Austin (Wells Branch), TX 
Wells Branch Park Share
Uploaded By: austin_brian Hole #2 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Bleh

5+    4/24/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Majarashi
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Couple of cool holes using the creek. Concrete tee pads are a plus.
Cons: There has not been a time that I've played this course that I haven't run into large groups that refused to let smaller groups play though.
This course was clearly squeezed into way too small a space. Multiple tee pads are in the line of fire of other tee pads if a shot is off. Multiple baskets are within a few yards of each other.
Poison Ivy is everywhere. EVERYWHERE!!
This course may actually be busier than Cat Hollow.
Other Thoughts: If the course is empty play it. If the course is full I recommend somewhere else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent short community course

1    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: austin_brian
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course is designed to be a community course for the local residents, and it excels at that. It is relatively short, and balances the other much longer courses in Austin. The course has a lot of shaded property. It is a great course for new players to the sport. Strong local club presence to provide maintenance to the park.
Cons: The course is overly popular due to to its appeal to a variety of the disc golf community, including female players, couples, families, beginners, and master-age players. Street parking and no bathrooms; although, fast food restaurants are close enough to visit in an emergency. The WB trail system runs along 4 holes of the course, requiring players and pedestrians to share the park, which can tax the patience of disc golfers, who should learn to enjoy the game and patiently wait or play a longer, more-challenging course with fewer players and no wait.
Other Thoughts: The 2013 course expansion moved the course South of Wells Branch Pkwy, which made the course more safe, but the land on the south side was barely able to hold 18 holes, and it shows. Sometimes, the land dictates the course, and the result at WB is a short course that is more popular in number of players than any other course in Austin any day of the week.

Too many holes in a tight space

1    12/18/2013   12/18/2013
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The location is great for many golfers to get a quick round in on the North side of Austin.

The course has several fun, unique holes and affords a decent challenge for players of all abilities.

The cement tees and the baskets are good.

Parking is easy, there's a practice basket, and the course no longer requires crossing a busy road.

Cons: This course is a prime example of too many holes in a small space. Nine really good (or maybe 12) could have been put in without compromising safety, flow, and challenge.

There are multiple unmemorable throw-away holes as well as multiple holes which have flight lines directly along the busy walking path.

The routing at one point is among the worst anywhere with two baskets with overlapping 10m circles, a backtrack hole, and two holes sharing the same tee.

The creek, while adding to the challenge is a bit dangerous for beginning players who might be attracted to this course and can eat discs and is prime for slip and falls at points.
Other Thoughts: I do understand the work that goes into designing and installing a course as I've done some myself and hesitate to come off so critical, but as someone who also takes writing course reviews seriously, I have to call a spade a spade.

Given the allotted space here, the course could have been much safer and more enjoyable.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    11/6/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety. Skill needed over arm strength.
Cons: A couple of the tees were not close to previous hole. Red and Blue baskets hard to see on some holes. A couple of spots where you cross the creek were sketchy after a rain. I had to do a running jump in one area in order to keep my shoes dry.
Other Thoughts: I played after a good rain so it was a bit muddy. I am sure it's a much better course in the dry.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a quick round, a chill round

5+    6/4/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: redman2112
Played: 71  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course for players looking for a quick round. Fun new layout, quick play, new teepads and signage, and multiple pins for almost all baskets make it a joy to play solo or with friends. The land available has been put to as good a use as possible resulting in a well thought-out course with most shots involving either a creek, trees, or both, making for a good course for players of all abilities. While big arms looking to chuck it will probably not favor the length of Wells Branch, I think the course's challenge of good mid-ranges, upshots, and putts is a fun test for any golfer.
Cons: 11 and 12's shared teebox and holes 10 and 11's close proximity to each other make for a bogged down area with potential safety concerns. Unfortunately, it is a bottleneck without a clear solution so if you come up with one, let the WBDGC peeps know.
The creek runs throughout the course and while not very wide, can be daunting and is home to snakes.
The thicketed areas of the course are wrought with poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course since it was 9 baskets on the north side of Wells Branch and can say that I enjoy what the course has morphed into very, very much. It has received a lot of TLC and it shows. A challenging round ideal for beginners in a nice little park area convenient to the Hwy? Joe Bob sez check it out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great neighborhood course

5+    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now that the tee pads are finally all in, this is a really nice course for beginners to intermediates. It's quite easy, but all the holes are reasonably fun to play with at least some degree of thought required - no silly novice-level stuff like Block Creek or Our Savior. There's a decent variety of shots. Every hole is definitely birdiable for intermediates to advanced players. The secret "pro" tees on some holes add a little difficulty but really not very much. It's not a championship course, but there's nothing wrong with an easy but well-thought-out course. I have fun, I get a lot of birdies, it takes about 90 minutes, and I'm not physically and mentally exhausted like with some of the other courses.

