Charlotte, NC 
Renaissance Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
4 / 573ft.   5 / 774ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Short Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Not for beginners or families

1    12/17/2011   5/25/2012
Review By: gfbrad56
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2012
14 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Course was relatively well marked, although not as good as most I've seen. Good that there were different sets of tees and baskets.
Cons: Not a course for relative "newbies" or for families. The back nine was not so well marked and seemed only marked for gold tees. The designer(s) were great and went out of their way to make it challenging. Basket placement was great for a championship level course.
Other Thoughts: Great for the 'pros', but not good at all for someone wanting to toss around or learn how to play. Stay away until you've mastered the game.

Revised review.

14 of 42 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf or Hike?

5+    5/6/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2012
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Playing here is a combination of a foothill hike and a round of challenging disc golf, everyone definitely gets a workout with both their legs and arms at this one
- This course has both distance and tight holes to hone your accuracy
- Plenty of benches to take a load off
- Hole #18 - very cool hole, nice distance and across a couple ravines
- Great elevation - a few uphill for added difficulty and a couple fun elevated tee boxes
Cons: - I would not recommend this course for starters unless you plan on taking many mulligans, but I think anyone can have fun here as long as you don't let yourself get frustrated
- This can definitely be a tough course to navigate the first time you play. Luckily there are usually other experienced players around to request directions from, and you can easily learn the route after one round, but the course could use some better directional markers and a printed map is not a bad idea
- If you are afraid to lose discs you might have to lay-up on a couple holes if you are not completely confident in your consistency. So far I have been lucky enough to always come home with a full set, but I know many people who have finished short a disc or two
- I last played on 7/11 and nearly all of the short baskets had been removed so you must play the longer course
- Like many courses it can get muddy with recent rain
Other Thoughts: I admit that I am still somewhat a newbie when it comes to disc golf, only been playing weekly-plus for a couple months and have only played a handful of courses, but I cannot imagine how a free public course could be much better
- When I have played with my family we have yet to play all 18 in one day, but always have a great time just playing the front or back nine, so you don't necessarily have to completely shy away if you are playing with people who have a shorter game

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not For Beginners

1    5/4/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: younglookinn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Challenging layout that will test your game.
Cons: Easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course but definitely not for beginners like myself. I throw RHBH and immediately got into trouble on the first hole due to the tee box placement. If you're looking for a challenge, play this course. If you want something a little easier, somewhere where you can go just to have fun, RL Smith, Kilborne, and Hornets Nest are relatively close and not nearly as difficult.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Awesome

1    1/28/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Renny is an absolutely sick course. I wish it were my home course. I enjoyed getting my @ss kicked. We played the gold layout measuring at 9,704 feet with a par of 70. The black layout is shorter but it will test your game. It has a great mix of wooded and open holes. If you like hiking you will love the terrain. There are some nasty ravines you can find yourself in.

Renny is actually 2 courses in one. Using an "overlay" design, most of the holes have two baskets installed while some also have two tee pads. There is a wide variety and many options to play.

The concrete tee pads were plenty long and level.

Many holes have 2 baskets. The Gold layout plays to the longer white baskets. The shorter course plays to all yellow baskets. There are a total of 26 baskets. All of the baskets were in good shape.

I really liked the mix of power and finess.

There are subtle elevation changes and really cool greens on this course. Risk/Reward is all over the place. Your entire game will be tested.

The green on hole #2 is just sick! It turns a shorter par 4 into a very difficult 3 to get.

Hole #14 is a great par 4 as well. Nice fair tee shot followed by a nasty green.

Hole #18 is one of the best finishing holes I have played.

The lifeguard chair on #9 was pretty cool. I was able to watch a good throw then follow it.

The park features restrooms, showers, lighted ball fields, lighted tennis courts, sand volleyball, and 6.5 miles of great mountain bike trails.
Cons: The only real con I could see is navigation. Print a map. I had an awesome guide who plays the course often. I did not have to walk to find anything. It was VERY enjoyable.

This is the winter and I expected some mud. The top holes of #'s 11, 12, & 13 were a little muddy.

I have played the top 4 courses on DGCR. This course is harder than any of them. This is not a beginner friendly course and I think it's rating reflects that. It's hard enjoying a course when you are getting your butt kicked!
Other Thoughts: I spent 2 days playing 9 courses in Charlotte. Their disc golf courses are very difficult. I was very impressed with the overall design of each course. What an awesome trip when it was snowing back in Chicago.

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully Challenging

1    1/1/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: orion487
Played: 108  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As other reviewers have said, the pictures don't do this course justice. The terrain winds up and down through the park's rolling hills, forcing you to use every shot in your bag and punishing you when you can't. I only played the Black course, and it was quite a challenge. Looking at the pins and sheer amount of length on Gold, its obviously a championship level layout.

The front nine has a great mix of holes, with some that are tightly wooded and others that start open and finish in the woods. What's great is how unique each hole is. For instance, #2 starts by having to split the gap between a large tree, only to have the gorge waiting behind the pin (across the gorge on gold!). #8 is a short dogleg left into the treeline, with the basket nestled on and around a couple huge rocks. Maybe you've caught on, but the theme here is pin placement! Almost every hole is protected by a steep drop-off, gorge, treeline, rocks, or OB. Sometimes, more than one. Its one thing to have the elevation change and terrain, its another to use it as well as Renny.

