Lafayette, IN 
Murdock Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #15 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Was Hoping For More

1    7/25/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: jericho2u
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes 1-6 are classic, clean, wooded yet open holes that are a lot of fun to open up from the tees.
Cons: Pavilion here, playground there, busy road over there, parking lot full of cars there... there was a lot of opportunity to hit people here.

Pavers & rubber mats for tees: The pavers are what pavers become; uneven. The rubber mats were worse. And every tee seemed like it was short, as in I couldn't take my full set of steps to throw without ending up off the front of it.

The two elevated baskets were silly & gimmicky... what's the point?

Hole 10 with its swamp/woods in the middle of the fairway (& no way to stay inbounds by throwing out & around it) made it an immediate skip.

Holes 12-16 in the woods were kind of silly. I think it's funny that a lot of people seem to enjoy this group of holes in the woods... and maybe I'm just spoiled with Lemon Lake being my home park... but putting a tee in, then throwing a basket at the other end of the woods 250 feet away, & then providing no fairway, etc... for the hole, but rather just saying throw through the woods/bramble/etc... seems kind of pointless to me.
Other Thoughts: Was hoping for something more interesting here, with my "home" course being Lemon Lake, I've just seen everything they tried to do here done a thousand times better. I'm always cool with the existence of a course, because, well, it's another course that people can play at... but there was nothing here that would ever bring me back to play again. Was probably the least interesting, & my least favorite, 18 hole course I've ever played. That being said, try it for yourself, & maybe you'll have a different experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Much Improved

2-4    10/11/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now 18 different holes with 18 grippy baskets. Original baskets are the same but the new ones are Chainstar. Original holes 1-9 are still there but most of them have been renumbered.

Two tees per hole: 1-10 and 18 are brick pads for both tees. 11-17 are rubber mats.

Signs - each tee (pro and amateur) have their own signs that include distance, par, and a map of the hole. There are also signs between the wooded holes pointing to where the next tees are (pro or amateur).

Variety: uphill, downhill, flat, open, and wooded holes. Holes 12-17 are new wooded holes. Each wooded hole has elevation of some sort. Bad throws will result in a tough approach.

A few unique baskets: Holes 5 and 12 are raised baskets. Bottom of the basket is at eye level. Hole 13 was lowered to the ground. Adds variety and alters approach shots.

Benches, water, and trash cans on site.

Holes 4 and 8 Pro tees share the same spot. Bricks in the shape of a capital L. Interesting to see.
Cons: Rubber tees on holes 11-17. It breaks up the unity of the course. The tees did not alter your throw. I didn't have a probes with it but others might.

I thought holes 1-10 and 18 were pretty bunched together. Across the street, there was plenty of unused land that could have been home to two new holes that would have been downhill/uphill bombs. With that being said, the new holes really improved this course.

Course could use a practice basket or a practice hole.
Other Thoughts: I was very impressed with the new look course. The wooded holes take this course from a typical course in a college town and make it more of a destination and make it much more challenging.

The last time I played this course was 6 years ago. I'm glad the original holes are mostly still there.

Original course had alternate tees that were considered holes 10-18. Now those have been switched to either the pro or amateur versions of that hole with 9 new holes.

I would recommend this course to anybody looking for not only variety but for a solid round of golf. I will definitely try to return although I'm not often in the Lafayette area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Lafayette

2-4    9/21/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: bigboned
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The redesigned Murdock Park is vastly superior to old course. Large concrete/brick tee pads. Good signage. The swamp has been taken mostly out of play and the wooded holes are fun to play, fairways not too tight and light underbrush, unlike many other wooded courses.
Cons: There are a couple of elevated baskets as well as one at ground level which I don't hate, but could do done without. I don't see what they add to the game and they just felt gimmicky to me.
Other Thoughts: There are many longer holes that may frustrate beginners who've yet to develop distance. This isn't a par 3 course, however if you have enough arm and are looking for a challenge you may play it as such.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Surprise

1    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: optimalben
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Length: several very long holes that let you try to air it out.
There are some "technical" holes on the back 9 through the woods that blend nicely with the open ones.
Regular and pro tees that are well-marked and arrows on the pins that direct you to the next tee.
Cons: I'm counting it as a "con" because I'm not happy with how I scored the first time--given how well I thought I played it. But this course doesn't seem to reward "good" drives enough. Even when I put my drives where I wanted them, i.e., hit the "window" or the path I was aiming at, I ended up with a lot of tough approaches with small trees blocking them they even obscure you when you're surprisingly close to the "green".

