Charlotte, NC 
Renaissance Park - Grey/Gold Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 342ft.   3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 79
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Extreme disc golf

5+    8/10/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: Steelo
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The biggest, longest and most challenging course in the area (along with Charlottes Web).
If you like to throw long this is the course for you to test your long range accuracy.
Cons: More signage needed as new players tend to get lost on the back nine. Just print a map or play with some locals if it is your first time.
Erosion is a problem and it is muddy in the wet months
Other Thoughts: Use spotters when throwing in blind areas, like to the green of 18. Disc eating bushes and thorns are abundant

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long and wide!

2-4    4/12/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: JGraham83
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Definitely will get a workout here. Many holes are really long, however fairways are generally wide which offer a lot of forgiveness. Great place to chuck and throw it.
Cons: Bike trail intersects with course at many points. Can slow your game down as you wait for them to get completely out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Not easy to play by yourself the first time unless you know exactly where to go. I recommend following a group or asking to play with someone.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    6/8/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
10 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: There were some great holes and some extreme challenges and these were much appreciated. The course definitely requires all shots and is not for the beginner. Appreciated the unique basket placements and the risk/reward factor in play on several holes.
Cons: Hate to be the odd guy out but this was one of the most difficult courses to navigate I have ever played. Completely missed #5 and #6 after roaming the woods and ravines for a long time. Very grown up in places - #2 and #7 come to mind. Several places where the fairways crossed posing risk of being hit on a crowded day. Signage was poor and trash was everywhere. From out of state and was really look forward to playing this "super" course but left feeling very disappointed. Much more impressed with quality of Angry Beaver, Hornets Nest, and Winget.

10 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Renny Gold is Gold

5+    4/16/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: The Ox
Played: 54  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Renny Gold layout is the best of the best. It is extremely challenging and truly world caliber. Long distance and drastic elevation changes give even the best player a hard time. Long distance control and placement shots which keep you in the fairway are key to surviving.
Cons: Beginners will not enjoy Renny Gold. Nor will they appreciate and understand its greatness. Go off the fairway in certain areas and you may be searching for your disc for an extended period of time.
Other Thoughts: Currently the course only has baskets in the Gold Positions in order to allow for visiting Pros to practice for upcoming World Championship in July.

Maintenance is ongoing in preperation for the worlds. Club members have been spraying for poison ivy recently as it has begun to grow quickly with the weather. Wear long socks with shorts.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 renny is perfection

2-4    4/2/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: bilythekid
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course challenges you on every hole. A good number of the greens are very difficult; which provides for score seperation between even the best golfers. Every hole is unique and the vast majority take advantage of the natural features of this amazing piece of land. Good variation of hole length and effective use of elevation change. When I go to Charlotte this is the only course I play.
Cons: This course is long, tough and brutally hard to master; and unfortunately the less experienced players will probably not have a good time.

Honestly, I have no cons for this course. It is my favorite course.
Other Thoughts: If you're scared of shooting over par, don't come here. If your scared of getting better, don't come here. If your scared of going OB don't come here.

This course is the archetype of "championship level"

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Not for beginners or families

1    12/17/2011   5/25/2012
Review By: gfbrad56
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2012
14 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Course was relatively well marked, although not as good as most I've seen. Good that there were different sets of tees and baskets.
Cons: Not a course for relative "newbies" or for families. The back nine was not so well marked and seemed only marked for gold tees. The designer(s) were great and went out of their way to make it challenging. Basket placement was great for a championship level course.
Other Thoughts: Great for the 'pros', but not good at all for someone wanting to toss around or learn how to play. Stay away until you've mastered the game.

Revised review.

14 of 42 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf or Hike?

5+    5/6/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2012
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Playing here is a combination of a foothill hike and a round of challenging disc golf, everyone definitely gets a workout with both their legs and arms at this one
- This course has both distance and tight holes to hone your accuracy
- Plenty of benches to take a load off
- Hole #18 - very cool hole, nice distance and across a couple ravines
- Great elevation - a few uphill for added difficulty and a couple fun elevated tee boxes
Cons: - I would not recommend this course for starters unless you plan on taking many mulligans, but I think anyone can have fun here as long as you don't let yourself get frustrated
- This can definitely be a tough course to navigate the first time you play. Luckily there are usually other experienced players around to request directions from, and you can easily learn the route after one round, but the course could use some better directional markers and a printed map is not a bad idea
- If you are afraid to lose discs you might have to lay-up on a couple holes if you are not completely confident in your consistency. So far I have been lucky enough to always come home with a full set, but I know many people who have finished short a disc or two
- I last played on 7/11 and nearly all of the short baskets had been removed so you must play the longer course
- Like many courses it can get muddy with recent rain
Other Thoughts: I admit that I am still somewhat a newbie when it comes to disc golf, only been playing weekly-plus for a couple months and have only played a handful of courses, but I cannot imagine how a free public course could be much better
- When I have played with my family we have yet to play all 18 in one day, but always have a great time just playing the front or back nine, so you don't necessarily have to completely shy away if you are playing with people who have a shorter game

