Charlotte, NC 
Renaissance Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 343ft.   4 / 519ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun challenge

1    4/18/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park with a mix of wooded and open areas with some great elevation changes. Several holes on the front 9 and hole 18 take advantage of a deep ravine with some really tricky pin placements. I love the risk around the pin, it makes you really think about your approach to the hole. The back 9 brings some open hilly areas into play with a couple fun big downhill shots.

There are two layouts here that overlap, the original and Gold layouts, and they offer some very different looks. Some holes have a different tee, others have a different basket, some have both. This adds a lot of variety to the course, with several ways to play to keep it fresh. I liked the mix of potential ace runs, tough wooded holes that called for a controlled drive, and some bombers where you get to open up but still have to think about placement.

There is a good mix of hole shapes here, you'll need a complete set of shots to score well and stay out of trouble. Many of the holes have good rough, thick enough to punish errant shots but not so thick you'll lose discs, or always have to just pitch out to the fairway. The tees are nice concrete pads, and there is adequate signage to follow the course.
Cons: The signage is there, but it's inconsistent. Some holes have great signs that show the hole layout and distance with all basket positions. Many of the gold tees only have number and distance, which makes for some blind shots that aren't obvious where to shoot. Some of the original baskets have multiple placements shown on signs, with no indicator of which is in use, a little frustrating at times.

There are some safety issues here, with a couple places you shoot near other holes or have to walk across another fairway. There are also a couple holes that bring roads and parking lots into play. There are some erosion issues, especially around the streams and ravine on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: This course has some great variety, I liked the technical challenges juxtaposed with the open shots, especially with tricky greens on many of the open drives. Beginners will find even the shorter layout pretty challenging and punishing, it's more at an intermediate level. The gold layout will challenge a full range of skills for any player while still having holes that are fun to throw.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Yoda to your Inner Jedi

5+    12/24/2012   4/2/2011
Review By: Toro71
Played: 57  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2013
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some of the best reads on this site are the Renny reviews. Love-Hate has never been so clearly defined. This course is tough. Mentally preparing for a round on the Gold course is, for me, akin to putting on a brave face to meet my executioner. The last step is acceptance. ("Remember you failure in the caaaave!")
Cons: Saw where new signage is in the works, that seems to me the most "legit" beef with Renny. The best review I can think of is to walk through the holes. Really this
Course speaks for itself:

Drive into the parking lot at Jeff Adams Tennis Center. It's a long two row lot, drive to the end of the first and loop back down the side closest to the practice basket, park near practic basket with it behind you.

From the practice basket, look down the sidewalk on the right side of the tennis courts. It ends at the #1 Gold tee. Black tee from practice basket is more to your right than the Gold and is in a cut in the trees.

1: From the Gold tee back uphill, under branch that limits ceiling. From Black do not miss left, bamboo loves your precious more than you. End of parking lot in play to right, OB. Turn right at basket for 2.

2: From Gold, the deadly accurate can play for the gap dead ahead, or out over the parking lot right (hope you didn't park there) and back hard to the left between the trees and line tower. Black tee pretty much it's the gap. Both shots play into open area facing ravine. If the black basket is in, it's just short of the ravine, Gold basket is the Eagle Scout project looking "green" opposite. Enter woods behind Gold basket for 3.

3: Gold and Black same tee. Relatively short hard right to left line. Trees everywhere. Need to try to get back left past edge of fence partially hidden by greenery for a decent approach. If black basket in, just past fence to the right. Gold basket on same line but 50-75 deeper, protected by more trees. 4 tee off to the right of both.

4: Same tee for both layouts. Last time I was there, I believe it was the "original" and Gold baskets in. Original plays about 225-250 straight then dumps hard right down a treacherous slope about 100, with OB past. Gold plays straight all the way, tightens into demanding tunnel at about 275, turns left at say 350-375, short of partially visible tie-wall. Basket up to left on slope with tie-walled tiers. From Orig basket, 5 Black (Orig) is down the slope to the right a little. From Gold basket walk away from basket keeping basket/slope on right, pick up trail. Pass random basket (7 orig?) and stay on "path." You'll know you're at 5 Gold tee if you feel like you're standing in your own half-dug unmarked grave.

5: Gold plays uphill through a tight tunnel directly over 5 Black tee, to the same fence in play on 3. Levels out and turns left just short of fence another 75-100 to shared basket. Turn left at basket for short straight walk to shared 6 tee (you'll see 3 tee to your right.)