The course doesn't let up. Every shot is a challenge. Again, though, that could be a feature instead of a bug.
Other Thoughts: Several OB areas that genuinely come into play. The course is fit into a pretty compact space and driveways and sidewalks do come into play.

I am pleased to have access to a course of this quality as my new "regular" course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Murdocky

1    6/6/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The first 11 holes (as well as #18) play through a bustling city park with scattered mature trees dotting the grassy open areas. The course shares space on the front nine with other park activities. The back nine crosses the road and then plays through a more secluded wooded area that allows for much tighter fairways and a better mix of elevation. Pin placements in the wooded areas bring the elevation into play nicely.
- A marshy area brings water into play on #'s 1 and 8, but this is easily avoidable for most players.
- A very decent mix of distances results from two sets of tees (white and gold). The long tees are fairly challenging but nothing world-beating. The shorts allow for lots of birdies and/or ace-runs.
- Elevated baskets (#'s 4 and 12) add some artificial elevation.
- Descriptive signage makes navigation easy; the sole exception is #11's long sign, which I swear is misleading as to pin position. I even looked at it again after #17 while heading to #18.
- Mixed pads (mostly brick pavers held in place with wood and gravel to prevent erosion) never affected my round. Not ideal but not a drawback in any way.
Cons: - Crowded park conditions cause conflicts in many areas of the front nine. Hole #5's fairway is dangerously close to a playground, and the first several holes share space with a pavilion, grills, etc.
- The front nine, while doing its best to mix things up shot-, distance-, and elevation-wise still falls a bit on the repetitive side. Typical park-style dg, while not bad, isn't particularly great either.
Other Thoughts: - The more secluded area on the back nine was pretty darn solid, and I enjoyed these holes very much. I liked that you're basically in a small patch of woods, completely concealed, but still at times only a hundred feet or less from bustling downtown Lafayette streets.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting course

1    3/23/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice old neighborhood park
- Paver tees on the front, fly pads on the back. All nice and level
- Paver circles around the baskets is a nice touch
- Beautiful large old trees to fly around
- Maximized course for a small space
Cons: - If this course is crowded people are in danger. Many of the shots fly near other tees, near streets or near pavilions. Cars and people are within range for a number of shots. Look before you throw!
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice mix of holes and the pars from the orange tees felt nice and fair both in length and difficulty. The course seems to favor a RHBH thrower slightly, but not so much so that it seems unfair. Here are my impressions hole to hole as I went through.

Hole 1: Long open right turn around some big trees. Slight downhill. Beautiful opener.

Hole 2: Shorter hole with a lane to thread. Slight left tun into the pin.

Hole 3: This is a longer opportunity to thread soem trees to a hole on the right. Nice swamp to the right.

Hole 4: This is an uphill tree threader with a hole located on top of a double poll. I lie when people do goofy things like this to baskets.

Hole 5: Uphill through some thick trees with a slight turn to the left at the end of the flight path.

Hole 6: From orange this was a hard right tunnel throw. While not long, the flight path is a challenging one. Cool hole.

Hole 7: This hole is really close to the road and one tick off of a tree on the right lane could cost you some money. There is a safer lane to the left you can use.

Hole 8: This is a nice bigger right turn around old trees. A bit longer in length. Neat swamp on the right.

Hole 9: This is a longer shot. You have to pick a lane to commit to through the trees.

Hole 10: This is a longer straight uphill shot, some small trees can cause havoc on the left side up toward the pin.

Hole 11: This hole is across the road where the newer holes are. This is a nice long par four downhill that lets you really pull out a driver and rip. Hole is tucked down to the left in a stand of smaller brush trees.

Hole 12: This begins all of the tunnel woods holes. This is an uphill tunnel with a pin on top of a triple poll to the left. Big fun.

Hole 13: This is a straight short tunnel ace race chance. Just rip a putter right at it.

Hole 14: This is the tightest tunnel I may have ever seen. Just try to thread the needle up then take a quick left to a basket embedded in the ground.

Hole 15: This is a straight medium length tunnel with the basket in a step off cliff situation on the right at the finish. Miss a longer putt here and you are in some trouble.

Hole 16: This is a tunnel uphill with a sharp right hook to the basket at the finish.

Hole 17: This is the second par 4 on the course. Nice tunnel uphill to an opening, then left turn to a basket protected by a low hanging larger tree. Fun hole. Emphasis falls on the drive being in a place to let you throw well the the pin.

