Disc Golf Store
Minneapolis (Edina), MN 
Rosland Park Share
Uploaded By: alexaaron Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Fun little course

5+    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly, but still challenging for more advanced players. The main obstacles here are mature trees guarding the fairways and even the basket on some holes. The longest hole is just over 400' and downhill.

Hard to lose a disc. Water is only a factor on holes 4 and 5 and you could throw it into the highway on hole 4. (and apparently I can almost throw it into the highway on 3, which is a very short, open, downhill shot..)

The park is very well maintained. You usually don't have to spend much time looking for a disc like you would in the tall grasses on some courses. This usually makes for a stress-free round. (the trees may have a different idea..)

Can play a round (of 9) in less than 30 minutes depending on course traffic.

Nice view of Lake Cornelia and throwing parallel to Highway 62 on 4 is kind of cool. (I really dig the lake and trees but still in the city vibe, but some may not like the highway noise. I don't think I've ever noticed it other than some honking)

Saw a HUGE turtle cross the fairway on 1, through the beach volleyball court and (I'm assuming) on his way to the other water!

Locals are cool for the most part.

Makes good use of the given space with a nice mix of short and longer holes.

Nice course for working on different shots and techniques.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation change. There are some hills, most notably on 2 (uphill 300' with downhill slope behind basket), 3 (downhill 175') and 8 (downhill 400'). Other holes are mostly flat (maybe rolling would be more fitting), but feature mature trees to deal with.

Not a very long course for the big arms out there. (longest hole is just over 400')

Can be hard to figure out where to go for holes 6-9 your first time through. You have to go through the parking lot, past the playground on your right, water park on your left and baseball field on your right. You will see the basket for 9 off to your right near the ball field and the teebox for 6 is just up the path from there.

Multi-use park means a lot of other peeps. They usually don't become much of a factor on the actual course, but you do have to be aware of them.

Litter. There are a few garbage cans, but people don't seem to use them much.

The course can get busy, especially during prime time. Holes 6-7-8 can be a bit of a logjam, where people are waiting on people who are waiting on people..
Other Thoughts: I should admit that this is my home course, but I really enjoy playing here. It's great for a quick, relaxing round. It's probably not worth driving a long ways for, but it is a fun time if you are in the area!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Average

5+    6/19/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Its a very well kept park and has plenty of amenities. Lots of mature trees, so there are opportunities for a lot of different kinds of throws. Its a good all around course that keeps people coming back.
Cons: There is not a lot of variety and it can get pretty busy.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    4/6/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: mcrow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well groomed and the course has a good amount of elevation change. It has everything from fairly open fairways to more tight fairways. The course is outfitted with nice concrete tees and chainstar baskets. It should be challenging enough for intermediate to novice level players

There are plenty of trees on the course to make accurate drives more important and also to counter act the relatively short holes.

Perhaps the highlight of the course, hole three is also the shortest hole (175 ft). On the surface it sounds like just a pitch and put hole but the tee pad is about 30 ft about the hole and a heavy wind is blowing across from the lake most of the time. Selecting the right disc and shot for this little hole is a lot more difficult than it sounds.
Cons: The park is very busy with both golfers and other patrons. It lacks character that may be found in other courses. The 400 or so foot walk from the 5th to the 6th hole can make it difficult for first time players to find the 6th tee.
Other Thoughts: OB on holes 5 (water on far left) and 8th (street on the left).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rosland Park DGC

2-4    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Located just outside the Twin Cities about 10 minutes from Mall of America, Rosland Park DGC is placed in a beautiful multi-use park with rolling hills throughout, and is connected to Lake Cornelia. This park also provides a lot of other activities including volleyball, baseball, multiple playgrounds for the kiddos, and a massive water park and pool for those hot days.

What made this a good course was it's strategic pin placements of the 9 Chainstar baskets as well as where the cement tee pads were located (which were both in good shape).

Fairways were well defined and foliage maintenance was apparent. There was no underbrush on the entire course with regularly mowed grass throughout and trees which were trimmed accordingly. Although there weren't as many garbage cans as I would have liked to see, there appeared to be trash bins present and seemed to be emptied regularly.

The course design for the most part was well thought out as Timmy Gill made great use of this park considering there were a lot of other park users doing so many other activities. Elevation was optimized as every shot had you shooting one way or another along the rolling hills. Restrooms were present although closed for the season (but am sure will open soon since it is now spring). The course used a variety of distances, thus requiring multiple shots. The majority of the course had you weaving in and out of trees using technical shots with the occasional open bomb.

Parking was easily accessible with a small lot by hole one and a much larger lot near hole seven (although that one is meant primarily for the water park).
Cons: Although Timmy Gill did a wonderful job
making use of the land he had I felt there was a lot of room for improvement. For starters, the course was lacking a kiosk with a map or tee signs to help first timers navigate. When I played the first time through I found myself hurrying to keep up with the local in front of me so I knew where I was going. I had read that the walk from hole 5 to 6 was a bit long and difficult to find so I didn't want to get lost (and it was a good thing I did cause it was a bit tough to find). The front five holes were on one side of the park and the other four were on another leaving some issues with the flow.

