Denver, CO 
Green Valley Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #12 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
please redesign or remove this course

1    5/12/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Swindler2
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Few and far between
Cons: Much of this course is layed out in a very irresponsible fashion and can be very dangerous to the little children whom are playing on or near the course. If you are anything less the highly experienced and very very accurate...do not play here or we will hurt little kids that use the playground or the children at school(seeing that the course borders a school)
Other Thoughts: Course ideas were good...but location is horrible. Injuries to little children will cause dg to get a bad name and cost us all other places to throw.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Has Potential but Forgettable for Now

1    4/20/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice new baskets that are in good shape and each basket is numbered on the hole (though it would be nice if they were numbered on top of the basket).
-A few of the holes have some slight elevation change.
The front nine of the course makes use of the trees in the park and provide some shots that require a little accuracy and provide a couple different lines.
-The course has a good variety of distances on the holes, ranging from 216 feet to about 450 feet.
-The shot around the tennis court is a nice change of pace, since you aren't allowed to throw over, it provides a little variety to the course.
-About nine of the holes play through a well-groomed park area with nicely taken care of grass.
-Scorecards are available at the first tee
Cons: -The course can be very hard to navigate. The hole numbers are on the ground attached to the tee-box. The current dirt tee-boxes blend into the ground and there are no poles for tee-signs telling you where a tee-box is, so some of the tee-boxes are really frustrating to find. The front nine aren't too hard to follow, but it gets really bad on the back nine.
-The course doesn't flow as you would expect, which can make the next tee harder to find too. It would be a little better if they provided maps at the first tee-pad, especially since they already provide scorecards at the first tee-pad.
-The tee-signs say only the hole number and give no additional information about the hole.
-Four of the tee-pads are pretty much right on the road, and provide a bit of a safety issue.
-The tee-pads are dirt and starting to get a little lumpy. They are also way to short and if concrete tee-pads are put in, they should be lengthened..
-The back nine are pretty much wide-open with very few obstacles and get very repetitive quickly.
-There is a long walk between some of the tees, which doesn't help with the navigation problem.
-Course provides very little challenge at all
-Some of the fairways cross each other
-The back nine play through a drainage area that was already getting quite muddy, and overgrown in the spring, I can't imagine what it will be like during the summer. Expect to spend some time looking for discs on the back nine.
-There are a lot of other park users walking across the course that don't seem very aware that there is a course there.
Other Thoughts: The front nine of this course is pretty solid, and hole 18 is fun, but it would have been a lot better as a nine hole course. I don't really see why they chose to extend the course into the drainage area as it doesn't add anything special to the course and just adds tall grass and mud to the mix. It will definitely improve when they get better signage and concrete tee-pads. Overall, the course has potential, but right now it is pretty repetitive and boring. Unless you are in the area, don't go out of your way to play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    12/6/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: Steinwayz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: There are some good shots on this course- the baskets are really nice- I talked with the guys who built it, and they said they are putting in concrete tees next year. The dirst ones are to just finalize the placement of the permanent tees.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good as park courses go.

2-4    11/10/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 136  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Half the holes play over a decently kept grassy area. About half the holes, especially the first 9 have enough trees along the fairways to force you to choose a line to hit. The back 9 makes the most of the brush basin it's located in by including obstacles also when available. This prevents "Zone Out" disc golf where you just chuck as hard as you can in the approximate direction. The mando on #2 tennis court shot is a harsh right dogleg which I found refreshing and unique despite how it has seemed to annoy some.
Cons: The tee pads are more like run ups to a speed bump. They were eroding fairly bad right at the metal edge used to define them.

If you're playing as school let's out get ready for some relaxing as you wait for the kiddies to zig zag their way home.
Other Thoughts: When I heard about this course I got on the satellite map websites and scoped out the property. After seeing the pictures I thought to myself "Great, 18 baskets in an empty field". But out of curiosity I headed over anyway and was pleasantly surprised. There's a good mix of short technical, and open holes to keep it interesting. If I play it again I will probably avoid using the tee-pads all together and just run up on the grass. I've played other courses by this designer and I'm sure the poor t-pads were more of a victim of budget concerns than poor planning. Overall I would bump my rating to 2.75 inbetween Decent/Typical and Good. I felt this place really did a good job of making the most of what it had to work with and is worth a stop if in the area. On a side note I found the restaurants at the I-70 exit to be an interesting mix of families that have left the innercity to try out the suburbia thing with ranch hand/cowboy/farmer types sneaking into town from out on the plains for supplies. If you see a fox roaming about take a minute to enjoy the wildlife show. Also if you have to run out to the airport to pick someone up it could make the trip less boring and worth the burned up gas money.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Finally Denver gets a decent course

1    12/2/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: jcoconnell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - While this course seems fairly open, its uses the limited amount of trees surprisingly well
- Great if you like long drives
- No waits. Vacant because the city doesn't advertise it (Originally it was built by developers rather than the City of Denver). It was 68 degrees and sunny and we saw two other disc golfers out this afternoon.
- Fills a need for DG courses in Denver
Cons: - It's out by the airport, so windy is the norm
- Crossing fairways on holes 10 and 11
- I'd be wary to play when it's wet out (as others have noted)
- Hole No. 2: Right-handed throw + wind = tennis courts
- As implied above, the multi-use nature of this park is a little challenging. You don't always feel as if you have the right-of-way from the tee box
- Tee boxes are hard to find
Other Thoughts: Maps are provided at the first tee. You'll need a map to play this for the first (few) times. The tee boxes have no vertical signage. Go to the North end of the parking lot on the park's East side for maps and score cards.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A good city course