Signature Hole - Wow, so hard to choose. For Black, I'll go with the par 4 #14. It has a narrow but uncluttered fairway up to a clearing. From there, its a dogleg left, downhill shot to a pin tucked onto a peninsula settled back in the woods. Spectacular!

For Gold, it has to be #18. This long par 5 traverses the hilly left side of the gorge and crosses the deep gully cut out like a fairway bunker in front of the Black basket. From there, its a short approach across the gorge to a peninsula basket that is as unique as anything I've seen on a disc golf course. Even though I only played the Black course, I had to take a couple shots across to see if my nerves could handle it!
Cons: Some of the holes on the back 9 didn't have maps on the tee signs, and navigation was occasionally an issue (though the may be a temporary issue caused by the redesign). I recommend printing out the map. It wasn't clear where the first tee pad was, and it took us a few minutes to find the tee for 16. Really, a couple more 'next tee' signs would make all the difference.

The walk between 14 and 15 crosses the fairway of 10 and is a bit blind, though I'm not sure how else this could be done without removing 15. 11-13 are long 600'+ par 4's, and while its nice to see some long open holes, having them all in a row was a bit boring.
Other Thoughts: This course has everything one could want. Tight woods, constant elevation change, wide open holes, and true par 4's. I can't give it a perfect 5, as it had some navigation/signage issues, and didn't quite have that magical, hallowed ground feel (e.g. Flip City).

FYI, some of the hole numbers listed on the pictures of the back 9 are a little off because of the redesign, and I used the hole numbers as they were when I played.

I know there are a lot of great courses in Charlotte, but don't miss out on this gem.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Brutally fun!

1    7/12/2009   8/4/2011
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has almost everything that an experienced player as well as a newcomer could ask for.

First of all, there are really two courses in one, allowing both a green player as well as a seasoned vet to pick their flavor. Gold has some of the longest, most wooded and precariously placed pins that I have ever seen.

I found myself needing to drive with nearly every possible shot in my arsenal, which is to say that there is a great mix of uphill, downhill, left, right, long and short holes. The short holes are a select few, however, on the Gold course, but interestingly enough they are among the most enjoyable to play.

The local club puts a lot of time and effort into the tee pads and general upkeep around the park, much less could be said about Hornet's Nest in my opinion. I have always been a fan of your plain old concrete pad, which they have. I would say the ratio of wooded to mostly open holes would be around 1.5:1.

As previously stated, they really were creative with pin placements as some were teetered precariously on boulders while others on a sheer cliff face. Those holes, although sometimes frustrating, prove to be memorable and always add to the enjoyment of the round.

They make great use of the "unnatural obstructions" , most importantly of which would be the high tension cable towers. Hole 18 requires you to play with those guys as well as a rather annoying ravine. Side note: Bracket's bluff (RIP) pulled off something similar with similar towers.

Cons: There are only a couple of negative aspects about this course in my mind.

First of all, navigation would have been a huge issue had i not printed off the map which is available on this site. You probably want to remember to do that!

Secondly, I can never say that a course was absolutely perfect if it does not somehow incorporate a water hazard into the design. Sure thick woods can be taunting, but there is no risk/reward setup quite like throwing over a large body of water. Had they utilized this in the design (I don't recall any being readily available so they would have had to construct said water hazard), this course would have been awarded a 5/5, joining Bud Hill as the only perfect score I have reviewed thus far. Keep in mind, my reviews may be slim, however I have played a fair share of courses and none that I have not currently reviewed are better than Renaissance.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the location, as civilization was literally out of the parking lot if one needed to grab lunch or some more liquids.

There are facilities other than disc golf at the park, which brings in sometimes unwanted patrons who sunbathe on the fairway, however, this also means there are water fountains and restrooms nearby!

This course (GOLD) is quite simply the hardest course I have played as of yet. When I played it for the first time (had been playing DG for 2 months at the time) it almost made me score my only triple digit score as well almost making me score my only double digit hole. Thankfully, in all my green glory, I was able to save myself from said heartaches, but I am sure others have not been so fortunate!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best tests of a player's game

1    7/5/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: turbosteve
Played: 58  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -There are two tee pads and two baskets on several of the holes so that players of all skill levels can enjoy the course.
-This course has a nice mix of holes that go through the woods that require an accurate tee-shot placement and open holes that require a decent roller shot.
-This course has several elevated greens including ones at 2, 8, 14, and 16.
-Course is located in a park that has full facilities such as a restroom and a water fountain.
Cons: -Erosion problem along the ravine near the 18th fairway.
-Some of the holes border a parking lot and a road that can create a safety issue.
-Some of the walks between the basket of one hole and the tee of the next are a little lengthy.
-The walk to the 15th tee crosses the 10th fairway.
Other Thoughts: When playing this course you may want to bring hiking boots because they will come in handy when you climb on the boulder greens at 8 and 16 and if you need to go into the ravine to retrieve a disc. This course is also one of the most popular in Charlotte and is well worth the drive to play it. Despite a couple of minor issues this course is one of the best in the world.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Rugged, Complete Challenge

2-4    6/24/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Renaissance Park provides one of the most complete advanced and pro-level disc golf challenges anywhere. Scoring well at Renny requires accuracy, power, shot-shaping, putting, course-management, and nerves of steel. Renny has very rugged terrain that pictures don't do justice. There are many points during a round to stop and say "wow, that's a beautifully framed basket".

