Beeville, TX 
Veteran Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #18 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18: Mid-fairway looking towards the basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Deceptively Tough Course

1    12/1/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 17 holes of what looks like easy play until you reach a surprise signature hole on 18. Not too many trees, but just enough to challenge any player to place their throws properly. Hole 4's basket is right in between two trees. Good basket protection. Navigation is pretty easy. All that a person has to do is look for the signs directing them to the next tee. Easy course for pros or intermediates. Beginners will be hard-pressed to achieve anything less than par on most holes. But, all in all, still a fun course to play.
Cons: Tee sign on number 2 missing. Navigation somewhat difficult on some parts of the course. Tee sign on 18 was damaged but is still there and readable. Tough climb down from the tee on 18 to the bottom part on the approach. Way too many grass burrs. Check after each hole you play. You might have picked up one or two.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course worth playing once, at first. It looks easy, but it's not. I am a beginner and I found it hard to get par on most holes except the short ones. I did learn the value of aiming your shots here. I made 3 good long putts that I thought would've been tough elsewhere to make. And when I made it to 18? That was a surprise hole. I nearly lost one disc in the bushes. Got it back, though. I say this is worth the trip to play here once. I will leave it up to the player to decide about future trips. As for me, this course was interesting enough to play once. And maybe I might come back later to give it another crack sometime.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 BEEEUTIFUL Beeville

1    2/12/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Big creek on runs through this course disecting the course in two. This area is used on 3 or 4 holes effectively adding to the challenge and the scenery.

2) Discatchers in pretty decent condition, and the yellow band is welcomed on some of these holes because they are much easier to see than any other basket.

3) Old Live Oaks and other old growth trees. These massive trees really make this course fun to play.

4) Nice hole length variation adds to the fun and challenge of this course. I have said it over and over that having different length holes is a great design technique. Not only does the additional distance create more challenge, but having different length approaches on those holes tha you don't reach really add to the challenge and quality of the course. It requires moe shots and different discs to be used.

5) Good directional signs used on a couple of the wierd transitions between holes.

6) Entrance sign and rules sign are visible by the first tee. Practice basket is also available but they have added an extra hole using the practice basket.

7) Decent signs with Hole # Distance and a decent map of the hole with some obstacles shown and an arrow to the next tee. Sponsors were also found for this course and they have a portion of the teesign. Its always nice to see the local business supporting a course like this.

8) Very nice variety in shots needed on this course. They force you to work your disc different directions because of well placed trees. There are are some uphill and downhill holes that force you to throw at different angles.

9) Pink flags were visible by many of the tees, I assume this was for a tourney they had recently because I doubt that the flags would remain in place for the long term with general public play. People seem to take things like that for whatever reason. Regardless it was helpful to locate the tees.

10) An interesting and unique feature of this golf course were the holes that were dug and the resulting piles of soil. It created two unique little areas on hole #6 and #8. If you throw intot he bunker you might struggle to get out and near the basket. It might even force an overhand shot or perhaps you can get away with a spike hyzer, but the basket may not be visible from the bottom, plus it retains water in the hole so you might even incur an OB penalty. Regardless that bunker makes an interesting feature. Then because of the soil that came out of that hole there are some piles of soil that somewhat protect Hole #8's basket. These piles force you to alter your approach and I think it is an interesting way to alter someones shot. Unique ideas for a disc golf obstacle and I like it when people think out of the box.
Cons: 1) Grass and dirt tees are always a let down. These were not in the best shape and were fairly worn out in spots.

2) No sign on Hole #2.

3) The fairway wasn't completely clear on Hole #1 because of a large sprawling tree by the creek. That's a tough way to start a course not knowing exactly where the basket is. It's obvious the overall direction you need to throw because of the teepad alignment but to not know exactly where the basket is can cause you to make a mistake on your placement.

4) Turf is moderately worn or thin. I know it was still mostly dormant at this time of year so perhaps int he usmmer the turf is in adequate condition but it is worth mentioning that you ar ebound to get a little dirty and if it is wet it may be slippery because of the thin turf.

5) No garbage cans to collect garbage anywhere through the course. I think I saw some by the parking lot but do not remember now.

6) I am sure this park is busy in season. There are multiple parking areas throughout the course which would lead me to believe you will often have to deal with people walking on the course with no idea what it is we are doing.

7) This course is isolated from any other course. It is right in between Corpus Christi and San Antonio but it is removed fromt he freeway. You need to take some smaller highways to get there but it isn't too bad. It is simply a stand alone course in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course . . . and I played it in about an hour while my wife slept in the car. We were in the middle of our 17 day roadtrip and she was wore out from all the disc golf.

Add concrete tees and this for sure would meet my criteria for a 3.5 because the design and the challenge are there. There really were not any boring holes out there and they all presented some sort of challenge. There were some real fun holes to thow like #18, which is a shot I have never thrown before. I enjoyed that.

I learned how to throw a roller here on Hole #3 I think and launched it about 330-350' 30'-50' further than I throw most air shots. I tanked the putt for birdie but it still was exciting to get that close to a 357' hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Veteran Memorial

5+    4/14/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ttraut
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was really surprised that the course had some challenging shots for a course with no real long holes.Nice use of the natural elevation and landscape (damn trees). Water is only a real factor on hole 2 and 17, the rest are fairly easy areas to retrieve an off-course disc.
Cons: No real long holes, no place to buy discs in town, people who choose not to watch their kids, and those kids who are just tryin to help by bringing your "frisbee" back to you, ugh!
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to have trash cans at a few tee boxes throughout the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Vet

1    10/23/2008   2/18/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best of both worlds. Good long shots and some really cool shorites in the woods. There is alot more elevation here then I thought before showing up and alot more expected for the area. The elevation comes into play on most of the short holes, combined with the low ceilings, makes for a good time. On alot of the long holes you have be accurate as well as the rough is rough. The wind comes into play on the front but not really a big deal. Not any places to lose plastic. Good baskets and tees.
Cons: Kind of hard to follow first time out but not too bad. It is a LONG way from anything. I played on way to San Antonio from Corpus and its still 30-40 minutes off of I37.
Other Thoughts: Course would score alot higher if it wasnt so far from everything but it is worth the stop if you find yourself in this area of the state!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.