Minneapolis (Edina), MN 
Rosland Park Share
Uploaded By: alexaaron Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 254ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    6/10/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything is well maintain. The layout is good for the space they have.
Cons: Signs, would be helpful. Tee boxes are nice and big, but the concrete pads are to small. Safety on Hole #3, because of a walking path.
Other Thoughts: There were some other players who did show some common since. Park is busy with kids.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners and short game practice.

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: thebeard
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The park itself is easy to find and once you find the first hole it isn't that difficult to navigate the course (as long as you remember that 6 starts on the opposite side of the pool area from the 5 basket)
The park is cleanly groomed and well maintained. The holes take advantage of the space the park has and gives you a full 9 hole round of short and forgiving disc golf. It is well suited for the beginner. No need for a full bag of discs. Driver (optional), mid and put is all you need.
The thing that I love about this course is that the pin placement does offer you some options to make the shots a bit more challenging if you'd like to work on certain techniques. It makes good use of the elevation changes without making it a shirpa required journey.
Cons: If you are looking for a challenge, this course is probably not for you.
The holes are fairly short and don't offer much for difficult shots without using some imagination.
The biggest downfall to this course is there really isn't a place for a grip and rip opportunity. The holes are too short for any serious driving to be done.
The pads are short, but I use a short approach so it doesn't affect me in the slightest. If you use a long stride approach, you are going to hate these pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall, as a beginner myself, I do like this course as it offers me a safe (very difficult place to lost a disc) and convenient course for me to practice this new hobby of mine.
I've played nearly a dozen courses in the twin cities and I would rate this one as one of the top for beginners tied with Central Park.
Beginners and short game practice is what this course gives you in a very nice, clean and well groomed manner.
I don't care how good I get at this game, I will play this course without hesitation.

 Very Typical Park Course With Work Being Done!

1    7/22/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Rosland Park DGC is just your typical urban disc golf course set in a nice multi-use park. The park houses ballfields, swimming pools, tennis courts, walking trails and all the park users that go along with these amenities.

Right off, I liked the DG mailbox which contained course maps. A cute idea. The course plays 1-5 on one side of the pool and then a fairly long walkout to 6-9 on the other side. I'm glad I was being hosted by locals, Don and Skip, or else this would have added some confusing navigational issues.
A major complaint and a valid one here is the raised concrete teepads. The dirt around them has eroded away leaving the concrete standing 2"-4" higher. The parks department was working on this by installing timbers around the tees with woodchips. When finished, they'll be very nice. The park workers were also building timbered in landscaping areas around the baskets to help with erosion issues. As I understand this is a heavy use course, both of these improvements are welcome.
This is just your basic Rec-Pitch & Putt. Only one hole is longer than 248' so I guess I'd call it a Rec course. My favorite hole was # 3. It's just a little 175' ACE run. Those short ACE runs usually rate high with me. The baskets here are functional Chainstars. It's nice rolling terrain for a course with enough mature trees.
Cons: There is no signage to speak of. The long walk after 5 is not the best. One small sign here would be appreciated. It's a short Rec course. It's good for a quick enjoyable round.
Other Thoughts: You disc golfers in Minnesota are so lucky to be getting so much support from your local parks and recreation departments. Be sure to thank them. I haven't played anywhere else that benefits from this kind of maintenance or finanical help.
Rosland is never to be a disc golf destination course. It is what it is and that's just a fun little 9 hole Rec course. Some of it's flaws are being fixed. Enjoy it! Appreciate it! Be good park patrons as you share it with the park users.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun beginner's course

5+    5/20/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 271  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course's best feature is convenience. It's quick to get to and quick to play. There are a couple alternate tees that make for slightly longer and more fun drives (like from the top of the pedestrian bridge on 4). Constant improvements are being made to the landscaping around the pins and tees. Nice wood chips are on each hole at the basket.
Cons: It's biggest pro is also its biggest con. Because its so conveniently located, it is an extremely busy park. I usually only play early in the morning when there is no one else out playing. Otherwise you get stuck behind a lot of new rec players that will easily slow the course from a 20 minute game to an hour + game. The layout is weird with the back 4 on the other side of the park, but the designers had limited space.
Other Thoughts: I play this course more than any other just because its so close to home and fast to play. It's a great park to introduce new players to the game. Not too intimidating but challenging for beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/17/2010   4/11/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course, great way to kill an hour. Doesn't require much thought on throw placement and is a great course if you want to work on a couple new kinds of throws and just have a good time. Hole #3 can be an easy ace, just a short downhill throw.
Cons: Course is split up into 2 parts. Holes 1-5 are one one side of the pool while holes 6-9 are on the other side. Picnic benches in the middle of hole #1, requiring you to skip it if there are people sitting there. No kiosks or tee signs. There's a box that holds scorecards by the first hole, but I've never seen any scorecards in there, and I play there almost every day when I'm home from college.
Other Thoughts: Fun beginner course, if you've never been disc golfing before, it's a great place to get started. If you want a harder throw on hole #4, go up on the walking path across the top of the freeway and throw from there. If you want to do that, be wary of the possibility that your disc could wind up on the highway!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

5+    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly, but still challenging for more advanced players. The main obstacles here are mature trees guarding the fairways and even the basket on some holes. The longest hole is just over 400' and downhill.