5+    11/19/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: tommy_knocker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Maps and scorecards provided at the first tee (a map is almost essential if it's your first time).
- Well thought out holes that don't interfere with the busier sections of the park.
- Good use of the limited number of trees for obstacles.
- Nice gravel tee boxes and nice doubled-chained baskets.
- Good assortment of different hole lengths and varieties.
- No water or chance of losing a disc.
Cons: - The back 9 has some crisscrossing fairways.
- Most holes on the back 9 are in a low-land field area that becomes a muddy mess after any kind of rain or snow.
Other Thoughts: I'm thrilled about this course, primarily because I live right across the street from it, so I get the pleasure of walking right out my front door and playing whenever I want. I patiently observed while it came to form and was among the first to try it out. I've probably played it about a dozen times now and I think they did a good job with it.
The tee boxes aren't cement but they look good with two dug-in railroad ties with gravel in between, along with a tee marker screwed into a railroad tie. Also, the wood chips around the perimeter of each basket was a nice touch.
The designer did a good job mixing up the hole lengths, appealing to different players' strengths. About a third of them are short holes with the basket guarded by evergreens, requiring precision tee shots for birdie attempts (these are primarily on the front 9). Another third are fairly open, mid-range distances, where well-launched tee shots can result in easy birdies (holes 12 through 16). And another third are very long holes that the long-bombers can enjoy showing off on, requiring monster drives and impressive putts to have any chance at birdying.
All in all, it's a good city course. It's nothing spectacular, but it is a much needed course in this area that I think local players will continue to come back to.
Some final notes - On hole number 2, we treat the tennis court as a water hazard, despite what the rules on the scorecard say, so we go straight over it if no one is playing tennis (which is most of the time). Also, the rules mention special restrictions when a cricket match is in session on 10 and 11. In the seven years I've lived here I've never seen a cricket match in that park, so you don't need to worry about that one either. Overall, it's unlikely that anybody will be in your way on the holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners ONLY

2-4    11/19/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I came to this course not expecting much and that's exactly what I got. This is a brand new course so the tee boxes and baskets are very nice. The park is clean, flat, and open. It has the difficulty of Expo (none) with terrain similar to Lighthouse (uneven). In a nutshell, the course is simple and repetitive. The best part is that it is impossible to lose a disc (unless the park floods as it is a flood plain). If you want to learn how to play then this is a perfect course for you.
Cons: - The tee pads are sunken and the signs lay on the ground which makes navigation difficult for the first round (map recommended).
- A group of white dudes decided to play catch with their unleashed pit bulls on #10 so I skipped it.
- Some baskets are surrounded by trees, but most shots are wide open.
- #2 is 150 ft. straight ahead then a 90 degree turn to the right for 100 ft. around a tennis court. The only way to birdie it is a crazy roller or by making a long second shot.
- There has not been measurable precipitation for a while, but there was standing water in some sections. The course is probably really soggy after a storm.
Other Thoughts: As with nearly all of the courses in the Denver metro area, this course lacks any character. There are no memorable holes and the only real challenge is that most holes are short enough to go for an ace. I know it is tough to find parks to install courses, but this park/course is so mundane. It is close to where I live and work, but I don't see myself returning any time soon if ever.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly fun course for Frequent Fliers

2-4    11/17/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun layout
- Good, double-chain baskets
- Some tree obstacles
- Maps and scorecards/rules provided by tee #1
- Not too crowded
Cons: - Gravel tees, a bit short
- Some tees too close to road
- Map absolutely necessary first 1-2 rounds
- Some hole repetition
- Tough to find tees at first, as the tee numbers are bolted face-up to the railroad ties by the tees
- May have conflicts with other park patrons/activities
Other Thoughts: Even though this course is fairly remote for me to visit on regular basis, I wanted to check it out as this course was just recently added to DGCR. From the few photos posted and the satellite view I wasn't expecting much, especially since this area is a part of planned development close to DIA.
However, after finally making it out to the course, I was pleasantly surprised how much fun I had playing here.
The map provided online (and also available at tee #1) is very accurate, but the few instances of criss-crossing fairways make the layout a bit confusing at first, and map consultation is a must. The scoresheet that is also present at tee #1 spells out rules and regulations for the course, as well as some tips regarding a few holes, namely 2, 8, 10-11, and 18.
I was surprised to read the hole 2 shot over the tennis courts is forbidden (makes getting a birdie tough, as this hole is a big dog-leg to the right around the tennis courts), as I was looking forward to making exactly that kind of shot.
On hole 8, the mando is to stay to the right of the concrete drain.
On holes 10 and 11, the field is used for Cricket apparently sometimes, so landing on the field of play when a game is on is considered OOB.
Finally, hole 18 mando is to go through the first set of pine trees in front of the tee, with parking and streets OOB.
With all that said, while the difficulty of the course is not that great, it is definitely fun to play. Many baskets are placed in a group of trees, some tee shots have close-by tree obstacles, and there are some slight elevation changes, especially on the back 9 holes.
Other than the cricket field, the layout keeps the distance from the playground and basketball court.
I was not too happy with the relative shortness of the tees, as well as the proximity of some tees to the streets (4, 9, 13, 14). The gravel tees will get eroded over even a short amount of time, it would be great if they could be made more permanent once their placement is possibly improved.
There are a few wide open holes with no obstacles, and some holes look very similar, especially on the back 9.
The hole lengths are pretty fair overall, with plenty of opportunities for longer drives, as well as birdie opportunities on well-placed shorter hole shots.
Not too sure how busy the park gets (it wasn't too crowded on a very nice Saturday in November), but avoiding other park patrons may become an issue sometimes.
I would possibly rate this course 0.5 disc higher if the tee issues were resolved, but I still like the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.