Charlotte, NC
Renaissance Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 306ft.   4 / 551ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Toughest course

5+    10/6/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the toughest course I have ever played and rarely if ever do I say to myself "This hole is unfair".

The Greens here are very tough and very guarded making for some interesting putts.

The holes are designed to make you think which I love. Course managment is the name of the game at Renny. How much do you bite off? Is it worth the risk? You will ask yourself these questions the entire round.

Brand New 28 chain baskets.

The Black course is no more so there is no confusion about which basket is which.

Elevation is used very well throughout the course
Cons: The course gets kinda rough and can be a disc eater.

Some Fairways and greens not used during worlds are overgrown and look kinda bad.

The roughness also takes away from the aesthetics of the course.

Erosion is getting pretty bad.

Rounds take a lot of time and a lot of energy
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy my rounds at Renny. When you play this course it is unlikely you will find yourself getting a bunch of birdies. Keep it in the middle and try to survive is the best plan you can have. I recomend this course to any player who is looking to challenge one of the toughest courses out there.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

On Another Level

2-4    1/9/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: atay87
Played: 100  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Has the perfect mix of woodedness and openness.
-Forces you to use everyshot and disc in your bag.
-Many par 4's and 5's which is a requirement for a top notch course IMO. They really let you play golf by forcing you to calculate each shot rather than simply getting as close to basket as you can from the tee.
Other Thoughts: I've only played the Gold layout, but out of the 56 courses I've played, it is 2nd (behind Flyboy) and nothing else has come close. Make sure you play it if you are near the Charlotte area.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Extreme disc golf

5+    8/10/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: Steelo
Played: 82  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The biggest, longest and most challenging course in the area (along with Charlottes Web).
If you like to throw long this is the course for you to test your long range accuracy.
Cons: More signage needed as new players tend to get lost on the back nine. Just print a map or play with some locals if it is your first time.
Erosion is a problem and it is muddy in the wet months
Other Thoughts: Use spotters when throwing in blind areas, like to the green of 18. Disc eating bushes and thorns are abundant

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Long and wide!

2-4    4/12/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: JGraham83
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Definitely will get a workout here. Many holes are really long, however fairways are generally wide which offer a lot of forgiveness. Great place to chuck and throw it.
Cons: Bike trail intersects with course at many points. Can slow your game down as you wait for them to get completely out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Not easy to play by yourself the first time unless you know exactly where to go. I recommend following a group or asking to play with someone.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

1    6/8/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
10 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: There were some great holes and some extreme challenges and these were much appreciated. The course definitely requires all shots and is not for the beginner. Appreciated the unique basket placements and the risk/reward factor in play on several holes.
Cons: Hate to be the odd guy out but this was one of the most difficult courses to navigate I have ever played. Completely missed #5 and #6 after roaming the woods and ravines for a long time. Very grown up in places - #2 and #7 come to mind. Several places where the fairways crossed posing risk of being hit on a crowded day. Signage was poor and trash was everywhere. From out of state and was really look forward to playing this "super" course but left feeling very disappointed. Much more impressed with quality of Angry Beaver, Hornets Nest, and Winget.

10 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Renny Gold is Gold

5+    4/16/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: The Ox
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Renny Gold layout is the best of the best. It is extremely challenging and truly world caliber. Long distance and drastic elevation changes give even the best player a hard time. Long distance control and placement shots which keep you in the fairway are key to surviving.
Cons: Beginners will not enjoy Renny Gold. Nor will they appreciate and understand its greatness. Go off the fairway in certain areas and you may be searching for your disc for an extended period of time.
Other Thoughts: Currently the course only has baskets in the Gold Positions in order to allow for visiting Pros to practice for upcoming World Championship in July.

Maintenance is ongoing in preperation for the worlds. Club members have been spraying for poison ivy recently as it has begun to grow quickly with the weather. Wear long socks with shorts.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

renny is perfection

2-4    4/2/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: bilythekid
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.6 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course challenges you on every hole. A good number of the greens are very difficult; which provides for score seperation between even the best golfers. Every hole is unique and the vast majority take advantage of the natural features of this amazing piece of land. Good variation of hole length and effective use of elevation change. When I go to Charlotte this is the only course I play.
Cons: This course is long, tough and brutally hard to master; and unfortunately the less experienced players will probably not have a good time.

Honestly, I have no cons for this course. It is my favorite course.
Other Thoughts: If you're scared of shooting over par, don't come here. If your scared of getting better, don't come here. If your scared of going OB don't come here.

This course is the archetype of "championship level"

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Not for beginners or families

1    12/17/2011   5/25/2012
Review By: gfbrad56
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2012
14 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Course was relatively well marked, although not as good as most I've seen. Good that there were different sets of tees and baskets.
Cons: Not a course for relative "newbies" or for families. The back nine was not so well marked and seemed only marked for gold tees. The designer(s) were great and went out of their way to make it challenging. Basket placement was great for a championship level course.
Other Thoughts: Great for the 'pros', but not good at all for someone wanting to toss around or learn how to play. Stay away until you've mastered the game.

Revised review.

14 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf or Hike?

5+    5/6/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2012
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Playing here is a combination of a foothill hike and a round of challenging disc golf, everyone definitely gets a workout with both their legs and arms at this one
- This course has both distance and tight holes to hone your accuracy
- Plenty of benches to take a load off
- Hole #18 - very cool hole, nice distance and across a couple ravines
- Great elevation - a few uphill for added difficulty and a couple fun elevated tee boxes
Cons: - I would not recommend this course for starters unless you plan on taking many mulligans, but I think anyone can have fun here as long as you don't let yourself get frustrated
- This can definitely be a tough course to navigate the first time you play. Luckily there are usually other experienced players around to request directions from, and you can easily learn the route after one round, but the course could use some better directional markers and a printed map is not a bad idea
- If you are afraid to lose discs you might have to lay-up on a couple holes if you are not completely confident in your consistency. So far I have been lucky enough to always come home with a full set, but I know many people who have finished short a disc or two
- I last played on 7/11 and nearly all of the short baskets had been removed so you must play the longer course
- Like many courses it can get muddy with recent rain
Other Thoughts: I admit that I am still somewhat a newbie when it comes to disc golf, only been playing weekly-plus for a couple months and have only played a handful of courses, but I cannot imagine how a free public course could be much better
- When I have played with my family we have yet to play all 18 in one day, but always have a great time just playing the front or back nine, so you don't necessarily have to completely shy away if you are playing with people who have a shorter game

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not For Beginners

1    5/4/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: younglookinn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Challenging layout that will test your game.
Cons: Easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course but definitely not for beginners like myself. I throw RHBH and immediately got into trouble on the first hole due to the tee box placement. If you're looking for a challenge, play this course. If you want something a little easier, somewhere where you can go just to have fun, RL Smith, Kilborne, and Hornets Nest are relatively close and not nearly as difficult.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.