Denver, CO 
Green Valley Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: hirsch449 Hole #3 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than I expected!

2-4    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained baskets

-Good use of the land provided, with various distances on the holes allowing you to air put big bombs as well as focusing on technical ace runs

-Most of the course is in a gorgeous park, with lush green fairways and good views of the mountains in the distance

-Good use of natural vegetation on the first eleven holes, providing additional challenge that can take a birdie to a bogey if not played well

-Plenty of maps at the first tee, provided for free by BAD CO who put in a ton of work at this course

-Two great playgrounds on site, as well as a fitness track and tennis courts so non - golfer family can stay busy while you play a round
Cons: -The teepads! "The horror! The horror!" By far the worst part of this course, they are super tiny and dirt. As in two feet by four feet. When it gets wet (as it was when I played the Denver Classic here) they are mud puddles.

-All of the holes are next to the sidewalk at some point, and people have no idea what the "Frisbee game" is. I can see a kid getting drilled and this course being pulled.

-Tons of criss - crossing fairways. The holes are lengthy enough that during casual play it's probably not an issue, but for the tournament it was a nightmare.

-the final 8 holes run through a weedy ditch. Very bland finish to an otherwise decent park course.
Other Thoughts: After reading the reviews, I thought this course would be another bland park course, but I was pleasantly surprised. I had a ton of fun playing this course. I highly rec com end it if you are in the area.

Far from a destination course, but worth a play if you are close.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Fun

1    8/11/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A large portion of this course takes place in a very nice and well maintained park. There are many other activities to be done in the park including tennis and basketball as well as a very nice looking playground. The course is rather friendly to beginning players while still providing some challenge for more experienced players. There are a variety of shots possible for this course. Just about every piece of possible vegetation is used effectively in this course. Tee boxes were consistent and each tee box had a simple sign on it. There were maps and scorecards available near tee 1. Baskets were all in very good condition
Cons: Tee boxes were gravel and very small. There were no signs sticking up to help with navigation. Some tees were very tough to find even with a map. The course plays through areas of the park where other traffic will come into play. There are a few holes on the back side of this course that play through a flood plane and could be nearly unplayable after a good rain. I was honestly a little scarred playing this course by myself as I as a single white male did not fit into the diverse population that surrounds this park. Most holes are straight forward and there is very little challenge to this course. Even when you play sidewalks as out of bounds the course is all too simple, but there is honestly not much to work with.
Other Thoughts: On the plus side it was very nice to have maps available at the first tee. I am not sure that I would have found the first tee without looking at the map to begin with. When you park in the lot that you get directions to the first tee is near the sidewalk by the road at the very entrance to the parking lot. Tee 1 and Tee 18 are very close to each other. The other way to find Tee 1 is to find where the nice maintained park meets the flood plane right by the parking lot entrance. Be very careful that you know where you are throwing and that there are no other park users in the way or nearby. I nearly hit a couple because I could not see them sitting on the ground next to the basket, even though I could see the basket. I had a surprisingly fun time playing this course and would recommend it as a place to go and learn to play the game if you feel comfortable in the neighborhood. Perhaps going in a group would be best.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, but can be dicey

5+    7/31/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: Variety of length, some challenging pin placements among trees and bushes, especially on shorter holes, layout is fairly easy to follow, back half (if dry) is great for times when the park section is crowded. Fairly family and novice friendly, but those players should stay on the front half and not go into the flood plane.
Cons: "Swamp" section back half can be bad with mud, water, foliage and mosquitos. I wear gore-tex shoes and gaters which help from destroying my socks. Pay attention to rain over the past week and watch your step. Minimal elevation change. Late summer and fall the park is swamped with football practices and jerk parents that always sit near the cages and give you crap if you ask them to move. The Port-a-Pottie is back in, in between 5 and 6, but it is periodically removed and it takes forever to get put back.
Other Thoughts: I play this course regularly, being close to my home. It plays well and is great for quick rounds and having fun shooting for aces. But, GVR missed an opportunity to build an exceptional course in a few different locations in the neighborhood. Not sure why this spot was ultimately chosen, being the busier of the community parks and next the school. Rumors circulating about a second course being added, but just rumors at this point.

Bring some clean socks

1    7/9/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: JesseA303
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long holes. Some short holes. Was a typical park course.
Cons: Stickers in socks like no other when you hit the wetlands area. A little difficult to navigate for the first time. A couple of the holes crossed paths.
Other Thoughts: Some concrete pads would be nice, if not, the current dirt pads could use a little cleanup.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good as park courses go.