6: All layouts share tee and basket. plays about 250 straight. Basket offset to right, sloping away. Ravine down right side, deep drop-off/OB right and past basket. To get to 7 tee, pretend you just walked straight down 6 fairway and off the back of the green, following path. You'll come to 7 original, which I believe plays back to the random basket you pass between 4-5 Gold. My recommendation, leave it be, go on up the hill to 7 Gold/Black.

7: Shared tee, plays over ravine spur and through a tight neck. All manner of problems available if you catch a tree at the gap, ravine OB through right rough, deep creek OB through left rough. (If you make the gap THEN start fading, RHBH, not great but you SHOULD miss the OB.) If 7 black is in, you'll see it dead ahead on a back-slope some 325-350. Gold makes a hard right turn at the foot of the back slope, uphill around 100-125 through another gap out onto an open green, with road OB in play. Turn left at gold basket, cross entrance road, you'll face 2 tees, to the left is 18 Gold, right is shared 8.

8: Plays downhill to basket location on large rock formation in the trees to the left. Plenty of trouble for inaccuracy. 'Nuff said. Cross bridge over swamp to shared 9 tee just past "lifeguard tower."

9: Plays straight over rise and back down to basket location fronted by semi-circle of rocks. Green is lowered past rocks, in a "pit," with trees guarding, AND OB creek right and behind. Do yourself a favor and recon the shot from the lifeguard tower, and spot each other's throws...otherwise, if alone, you pretty much have to tee, then sprint up into the fairway to spot yourself, lest you wind up with an "Amelia Earhart:" looks good on take-off, then just disappears. 10 shared tee is just to the left and above 9 basket.

10: Shot is uphill, over low boulder, into-thru tight neck. If Black basket is in it plays straight thru neck to opening about 350-375 and is offset to left. Gold basket from the open area is elevated several tiers to the right an additional 150-175. 11 shared tee is down path at left rear of 10 Gold basket. You cross the mountain bike trail here, so be alert.

**note: the next 3 holes, 11-13, Strong Arm Corner, may have a few spots of standing water, first half of 11, and area between 12 and 13 tee. Can't always see the water clearly, if it's rained recently, watch your step. Shoulda sprung for waterproof shoes.

11: Long, open. If Black basket in, you'll see it straight out about, oh, 500-600 (hasn't been in since before worlds.) The Gold basket will be blind, the hole basically bends slightly left to right, more or less in that 500-600 range. Don't miss right off tee. 12 shared tee is past and just left of Gold Basket.

12: Shared tee/basket. Pretty obvious hole. OB parking lot about 25 past basket, with the drop line about 100 short. OB rough down right. 13 Shared tee to right 1/2 way down fairway. If players behind you, there's a path just inside the right rough to get to 13 tee.

13: Shared tee. Plays straight through the narrows guarded by couple small trees. From there, straight down obvious fairway to gentle dogleg left, if in Black
Basket will be just to right just before start of dogleg. Gold basket around dogleg left and into protective cove of mixed trees, including cedars. Path to 14 shared tee is to left of Gold basket. You recross the bike trail(!) then come to a step-down to 14.

14: This shot is VERY dependent on your personal D, whether or not you want a hard fade or not. Best bet: recon your tee shot, or risk losing your precious, filthy Bagginses! Plays straight down a fairly tight fairway, either rough is DOA. Hole starts working left over berm along left. Need to carry at LEAST 325 before fading for a decent approach, shot/disc depending, ideally pass the last lone cedar on left and before dead ahead tree with bench. Worlds (Black?) was in the field to left oft the berm. Gold basket plays down right to left through this field, into the wash, up on the peninsula. Enjoy your approach. 15 tee is uphill right from Gold basket, and you have to blindly enter/cross 10's fairway, so mind the flying discs.

15: Welcome to the "home stretch." Shared tee/basket. Plays way downhill, big left to right around high-tension tower. (Ha-ha, "high tension.") Basket in protected cove just inside tree-line. To get to 16, left from 15 basket, follow path, pass 9 tee (with lifeguard tower,) take same bridge across swamp, angle left uphill to shared 16. 8 Basket on big rocks will be directly to your six.

16: Same tee/basket for both. As of my latest round, no more "mandos," but they were largely academic. The tee basically faces the basket, but good luck trying a straight line. Options are big turners on tight lines to left or right, split "fair"way, basket on big rock. 17 like 100' to left and rear of 16 basket.

