Minneapolis (Edina), MN 
Rosland Park Share
Uploaded By: alexaaron Hole #6 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 262ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good for what it is

5+    8/19/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: -It's a short 9 hole course in the middle of Edina, it makes the best of it's limited size.
-a Pitch and Putt for experienced players but for new players will provide a great place that isn't discouraging.
-Ace Runs on 1,3, and 9
Cons: -The concrete pads are small and raised inside the larger teeboxes. These teeboxes can fill with water during the wetter months.
-No signage, 5 holes on one side of the park and 4 on the other side, for people new to the course they may not know to go across the park to finish the course.
-Can get busy with huckers that will throw on you.
-The back 4 holes play very close, the basket for hole 5 and tee box for hole 7 are very close to the fairway for hole 6 and a grip locked disc could very easily hit someone putting on 5 or driving on 7.
Other Thoughts: It's a small park in the middle of the city so a large sprawling course isn't possible just a fun rec course for lunch breaks or after work. I'm always nervous about sending a disc over highway 62 and I wish there was a higher fence.

 Lots of trees and litter, no signs.

5+    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 211  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Well groomed. You can tell that the city is out here every week mowing, there's no rough at all.

2) Good use of natural elevation, #1,4, and 6 are all slightly uphill, 8 is slightly downhill. 2 is up a fairly steep hill and 3 throws down that same hill.

3) 6-8 were full of nice, mature trees.

4) Dual tees, although the shorts are kind of hard to find.
Cons: 1) No Tee signs anywhere, you have to backtrack across the parking lot to get to the back 4 but there's no sign telling you where to go.

2) While there is a mailbox for scorecards, there were none just some garbage.

3) Speaking of garbage, it was everywhere, doesn't make sense, there are garbage cans scattered throughout the course

4) I'm not a fan of water hazards at all, but for a park with 2 small lakes on the property it doesn't make sense to me to not incorporate them somehow.
Other Thoughts: The raised concrete tees on the front 5 are nice because they stay clear of wood-chips but they're just a little short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Bittersweet

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very typical pitch and putt recreational course, meant for casual play, short rounds in a family environment. It features a variety of shots with plenty of mature trees but does not vary much in length so you can keep your drivers at home.

This course features:
-Chainstar baskets which do not need maintenance
-Short holes but a variety of shots and elevation
-The mature oak trees on holes 6 through 9 make for a nice challenge and are more technical than the previous 5 holes. There are multiple lines you can take to each of the holes but you have to keep it low in order to score birdies.
-Hole #3 is a short downhill shot which people at any skill level can go for an ace run.
-Hole #4: For an added challenge try throwing from the pedestrian bridge over Highway 62.
-Hole #5 features a small water hazard if your shot strays too far to the left
Cons: There are a few drawbacks to playing here however they are not going to kill your round

-Small concrete teepads on all the holes and on some of them the ground around them have eroded due to traffic making them useless. On those holes I typically shoot to the side on the ground/wood chips rather than the tee pad.
-No signage to get you to holes 6-9 after completing the first 5. Make sure to look at a map before going although it isn't hard to find on your own. It is on the other side of the parking lot and near the entrance to the water park.
-You can easily throw your disc onto a busy street on hole #8, like I did and watch 3 cars run over it before you can get to it. I suppose that is one way to beat in a Roc.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course if you are just starting to play again and aren't up for the challenge of Bryant Hill or Hyland nearby, or if you want to bring somebody new to the game. If it weren't for the proximity to where I live it is a course you'd probably just be better off skipping.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where do I go?!

1    9/6/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 104  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well groomed park
-Tee box areas with (small) cement tees which could use some attention but at least in place and shortness of tees not a huge con due to mostly shorter shots not requiring a big run-up.
-Large oak trees throughout with good use of small rolling hills and space provided.
-Solid chainstar baskets
-Multi use park good for kids and families (can also be a con when very busy but not a bad thing to be a community gathering place and expose the game of DG to everyone.) Nice pool waterpark, baseball, walking/biking paths, and playground.
-Many ace runs
Cons: -Short tees with eroded ground surrounding them which causes drop offs in front of tee to easily cause a fall or ankle injury.
-NO SIGNS .. besides one on the main park board posted in the middle of the park which you won't even notice until hole 6. Not impossible to navigate if you have even 1/2 a brain but some updating could go a long ways here.
-Mostly straight shots with mids or putters
-Deteriorating tee box areas
-Fairly open
Other Thoughts: Good warm up course for HSSA or Bryant and quick play for multiple rounds. Lack of signage and some updating are the biggest issues here but fun course and worth checking out if in the area.