2-4    11/10/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 133  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Half the holes play over a decently kept grassy area. About half the holes, especially the first 9 have enough trees along the fairways to force you to choose a line to hit. The back 9 makes the most of the brush basin it's located in by including obstacles also when available. This prevents "Zone Out" disc golf where you just chuck as hard as you can in the approximate direction. The mando on #2 tennis court shot is a harsh right dogleg which I found refreshing and unique despite how it has seemed to annoy some.
Cons: The tee pads are more like run ups to a speed bump. They were eroding fairly bad right at the metal edge used to define them.

If you're playing as school let's out get ready for some relaxing as you wait for the kiddies to zig zag their way home.
Other Thoughts: When I heard about this course I got on the satellite map websites and scoped out the property. After seeing the pictures I thought to myself "Great, 18 baskets in an empty field". But out of curiosity I headed over anyway and was pleasantly surprised. There's a good mix of short technical, and open holes to keep it interesting. If I play it again I will probably avoid using the tee-pads all together and just run up on the grass. I've played other courses by this designer and I'm sure the poor t-pads were more of a victim of budget concerns than poor planning. Overall I would bump my rating to 2.75 inbetween Decent/Typical and Good. I felt this place really did a good job of making the most of what it had to work with and is worth a stop if in the area. On a side note I found the restaurants at the I-70 exit to be an interesting mix of families that have left the innercity to try out the suburbia thing with ranch hand/cowboy/farmer types sneaking into town from out on the plains for supplies. If you see a fox roaming about take a minute to enjoy the wildlife show. Also if you have to run out to the airport to pick someone up it could make the trip less boring and worth the burned up gas money.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly fun course for Frequent Fliers

2-4    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun layout
- Good, double-chain baskets
- Some tree obstacles
- Maps and scorecards/rules provided by tee #1
- Not too crowded
Cons: - Gravel tees, a bit short
- Some tees too close to road
- Map absolutely necessary first 1-2 rounds
- Some hole repetition
- Tough to find tees at first, as the tee numbers are bolted face-up to the railroad ties by the tees
- May have conflicts with other park patrons/activities
Other Thoughts: Even though this course is fairly remote for me to visit on regular basis, I wanted to check it out as this course was just recently added to DGCR. From the few photos posted and the satellite view I wasn't expecting much, especially since this area is a part of planned development close to DIA.
However, after finally making it out to the course, I was pleasantly surprised how much fun I had playing here.
The map provided online (and also available at tee #1) is very accurate, but the few instances of criss-crossing fairways make the layout a bit confusing at first, and map consultation is a must. The scoresheet that is also present at tee #1 spells out rules and regulations for the course, as well as some tips regarding a few holes, namely 2, 8, 10-11, and 18.
I was surprised to read the hole 2 shot over the tennis courts is forbidden (makes getting a birdie tough, as this hole is a big dog-leg to the right around the tennis courts), as I was looking forward to making exactly that kind of shot.
On hole 8, the mando is to stay to the right of the concrete drain.
On holes 10 and 11, the field is used for Cricket apparently sometimes, so landing on the field of play when a game is on is considered OOB.
Finally, hole 18 mando is to go through the first set of pine trees in front of the tee, with parking and streets OOB.
With all that said, while the difficulty of the course is not that great, it is definitely fun to play. Many baskets are placed in a group of trees, some tee shots have close-by tree obstacles, and there are some slight elevation changes, especially on the back 9 holes.
Other than the cricket field, the layout keeps the distance from the playground and basketball court.
I was not too happy with the relative shortness of the tees, as well as the proximity of some tees to the streets (4, 9, 13, 14). The gravel tees will get eroded over even a short amount of time, it would be great if they could be made more permanent once their placement is possibly improved.
There are a few wide open holes with no obstacles, and some holes look very similar, especially on the back 9.
The hole lengths are pretty fair overall, with plenty of opportunities for longer drives, as well as birdie opportunities on well-placed shorter hole shots.
Not too sure how busy the park gets (it wasn't too crowded on a very nice Saturday in November), but avoiding other park patrons may become an issue sometimes.
I would possibly rate this course 0.5 disc higher if the tee issues were resolved, but I still like the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.