17: I believe this one is also one tee/basket. plays 250 straight, then due right 250 up the tree protected wash. Tee shot placement critical for anything like a "normal" approach. 18 Gold is straight past 17 basket, past 8 tee, top of the hill.

18: From Gold tee plays over entrance road, over 18 Black tee, thru high-tension towers (mando) and straight down and across a steadily narrowing open fairway. I believe 18 Black basket is no longer played, but it'll be up to the left on a narrow spit of grass between the washout and parking lot. 18 Gold is up and to the right across the ravine on a peninsula green with 25' OB drops on three sides.

At this point I usually call my mommy or therapist.
Other Thoughts: You made it. Now go pull the disc out of your windshield that you threw into it on 2, and make straight for the closest bar/ice cream shop.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 14 signature holes. maybe one hole away from a 5 star course.

1    2/20/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
14 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: So many signature holes. Hole 2 white would be a cherished hole in most courses, her it is just one of many nice holes. Holes 8 and 10's use of rocks made the holes interesting and attractive.
Hole 9 had a spotters stand to watch the discs over the hill on a blind shot.

Hole 14 broke the monotony of holes 11-13 with it's long left turn to an elevated basket.
Hole 15 had a nice elevated tee and hole 16 had a double mando that some people will hate, others will think it is an interesting hole. (I thought it was interesting).
Hole 17 was an interesting uphill shot with the basket on rocks

Several very risky shots that can reward you or destroy you.

2 holes had distance markers to tell you how far you had left to get to the basket.

Good use of elevation and terrain features.

Concrete tee pads and multiple baskets.

Course easy to find with typical blue and grey sign all of the charlotte parks had.
Cons: After hole 10 the signature holes stopped and safety issues started: 11 had the road on left, 12 was a wide open hole towards cars. After hole 14 you have to walk through 10's fairway. Hole 18's approach was right at cars in the parking lot. I had to purposely blow one of my shots to avoid hitting the cars and I ended up in a dangerous drop off that was OB. It was a shame to end such a great course on it's worst hole.

I did not see any maps., but they were not needed.
Other Thoughts: CROWDED!, but can you fault the course for being too good? Do not plan on making a quick stop to Renny, you will be there for over 2 hours.

Play the shorts the first time, then progress to the longs if you need more of a challenge.
If you can play both there are some holes that the white basket is more fun, but others where I preferred the shorter yellow.

78% (14/18) of this course was absolutely amazing the makings of a 5 star course.
16% (3/18) of the course I was ambivalent about and I was truly upset with only one hole.

This is a must play, but get in shape and stretch (sounds stupid, but do it). I saw people limping all over the course and using sticks as makeshift crutches.

If you are a newer player or are not ready for a challenge,but want a great course try Reedy and North Cabarrus, but if you want a one of a kind experience give Renny a try.

14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Made for spry youngens who don't miss putts

