Live Oak, TX 
Live Oak City Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #26 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    8/8/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: lukebro22
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety, water, elevation etc. There's a few "hidden" holes that are pretty cool, one has you throwing from a peninsula over the lake (there's two peninsulas for pro and am tees). 38 holes in total (adding more within the year) so backups are never an issue.
Cons: Not a lot of par 4's and no par 5's (though I think this may change with the redesign), so most hole lengths are in the 200-350 range. Not much of a con but maybe a few more long holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: The redesign is scheduled to be finished ny summer'13 and will give the park 3 18 hole courses. Ive been able to see a few of the new holes and they are going to be great. The "hidden" holes mentioned above are only playable before or shortly after a tournament because those areas are not maintained year round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ANOTHER GREAT LIVE OAK

1    1/13/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tee-pads are the cornerstone of every good course. They are in good condition and they are consistent.

2) Port-o-potty is available on hole #3 out near the parking lot and I assume the building by #1 and #10 also contains bathrooms but I didn't look that closely.

3) Garbage cans available in multiple places throughout the course which is always helpful to keeping the course looking clean.

4) Nice tee-signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a Map are the key aspect of good tee-signs.

5) Huge park, with all sorts of other things going on. Playgrounds, picnic areas, a baseball field, 38 holes of disc golf, and a nice lake (trust me I walked in it to retrieve my disc and someone else's).

6) Concrete drainage-way looks to do a really good job of getting large volumes of water across the course without affecting play.

7) Practice basket is available near the #10 tee. Its always nice to have a spot to warm up putting, but it is pretty removed from the first hole and awfully tight to the baseball field area. There might be people in the way from time to time when it could have been positioned tot he right of #1 and out of the way.

8) A John Houck Design which obviously means utilizing the best portions of this property as well as some really challenging holes.

9) Awesome variety on this course including a bunch of water shots, some dry concrete drainage-ways that would be filled with water at certain times of the year, lots of tight wooded holes, some open bomber holes with spotty trees. It simply put is a great variety which obviously is easier with 38 holes.

10) Benches are available in some spots which is most definitely a positive thing on a 38 hole course.

11) Rock pile and fill area is an interesting obstacle. Similar to my last review from Veteran Memorial Park in Beeville, TX. This is an interesting way to create an obstacle and I really like it.

Cons: 1) Long walk from Hole #1 to #2. Navigation here and in a couple of other places is very difficult. There are at least a half dozen places where better signage could be used, especially with the new additional holes. With 38 holes there are bound to be large walks and confusing paths.

2) Some of the baskets seem to be low and/or leaning slightly. I always hate to see that baskets either are not installed correctly or over time they need maintenance, or even perhaps the result of vandalism.

3) Older Discatchers are alright but the paint is fading and rust seems to be apparent in a few locations.

4) Lots of loose rock in spots on this course. These areas can actually be hazardous to your ankles!

5) Not only are some of the alternate holes hard to find and play, they also have some other issues. #11a tee is not at all obvious. #11b is not easy to find, #11c tee is underwater at wet periods,

6) A few areas on the course are dangerous because of proximity to other holes and landing areas.

7) Maintenance of the turf in a few spots on the course seems to be inadequate. I am sure that this course is played often and the compaction around some baskets is clear. This is bound to only get worse and getting healthy turf in those locations is important to preventing erosion.

8) I would not consider this course to be beginner friendly, there are holes that are beginner friendly but there are many holes that will really put it to the beginners.
Other Thoughts: Quite obviously from my review and others that flow and navigation are the biggest issues on this course. There is an awesome variety of holes and shots required on this course plus there is an awesome variety in obstacles and challenge on this course. It is probably one of the most balanced course I have ever played. It does have a few maintenance issues that would keep it from being the cream of the crop but it still is one of the most fun courses I have ever played. I really don't feel like there are many weak holes on this course which is really a sign that it is a great course. I would much rather play 38 awesome holes with some navigation and maintenance issues, than 28 great holes and 10 not so great holes. I am giving this course a 4 rating but it could very easily be a 4.5 disc course if the navigation issues were resolved, tees were completed, tee-signs were added, and some maintenance was done to improve turf and other aspects of the grounds.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Best of San Antonio

