Sand Springs, OK 
River City Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #13 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
city park course

5+    11/2/2014   11/7/2014
Review By: popthree
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2014
Pros: other reviewers pretty much summed it up, but i will add this.. there are concrete tee boxes now, and there is a community center on the park grounds with very nice facilities including clean, indoor bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: this is a city funded park so not as well maintained as some other in the area. the park isn't pretty..but for a 9 hole, local, close to home course, i won't complain. if you don't live in the area, it may not worth going out of your way to play..there are nicer courses around. but it is very quiet..very little traffic.. so its a good place to practice.

9 baskets + 18 tees = River City

1    8/2/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 Flow is logical. Good signage and the baskets catch well. There is a good variety of shots, with a couple of elevated tees.
Good mix of distances short, medium, and long. This course is pretty beginner friendly(outside of the creek and weeds by the creek).
Here are my hole observations:
1-downhill shot with trees protecting the basket
2-wide open, road on the left hand side of the fairway. Creek is on the right hand side of the fairway
3-mostly open with the basket nestled between a couple of trees
4-has a group of trees on the left side of the fairway to contend with, creek on the right
5-tunnel type of shot
6-wide open with the exception of 1 tree that guards the basket on the right hand side
7-low ceiling, open on the left hand side and trees on the right hand side of the fairway
8-has trees mid fairway to contend with
9-has moderate length, wide open with the basket up on a hill
10-mostly wide open
11-dog leg to the right
12-elevated box, slightly downhill shot
13-trees on the left hand side, creek on the right hand side
14-good amount of trees on the left hand side of the box
15-has a few more trees than what 6 does, but similar look
16-has a gap right up the middle that needs to be hit to score well
17-tightest hole on the course, and the best in my opinion
18-completely open hole, shooting at 9's basket

Cons: No cement tees,no benches, and no trash cans. Also there weren't any other amenities(outside of the skatepark).
The walk from 9's basket to 10's tee, from 15's basket to 16's tee, and from 17's basket to 18's tee is rather lengthy. All of this slows the flow of the game down a bit. The back 9 has a few spots were navigation doesn't flow real smooth.
Also you must cross 1's fairway to get to 10's tee box after holing out on 9. This would only be an issue if the course was super busy, but still I'm not a fan of this. If the creek is up there is a lengthy walk to get around it to get to #5's tee box. This again will slow the flow down a bit. It would be nice to see a footbridge installed here.
After a good rain 9's fairway could be rather wet since it is in a low lying area. The weeds along the creek could be disc eaters, if they weren't mowed recently.
Other Thoughts: There is a good amount of trees here to provide you with a good challenge. Its not super technical by any means but it will still have lines to hit in order to score well. This course has done a good job at providing you with 2 different looks per basket to make a 18 hole course. They have incorporated a decent water threat with the creek and have done a good job of trying to keep the walking path out of the line of fire.
I would like to see concrete tees personally and the addition of a footbridge between holes 4 and 5 would be nice. This isn't a destination course but its worth a play if you are in the area. I enjoyed this course but wasn't WOWED here. Its just a solid, functionable course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wouldn't go out of my way to play here

1    5/18/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean park, new baskets, trees galore (if you're into that), not crowded.
Cons: Dirt tee pads, extremely repetitive, 9 baskets, untamed grass all along the creek, almost every shot is along the creek, 18 holes on 9 baskets and no pictures for the holes can get a bit confusing, as far as I could tell there is no place to park by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: It isn't the worst course I've played, but it's close. Hole 1 is right by the skate park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 River City

1    11/9/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new course, brand new baskets, brand new challenges. Pretty well designed too - the course uses ample trees as common obstacles requiring tight line shots, and a # of fairly technical shots. A pretty decent mix of length - average hole length is probably just over 300' with one hole uphill at 420' and a couple at about 275'. Course plays along a creek, creating water hazards (Although the creek was bone dry when I played). Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: No tee pads - just dirt. Signage only gives hole # and distance. The course is in a floodplane so I have a feeling that when it rains pretty hard the place might be a swamp for a few days after (I haven't witnessed this personally, just guessing). A fair amount of prairie grass growing along the creekbed can eat discs. Throwing to same pin off two tees gets redundant.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course, and I'm always open to trying out a new course. Concrete teepads would help a lot, maybe some better signage - but the biggest improvement would be if 9 more baskets were added so that the course would be a full 18. I enjoyed the 9-hole though - playing from alternate tees made 18.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.