Minneapolis (Edina), MN 
Rosland Park Share
Uploaded By: Goon13 Hole #9 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Decent

5+    5/21/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: chinweasel
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Elevation change with a few challenging holes.
Cons: Tees are way to short and narrow. I always seem to fall off the edge after my throw. Be Careful not to twist your knee or ankle.
Other Thoughts: Step off to the side of the tees if you have a long stride.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun beginner's course

5+    5/20/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 271  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course's best feature is convenience. It's quick to get to and quick to play. There are a couple alternate tees that make for slightly longer and more fun drives (like from the top of the pedestrian bridge on 4). Constant improvements are being made to the landscaping around the pins and tees. Nice wood chips are on each hole at the basket.
Cons: It's biggest pro is also its biggest con. Because its so conveniently located, it is an extremely busy park. I usually only play early in the morning when there is no one else out playing. Otherwise you get stuck behind a lot of new rec players that will easily slow the course from a 20 minute game to an hour + game. The layout is weird with the back 4 on the other side of the park, but the designers had limited space.
Other Thoughts: I play this course more than any other just because its so close to home and fast to play. It's a great park to introduce new players to the game. Not too intimidating but challenging for beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Does OK with what it has ...

5+    4/8/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A good example of working with limited space, considering the park includes a pool area, playground, baseball field and tennis court -- on top of having some far-reaching paved trails. You're left with a fairly presentable course, which is a credit to the developers.

-For its mostly pitch-and-putt difficulty, it offers the occasional unique challenge. The front 5 uses rolling terrain the best it can. Mature trees are featured pretty well.

-There's a constant effort to maintain and improve the course features. You can't say that about a lot of 9-hole courses.
Cons: -Because of its location, Rosland attracts a lot traffic during prime-time hours.

-Besides waiting for other throwers, you also need to watch for pedestrians frequently

-Even though the pins are placed strategically well, the natural obstacles don't present enough of a challenge -- with the exception of part of the back 4.

-To echo a previous reviewer's sentiment, the raised concrete tee-pads are pretty small. Even when most of the throws are standing, you're not given much for room.

-The separation between 5 and 6 is necessary, but tacky.

-As much as I believe there should be more disc golf courses, it can be argued that Rosland Park didn't need one.

I admire what the designers ended with, and the fact that it's still a work in progress, but when you're forced to separate a course that's already battling for breathing room in a multi-use park, that severely limits any chance for noticeable improvement.
Other Thoughts: -To its benefit or detriment (you decide), Rosland Park is just off of 62. To commuters, like me, who take Crosstown every damn day, it's nice to have a course that's easy to access and doesn't take long to play. I play this course mainly for it's location alone.

The problem with playing a "truck-stop course" is you're within full view of one of the busiest highways in the Twin Cities area. Kind of kills the quiet aspect.

-Even though I can't fully recommend it, I will continue to play Rosland for its convenience and positive attributes (yes, even after I just questioned the validity of its existence).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    3/19/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and nice baskets. Hole 3 is a fun downhill ace run.
Cons: Short, weird layout with 1-5 on one side of the parking lot, and 6-9 across the parking lot and behind the pool. Nothing special course. No high degree of difficulty on any of the holes
Other Thoughts: Pretty average course. Nothing worth making a special trip for. Not too far from Bryant lake, and other than on a lunch break nearby I cannot come up with a good reason to play this course over Bryant. Loses half a star for the layout and having to cross the parking lot and go behind the pool to finish the course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/17/2010   4/11/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course, great way to kill an hour. Doesn't require much thought on throw placement and is a great course if you want to work on a couple new kinds of throws and just have a good time. Hole #3 can be an easy ace, just a short downhill throw.
Cons: Course is split up into 2 parts. Holes 1-5 are one one side of the pool while holes 6-9 are on the other side. Picnic benches in the middle of hole #1, requiring you to skip it if there are people sitting there. No kiosks or tee signs. There's a box that holds scorecards by the first hole, but I've never seen any scorecards in there, and I play there almost every day when I'm home from college.
Other Thoughts: Fun beginner course, if you've never been disc golfing before, it's a great place to get started. If you want a harder throw on hole #4, go up on the walking path across the top of the freeway and throw from there. If you want to do that, be wary of the possibility that your disc could wind up on the highway!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

5+    5/13/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has both wide open shots and shots that require skill to get through/around trees. There are some short as well as long shots.
Cons: The course is seperated in the middle to where you have to walk through a parking lot and park to continue playing.
Other Thoughts: The seperation is not enough to keep you from playing. It would also be nice if there was some kind of water hazard as you are so close to a lake.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Edina's ok DGC

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Chainstar baskets
-Timbers and wood chips around baskets
-The the holes on this course are decent with many requiring different shot and selection and keeping your disc low.
-Mature trees add challenge and beauty.
-Grass was mowed and leaves were kept to a minimum.
Cons: -Concrete tees are tiny and have 2-6 inch drop offs around them. It was hard for me to focus on using a full run up/ x-step with possibly spraining my ankle as a result. I rather have tee'd off of grass/dirt than those pads.
-No Signs. I had to scout ahead and use my best judgment to figure out where I was going to throw.
-Some baskets don't have numbers on them.
-Many tees are close to previous basket or extremely close to fairways. I experienced multiple near misses when I was trying to tee off and the group behind me would begin throwing. There were only a few groups on the day I played, I couldn't imagine a busy day...
-Course is split in half 1-5 on one side of the playground/pool area and 6-9 on the other side. If I had not read reviews explaining this I would have not known where to go at all.
-Mud around tees.
-This course is near a busy highway and thus has a lot of noise.
Other Thoughts: This course would be decent if you worked in town and wanted to do something during your lunch break with out driving too far. There are many courses in the area that provide a more complete experience than this one.