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not For Beginners

1    5/4/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: younglookinn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Challenging layout that will test your game.
Cons: Easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course but definitely not for beginners like myself. I throw RHBH and immediately got into trouble on the first hole due to the tee box placement. If you're looking for a challenge, play this course. If you want something a little easier, somewhere where you can go just to have fun, RL Smith, Kilborne, and Hornets Nest are relatively close and not nearly as difficult.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Awesome

1    1/28/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 322  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Renny is an absolutely sick course. I wish it were my home course. I enjoyed getting my @ss kicked. We played the gold layout measuring at 9,704 feet with a par of 70. The black layout is shorter but it will test your game. It has a great mix of wooded and open holes. If you like hiking you will love the terrain. There are some nasty ravines you can find yourself in.

Renny is actually 2 courses in one. Using an "overlay" design, most of the holes have two baskets installed while some also have two tee pads. There is a wide variety and many options to play.

The concrete tee pads were plenty long and level.

Many holes have 2 baskets. The Gold layout plays to the longer white baskets. The shorter course plays to all yellow baskets. There are a total of 26 baskets. All of the baskets were in good shape.

I really liked the mix of power and finess.

There are subtle elevation changes and really cool greens on this course. Risk/Reward is all over the place. Your entire game will be tested.

The green on hole #2 is just sick! It turns a shorter par 4 into a very difficult 3 to get.

Hole #14 is a great par 4 as well. Nice fair tee shot followed by a nasty green.

Hole #18 is one of the best finishing holes I have played.

The lifeguard chair on #9 was pretty cool. I was able to watch a good throw then follow it.

The park features restrooms, showers, lighted ball fields, lighted tennis courts, sand volleyball, and 6.5 miles of great mountain bike trails.
Cons: The only real con I could see is navigation. Print a map. I had an awesome guide who plays the course often. I did not have to walk to find anything. It was VERY enjoyable.

This is the winter and I expected some mud. The top holes of #'s 11, 12, & 13 were a little muddy.

I have played the top 4 courses on DGCR. This course is harder than any of them. This is not a beginner friendly course and I think it's rating reflects that. It's hard enjoying a course when you are getting your butt kicked!
Other Thoughts: I spent 2 days playing 9 courses in Charlotte. Their disc golf courses are very difficult. I was very impressed with the overall design of each course. What an awesome trip when it was snowing back in Chicago.

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully Challenging

1    1/1/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: orion487
Played: 118  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As other reviewers have said, the pictures don't do this course justice. The terrain winds up and down through the park's rolling hills, forcing you to use every shot in your bag and punishing you when you can't. I only played the Black course, and it was quite a challenge. Looking at the pins and sheer amount of length on Gold, its obviously a championship level layout.

The front nine has a great mix of holes, with some that are tightly wooded and others that start open and finish in the woods. What's great is how unique each hole is. For instance, #2 starts by having to split the gap between a large tree, only to have the gorge waiting behind the pin (across the gorge on gold!). #8 is a short dogleg left into the treeline, with the basket nestled on and around a couple huge rocks. Maybe you've caught on, but the theme here is pin placement! Almost every hole is protected by a steep drop-off, gorge, treeline, rocks, or OB. Sometimes, more than one. Its one thing to have the elevation change and terrain, its another to use it as well as Renny.

Signature Hole - Wow, so hard to choose. For Black, I'll go with the par 4 #14. It has a narrow but uncluttered fairway up to a clearing. From there, its a dogleg left, downhill shot to a pin tucked onto a peninsula settled back in the woods. Spectacular!

For Gold, it has to be #18. This long par 5 traverses the hilly left side of the gorge and crosses the deep gully cut out like a fairway bunker in front of the Black basket. From there, its a short approach across the gorge to a peninsula basket that is as unique as anything I've seen on a disc golf course. Even though I only played the Black course, I had to take a couple shots across to see if my nerves could handle it!
Cons: Some of the holes on the back 9 didn't have maps on the tee signs, and navigation was occasionally an issue (though the may be a temporary issue caused by the redesign). I recommend printing out the map. It wasn't clear where the first tee pad was, and it took us a few minutes to find the tee for 16. Really, a couple more 'next tee' signs would make all the difference.

The walk between 14 and 15 crosses the fairway of 10 and is a bit blind, though I'm not sure how else this could be done without removing 15. 11-13 are long 600'+ par 4's, and while its nice to see some long open holes, having them all in a row was a bit boring.
Other Thoughts: This course has everything one could want. Tight woods, constant elevation change, wide open holes, and true par 4's. I can't give it a perfect 5, as it had some navigation/signage issues, and didn't quite have that magical, hallowed ground feel (e.g. Flip City).

FYI, some of the hole numbers listed on the pictures of the back 9 are a little off because of the redesign, and I used the hole numbers as they were when I played.

I know there are a lot of great courses in Charlotte, but don't miss out on this gem.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.