Denver, CO 
Green Valley Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #2 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 287ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Better than I expected!

2-4    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained baskets

-Good use of the land provided, with various distances on the holes allowing you to air put big bombs as well as focusing on technical ace runs

-Most of the course is in a gorgeous park, with lush green fairways and good views of the mountains in the distance

-Good use of natural vegetation on the first eleven holes, providing additional challenge that can take a birdie to a bogey if not played well

-Plenty of maps at the first tee, provided for free by BAD CO who put in a ton of work at this course

-Two great playgrounds on site, as well as a fitness track and tennis courts so non - golfer family can stay busy while you play a round
Cons: -The teepads! "The horror! The horror!" By far the worst part of this course, they are super tiny and dirt. As in two feet by four feet. When it gets wet (as it was when I played the Denver Classic here) they are mud puddles.

-All of the holes are next to the sidewalk at some point, and people have no idea what the "Frisbee game" is. I can see a kid getting drilled and this course being pulled.

-Tons of criss - crossing fairways. The holes are lengthy enough that during casual play it's probably not an issue, but for the tournament it was a nightmare.

-the final 8 holes run through a weedy ditch. Very bland finish to an otherwise decent park course.
Other Thoughts: After reading the reviews, I thought this course would be another bland park course, but I was pleasantly surprised. I had a ton of fun playing this course. I highly rec com end it if you are in the area.

Far from a destination course, but worth a play if you are close.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Fun

1    8/11/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A large portion of this course takes place in a very nice and well maintained park. There are many other activities to be done in the park including tennis and basketball as well as a very nice looking playground. The course is rather friendly to beginning players while still providing some challenge for more experienced players. There are a variety of shots possible for this course. Just about every piece of possible vegetation is used effectively in this course. Tee boxes were consistent and each tee box had a simple sign on it. There were maps and scorecards available near tee 1. Baskets were all in very good condition
Cons: Tee boxes were gravel and very small. There were no signs sticking up to help with navigation. Some tees were very tough to find even with a map. The course plays through areas of the park where other traffic will come into play. There are a few holes on the back side of this course that play through a flood plane and could be nearly unplayable after a good rain. I was honestly a little scarred playing this course by myself as I as a single white male did not fit into the diverse population that surrounds this park. Most holes are straight forward and there is very little challenge to this course. Even when you play sidewalks as out of bounds the course is all too simple, but there is honestly not much to work with.
Other Thoughts: On the plus side it was very nice to have maps available at the first tee. I am not sure that I would have found the first tee without looking at the map to begin with. When you park in the lot that you get directions to the first tee is near the sidewalk by the road at the very entrance to the parking lot. Tee 1 and Tee 18 are very close to each other. The other way to find Tee 1 is to find where the nice maintained park meets the flood plane right by the parking lot entrance. Be very careful that you know where you are throwing and that there are no other park users in the way or nearby. I nearly hit a couple because I could not see them sitting on the ground next to the basket, even though I could see the basket. I had a surprisingly fun time playing this course and would recommend it as a place to go and learn to play the game if you feel comfortable in the neighborhood. Perhaps going in a group would be best.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, but can be dicey

5+    7/31/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Variety of length, some challenging pin placements among trees and bushes, especially on shorter holes, layout is fairly easy to follow, back half (if dry) is great for times when the park section is crowded. Fairly family and novice friendly, but those players should stay on the front half and not go into the flood plane.
Cons: "Swamp" section back half can be bad with mud, water, foliage and mosquitos. I wear gore-tex shoes and gaters which help from destroying my socks. Pay attention to rain over the past week and watch your step. Minimal elevation change. Late summer and fall the park is swamped with football practices and jerk parents that always sit near the cages and give you crap if you ask them to move. The Port-a-Pottie is back in, in between 5 and 6, but it is periodically removed and it takes forever to get put back.
Other Thoughts: I play this course regularly, being close to my home. It plays well and is great for quick rounds and having fun shooting for aces. But, GVR missed an opportunity to build an exceptional course in a few different locations in the neighborhood. Not sure why this spot was ultimately chosen, being the busier of the community parks and next the school. Rumors circulating about a second course being added, but just rumors at this point.