Twenty years ago, this was a nine-hole course on the north side of Wells Branch Rd, which was the first course I ever played. While at the time it was great since there weren't any others up north, it was actually pretty awful - most of the holes were terrible, and 7 had a giant disc-eating pond on the left side just waiting for a skied hyzer. I've really been happy to see the changes - I feel like the course has grown up just like the sport itself.
Cons: No clue what's going on at 11-13. 11 and 12's baskets are right next to each other, and then 12 and 13 share the same tee box. Just kind of ridiculous. I think the problem here is that 12 is where a hole on the old course was, so they figured they'd keep it, but it really should just be taken out and put somewhere else on the course, with 11's basket taking 12's basket location.

Nothing they can do about this, but the creek is annoying because it has very steep sides, approaching vertical in some locations. 8 in particular has a six-foot-deep trench with completely vertical sides running right across it. If you don't have a grabber of some sort, you pretty much have to get in the creek to get a disc (and it is deeper than it looks usually).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Simple Course

2-4    4/10/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: hph04a
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recent layout update, new concrete tee-pads and catchers, well maintained, friendly locals,
Cons: Short and simple without a lot of challenge
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a challenging course, this is not really it. If you are looking for a fun place to play or get in a quick round, this is the perfect course. It is well taken care of, tee-pads are great even if a strange oval shape. At first I had a hard time finding the start of the course, but Wells Branch has a map on their website:
http://www.wellsbranchmud.com...isc-golf.html
Also, I had my first ace here on the 325ft 1st hole, so of course I love the course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/10/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course that isn't all too challenging. I love how the baskets are blue and red, I think they look better than the normal DISCatchers. The course is a lot more challenging than the old lay out. I really liked hole 3( I believe) where you shoot out of an alley over two separate water hazards. The course is a lot more challenging because a few holes have a creek that play through the hole. They have sufficient bridges throughout the course to help you get to each hole.
Cons: My biggest problem with the course was that they changed the location of the course that I couldn't find the course for awhile. Also, there is no parking except for the side of the road. Not all of the teepads are filled in yet. Hole 9 is difficult to find you have to walk across the bridge and go right to find the next tee pad. Another thing is that hole 10 and 11 share the same tee pad so you have to walk the fairway to hole 10. Then after completing it walk back to throw to 11's basket. Thankfully, a nice local told me this before I was confused.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recently redesigned, nice casual course

5+    2/6/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has recently undergone a redesign, and concrete teeboxes have been added. (although they are oval boxes, which is an unusual choice in my opinion) Also, stone tee markers and OB markers. Aesthetically, it's a major improvment.

Otherwise the course it well maintained, and nicely framed by trees and a shallow stream through the middle of the entire course. (it's not really deep enough to lose a disc permanently)
Cons: The course is bordered by some apartments, and an errant shot could sent your disc over the fence if you're not careful. Plus, the "urbanness" of the apartment building detracts from the aesthetics of the scenery.
Other Thoughts: As has been mentioned, you almost don't need a driver on this course. A Roc or Buzzz or even just a decent driving putter like a Wizard or Aviar should be fine to hit most of the lines. The lines are just interesting enough to keep it fun, but simple enough that it's beginner friendly. (there are a few reasonably tricky spots)

There is also an alternate, "secret" teebox for most holes. If you pay attention, they are usually flagged, and make the course more interesting/challenging. (especially a nice approach over the creek on hole 3) Watch for experienced locals and see where they go, or just ask around.

Overall a very nice place for a casual or beginning player not looking for an overly technical course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/24/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: cleverett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are some decently technical shots that force you to really hone some of your tight shot skills. It's not a huge course so there is not tons of walking or a full day of disc golf. Nice course to play a quick round.
Cons: There are no real drives to speak of. Most of the holes are tunnel shots and/or riddled with trees. You don't need anything more than a Roc or Buzzz to play this course. Also the tee boxes are very well worn which would cause a lot of mud on rainy days.

edit: now has round concrete tee pads, very nice.

Also baskets are painted blue with some red... not sure why they didn't choose something a little more visible through trees, but oh well. They are nice discatcher baskets.
Other Thoughts: Bring a new and beat up Roc and practice your hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center