Minneapolis (Edina), MN 
Rosland Park Share
Uploaded By: alexaaron Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good for what it is

5+    8/19/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: -It's a short 9 hole course in the middle of Edina, it makes the best of it's limited size.
-a Pitch and Putt for experienced players but for new players will provide a great place that isn't discouraging.
-Ace Runs on 1,3, and 9
Cons: -The concrete pads are small and raised inside the larger teeboxes. These teeboxes can fill with water during the wetter months.
-No signage, 5 holes on one side of the park and 4 on the other side, for people new to the course they may not know to go across the park to finish the course.
-Can get busy with huckers that will throw on you.
-The back 4 holes play very close, the basket for hole 5 and tee box for hole 7 are very close to the fairway for hole 6 and a grip locked disc could very easily hit someone putting on 5 or driving on 7.
Other Thoughts: It's a small park in the middle of the city so a large sprawling course isn't possible just a fun rec course for lunch breaks or after work. I'm always nervous about sending a disc over highway 62 and I wish there was a higher fence.


2-4    7/19/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Kenneth Rosland disc golf course is a great nine hole course located in the suburbs of the twin cities. It is a simple course that offers moderate elevation change and is a great course to develop your abilities as a disc golfer. It is a shorter course, but still challenging enough that a serious disc golf will enjoy the 9 hole tune-up.
Cons: The cement tee pads are small and several of them are raised which is a concern for those who have long run ups or those who step through after their release.

After hole 5, the 6th tee is a long ways away (600 plus feet) and there were no markers seen pointing out where to head next.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/10/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything is well maintain. The layout is good for the space they have.
Cons: Signs, would be helpful. Tee boxes are nice and big, but the concrete pads are to small. Safety on Hole #3, because of a walking path.
Other Thoughts: There were some other players who did show some common since. Park is busy with kids.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners and short game practice.

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: thebeard
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The park itself is easy to find and once you find the first hole it isn't that difficult to navigate the course (as long as you remember that 6 starts on the opposite side of the pool area from the 5 basket)
The park is cleanly groomed and well maintained. The holes take advantage of the space the park has and gives you a full 9 hole round of short and forgiving disc golf. It is well suited for the beginner. No need for a full bag of discs. Driver (optional), mid and put is all you need.
The thing that I love about this course is that the pin placement does offer you some options to make the shots a bit more challenging if you'd like to work on certain techniques. It makes good use of the elevation changes without making it a shirpa required journey.
Cons: If you are looking for a challenge, this course is probably not for you.
The holes are fairly short and don't offer much for difficult shots without using some imagination.
The biggest downfall to this course is there really isn't a place for a grip and rip opportunity. The holes are too short for any serious driving to be done.
The pads are short, but I use a short approach so it doesn't affect me in the slightest. If you use a long stride approach, you are going to hate these pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall, as a beginner myself, I do like this course as it offers me a safe (very difficult place to lost a disc) and convenient course for me to practice this new hobby of mine.
I've played nearly a dozen courses in the twin cities and I would rate this one as one of the top for beginners tied with Central Park.
Beginners and short game practice is what this course gives you in a very nice, clean and well groomed manner.
I don't care how good I get at this game, I will play this course without hesitation.

 Avoid Course!

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: aajpity
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The baskets are functional and girls are in bikinis at the waterpark. The grass is also kept short.
Cons: The course is very very very easy. No challenges what so ever. No signs or maps to help you find holes, it is extremely confusing. Tee-pads are extremely small.
Other Thoughts: Avoid this course because it is so confusing and easy. There are other courses in the area that are far better. It is a nice area for walking, biking, swimming, or having a picnic but the disc golf is not worth a trip.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't sprain an ankle on the tee pads...

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Grass kept nice and short
-Bathrooms on site (however they were closed for the year when I was there, not sure the operating times on them)
-Nice fully grown trees which force you to shape shots on several holes
-Cement tee pads are present…however
Cons: -Aforementioned tee pads are ridiculously short
-Ground is badly eroded in some areas, especially around the tee pads
-Course layout is suspect at best as the course is split into two essentially
-There is a dangerous intersection of the approach for hole 7, green for hole 6, and tee-off for hole 8 that is just a disaster waiting to happen
-Navigation is poor at best, I had numerous difficulties finding the next hole, especially because…
-No signs
Other Thoughts: First off, I was thoroughly unimpressed with this course. I wasn't expecting a lot going in since it was an urban course in a city park; but in my opinion it still fell flat even with that expectation.
The tee pads are joke, it would be better if they were removed. They are so short that they are unusable. If you do insist on trying to use them you'll either commit foot fouls and fall off the front into the deeply eroded ground that is nowhere near level with the pads, or you'll have to start from behind the pad and trip on it again because of the badly eroded ground. It's best if you just tee off from the side of the pad and ignore it all together.
Navigation is a challenge the first time here as well. There is a map posted up on one of the boards in the park, but it is nowhere near the start of the course or on the path that you would take at any time during your round; so unless you know it's there you're not going to see it. There's a mailbox that is supposed to have scorecards in it at the beginning, but of course it had no scorecards in it; just a candy bar wrapper and an empty energy drink can. Compounding the navigation problem is the fact that there are no signs. The short tees (which have no tee pads) have a hole number and distance on a 4x4 in the ground; but they are not near the main tees and can be hard to find.
I had a big problem with the course layout at hole 7 as mentioned in the cons of the course. Hole 6 ends awfully close to the line you'd take on a drive from hole 7 which is also right next to the tee pad for hole 8. To make it even worse, after you finish hole 6 you are required to walk back, essentially on the fairway, to the hole 7 tee pad. It's a horrible design and I'm sure more than a few people have been pelted by a disc at this intersection in the past. This would be a huge bottleneck during a time when the course would be busy as well.
The length and difficulty of the course is typical of your standard rec course. Everything is reachable from the tees if you are decent at driving and if not it's still a pretty easy par. There are better rec courses around than this one, I doubt that I'll be visiting this course again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of trees and litter, no signs.

