Disc Golf Store
Ridgedale, MO 
Branson Cedars Resort Treehouz DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiSCRoCKeR Hole #17 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 275ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
very nice

1    10/25/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: cheese dog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: many holes that make you take a minute to stop and admire the beautiful property. nice fairways,pads, and baskets, turf greens with a basket stuck on them.
Cons: very little signage, most the laminated paper signs are gone. basket location, I kept thinking that some of the holes could have better basket locations,
Other Thoughts: overall this is the best course I have played to date. but a course of this high caliber has to have permanent signage. In my opinion some of the hole could benefit from new basket locations.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Review

2-4    10/21/2014   10/22/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a picturesque course with wonderful vistas.

There is a great diversity of shots: Huge bombs, Water Shots, Elevation, a few short technical shots.

It's very well-maintained
Cons: It had a bit of damage to one tee sign. The tee signs are oddly designed but you can glean the appropriate information you need from them if you take a little time.

The only real con is that I wish the course was 27 holes.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely worth the trip to the course. There are rumors about the course's existence but there doesn't seem to be any interest in pulling it at the moment. Still, I would play it before they start to think about it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My wife and adult daughter liked this course a lot and they're not avid disc golfers. That alone makes this a great course because my family will go back.

Hole lengths were just right. Good mix of shorter and longer holes mixed up the game.

Terrain changes are great on this course. Plenty of ups and downs to make it interesting. We particularly liked the holes where the tee was high up with the basket a good distance off which made for nice, long drives that hung in the air a long time. Hole 6 was a really nice shot due to this aspect. Holes 2 and 19 were also nice for this type of shot.

Good mix of drives on the old golf fairways and new wooded fairways. The wooded fairways got us out of the sun which is much of the reason I prefer DG over ball golf.

Thanks to the designer for putting disc retriever poles next to the two water obstacles!!!! I can't say this enough because too few DG players bring a disc retriever with them. My wife and daughter used these on hole 4 to retrieve their floating Innova Dragons.

For a private course, the $5 fee was minimal. One spends more on a burger than that.

Friendly staff. Even the grounds keeper talked to us and was friendly.

Conveniently part of the cabin/treehouse rentals so access for someone staying in the cabins is great.
Cons: I don't live close enough to this course
Other Thoughts: I suggested to the desk clerk they rent out floating discs and tell players about them. She appreciated the suggestion as she had not heard of floating discs. While we approached hole 3, we encountered two guys attempting to retrieve non-floating discs from the pond. They lost their disc.

Much of the old golf course was unused so this could easily handle another 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What a course!

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: BadKArma
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Can't say any more than what has already been stated. I used to play this course when it was a Ball Golf course. Brought back a lot of memories while I was playing. Great use of elevated pads and loved the doglegs.
Cons: Back in the day this course was named "Oakmont", but we called it "Rockmont", and for good reason. Several of the holes, 9 in particular, are very very rocky and can chew up discs. but that's my only con.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. And since I'm a local, I'm making this my home course. ;)

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A lot of fun on old golf course

1    3/21/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good tees (concrete)
- Good signs
- Astroturf greens (golf holes only, cuts down on erosion)
- Good balance of shots
- Interesting terrain
- Pro shop on site
- Double loop of 9's
Cons: - Could use another set of tees to appeal to different skill levels.
Other Thoughts: A fully-stocked pro shop greets you as you pull up to the course. As of this reviewer's visit, the green fee was $5 for the day. You are given a map of the course, which will come in handy on a few holes where the next tee is not apparent from the previous basket. A short walk takes you past the namesake of the course, a house that's built on a pedestal and looks like a tree house.

The course is built on a former ball golf course (fun fact: I played it as a golf course soon after it opened 20+ years ago) and plays several of the fairways to baskets that are mounted into the old greens, which are covered in artificial turf. Only about half of the holes are like this, most of the multi-shot holes, to be sure. There are several technical holes carved into the woods bordering the old course. A couple of ponds increase the penalty on several holes.

There is only one set of concrete tees, which are set at a "blue" level of difficulty. The course features a good balance of open big-drive holes and tight, finesse holes to test all aspects of the game. Being in southern Missouri, there is plenty of elevation available and the course does a good job of utilizing it in a fun way.

I always appreciate when an 18 hole course, in particular, a long course, brings you back to the parking lot mid-way through the round to restock on beverages or replacing lost discs and this course does that after 9 holes.

