Live Oak, TX 
Live Oak City Park Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #23 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 625ft. Par / Distance:
Left Fairway #23



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great course

1    9/11/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great long course, well placed baskets, not long between holes and tee's on most places. Nice open park rarely running into non-disc golfers on the course.
Cons: I was there after a hurricane hit the area and things weren't completely cleaned up yet, on one hole a tree had fallen over and made the shot considerably more difficult, and one of the launch pads was nearly submerged, but we went ahead and played it.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course was fantastic. We ran out of sunlight so I didn't play the full 38, just the first 17 and number 28 for our 18th. They were having their first annual Movie in the park that night so the park was very busy but didn't get in our way playing at all. Things were quite wet and mushy due to the amount of rain recently but no real trouble there. I love the launch pads and markers were fantastic, I don't have that up here in Midland, Tx.

Quite enjoyed the park!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of golf!

5+    12/12/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 38 holes!! Variety of holes make it a great challenge. If you have a whole day to devote to playing disc golf, you can get you fill in one place. By the end you will have had to use every shot you have and maybe even a few you didn't know you had. Football field in park make s for a great place to warm up or practice. This park is always in great shape. Live Oak Parks Dept takes great care of this course. A basket was stolen and a new one was in place in less than 24 hours. If only every town took this much pride in it's course.
Cons: Holes near lake can become flooded after a rain. It took me several times playing it with the locals to learn my way around all the holes.
Other Thoughts: If you want to work on every aspect of your game, spend a day at Live Oak.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 About average but fun.

1    9/18/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are in excellent shape for the most part.Though 17 is a little rough and could use a smoothing.18-21 uses natural tees but that does not pose a playability issue.

Great tee signs on all the holes which gives the course a uniform feel.I suspect the lengths are wrong though.

Benches are provided at well spread out paced and provide plenty of resting area for a foursome.

Good usage of limited elevation variance which the only noticeable drops coming at 23-25. Had a good variety of hole lengths and had plenty of chances to bomb and plenty of technical shots.

Fave holes are.
2.Great hole to hyzer bomb the pin.Watch out for the lake on the left though.

9.With plenty of room to bail out to the left you don't feel you have to risk loosing your disc.But if you want a birdie you have to hug the water on the right.

12.Great hyzer hole with a real fairway feel.A drop at the end will cause low hyzers to skip well past the pin.

16.Pretty hole that ends on the ledge of the flood channel.This is a great usage of limited land and reminds me of a ball golf layout.

24.Biggest elevation change and I'm a sucker for elevation changes,the bigger the better.

Cons: There is lot of things that keep this course from playing with the big dogs.

Layout;Some of the walks between holes are ridiculous.You have to walk from hole 5 to 6 the same way as 1-2.There is no reason for that as there is plenty of land,more than enough to accommodate 5 holes.This is in no way going to keep me from playing here but you should never feel your walking more between holes than when your playing.The walk from 27 to the parking by 1 really irked me after walking great distances between holes.It was well over half the distance as the walk to beaver ranch parking to the first tee but at least at beaver you don't walk far to the next tee.

The baskets while in great condition are not all at regulation height.This is starting to become a pet peeve of mine.I'm seeing this more and more and just don't see why this happens.It's called measuring stick,use it!

Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend this course if you don't mind walking some long walks between holes.

Someone needs to tell designers that just because your course is next to a lake you don't have to put baskets right next to the water.There should be a least a 30 foot buffer zone.

Unfortunately I have yet to find a great course in San Antonio but this is the closest your going to get for now.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 its fun!!

5+    8/14/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: Jethro33
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of holes. . . get your fill of golf in one outing.

1-9 good starting holes get your birdies in. The rest of the course a lot of fun. you get all your shots in. annies, hyzers, thumbers, tomahawks, rollers. etc. let them fly. This is a good course for practice as well.
Cons: A lot of people still dont know whats going on at the park and will get in your way.

could use some more water fountains. maybe multiple teeboxes and new pin positions becasue there is plenty of room for it.
Other Thoughts: bring the whole family. its playable for all types of players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Live Oak

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that makes great use of the local landscape. It offers a wide variety of shot opportunities and is a great course for beginners and pros a like. The front nine takes advantage of the lake but the last 20+ holes are all water free.
Cons: A better map would be nice and not all of the holes of concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course that offers many challenging opportunities. Some holes are definitely confidence builders but some are for the professionals (and with more than 18 holes you can easily design your own 18).

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    10/25/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: LOTS of holes!!! All day event which is cool because you dont waste time driving aound. Lots of elevation with lots of shots that test everything in your bag. A good mix and it doesnt really favor one type of player. You get to throw some big shots and you also get to throw some technical shots. You can go over the trees in alot of places but then there are other places you have to throw under everything because there is no route over the top. If your off the fairway you can get into trouble quickly. Control shots here that test accuracy along with boomers to air it out. Complete your game! Wasnt very busy and very cool scenery! Great baskets and great times.
Cons: Hard to navigate. No maps. I agree with the other review about making it 2 18 instead. Very confusing! Can get very hot during the warmer months. The terrain can get tough on weaker foes.
Other Thoughts: Fun if you have time to walk around and see where your going or if you have a guide. The only park that I know of that has this many permanent holes!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    12/18/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: Forbes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - I love the wide range of holes this course has to offer.
-The number of holes guarantees you will be playing all day!
-The course is layed out great
Cons: -There are several water hazards ( My discs are atracted to water =/)
-Maps make it somewhat hard to find the next hole the first round
Other Thoughts: I love the long holes that let you really air your shots out

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course To Test All Your Shots and Play All Day

5+    8/15/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 154  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.3 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Tremendous design. This course has all the shots.
- Many long holes, many short holes, hyzer holes, anhyzer holes, thumber holes, tunnel shots, long bombs, rollers, this course has it all.
- Good concrete tee pads on almost every hole
- Course actually has 38 holes currently with plans to add at least 18 more.
- Good elevation changes on many holes.
- This is a course that can test even the best pros.
Cons:
- Tee signs are not accurate on some holes due to redesign.
- Could be too tough for some.
- Hole number is all out of whack, needs to be resigned with (2) 18 hole courses.
Other Thoughts: You can come out here and play ALL DAY. Just be carefull to watch your speed around this area. The cops are always on the prowl. This really is a top notch course. If you are in the area ... you gotta play Live Oak! Nice lake borders the course too so bring your fishing pole :)

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviews temporarily disabled for this course!
1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.