Although the course states there are duel tee pads one, they were dirt and two, they appeared more appropriate for the novice player so I skipped them and just played the nine holes three times through (which took me less then two hours).

Because the course was so beautiful it would have been great to see more benches throughout, epecially near some of the tee pads so DGers and other park users could sit and enjoy the scenery.

I also noticed that due to so many other park ameneties, the amount of people could be an issue, especially during the warmer months.

Last, for such an amazing park it would have been nice to see the holes longer overall. There truely were some great holes but holes 3 and 9 I felt were gimmies. I shot under my first time there and on that day the wind was absolutely horrible. If a pro player was there I would expect them to shoot nine under for I know that on a good day I myself could do it! This course to me seemed much more appropriate for an amateur player than pro.
Other Thoughts:
One hole that truely stuck out in my mind was hole two. This shot was just over 300 feet up a hill towards a blind tee. Once up on the top of the hill you had to putt at a basket that had an incredible view of Lake Cornelia behind it. To make things more exciting you had to make your putt or wind up at the bottom of the hill about 75 feet away. On a windy day like mine making par was quite a task.

For being my first time there I must say I had a blast. The locals were very friendly (thanks Gary), allowing me to tag along and see some truely beautiful parts of the great city of Edina. The course was well taken care of and the overall atmosphere was quite positive. It is great to see a state so supportive of this amazing sport.


13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Rosland Park

5+    3/21/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 146  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tees on most holes (single tee pad on 3 and 8) with concrete pads for long tees.

Good mix of open and wooded holes. As well as some modest elevation changes. Hole 2 is a blind shot up and over a hill. Hole 3 is a shoots down from the top of a hill.

6 of the 9 holes are under 300' so it is a good course for beginners to play at.

Mailbox at first tee marked 'Scorecards'. (was empty the last time I played)
Cons: It was very muddy around the tee pads when I played. Some new sod would work well there.

Holes 1-5 are on one side of the park, while holes 6-9 are on the other side of the park. If you don't know where you are going, it can be a little confusing.

Walking path wanders around park. You have to throw over the path on hole 3. You need to make sure no one is coming.

As stated in the 'Pros' section, 6 of the 9 holes are under 300'. Players with big arms will need to leave thier drivers in the bag.

Other Thoughts: This park has been very busy most of the time. I spent a lot of time waiting at the first tee waiting to start my round. Also waited at a few other tee pads. Would be nice to have some benches for people who are waiting.

After playing hole 5, walk through the parking lot, follow path between playground and water park. The tee pad for hole 6 will be on the left side of the path behind the water park.

Playground, pool, softball field and picnic tables in the park as well.

I have played this course when it was very windy and my disc landed on the highway (hole 4, big gust of wind). Keep you drives low when it is windy.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/14/2008   1/31/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of changes in elevation in the first 5 holes and on the back 4, they're in a lightly wooded area. 7 of the holes are between 200 and 305 feet. There is one that is 175 feet or so down a hill, which would be easy but the wind blows in your face on this hole. There's one hole, number 8 that is 400 feet and in the middle of some trees.
There's two holes that have water that come into play, but are easily avoidable.
Also, if you're playing in the summer, there's a water park in the middle of the disc golf area.
Cement tee pads.
Cons: The course is in a park that is heavily used. I was there in the middle of the summer when it was about 95, and the water park in the middle of the park had about 250 people there.
Also. it's tricky to find your way from 5 to 6, it took my group about 10 minutes to find it the first time.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Busy, still fun though

1    7/19/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -No lost discs, unless you hit the water hazard next to hole 5.
-Nice tee boxes and chains.
-Easy to follow.
-Some decent elevation changes to spice it up.
-If you are willing to take a swim you may find discs in the pond by 5. My group found 12 of them.
-Swimming pool with slides to cool off at on a hot day.
-Score cards located in mailbox at hole 1(although they were out when i was there)
-Few large mature trees.
-Well groomed and maintained.
-Easy to find near freeway.

Cons: -Very busy with disc golfers, swimmers, and any other type of person you expect in a city park.
-Not a lot of trees or other obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you know to follow the path from 5-6 otherwise it may appear to be a 5 hole disc golf course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A nice little course.

5+    8/27/2005   12/27/2007
Review By: Marv Vega
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is my favorite Minnesota course, I've probably played it 30 times. It's a quick play with a nice mix of challenging and easy holes. The course is groomed so lost discs aren't an issue (unless you hit the freeway or water hazards). The course does have some moderate elevation changes and some scattered trees to add complexity.
Cons: Not too terribly challenging. There can be pedestrian traffic along the course, especially on the weekends.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center