#18 finishes a ways from the parking lot, so there is a longish walk back to the car, but there is an unofficial 19th hole that finishes at the old #9 of the golf course (no basket).


13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    12/27/2012   3/3/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a private resort, which has some seasonal homes and whatnot. Seeing how it is private and pay-to-play, there shouldn't be any chance for any interference. All other activities are well separated as well. Holes are split pretty even between open, ball golf terrain, and some pretty dense woods.
- Holes out in the open provide many opportunities to unleash the beast - very long holes with wide fairways, sloping both way down and slightly up. A good amount of par 4 holes; #6 is a long, downhill hyzer off the tee that jogs right at the bottom. #10 is a healthy 500', slight uphill, and #11 is 600' with a nasty slope all along the right side. #2 and #18 are both pretty deep downhill-sloped valleys; coming up short means a steep upshot to the green.
- Water comes into play in a few spots out here, throwing a RHFH shot on #3 goes directly over a pond, #4 also has water on the left, #6 has the pond to the left of the green, and #7's tee shot has to clear a small pond. Definitely in play on these holes, with drop zones for any shots that get wet.
- A handful of holes have many more trees to contend with, not necessarily in the woods but with obvious lines to hit. #5 has a left-sloping fairway with the basket up and on the right, the best line is a hyzer or RHFH flex shot, and #8 and #9 are uphill hyzers.
- Rest of the course is situated in very dense woods with very dense rough. Tunnel shots galore back here; accuracy is an absolute must. Pretty even mix of left and right fairways, #12 and #14 are RHFH friendly, while #13 is straight, and #15 and #17 have a hyzer finish at the end. Very different from the rest of the course.
- As mentioned before; lots of elevation changes present here. Not only the ups and downs of the fairways, but also on the sides of the holes with big rollaway punishment. #1, #11, and #16 all have big slopes on the right side that will swallow errant shots. Some sloped greens as well, on top of tree-protected greens.
- Good teepads, baskets, and laminated tee signs. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, like getting from #7 to #8, so checking the map is a good idea.
Cons: - Holes out in the open are really out in the open... those that play on the old ball golf course have zero trees in the fairways; only on the sides. About 1/3-1/2 of the holes fall into this category, so it is pretty significant.
Other Thoughts: - Not many cons at this course - excellent mix of wooded and open holes, big time elevation changes in spots, extreme bombers and technical lines in the woods. The turf greens are a good touch on the old golf greens, and the water adds a lot of character. Very good course for intermediate or expert players, beginners might be overwhelmed.
- Basket #19 is pending, to my understanding, but the hole is playable. Sounds like it will inevitably be installed.
- The Journey Post is on site here too!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a must play if in Branson

2-4    12/30/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like to be able to grip and rip this is a great course. Holes 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 16, 18, 19 (if there were a basket) have very open drives that allow you to really show off your arm. I especially liked hole 2, my 400 ft max distance arm on flat ground could get pretty much get to the pin.

The woods holes were well layed out and not super long, mostly putters or Rocs for me.

The astro turf greens were a nice change. Overall, I didn't think the greens were very difficult. I really only felt a big "Water Work" type pucker when putting on hole 5, but even there the ground was fairly rough and may have prevented a big roll away. As much elevation as the course has, I am sure some alternate pins could be placed in some tougher spots.

There were nice benches at probably half the holes that were flat and placed in a good spot to allow me to take some good video with my iPhone. Not a big plus, but I haven't had that opportunity before.

Course was well maintained and liked the use of the old ball golf fairways.
Cons: These are fairly insignificant compared to all of the pros the course offers.

Pro shop was closed, but it is a holiday and the time of year where there are a lot of stores closed in Branson, so not a big dissapointment there, but I did wish I was able to get a disc from the Journey Post.

The shortest walk from 7 to 8 cuts right across 2. Would be a pretty good walk around 2's green if a tourney was going on.

No basket on 19.

One tee and one basket setting on each hole. There were some AM tee pads spray painted on the grass in a few spots. Would like to see shorter pads on a lot of the holes to allow my kids and older parents to be able to enjoy the course.
Other Thoughts: On a few of the holes, 6 and 10, that I remember, there were some OB's marked on the map that really tightened up the fairway. I could see on several of the other holes great opportunities for mandos and OBs that could make this course a beast for tournament play.

I haven't played a lot of other ball golf courses that are now disc courses, but I would say this is a better layout than those used at the Glass Blown last year and I thought both of those were good courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.