Disc Golf Store
Niskayuna, NY 
Blatnick Park Share
Uploaded By: CaptainAnhyzer Hole #2 (Taken 2/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 299ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Incomplete

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only game in town. Great views of the river from the 7th tee. Hole 6 over a rocky drainage gulley is great. Wind is challenging.
Cons: It's on a landfill..is that even safe? There is practically no signage so navigation is tough. Tee 2 to basket 3 is better than holes 2 or 3. Too long for beginners. No benches.
Other Thoughts: I hope the course is a work in progress. Will return every time I visit to see how it's coming along.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Grand Opening!

5+    11/3/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: bhoff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Town is having a Grand Opening on Thursday 11/14/13. Parks crew has worked hard on tee boxes, clearing brush and other course prep. Course already receiving lots of play. A round from each set of tees is a great 18 hole layout. Lots of exercise as the course winds up & down cap and in and out of woods (and ravines if you go awry). In spring we will build a kiosk and other refinements. Come try Blatnick... MORE BASKETS!!
Cons: Going to be a cold and windy winter course.
Other Thoughts: Thank you to the Town of Niskayuna for taking our suggestion of a course in Blatnick Park and running with it. Town crews did most of the work and provided most of the supplies. They took almost all our suggestions and were very enthusiastic. Thank you Nisky!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

open shots

2-4    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: 3ertram
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: mostly open, but very nice use of elevation, we liked #6 most, was a day with no wind, but on windy days, the layout and hills should create a lot of extra fun
Cons: nothing really, we played the course back in summer - plenty of bugs, so best to play now till late spring, I guess
Other Thoughts: nice tees, we will see, if the sand is strong enough to stay inside the boxes

Windy and open

5+    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 29.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is installed on an old landfill. Mostly open fairways are hilly and grass covered. Town has unlimited supplies so all pins have a mulch circle around them. Long and short tees are well packed stone dust & wood framed. Basic tee signs aid with navigation but no hole diagrams or distances yet. Bathrooms/water are a bit of a haul unless you stop on the way into the park. Walking/biking trails are also within the park so keep an eye out for non-golfers.
Cons: The course is incomplete(only 9 holes) because of some work to be done to the methane cap. This also presents an occasional odor, depending on wind direction. Barking dogs in the dog park may be an issue for some people but only two holes are near it.
Other Thoughts: Once the work is completed on the methane cap, the town will complete the course. Thorny rough in some areas. A few holes border on a wooded ravine and disc retrieval can be tricky. These are not cons IMO.
Awesome view of the Mohawk River on tee 7.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.