The Back 9 is Terrible

1    6/18/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: josch
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Score cards with rules and mandatories are provided.

The front 9 is great. It's fairly technical with baskets hidden behind large trees and near out of bounds.
Cons: Front 9 is very close to the playgrounds.

The back 9 however is terrible. It's in a swampy, weedy, ditch with very repetitive holes.

Dirt tees are short and can become really lumpy.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend only playing the front 9. I'd rate the front 9 a 3.5 but the back deserves a 1.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brown Valley Ranch

1    4/10/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets, they are numbered. Good thing since you can see more than one sometimes.
+Layout is easy enough to follow
+This place has a surprising amount of length. Holes range for low to mid 200s up to over 400. The short holes mean ace possibilities and the long ones mean the chance to air it out.
-It is the closest course to DIA so you can catch a quick round before your flight.
-Probably not crowded with golfers. Doesn't look like it gets a lot of use.
Cons: -Very open. There are a few bushy trees (which could hide a disc if thrown into) but they are pretty easy to avoid.
-Very flat. Barely a hint of elevation here.
-Very dangerous. Course plays way to close to playgrounds, paths, school, etc. I would be very careful here. Better yet, chose your playing time wisely.
-Gravel tees were pretty loose and left something to be desired.
-The layout and maintenance seem to fade in the back 9 as if the grasses are trying to retake the land. It gets harder to navigate and less fun for sure.
-Could lose a disc if the grass gets out of hand on the back 9. It is fine now.
-No memorable holes. They are blend together and I wanted the round to be done fairly quickly.
Other Thoughts: -This course wasn't a lot of fun. Expo is one of the nearest courses and was a better round. It was better maintained, had a few more trees and some water.
-Play this course if you are a course bagger or live super close or come in from the airport and don't have much time.
-Try to play this course when there aren't kids around

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/15/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 18 holes
it was something that new players could do
easy, but retarded lay out
kid and family friendly
A break from all the other rough courses
Cons: it just seemed thrown together
no real lay out or obstacles
multi use park

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

close to airport

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: templink
Played: 58  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Close to airport.
2. Course maps on hole 1 teepad. Thank you whoever printed these out.
Cons: 1. Poor layout offers little challenge. Not enough trees to create obstacles and fairways.
2. Too many repeat holes, especially on back 9 all felt the same except #18.
3. Sandbox teepads slippery when wet
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 was short but the best designed, with trees and an OB road for long shots. Most other holes offered little challenge or fun. The back nine terrain is quite ugly and unkept.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Has potential!

1    7/9/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: melkijek
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First 7 holes are pretty nice w/ baskets being in between trees

A good mix of short and long shots

Good use of park
Cons: Needs signage....please!

Tee pads are not terrible but definitely need work

Some of the holes cross each other causing confusion
Other Thoughts: Has a lot of potential and is a good practice course...other reviewers state that upgrades are coming so it would be nice to see those in place. I personally need help on my mid-range and putt shots so I might use this course to help myself out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring some clean socks

1    7/9/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: JesseA303
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long holes. Some short holes. Was a typical park course.
Cons: Stickers in socks like no other when you hit the wetlands area. A little difficult to navigate for the first time. A couple of the holes crossed paths.
Other Thoughts: Some concrete pads would be nice, if not, the current dirt pads could use a little cleanup.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 68  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured and maintained and close to the Denver Airport.
Cons: Confusing Layout and No Maps... Busy Park in a cookie cutter neighborhood, lots of walkers
Other Thoughts: Could've used a few arrows to direct you to the next tee pad or better tee signs to direct you, or even a course map...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.