1    1/3/2011   2/13/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
21 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Renny is a course like Idlewild that everyone should play once. It's a stubborn course that is a good measuring stick of where you are as a player.
This course will test you physically and emotionally. The greatest test of putting of the 150 courses I've played. If you miss you are often re-approaching again and not just three putting here.
Demanding mix of open air heaves, fairway golf and wooded holes. Some hills but more undulating terrain to make you really think and play smart. Course seems to be mostly exclusive from other activities so conflicts should be minimal.
In short its a pro caliber challenge that will test every player's ability. What makes Renny unique and loved/despised is the incredibly fast greens and extreme basket locations that if missed will generate huge totals as OOB ravines and steep dropoffs await many of the greens. If you are on you could blow away the field as many will be making the ditch 5 putt scramble.
Good variety here with open field length , long wooded holes, followed by insanely difficult pin positions being the theme here.
Basically if you can't putt you are in trouble (fastest greens and most difficult basket positions Ive ever seen with zero layup), if you can't throw with big D you are in trouble (many looooong open holes where you are apt to lose a stroke if you cant heave it a mile), if you can't hit tight lines you are also in trouble (a few tight pinch points just out of the non elite players comfort zone and with thick woods off the fairway rescue shots are rare and pitch outs are the norm) and of course all of this ends up testing your emotional balance and ability to shrug off a missed 12 foot putt that becomes a ravine rollaway etc. If you can't handle these skills you are gonna find yourself at the bottom of a ditch looking up at your partners physically and on the scorecard.
Cons: I had been reading and hearing about Renny since I began helping to build Nockamixon in 2002. When I got down to North Carolina I was giddy and could not wait to play this course. Locals here warned me that many did not like it and that other courses were much more preferred. These were decent veteran players and not noobs. I was perplexed....but after playing I think I'm in the anti Renny camp. I can't hate the course and give it a low score because I realize it was not meant for me (I can't putt and am getting older) I am not going to sit here and give the course a free pass and assume that it's just a matter of my AM type skills not being able to handle the course.
Quite simply too often luck is the determining factor and the true challenge on many of the holes. A great deal of work and craftmanship has been put into this course and the holes are solid holes until you get to the greens...this is where my game disagreed with the design. Too often I played a hole as well as I could and had a shot to garner par or birdie and instead I missed a putt by a minimal amount and ended up multi putting and my score blew up. I found that too many of my throws were putts here....too many actually. I began to try to lay-up and just take bogey but often laying up garnered the same result....a rollaway to oob abyss and a 100+ ft upshot. I love a few risky greens and admit I need to work on my putting...but when you can't lay-up and if you can't reliably make a 35 footer what are you supposed to do. I admit I lost it and broke down and made an ass of myself amongst the guys who showed me the course. I just think too much of the difficulty was derived by "GIMMICKY" greens over and over. I found it to be a very uncreative play as well...basically you had to be able to do exactly what the designer intended without many options or room for imaginative shots. I felt forced to throw specific lines and wasn't given the option enough to try something different. (this is a southern phenomenon I think as the dense woods dont really allow for any get out of jail shots or alternate lines like you can do up north)
In short I felt that even after doing axactly what I was told to do I was met by a basket on a perch that I had to make a long putt on or take multi-bogey on. Unforgiving, excessively punishing, and not really enjoyable despite the fact that I was hitting all my lines all day. Kind of like going on a wonderful date with a girl and when it's time for the good night kiss her Dad comes out and beats your ass. Thats how I felt when people asked me about how I liked the course.
Other Thoughts: I really held out on reviewing this course and emotionally wanted to give it a lower score but realizing I am not a top caliber player and am older so missing putts and climbing in and out of clay canyons is not so much fun I decided to rate it as a 4. There are better plays in Charlotte. I really think Nevin blows this one away....The other Charlotte course have a few elevated baskets and risky greens but this place has overdosed on them much to my scorecard and memory's chagrin.

21 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Hell yea baby!

1    2/5/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2013
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fantastic diversity

Challenging yet fair

Multiple pads and baskets

Technically 2 courses on site

Concrete pads and plenty of amenities

Sexy terrain and landscaping

Flows well
Cons: This course was very close to a 5 for me. I found no glaring faults.
Other Thoughts: This is easily in my top five. Its up with Flip City and Deer Lakes.

I had heard many times how punishing this course is. I half expected to just play disc plinko through the woods. This was not at all the case. I found the fairways to be very fair. Sure, your not gonna park your disc where you want every time, but I never felt like I just needed luck to get through to the pin.

In addition to the long tight holes, there are several open holes. This was unexpected. I loved it. You wind in and out of the woods throughout the round. Also, even though there are more tight than open holes, not all of the tight holes were long. There were some deuce opportunities.

There are a few open holes in the middle that are true bombers. I believe the first of the three was just shy of 1100 feet. So yea, you get some reprieve from the density, but you will fall behind if you have a weak arm.

This course exposes weakness. You have to be able to bomb as well as carve very technical lines. I used pretty much every shot in my arsenal to get through.

The landscape is super sexy. There are many wooden bridges and staircases throughout the course. Ravine beds run through the park. I can't recall water playing a role but the beds provide some nice elevation changes. Many of the pins are perched on boulders or built upon logs to provide picturesque and challenging putting. The only drawback to the scenery are the electrical lines. Hell, the structures that hold them even come into play. There is a mando on one for hole 18.

This course had everything I hoped for and more. If you want to chill, play the original course. If you want to test your skills, play the gold. Renny gold will challenge you in every way.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: before i played flyboy aviation, this was my favorite course. it changed what i thought a disc golf course could be the first time i played it. hole 18 is still one of my all time fave holes. you know you have played a round of disc golf when you finish a full 18 of the gold course.
Cons: it's not flyboy aviation. and that's the only one.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Renny OG

5+    10/12/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Talk about something for everyone, you get it all in one round at Renaissance Park DGC. Renny is not built for the novice DGer, with plenty of distance, technicallity, and variety.