1    11/23/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from the midwest, I love traveling to different parts of the country and experiencing disc golf with the different landscapes. I really enjoyed playing live oak because it was very unexpected. Coming to San Antonio, I really expected flat open and dry courses. Live Oak really surprised me. There is every shot imaginable out here. I threw every shot I could and then some. The generous use of water on the 6 (?) hole stretch was very unexpected. There are some very fun high risk shots with pins tucked right next to the water---or right over the water.
The tees were in great shape. I didn't expect concrete tees on every hole but a few. The baskets were also decent.
Signage was good enough as far as finding the basket from the tee was concerned. Hole to hole was a different issue (see cons).
When we played there was very little traffic out there so play went rather quickly. The park is huge and has lots of mature Live Oak trees. They are quite different than the oaks I am used to in missouri. They are low enough in places that you can throw hyzer bombs over the top quite a bit. They make for a different challenge.
There were some very creative pin placements that I enjoyed throwing at.
Cons: Flow--Man, if they could iron this out it would have made the experience so much better. I almost bumped this down to 3.5 because of it. Parts of the course flowed seamlessly, but there were multiple places where we wandered aimlessly for a while. If there were maps, I never found any. I understand why there is the problem---as they have expanded the course a little bit at a time, but it got quite frustrating after a while.

Some redundancy in places...but that is to be expected with a course of this many holes.
Other Thoughts: This is the best San Antonio has to offer in my opinion. It is so unexpected to play a park like this in a city I assumed was dry and flat. The park is huge. I hope that before they add more holes, they can iron out the flow issues...if they don't it may make the course even more confusing. Regardless, it is a must play if you are in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Live Oak

5+    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: Jellard
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge variety of holes. Lots of wildlife in the wooded areas. Trash cans and benches throughout the course. Concrete tee pads on all but 4 holes. Signs are in good condition. This course will test even seasoned pros but there are enough holes that even a first timer can have a great time.
Cons: Some of the baskets are not at regulation height, and surely some of the distances marked on the signs are wrong. Players new to the course may have a hard time finding their way around in a few places. Many park goers have no clue what disc golf is and may occupy fairway and basket areas but it's only become problematic a few times.. Alot of people have their dogs illegally off-leash.
Other Thoughts: The course is as good right now as it's ever been. The mosquitoes seem to have left with the cooler weather at least for this week. It's been really nice. The City has set aside funding this year to improve the course which has already begun to take place.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of golf!

5+    12/12/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 38 holes!! Variety of holes make it a great challenge. If you have a whole day to devote to playing disc golf, you can get you fill in one place. By the end you will have had to use every shot you have and maybe even a few you didn't know you had. Football field in park make s for a great place to warm up or practice. This park is always in great shape. Live Oak Parks Dept takes great care of this course. A basket was stolen and a new one was in place in less than 24 hours. If only every town took this much pride in it's course.
Cons: Holes near lake can become flooded after a rain. It took me several times playing it with the locals to learn my way around all the holes.
Other Thoughts: If you want to work on every aspect of your game, spend a day at Live Oak.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Live Oak

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that makes great use of the local landscape. It offers a wide variety of shot opportunities and is a great course for beginners and pros a like. The front nine takes advantage of the lake but the last 20+ holes are all water free.
Cons: A better map would be nice and not all of the holes of concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course that offers many challenging opportunities. Some holes are definitely confidence builders but some are for the professionals (and with more than 18 holes you can easily design your own 18).

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course To Test All Your Shots and Play All Day

5+    8/15/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.2 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Tremendous design. This course has all the shots.
- Many long holes, many short holes, hyzer holes, anhyzer holes, thumber holes, tunnel shots, long bombs, rollers, this course has it all.
- Good concrete tee pads on almost every hole
- Course actually has 38 holes currently with plans to add at least 18 more.
- Good elevation changes on many holes.
- This is a course that can test even the best pros.
Cons:
- Tee signs are not accurate on some holes due to redesign.
- Could be too tough for some.
- Hole number is all out of whack, needs to be resigned with (2) 18 hole courses.
Other Thoughts: You can come out here and play ALL DAY. Just be carefull to watch your speed around this area. The cops are always on the prowl. This really is a top notch course. If you are in the area ... you gotta play Live Oak! Nice lake borders the course too so bring your fishing pole :)

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviews temporarily disabled for this course!

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.