It is evident that literally thousands of volunteer hours have been spent building and maintaining this course. There are many places where erosion control barriers have been wisely constructed that protect the integrity of the course and provide very unique risk/reward putting scenarios. Many stairs and bridges have been constructed to ease traversing this rugged property.

Few courses have such high quality dynamic "greens" that make three and even four-putting a possibility. The short or "black" layout provides much more challenge than nearly all courses in existence and the long or "gold" layout takes it two steps further.

Holes 2, 4, 7, 13, 14, 17, and 18 are standouts.

Renny is a great part of the awesome Charlotte area disc golf scene. At present, North Carolina doesn't have any courses on the DGCR top ten list, but overall I don't see any city that stacks up with Charlotte in terms of the number and quality of disc golf options within a short drive.
Cons: With all the time and love that has gone into this course, it feels like nit-picking to list any cons. However, the course is NOT well suited for beginner players. It is extremely rugged and some people may have difficulty just traversing it, let alone enjoying themselves. Much of the ground is clay that can be extremely slippery at times. Discs can easily wind up in places that require difficult climbs up and down hills to get to and play from.

Despite all the work that goes into the course, unfortunately, the grounds still have a fair amount of trash.

The short baskets on hole 1 and hole 18 have been placed dangerously close to the park roads.

Getting from hole 14 to hole 15 requires crossing hole 10's fairway.

The signage is inadequate for first-time players without a guide. The concept of having the overlay course is great, but not readily apparent to someone that walks up to the first tee. Speaking of the first tee, the "black" tee is hidden back in the woods. Some holes have two tee pads while some only one and some holes have two baskets and some only one, but the tee signs don't indicate this.

The use of mandos is overdone. If the mandos have been implemented for safety reasons, the need for many could have been eliminated with minor tweaks in tee location. If the mandos have been implemented to add challenge, then I believe them to be unnecessary as the course itself provides sufficient challenge without them. The same could be said for many of the OB's. Many of the OB markers are hidden in some thick schule.

Holes 11 and 12 are out of character and just to be endured, in comparison to the rest of the course.

Hole 15 and hole 9 crowd each other unnecessarily.

The course does not loop back to the parking lot after 9.
Other Thoughts: The pros far outweigh the cons at Renny. Just be prepared for a very long, tiring challenge and pack your bag accordingly.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool course.

1    5/28/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Hawk99TA
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great for experienced players. Very difficult and will give the average player a run for their money. This course is far from boring. It has great basket locations and fun terrain. It is very long. I hit a 120 footer across the gulley on hole 18. It was sick. Fun course!
Cons: Some spots could be a little more well kept. There are opportunities to unintentionally hit cars on the hole near hr parking lot. This course is very difficult so not great for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Great to bring large groups because of size. Plenty of driving practice.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenge

1    4/18/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park with a mix of wooded and open areas with some great elevation changes. Several holes on the front 9 and hole 18 take advantage of a deep ravine with some really tricky pin placements. I love the risk around the pin, it makes you really think about your approach to the hole. The back 9 brings some open hilly areas into play with a couple fun big downhill shots.

There are two layouts here that overlap, the original and Gold layouts, and they offer some very different looks. Some holes have a different tee, others have a different basket, some have both. This adds a lot of variety to the course, with several ways to play to keep it fresh. I liked the mix of potential ace runs, tough wooded holes that called for a controlled drive, and some bombers where you get to open up but still have to think about placement.

There is a good mix of hole shapes here, you'll need a complete set of shots to score well and stay out of trouble. Many of the holes have good rough, thick enough to punish errant shots but not so thick you'll lose discs, or always have to just pitch out to the fairway. The tees are nice concrete pads, and there is adequate signage to follow the course.
Cons: The signage is there, but it's inconsistent. Some holes have great signs that show the hole layout and distance with all basket positions. Many of the gold tees only have number and distance, which makes for some blind shots that aren't obvious where to shoot. Some of the original baskets have multiple placements shown on signs, with no indicator of which is in use, a little frustrating at times.

There are some safety issues here, with a couple places you shoot near other holes or have to walk across another fairway. There are also a couple holes that bring roads and parking lots into play. There are some erosion issues, especially around the streams and ravine on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: This course has some great variety, I liked the technical challenges juxtaposed with the open shots, especially with tricky greens on many of the open drives. Beginners will find even the shorter layout pretty challenging and punishing, it's more at an intermediate level. The gold layout will challenge a full range of skills for any player while still having holes that are fun to throw.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.