18: This hole is a longer finish par three where you have a tight tunnel between some big old trees. There is a pavilion on the left that is awful close so be careful on the throws.

Overall a pretty cool course, would definitely play again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    3/4/2013   3/4/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: - course has now been expanded to 18 holes and holes 11-17 are very good and different from 1-10.
-marking on the back 9 is excellent
-2 teepads per hole
-holes 11, 13,17
Cons: -front 9 teepads are bad--slick. Would rather have pads like the back 9 or dirt.
-hole 7
Other Thoughts: keep improving the course and add concrete pads!

Home of the Hawks!

1    11/3/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Murdock is one of those parks where I feel like the locals are going to get tired of it, but new people are going to like a lot. You ever play one of those courses? As in, the shots seem interesting the first time you go out, but after a couple of rounds, you probably have the place down pretty cold. That said, I liked the place, and here's why:

Pads - Every hole on the course has two pads per hole. On the "older" side of the course , holes 1-10 and 18, the pads are all brick or pavers. Very nice, laid out pads that provide for good support . The pads on 11-17 are rubber mats, which is fine. They can get a little slippery however, so watch yourself. But the fact that you have two options per hole is always awesome. From what I can tell, the oranges, AKA the longs, do make the course much different.

Baskets - The baskets on the old course are fine. Pretty sure they are the old Mach 2's, but I could be wrong. They catch fine. The baskets on the new side are the chainstars, and those catch like little, metal, Gary Carters. Also, all of the baskets on the old side are landscaped with brick and what not. It was a nice touch to the course.

Shot Variety - 11 and 17 are really the only long holes on the course, and they aren't terribly far. But they do offer a touch of variety to the rest of the course, which tends to be more technical. The old side is mostly open shots with OB in play. The new side is ALL technical, going through trees and playing drastic elevation changes. The club really made some interesting disc golf shots!
Cons: my biggest complaint about this park especially the old side, is that there are walking paths throughout the entirety of the course. This could really pose some safety issues. There is also a massive mountain bike trail through the new side. Too, there seemed to be a lot of random civilians wandering on to the course. a guy I was playing with almost killed some guys dog with a drive.

Be careful on hole 14! That cliff to the parking lot is ridiculous! I could see something really busting their face on that one. It's a looooooong way down.

Finally, I wish there were more amenities on the course. There weren't any benches in play on the course. There were some, but they were scattered about the course on the walking path. Also, there needs to be a couple more trash cans here and there.

Oh! There is a mother hawk around hole 11 that was swooping on some people. She's very big and very scary. Watch your head!
Other Thoughts: I liked the course, I did. There is nothing I can point to and say "yeah, that was terrible". But conversely, there is nothing where I was like "damn, that was amazing." it's a good course. It is not anything more. I feel like a 3 is perfect for this course. Nothing bad, Nothing great. Just good. and I am glad I got to play this course.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Diamond in the rough

5+    11/3/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual Tees.
Good mixture of "open" and wooded holes.
Multiple shot types needed throughout course.
In town.
Arrows on baskets directing to next tee.
Listed OB's can be modified easily to fit the type of round you're playing by tightening or spreading.
Cons: Some fairways can feel like they are on top of each other (8,9,10) when the course is full.
4 street crossings.
Walking path running throughout 8 holes.
Paved teepads can be slippery when wet.
The "swamp" land is nasty if you go in (bring extra shoes/socks just in case).
Other Thoughts: The title says a lot about this course. It is obvious there are still some things that need to be tweaked out to really finish the course, but when traveling to other courses in the area, one will realize how nice this course is for being smack in the middle of town.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The "New" Murdock Park

1    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 84  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 18 holes with dual teepads.
- Good mixture of mature trees and tight woods.
- Directional signs on baskets point to next tee. Directional signs also on paths in wooded part of course.
- Good mix of shot selections.
- 2-3 elevated baskets and 1 ground level.
- A lot of work went into redesigning and improving this course.
Cons: - Temporary teesigns for now ( permanent teesigns are coming)
- Mixture of basket types (Mach 3 & Chainstars) could be a problem for some.
- Mixture of teepads( Pavers and Rubber mats) could be a problem for some.
- Not too much difference between Orange and White tees on most holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course for a park course. I never played the old layout but i can summize from the earlier reviews that it was awful. I would suggest that those people should come play Murdock's new layout.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.