Renaissance Park DGC is equipped with concrete tee pads and DISCatcher baskets, yellow baskets for the original layout, White for the Pro layout. Benches and trash cans located at various holes throughout the course.

Course layout is a very big pro in my book. The layover of the short and long course is very well thought out, and has been tweeked here and there. Most of the Gold(Long) course's baskets are separate baskets, longer than the original baskets. Some holes have mulitiple tee pads. A few holes even have a few basket placements, which allow you to mix it up if you frequent Renny often.

The course is quite challanging. The front 9 is the shorter half of the course, playing through denser woods. The front half is much more technical, requiring alot of shot-shaping and accurate throws at the expense of distance. The back 9 is a totally different beast, with plenty of distance. Most holes on the back require more than 1 drive to reach the green.

Basket placements offer plenty more difficulty, whether its tucked neatly behind a tree, on the edge of a cliff, anchored into a large boulder, or way far away from the tee. The Gold layout is this x5, with plenty of island greens on the edge of cliffs and such.

Variety is a large pro also. You are likely to use every shot in your bag through a round at least twice. Plenty of ups and downs, lefts and rights, tunnel shots and open shots.
Cons: -Tee signs are a bit of mix-and-match, with some being accurate, some not so much. Most Pro holes only have distance and par posted with no hole map. Maps for some holes include pin placements no longer in use.

-Course is pretty much unplayable after a storm. Footing is quite tough in a lot of areas when the ground is still wet.

-A few OB areas on the course which require climbing down into a very large ditch which can be quite dangerous. There have been steps/ladders set in place to help. Hey, at least it isn't a deep disc eating lake.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that you must hit in your road trip through Charlotte. Only problem is that it will take you at least 2 hours as a single player to play a round here, and that's not factoring in navigation issues you may have if its your first time at Renny.

Plenty of unique holes, and although not as picturesque as some other courses here in Charlotte this course sure gets the job done.

Renaissance Park DGC's Gold layout ranks in the top 3 toughest courses in the Greater Charlotte area, along with Nevin and the Web layout of Hornet's Nest. A good score can be shot on this course, if you are able to keep your head in the game and not let the distance get into your head.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/25/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Small Paws
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Many Signature Holes
Very Challenging
Incredibly Unique
Cons: Lots of Thick Brush and Briars
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for awhile and I have probably played it more than a hundred times. You hear people talk about how challenging Renny is, but until you play it yourself, it's all hear say. You'll hear people say that "Oh, this course was harder than Renny!"...but they probably didn't play Renny Gold. Renny Gold is without a doubt, one of the hardest disc golf rounds in the world. I have played others that are hard, but are also horrible courses, which is not the case with Renny Gold. Almost every hole is memorable in it's own way. Renny is not the most aesthetically pleasing course out there, but in my opinion, it is certainly one of the best.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok course

1    8/13/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: philman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Fun Course in a nice park. Easy to find. You can tell alot of thought was put int some of the holes, while other's left me scratching my head.
Cons: Signage was terrible. Hard to find tees and baskets. But my biggest Con was hole 18 and really left a bad taste in my mouth for this course. We were there on a busy Friday night and it was full of volleyball players. I understand that we have to share the course with others so that in and of itself is not a problem. The problem is that the last hole is designed so you are throwing over and at a parking lot. There is also a huge ditch in the fairway and there are no real signs stating how deep and dangerous this chasm is.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course overall but after playing Hornets and Nevins this was by far the weakest.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Lived up to the hype

1    6/6/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 102  Reviewed: 15
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: You hear about this course being worth the trip, but I have heard that many times and thought, "yeah, that was pretty good". This course is like Idlewild in that it is ridiculously hard, but you have to admit that there was a fair route (you just didn't hit it). Don't go off the fairway; if you want to beat this course then you have to know when to take a par and when to go for the bird.
I'm not going to give you hole-by-hole descriptions; I feel that takes away from the surprise. I will tell you that for two above-average players, expect to take 2-2.5 hours, and hit this course twice on your trip. I only gave it a 4.5 because the signs were kind of lacking, and there was once or twice when I wasn't 100% sure which way to go after a hole (a perfect course has to cover the basics, right?). In fact, Charlotte did so much on all of their courses except signage! That's the part that should be free, if you looked for sponsors. All in all, Stan McDaniel does it up, and what makes Charlotte a mecca is that they have so many high caliber courses in one area. I mean, there is no where else in the world that I would make a disc golf trip to for three days and NOT be able to make it to Winthrop Gold....

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.