5+    9/19/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 204  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Well groomed. You can tell that the city is out here every week mowing, there's no rough at all.

2) Good use of natural elevation, #1,4, and 6 are all slightly uphill, 8 is slightly downhill. 2 is up a fairly steep hill and 3 throws down that same hill.

3) 6-8 were full of nice, mature trees.

4) Dual tees, although the shorts are kind of hard to find.
Cons: 1) No Tee signs anywhere, you have to backtrack across the parking lot to get to the back 4 but there's no sign telling you where to go.

2) While there is a mailbox for scorecards, there were none just some garbage.

3) Speaking of garbage, it was everywhere, doesn't make sense, there are garbage cans scattered throughout the course

4) I'm not a fan of water hazards at all, but for a park with 2 small lakes on the property it doesn't make sense to me to not incorporate them somehow.
Other Thoughts: The raised concrete tees on the front 5 are nice because they stay clear of wood-chips but they're just a little short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Bittersweet

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very typical pitch and putt recreational course, meant for casual play, short rounds in a family environment. It features a variety of shots with plenty of mature trees but does not vary much in length so you can keep your drivers at home.

This course features:
-Chainstar baskets which do not need maintenance
-Short holes but a variety of shots and elevation
-The mature oak trees on holes 6 through 9 make for a nice challenge and are more technical than the previous 5 holes. There are multiple lines you can take to each of the holes but you have to keep it low in order to score birdies.
-Hole #3 is a short downhill shot which people at any skill level can go for an ace run.
-Hole #4: For an added challenge try throwing from the pedestrian bridge over Highway 62.
-Hole #5 features a small water hazard if your shot strays too far to the left
Cons: There are a few drawbacks to playing here however they are not going to kill your round

-Small concrete teepads on all the holes and on some of them the ground around them have eroded due to traffic making them useless. On those holes I typically shoot to the side on the ground/wood chips rather than the tee pad.
-No signage to get you to holes 6-9 after completing the first 5. Make sure to look at a map before going although it isn't hard to find on your own. It is on the other side of the parking lot and near the entrance to the water park.
-You can easily throw your disc onto a busy street on hole #8, like I did and watch 3 cars run over it before you can get to it. I suppose that is one way to beat in a Roc.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course if you are just starting to play again and aren't up for the challenge of Bryant Hill or Hyland nearby, or if you want to bring somebody new to the game. If it weren't for the proximity to where I live it is a course you'd probably just be better off skipping.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where do I go?!

1    9/6/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well groomed park
-Tee box areas with (small) cement tees which could use some attention but at least in place and shortness of tees not a huge con due to mostly shorter shots not requiring a big run-up.
-Large oak trees throughout with good use of small rolling hills and space provided.
-Solid chainstar baskets
-Multi use park good for kids and families (can also be a con when very busy but not a bad thing to be a community gathering place and expose the game of DG to everyone.) Nice pool waterpark, baseball, walking/biking paths, and playground.
-Many ace runs
Cons: -Short tees with eroded ground surrounding them which causes drop offs in front of tee to easily cause a fall or ankle injury.
-NO SIGNS .. besides one on the main park board posted in the middle of the park which you won't even notice until hole 6. Not impossible to navigate if you have even 1/2 a brain but some updating could go a long ways here.
-Mostly straight shots with mids or putters
-Deteriorating tee box areas
-Fairly open
Other Thoughts: Good warm up course for HSSA or Bryant and quick play for multiple rounds. Lack of signage and some updating are the biggest issues here but fun course and worth checking out if in the area.

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Typical Park Course With Work Being Done!

1    7/22/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Rosland Park DGC is just your typical urban disc golf course set in a nice multi-use park. The park houses ballfields, swimming pools, tennis courts, walking trails and all the park users that go along with these amenities.

Right off, I liked the DG mailbox which contained course maps. A cute idea. The course plays 1-5 on one side of the pool and then a fairly long walkout to 6-9 on the other side. I'm glad I was being hosted by locals, Don and Skip, or else this would have added some confusing navigational issues.
A major complaint and a valid one here is the raised concrete teepads. The dirt around them has eroded away leaving the concrete standing 2"-4" higher. The parks department was working on this by installing timbers around the tees with woodchips. When finished, they'll be very nice. The park workers were also building timbered in landscaping areas around the baskets to help with erosion issues. As I understand this is a heavy use course, both of these improvements are welcome.
This is just your basic Rec-Pitch & Putt. Only one hole is longer than 248' so I guess I'd call it a Rec course. My favorite hole was # 3. It's just a little 175' ACE run. Those short ACE runs usually rate high with me. The baskets here are functional Chainstars. It's nice rolling terrain for a course with enough mature trees.
Cons: There is no signage to speak of. The long walk after 5 is not the best. One small sign here would be appreciated. It's a short Rec course. It's good for a quick enjoyable round.
Other Thoughts: You disc golfers in Minnesota are so lucky to be getting so much support from your local parks and recreation departments. Be sure to thank them. I haven't played anywhere else that benefits from this kind of maintenance or finanical help.
Rosland is never to be a disc golf destination course. It is what it is and that's just a fun little 9 hole Rec course. Some of it's flaws are being fixed. Enjoy it! Appreciate it! Be good park patrons as you share it with the park users.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.