lose a disc. No benches or trash cans on the course. All holes very short, so for any experienced player, this is going to be a pitch-n-putt course.
Cons: Tee signs/markers are my biggest complaint about the course. If I had not had the picture of the course map on my camera, I would not have been able to find some of the tees. The course map is semi-accurate, but not 100%, so it did help some, but still had trouble locating tees for 5, 6, & 8. As stated, most signs/markers are concrete markers set flush with the ground, so they are very difficult to see. Not much variety in the holes, pretty straight forward mid-range/putter shots all the way through with minimal challenge for any experienced player.
Other Thoughts: Given that this course is installed on grounds at an elementary school, I'm going to assume the design intent was for the kids. With that in mind, I'd say it is a perfect place for them to learn about disc golf. The course needs some updated signage and markers, other than that, a decent little 9-hole course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Additonal Tees and a New Map

2-4    2/14/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Natcher Elementary DGC is a short, charming course that has recently been upgraded to an 18 hole course that uses only nine baskets. Tees #1 and #10 share a basket, #2 and #11 share a basket, and so on. A new course map at the entrance to the course shows the locations of these new tees. All tees for this course are natural.
Cons: Because all the tees are natural and most tee markers are level with the ground, tee locations are a little hard to find. It may save time and frustration to make a quick sketch of the map before playing the course for the first time. Vandalism has been a problem for baskets #1 and #2. Recently, basket #2 went missing and was replaced. During my last visit, I found basket #1 sideways on the ground.
Other Thoughts: Since many of its fairways span less than 200ft, Natcher Elementary DGC provides an environment for beginning players to work on accuracy, throw around trees, and deal with the wind. The course is mostly open with some small trees to navigate around. Beginners will also appreciate the lack of places to lose discs except for the fence behind hole #1. For the experienced disc golfer, many holes could be considered par 2's. Overall, the course can be enjoyable if you know where to look for the next tee

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just bring a putter

1    11/29/2006   11/29/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is obviously a course where kids can get the chance to be exposed to disc golf, and that is really cool!

There were a couple interesting shots, where the fairway was clearly defined by rows of trees. Even though the course does not have much distance, it makes good use of the trees.
Cons: Don't come here expecting a challenging course. It is fairly easy, but is great for people new to the sport.
Other Thoughts: This course can be fun if you know what to expect and go there to work on your mid-range/approach shots.

Many of the trees on this course are still young, and as they mature this course will be much better. It is great that the local BG club was able to get this course installed at the elementary school.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Small 9 errr... I mean 8 hole course

7/25/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun little course where you can work on your short game. Several tricky holes that require a lazer straight, low throw or a pin-point thumber. Typically not very crowded.
Cons: Some jerk stole the basket on #2(this is a real problem in BG). The tees are poorly marked and the grass is often not mown. Difficult to find if you are not familiar with the area. It's located directly behind an elementary school.
Other Thoughts: I will sometimes play this course when all I want to do is relax and work on my putting/approaching. You can leave the drivers at home.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

11/17/2007   2/7/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: lots of ace runs
Cons: no signs, no tee pads, hard to follow
Other Thoughts: A short pitch and putt nine hole course.. Fun if you are desperate. One basket was missing when I played there last.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.