Live Oak, TX 
Live Oak City Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #18 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/14/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed Live Oak, to start it off the locals were extremely nice and helpful( DGers, and non DGers). To start it off a group who just finished their round gave me a map and pointed me in the right direction for hole one and where to find hole 6. I really appreciated how the course starts out really open and then gets tighter. I like this because it lets you get warmed up and get into a rhythm before the more challenging holes come up. Hole 6 was an awesome hole because of the risk/ reward. I love water shots. I landed in the water and then an elderly man ran over there with a rake and helped me out. Also, hole 8 was a lot of fun with the creek that runs behind it. I encountered a mom and her children and they played " defense" to block my disc from going in the water. I love that the course really starts to add length and stretch out your arm. This course offers everything you are looking for from short, long, tight, open, elevation, water holes. If you want it, you got it here. Live Oak has holes for every type of player.
Cons: The main problem with this course is the navigation. If I didn't have the map I would of been lost. Hole 6 is on the other side of the baseball field along the water. Hole 17 is threw the path and to the left. After 17, cross the street and play 18-21. Then cross back, After 26, you go back to the path to get to 17. 27 is by 16's basket. Some of the latter holes got a little boring mainly 18-21. I felt like those holes were too open and similar to many other subpar courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Live Oak

1    9/21/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: ScottWight
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rather than get into most of what has already been said, I have some comments for review.

In classic Houck style, there are a great variety of shots in layout, flight paths, landing zones and use of natural features. (ie water)

The front nine of the course is clearly intended to be an easy introduction to new players of the sport. The advanced player will come away with several birdies here.

The areas used for these holes are in close proximity to playing fields and other areas of use by park goers, so tight, short and technical shots are needed.

Starting at hole 15, you can take out a driver for the first time on the course. There are several great holes with big throws and well protected baskets moving through this section of the course (some nice elevation changes too.)

Its almost like two completely different courses. I think this demonstrates a very nice use of the available land, Short, technical holes for high traffic areas, and longer, more difficult holes as you move away from those areas.The park was packed for football and soccer practices while I was there, and folks were able to share the space without issue.

Tee signage, while a little the worse for wear, still shows you flight lines and landing zones for some of the blind (and long) shots, which is very helpful.
Cons: Has to be said: download the coursemap, print it or have a smartphone handy for navigation. You will have significant trouble otherwise. In fact, since the hole number is not on the tee sign, (many are on the posts) the basket and coursemap are your only clues as to which one to shoot at. I wasn't able to find any of the alternates for holes. (I didn't go too far out of my way to look, however)
Other Thoughts: Advanced and pro players should be able to get to double-digits down on the course (based on listed pars). New and intermediate players will find that this course will teach you skill shots, which will be helpful to them on any course.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 San Antonio Disc Golf Mecca...

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Von Roll
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole has it's own unique challenge.
No other course in SA area has this many holes.
Elevation changes.
This course could be challenging for any skill level.
Many trash and Recycling cans.
Park is well maintained.
Some great hazards on a few holes.
Many long drive, some ace, and long hole opportunities.
Cons: Benches are far and few between.
Signs are scarce (although some holes are very new)
Not all have concrete (new holes have dirt teeboxes)
If you are unfamiliar with this course I would advise that you tag along with someone that has played this course before, if you are looking to hit all of the holes. (As more than a few are unmarked)
These things do not take away from the objectivity of the courses play.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a must play if you are in the San Antonio area. Once this park gets all of the amenities at each hole (signs,tees, benches) this place will rock more than it does now. Overall this course is VERY GOOD.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    9/11/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great long course, well placed baskets, not long between holes and tee's on most places. Nice open park rarely running into non-disc golfers on the course.
Cons: I was there after a hurricane hit the area and things weren't completely cleaned up yet, on one hole a tree had fallen over and made the shot considerably more difficult, and one of the launch pads was nearly submerged, but we went ahead and played it.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course was fantastic. We ran out of sunlight so I didn't play the full 38, just the first 17 and number 28 for our 18th. They were having their first annual Movie in the park that night so the park was very busy but didn't get in our way playing at all. Things were quite wet and mushy due to the amount of rain recently but no real trouble there. I love the launch pads and markers were fantastic, I don't have that up here in Midland, Tx.