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Does OK with what it has ...

5+    4/8/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A good example of working with limited space, considering the park includes a pool area, playground, baseball field and tennis court -- on top of having some far-reaching paved trails. You're left with a fairly presentable course, which is a credit to the developers.

-For its mostly pitch-and-putt difficulty, it offers the occasional unique challenge. The front 5 uses rolling terrain the best it can. Mature trees are featured pretty well.

-There's a constant effort to maintain and improve the course features. You can't say that about a lot of 9-hole courses.
Cons: -Because of its location, Rosland attracts a lot traffic during prime-time hours.

-Besides waiting for other throwers, you also need to watch for pedestrians frequently

-Even though the pins are placed strategically well, the natural obstacles don't present enough of a challenge -- with the exception of part of the back 4.

-To echo a previous reviewer's sentiment, the raised concrete tee-pads are pretty small. Even when most of the throws are standing, you're not given much for room.

-The separation between 5 and 6 is necessary, but tacky.

-As much as I believe there should be more disc golf courses, it can be argued that Rosland Park didn't need one.

I admire what the designers ended with, and the fact that it's still a work in progress, but when you're forced to separate a course that's already battling for breathing room in a multi-use park, that severely limits any chance for noticeable improvement.
Other Thoughts: -To its benefit or detriment (you decide), Rosland Park is just off of 62. To commuters, like me, who take Crosstown every damn day, it's nice to have a course that's easy to access and doesn't take long to play. I play this course mainly for it's location alone.

The problem with playing a "truck-stop course" is you're within full view of one of the busiest highways in the Twin Cities area. Kind of kills the quiet aspect.

-Even though I can't fully recommend it, I will continue to play Rosland for its convenience and positive attributes (yes, even after I just questioned the validity of its existence).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

5+    5/13/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has both wide open shots and shots that require skill to get through/around trees. There are some short as well as long shots.
Cons: The course is seperated in the middle to where you have to walk through a parking lot and park to continue playing.
Other Thoughts: The seperation is not enough to keep you from playing. It would also be nice if there was some kind of water hazard as you are so close to a lake.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Edina's ok DGC

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Chainstar baskets
-Timbers and wood chips around baskets
-The the holes on this course are decent with many requiring different shot and selection and keeping your disc low.
-Mature trees add challenge and beauty.
-Grass was mowed and leaves were kept to a minimum.
Cons: -Concrete tees are tiny and have 2-6 inch drop offs around them. It was hard for me to focus on using a full run up/ x-step with possibly spraining my ankle as a result. I rather have tee'd off of grass/dirt than those pads.
-No Signs. I had to scout ahead and use my best judgment to figure out where I was going to throw.
-Some baskets don't have numbers on them.
-Many tees are close to previous basket or extremely close to fairways. I experienced multiple near misses when I was trying to tee off and the group behind me would begin throwing. There were only a few groups on the day I played, I couldn't imagine a busy day...
-Course is split in half 1-5 on one side of the playground/pool area and 6-9 on the other side. If I had not read reviews explaining this I would have not known where to go at all.
-Mud around tees.
-This course is near a busy highway and thus has a lot of noise.
Other Thoughts: This course would be decent if you worked in town and wanted to do something during your lunch break with out driving too far. There are many courses in the area that provide a more complete experience than this one.

I would have given the course a higher rating, because I did think that some of the holes did have nice shot selection and good use of trees, but the cons I experienced outweighed the pros.

Things that are easier to fix to bring this course's score back up:
-Level the ground around the tee pads.
-Put in signage.
-Make sure all baskets have numbers on them.
-Something at hole #5 to tell you where to find hole #6

Many of the other cons are not changeable with out major redesign.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Average 9 Holer

1    9/11/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are better than the original tees.

2) Nice mature oaks set on a gently rolling terrain makes for a nice property for disc golf. It took good design to get all the holes to work well around the mature Oaks. I really enjoyed 6, 7, 8, 9 because of how dense the tree coverage is. You have to beware of all of those low hanging long reaching Oak branches they will kill your discs and throw you way off line if hit at the wrong angle.