Hard to lose a disc. Water is only a factor on holes 4 and 5 and you could throw it into the highway on hole 4. (and apparently I can almost throw it into the highway on 3, which is a very short, open, downhill shot..)

The park is very well maintained. You usually don't have to spend much time looking for a disc like you would in the tall grasses on some courses. This usually makes for a stress-free round. (the trees may have a different idea..)

Can play a round (of 9) in less than 30 minutes depending on course traffic.

Nice view of Lake Cornelia and throwing parallel to Highway 62 on 4 is kind of cool. (I really dig the lake and trees but still in the city vibe, but some may not like the highway noise. I don't think I've ever noticed it other than some honking)

Saw a HUGE turtle cross the fairway on 1, through the beach volleyball court and (I'm assuming) on his way to the other water!

Locals are cool for the most part.

Makes good use of the given space with a nice mix of short and longer holes.

Nice course for working on different shots and techniques.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation change. There are some hills, most notably on 2 (uphill 300' with downhill slope behind basket), 3 (downhill 175') and 8 (downhill 400'). Other holes are mostly flat (maybe rolling would be more fitting), but feature mature trees to deal with.

Not a very long course for the big arms out there. (longest hole is just over 400')

Can be hard to figure out where to go for holes 6-9 your first time through. You have to go through the parking lot, past the playground on your right, water park on your left and baseball field on your right. You will see the basket for 9 off to your right near the ball field and the teebox for 6 is just up the path from there.

Multi-use park means a lot of other peeps. They usually don't become much of a factor on the actual course, but you do have to be aware of them.

Litter. There are a few garbage cans, but people don't seem to use them much.

The course can get busy, especially during prime time. Holes 6-7-8 can be a bit of a logjam, where people are waiting on people who are waiting on people..
Other Thoughts: I should admit that this is my home course, but I really enjoy playing here. It's great for a quick, relaxing round. It's probably not worth driving a long ways for, but it is a fun time if you are in the area!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Average

5+    6/19/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Its a very well kept park and has plenty of amenities. Lots of mature trees, so there are opportunities for a lot of different kinds of throws. Its a good all around course that keeps people coming back.
Cons: There is not a lot of variety and it can get pretty busy.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    4/6/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well groomed and the course has a good amount of elevation change. It has everything from fairly open fairways to more tight fairways. The course is outfitted with nice concrete tees and chainstar baskets. It should be challenging enough for intermediate to novice level players

There are plenty of trees on the course to make accurate drives more important and also to counter act the relatively short holes.

Perhaps the highlight of the course, hole three is also the shortest hole (175 ft). On the surface it sounds like just a pitch and put hole but the tee pad is about 30 ft about the hole and a heavy wind is blowing across from the lake most of the time. Selecting the right disc and shot for this little hole is a lot more difficult than it sounds.
Cons: The park is very busy with both golfers and other patrons. It lacks character that may be found in other courses. The 400 or so foot walk from the 5th to the 6th hole can make it difficult for first time players to find the 6th tee.
Other Thoughts: OB on holes 5 (water on far left) and 8th (street on the left).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rosland Park

5+    3/21/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 146  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tees on most holes (single tee pad on 3 and 8) with concrete pads for long tees.

Good mix of open and wooded holes. As well as some modest elevation changes. Hole 2 is a blind shot up and over a hill. Hole 3 is a shoots down from the top of a hill.

6 of the 9 holes are under 300' so it is a good course for beginners to play at.

Mailbox at first tee marked 'Scorecards'. (was empty the last time I played)
Cons: It was very muddy around the tee pads when I played. Some new sod would work well there.

Holes 1-5 are on one side of the park, while holes 6-9 are on the other side of the park. If you don't know where you are going, it can be a little confusing.

Walking path wanders around park. You have to throw over the path on hole 3. You need to make sure no one is coming.

As stated in the 'Pros' section, 6 of the 9 holes are under 300'. Players with big arms will need to leave thier drivers in the bag.

Other Thoughts: This park has been very busy most of the time. I spent a lot of time waiting at the first tee waiting to start my round. Also waited at a few other tee pads. Would be nice to have some benches for people who are waiting.

After playing hole 5, walk through the parking lot, follow path between playground and water park. The tee pad for hole 6 will be on the left side of the path behind the water park.

Playground, pool, softball field and picnic tables in the park as well.

I have played this course when it was very windy and my disc landed on the highway (hole 4, big gust of wind). Keep you drives low when it is windy.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/14/2008   1/31/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of changes in elevation in the first 5 holes and on the back 4, they're in a lightly wooded area. 7 of the holes are between 200 and 305 feet. There is one that is 175 feet or so down a hill, which would be easy but the wind blows in your face on this hole. There's one hole, number 8 that is 400 feet and in the middle of some trees.
There's two holes that have water that come into play, but are easily avoidable.
Also, if you're playing in the summer, there's a water park in the middle of the disc golf area.
Cement tee pads.
Cons: The course is in a park that is heavily used. I was there in the middle of the summer when it was about 95, and the water park in the middle of the park had about 250 people there.
Also. it's tricky to find your way from 5 to 6, it took my group about 10 minutes to find it the first time.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.