Sabattus, ME 
Sabattus Disc Golf - Falcon Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers  
Sabattus Disc Golf Basket Fountain

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
The Falconer

1    7/31/2015   8/28/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 146  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: First off, a little tangent. This course tests the boundaries of what really constitutes a course. It does have its own baskets on every hole. The tee pads are mostly (but not entirely) shared with the Eagle course, and the fairways are mostly the same. We don't consider Borderland as two separate courses or Maple Hill as four, so does Falcon really count as its own course rather than just a separate layout? I can't say. Anyway, on to the review.

As mentioned above, this shares the land of the Eagle course. The holes are shorter, generally par 3s without the multi-throw shots that make Eagle so epic. That said, this course is great and features some fun shots that complement Eagle. Hole 4 on Eagle is a straight shot toward a hill along the creek, but Falcon forces a turnover shot. Hole 8 is the great hole over the pond on Eagle but Falcon plays around the perimeter with some risk of ricocheting into the water. Hole 11 is a great uphill shot along the trail that opens up into a downhill into a crater. Hawk's basket is in the middle while Eagle's is up on a cliff.

There are several holes that are separate from Eagle, particularly around the long open holes of Eagle. They are well designed and give some enjoyable birdie looks.

The tees are concrete. The baskets are yellow Discatcher, so you never confuse them with the grey Eagle baskets.
Cons: The tee signs (not the ones in the pictures). Not a fan. They show the paths to the baskets for both Eagle and Falcon. The paths shown to the baskets take odd swooping paths that in no way represent the actual fairway. Please replace these. They don't fit with the superior standard that this complex has set for, frankly, everything else.
Other Thoughts: Whether it counts as a separate course or not, Falcon is a different bird than Eagle, and both are worth your time. Falcon was my second favorite at the complex with slightly more fun factor than Hawk.

Great compliment to the eagle

5+    6/13/2015   7/13/2015
Review By: Jmewhite1
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Adds more holes to a wonderful destination complex. Trims off some of the length and difficulty while winding through The Eagle.
A very well maintained course with a wide variety of shots
Cons: Be on the lookout for people playing the longer more challenging Eagle.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1    5/23/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 265  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is hard course to rate because it's not a course in the way in which this site typically defines a course. This is a layout of Eagle, in the same way in which Charlotte's Web and Renny Gold are layouts. For the majority of the holes, Falcon is present only as an am basket. Same tee, same fairways, significantly closer target. For a few, they share a fairway, but have separate tees and baskets. There are two or three holes for which Falcon provides a distinctly different hole. To me, that means the "course" should not be listed here.

That said, it's a solid, easy layout, the existence of which adds to the quality of Eagle. It presents a much easier way to experience Eagle without being forced to manage the difficulty. Where Eagle is long, Falcon is much shorter. Where Eagle throws over the pond, Falcon carves a path around it. Where the Eagle basket is on the other side of an OB creek, the Falcon basket is before said creek. The recipe is simple. Take an incredibly beautiful and magnificently appointed course that might play a bit too difficult for the newer players that Hawk is sure to attract. Then add a layout that removes most of that difficulty.

I also disagree with the notion that people on Falcon will interfere with people playing Eagle. They do so no more than people playing am pads on most courses interfere with people playing pro pads. There are no crossing fairways. They aren't coming into a shared basket from a different tee. They won't be trying to play the same hole at the same time, because they would have a tough time standing on the same tee.
Cons: It probably compares somewhat favorably to Hawk. If you stripped out the Eagle-only parts of the course and took that layout as it played, you might find the design a little worse but the challenge a little higher. I might consider such a course in better light if it stood alone. But I really have to consider this as a layout. Additionally, there can be a lot of "extra" walking from basket to tee as the players have to traverse as much land as the Eagle players. They just spend less time throwing discs.

There is certainly a segment of the population that will enjoy playing Falcon but I'd likely never play it again. Why would I want to walk the entirety of the Eagle course while playing lesser holes, with the throwing lines of the Eagle course tantalizing me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    11/5/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 70  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course specific
-Very well kept
-Tough for beginners and fun for better players
-Adds more holes to an already fantastic complex
-A great blend of open and technical shots
-Amazing pro shop
-3.5 courses for one low price
-courses available for all skill sets
Cons: - Many of the holes simply watered down versions of the Eagle's holes.
- Said watering down lessens the quality of the Eagle in some cases (hole 12 for instance).
- New holes made for the Falcon are not very exciting or unique.
Other Thoughts: In a valiant bid to add yet another course to the Sabattus Disc Golf complex, the masterminds behind the Eagle, Hawk, and Owl courses have given birth to the Falcon, an amalgamation of new holes and fresh approaches to the Eagle. The intent was to create a course tougher than the Hawk and easier than the Eagle. In my opinion, the addition was about 75% successful and 25% detrimental to the complex. Most of the holes on the falcon use the same fairways as a hole on the Eagle, albeit with an alternate tee pad or different colored (yellow) basket. While it was nice to play some of my favorite holes from a different perspective, many of them were simply watered down versions of great holes, making the overall feeling one of disappointment. I was also disappointed to find that some holes on the Eagle were altered to make the falcon possible, most notably hole 8, the horseshoe around the pond hole. Before the falcon was installed, players on the teepad of hole 8 had a tough choice to make; do I take the long and somewhat safe route around the pond for an easy par, or do I set up to shoot through a narrow alternate path and cross the pond for a potential 3 or 4? Classic risk/reward. To make a new hole for the falcon, the designers made a new teepad right on the safe route fairway and made a mando that forces players on the Eagle to take the risky shot across the pond, and the falcon players to use the original fairway (shortened for them, of course). I did not appreciate this awesome hole being cannibalized to make two new, less awesome holes and feel it was a bad call. Of the new holes that were made for the falcon, most were in the field section of the complex and were less than exciting. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty to like about the falcon layout, even if I didn't find it ideal. This is still a well maintained, decently planned out course that fulfills it's role as an intermediate course to the Hawk and Eagle. Many of the fresh looks at the holes were quite fun and definitely added something to the complex. Beginners will be challenged and pros will still have fun, but calling the falcon a new course just seems forced. It would have have been much healthier for the complex if the designers had simply made alternate tees or baskets for the Eagle instead of watering it down, adding a few mediocre holes, and calling it something different. Sabattus Disc Golf is still one of the best complexes (if not THE best) in Maine, but that is in spite of the addition of the Falcon, not because of it. Try it out if the Eagle is too much for you and the Hawk is too easy, but if you can handle the Eagle, you're probably better off just playing that.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.