Gatesville, TX 
Raby Park Share
Uploaded By: teamtexas Hole #1
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
too much walking

1    10/5/2016   10/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 300  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 28.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of land
Tee signs with hole number and distance
Map between holes 1 and 18
Cons: Dirt tee pads with a few of the holes using a walking path or an old picnic table platform
Several of the holes were a little close to the deep creek.
freaking long walk from hole 8 to 9 and 11 to 12.

Also, came across a few tees that were too close to the last basket. Twice I would have hit people if they had been on the tee.
Other Thoughts: So apparently this was a 9 holes course that they expanded to 18 by connecting several parks together.

After throwing the pitch and putt ace run 5, you cross the street and walk down the path to hole 6. This is a natural hyzer but tee sign for 7 is right in the way. (my drive landed on the tee area)

Hole 7 is a crazy long hole down a field.
Hole 8 is one you DO NOT want to be left on. If your disc goes down the bank, it is not safe to attempt to get it back.
Then you have the mega walk to 9 that is in another park about 500 feet down the road.

9 is a longer hyzer shot
10 is crazy, over the road down to a peninsula with the river coming into play.
do not turn your disc over on hole 11 or it is gone.

Then the long walk to hole 12 that throws down the road.

Again, if you throw a hyzer here, you are throwing over 13's tee area.

I really like holes 17 and 18. using a hill, 17's basket is protected by trees and elevation. If you got the arm, a knife hyzer worked good for me here. Got the bird.

I could not find a tee sign for hole 18, I played it from the top of the hill and apparently that is where the tee is somewhere.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

upgrade

5+    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: Saddin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city of Gatesville expanded the park into another parks. adding a additional 9 holes.
this includes extra bathrooms and water fountains. shade and benches to sit. trash cans.
theses newer holes add a additional challenges to the course.
A course Map was added at the beginning of the course.
Cons: Better signage to direct you to hole 6, 9 and 12
quit a ways walk from hole 11 to 12
and 8 to hole 9
Lets talk about the Water holes.
#5 rather simple short shot across the water , if you short line your disc. it's getting wet(you will too if it lands in the middle and you go after it).
#8 Plays next to a river about 10-15 feet away from the basket(a steep cliff off to the left side) a lefty shot or a long fade from a righty will result in you losing your disc in the river.
#10 also plays next to a river to your left be careful right hand players a long fade will go into the river. also if you over drive the hole you'll end up in the river keep this in mind.
#15 plays next to shallow creek no real troubles here ,unless it's over grown.
#18 has a very small creek fed by the city pool very shallow and narrow shouldn't be any troubles, unless you loose sight of your disc.
Other Thoughts: Gatesville steps up there game in the expansion of Raby Park . with the new hole offered these will even challenged the more "pro" players
over all I would say this is a must play for you'll in central texas.
the course plays in a circle and starting at hole #1 you'll end up at hole #18

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/9/2013   3/13/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course had good signage and even provided a bathroom. This course was easy to navigate. The course made use of all of the elevation that was available. Especially hole 8 which you throw over a parking lot up toward the hill( which is a bad idea for a hole, throwing over the parking lot). I played this course in the rain and I was impressed with the drainage throughout the course. There was no standing water anywhere. I also appreciated the time they spend adding greenery and flowers throughout the course.
Cons: A few of the holes were too close to a tree. For example, hole 7 ( or the one by the playground) The tee pad was literally inches from a tree which is scary when releasing your disc that you might smack your hand. Also you are throwing right by a playground which is dangerous. Hole 5 was way to short at just over 100 feet. Also, you throw right over a water park on hole 3 which is another added danger to children.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change

2-4    11/3/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: rgp626
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Very little walking from baskets to tees. Can play it twice, for 18 holes, in less than a hour. Great for a righty with a strong hyzer.
Cons: Really more of a pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: Actually a pretty easy course. Son and I matched our best ever scores for 18 holes on the second time we played. Still fun for a change.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Raby Park

5+    10/25/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: teamtexas
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has a great mix of terrain. The park is clean and quite. Hills , trees and water make for a challenge.
Cons: Hole #7 goes beside a small child play ground. Danger of wacking a kid! Hole #4 sometimes has cars parked by the restroom in the way.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.