3) I enjoyed the short little ace run on #3. Downhiller which is a little tougher to throw than simply flat and straight out. It is so different than the rest of the course which is ok in this situation. It wasn't just a filler hole in my opinion because they used the slop from the tee to the basket effectively to create a cool shot even if it is dead straight.

4) Placement of the baskets is very well done creating a few different shots on this 9 holer. SOme of the baskets are tucked, some are set right under some lower hanging oak branches forcing you to keep it low, one is set dead in the middle of two oaks about 5 feet from either tree creating an almost impossible ace unless you gun straight at the hole, another basket well placed on a hardpan slope which could most definitely frustrate someone who thought thye threw a good shot.

5) Beginner friendly because it is fairly open and short. Some of the oak branches will frustrate the beginner but it will teach them to throw around those trees rather than just max effort straight through them!

6) Mulch around some of the baskets is helpful to keep down the mud, and there is also mulch around a few of the teepads where compaction ocurrs right off the concrete pad.

7) I like the variety in distance on this course. It is always nice to have multi shot holes. I like having approaches you have to nail to get your 3. Longer throwers would have less of an issue getting close in 1 but the beginner to average discer will need to throw an approach or two and not just gun for the duece putt.
Cons: 1) No tee signs just timbers set in the ground to mark the forward (original tees).

2) Concrete tees are better than grass but they are so small you have no real runup you might as well throw flatfooted off those pads. There is also no concrete pad on #4.

3) Baskets aren't in perfect shape. Some minor damage and are just simply getting old.

4) Timbers around some of the greens can be very punishing. I appreciate the effort in putting them in to help retain the mulch and prevent erosion but they can be very punishing to a good shot. If you hit a timber it might skip off or roll away. They are only about 1 timber high but it is really tough to account for what might happen with those around a few of the baskets.

5) Hole 6, 7, 8 and simply too tight together. There is a little more room for the holes to be less dangerous and also better designed. The tee for #8 could be tucked much longer back to the east to protect it from drives and approaches on #7. #6 basket is fine where it is, but is in play on #7 tee and #8 tee. I just woul dlike to have seen a little better usage of the property they have on that corner of the course.

6) Course is very disjointed with #1-5 on one side of the park, then you have to walk past all of the jungle jims and soccer field to the other side of the pool building for 6, 7, 8, 9. It is a bigger deal because there is no map showing you where to go and no sign telling you where the rest of the course is.
Other Thoughts: This is overall a decent course but a few things keep it from being a better than average course. The walk from 5-6 is very long and confusing and there is no mention of disc golf on the park sign??? Do you really want disc golf there if you don't want to change the sign to show a map of the course??? It also is a little lacking in challenge factor but at the very least it isn't just wide open baskets. They have a lot of mature trees on the property that make this course better than average, but the negatives outweigh the coolness of the property in the end making this just simply average. It wa fun to play, but it wouldn't be a regular stop of mine unless I had a quick 30 minutes round and I was on that side of town. It does look like they are making upgrades to the course but not all at once on the whole course. That is positive and maybe I caught the course mid upgrade and that is why it was a little inconsistent.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little congested

2-4    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Getting some erosion mitigation
-Good chainstar baskets
-Nice terrain
-Decent part of town
Cons: -Little to no signage
-Highway can be distracting
-Some holes conflict with others
-A little confusing for new visitor to park to find way around
Other Thoughts: Rosland Park is a nicely kept community park with a large pool, ball field and other park uses. The course winds its way from the parking lot through some open areas and larger trees at the end. Most holes are neutral in shape (more than one route to the pin) or simply wide open.

There are some instances where the tee for the following hole will come into play from the preceding hole. Not a huge problem if the course isn't very busy.

There was construction being done on the course when I was there that was attempting to mitigate some erosion from foot traffic around the tees and baskets. This takes the form of wood chips bounded by 6x6 timbers in large rectangles surrounding the concrete tees. A welcome addition if done well. However, #1's tee catches storm water coming off the slope above and becomes a small pond of water a floating mulch.

Holes consist of rather small-ish concrete tees and aging (aesthetically) but functional Chainstar baskets. There is little in the way of tee signage except for some timbers buried flush in the ground with the hole numbers and hole distances.

The course flows logically in two separate groups of holes, 1-5 and 6-9. After #5, there is a little confusion of where to go for #6. I eventually found it after about 5 minutes of exploring where I thought where it would be.

In all, it's a fun little course to hit if you are in the Mall of America area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.