I would have given the course a higher rating, because I did think that some of the holes did have nice shot selection and good use of trees, but the cons I experienced outweighed the pros.

Things that are easier to fix to bring this course's score back up:
-Level the ground around the tee pads.
-Put in signage.
-Make sure all baskets have numbers on them.
-Something at hole #5 to tell you where to find hole #6

Many of the other cons are not changeable with out major redesign.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Average 9 Holer

1    9/11/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are better than the original tees.

2) Nice mature oaks set on a gently rolling terrain makes for a nice property for disc golf. It took good design to get all the holes to work well around the mature Oaks. I really enjoyed 6, 7, 8, 9 because of how dense the tree coverage is. You have to beware of all of those low hanging long reaching Oak branches they will kill your discs and throw you way off line if hit at the wrong angle.

3) I enjoyed the short little ace run on #3. Downhiller which is a little tougher to throw than simply flat and straight out. It is so different than the rest of the course which is ok in this situation. It wasn't just a filler hole in my opinion because they used the slop from the tee to the basket effectively to create a cool shot even if it is dead straight.

4) Placement of the baskets is very well done creating a few different shots on this 9 holer. SOme of the baskets are tucked, some are set right under some lower hanging oak branches forcing you to keep it low, one is set dead in the middle of two oaks about 5 feet from either tree creating an almost impossible ace unless you gun straight at the hole, another basket well placed on a hardpan slope which could most definitely frustrate someone who thought thye threw a good shot.

5) Beginner friendly because it is fairly open and short. Some of the oak branches will frustrate the beginner but it will teach them to throw around those trees rather than just max effort straight through them!

6) Mulch around some of the baskets is helpful to keep down the mud, and there is also mulch around a few of the teepads where compaction ocurrs right off the concrete pad.

7) I like the variety in distance on this course. It is always nice to have multi shot holes. I like having approaches you have to nail to get your 3. Longer throwers would have less of an issue getting close in 1 but the beginner to average discer will need to throw an approach or two and not just gun for the duece putt.
Cons: 1) No tee signs just timbers set in the ground to mark the forward (original tees).

2) Concrete tees are better than grass but they are so small you have no real runup you might as well throw flatfooted off those pads. There is also no concrete pad on #4.

3) Baskets aren't in perfect shape. Some minor damage and are just simply getting old.

4) Timbers around some of the greens can be very punishing. I appreciate the effort in putting them in to help retain the mulch and prevent erosion but they can be very punishing to a good shot. If you hit a timber it might skip off or roll away. They are only about 1 timber high but it is really tough to account for what might happen with those around a few of the baskets.

5) Hole 6, 7, 8 and simply too tight together. There is a little more room for the holes to be less dangerous and also better designed. The tee for #8 could be tucked much longer back to the east to protect it from drives and approaches on #7. #6 basket is fine where it is, but is in play on #7 tee and #8 tee. I just woul dlike to have seen a little better usage of the property they have on that corner of the course.

6) Course is very disjointed with #1-5 on one side of the park, then you have to walk past all of the jungle jims and soccer field to the other side of the pool building for 6, 7, 8, 9. It is a bigger deal because there is no map showing you where to go and no sign telling you where the rest of the course is.
Other Thoughts: This is overall a decent course but a few things keep it from being a better than average course. The walk from 5-6 is very long and confusing and there is no mention of disc golf on the park sign??? Do you really want disc golf there if you don't want to change the sign to show a map of the course??? It also is a little lacking in challenge factor but at the very least it isn't just wide open baskets. They have a lot of mature trees on the property that make this course better than average, but the negatives outweigh the coolness of the property in the end making this just simply average. It wa fun to play, but it wouldn't be a regular stop of mine unless I had a quick 30 minutes round and I was on that side of town. It does look like they are making upgrades to the course but not all at once on the whole course. That is positive and maybe I caught the course mid upgrade and that is why it was a little inconsistent.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 arrrrgh me matey...

5+    8/16/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: grimace
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beginner course. has some skill shots that should be in everyone's bag. deuce rally. close. is being re-landscaped(in progress). open all winter. vacuumed leaves in the fall. no lost discs.
Cons: Short, flow broken up by a parking lot and a swimming pool. 5 holes on one side and 4 on the other side. usually very packed. lots of traffic. couple of the holes are placed near picnic areas. be careful.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little congested

2-4    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Getting some erosion mitigation
-Good chainstar baskets
-Nice terrain
-Decent part of town
Cons: -Little to no signage
-Highway can be distracting
-Some holes conflict with others
-A little confusing for new visitor to park to find way around
Other Thoughts: Rosland Park is a nicely kept community park with a large pool, ball field and other park uses. The course winds its way from the parking lot through some open areas and larger trees at the end. Most holes are neutral in shape (more than one route to the pin) or simply wide open.

There are some instances where the tee for the following hole will come into play from the preceding hole. Not a huge problem if the course isn't very busy.

There was construction being done on the course when I was there that was attempting to mitigate some erosion from foot traffic around the tees and baskets. This takes the form of wood chips bounded by 6x6 timbers in large rectangles surrounding the concrete tees. A welcome addition if done well. However, #1's tee catches storm water coming off the slope above and becomes a small pond of water a floating mulch.

Holes consist of rather small-ish concrete tees and aging (aesthetically) but functional Chainstar baskets. There is little in the way of tee signage except for some timbers buried flush in the ground with the hole numbers and hole distances.

The course flows logically in two separate groups of holes, 1-5 and 6-9. After #5, there is a little confusion of where to go for #6. I eventually found it after about 5 minutes of exploring where I thought where it would be.

In all, it's a fun little course to hit if you are in the Mall of America area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.