Quite enjoyed the park!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 About average but fun.

1    9/18/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are in excellent shape for the most part.Though 17 is a little rough and could use a smoothing.18-21 uses natural tees but that does not pose a playability issue.

Great tee signs on all the holes which gives the course a uniform feel.I suspect the lengths are wrong though.

Benches are provided at well spread out paced and provide plenty of resting area for a foursome.

Good usage of limited elevation variance which the only noticeable drops coming at 23-25. Had a good variety of hole lengths and had plenty of chances to bomb and plenty of technical shots.

Fave holes are.
2.Great hole to hyzer bomb the pin.Watch out for the lake on the left though.

9.With plenty of room to bail out to the left you don't feel you have to risk loosing your disc.But if you want a birdie you have to hug the water on the right.

12.Great hyzer hole with a real fairway feel.A drop at the end will cause low hyzers to skip well past the pin.

16.Pretty hole that ends on the ledge of the flood channel.This is a great usage of limited land and reminds me of a ball golf layout.

24.Biggest elevation change and I'm a sucker for elevation changes,the bigger the better.

Cons: There is lot of things that keep this course from playing with the big dogs.

Layout;Some of the walks between holes are ridiculous.You have to walk from hole 5 to 6 the same way as 1-2.There is no reason for that as there is plenty of land,more than enough to accommodate 5 holes.This is in no way going to keep me from playing here but you should never feel your walking more between holes than when your playing.The walk from 27 to the parking by 1 really irked me after walking great distances between holes.It was well over half the distance as the walk to beaver ranch parking to the first tee but at least at beaver you don't walk far to the next tee.

The baskets while in great condition are not all at regulation height.This is starting to become a pet peeve of mine.I'm seeing this more and more and just don't see why this happens.It's called measuring stick,use it!

Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend this course if you don't mind walking some long walks between holes.

Someone needs to tell designers that just because your course is next to a lake you don't have to put baskets right next to the water.There should be a least a 30 foot buffer zone.

Unfortunately I have yet to find a great course in San Antonio but this is the closest your going to get for now.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 its fun!!

5+    8/14/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: Jethro33
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of holes. . . get your fill of golf in one outing.

1-9 good starting holes get your birdies in. The rest of the course a lot of fun. you get all your shots in. annies, hyzers, thumbers, tomahawks, rollers. etc. let them fly. This is a good course for practice as well.
Cons: A lot of people still dont know whats going on at the park and will get in your way.

could use some more water fountains. maybe multiple teeboxes and new pin positions becasue there is plenty of room for it.
Other Thoughts: bring the whole family. its playable for all types of players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    10/25/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: LOTS of holes!!! All day event which is cool because you dont waste time driving aound. Lots of elevation with lots of shots that test everything in your bag. A good mix and it doesnt really favor one type of player. You get to throw some big shots and you also get to throw some technical shots. You can go over the trees in alot of places but then there are other places you have to throw under everything because there is no route over the top. If your off the fairway you can get into trouble quickly. Control shots here that test accuracy along with boomers to air it out. Complete your game! Wasnt very busy and very cool scenery! Great baskets and great times.
Cons: Hard to navigate. No maps. I agree with the other review about making it 2 18 instead. Very confusing! Can get very hot during the warmer months. The terrain can get tough on weaker foes.
Other Thoughts: Fun if you have time to walk around and see where your going or if you have a guide. The only park that I know of that has this many permanent holes!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    12/18/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: Forbes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - I love the wide range of holes this course has to offer.
-The number of holes guarantees you will be playing all day!
-The course is layed out great
Cons: -There are several water hazards ( My discs are atracted to water =/)
-Maps make it somewhat hard to find the next hole the first round
Other Thoughts: I love the long holes that let you really air your shots out

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reviews temporarily disabled for this course!

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.