Peachtree City, GA 
Village Green Share
Uploaded By: WAS1  
Park Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Qucik Round Over Lunch

1    5/31/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: SemperFly
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
Pros: Fun to play with a child(played it w/ my son) Really good spot to pitch and putt on a lunch break. Fast and easy to park and begin play. It is a unique and cool way to use the space. Fun for anyone that looks for places to play when they travel. I was just a few miles away and always keep discs in the car... so it was a great spice to the day to get in a random round. this ia an especially cool course when playing with a kid or a beginner. Very Shady.
Cons: Tees and targets are close - if there is any course conjestion then it could result in injury. Close to a Church playground area. There are alot of golf carts passing on a nearby cart/walking path.
Other Thoughts: For a catching a quick game while passing through the area, or playing on a break this will be a fun and cool little spot. However, not worth planning a major detour or drive just to seek it out. Recommend to anyone passing by or with kids and/or beginners in the sport. Catch a quick round over lunch... it is over before you even break a sweat.

  perfect for practice

5+    8/1/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: BuddyBody
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
Pros: -great use of space and tee/basket placement
-central location, easy to find once you know about it
-easy to navigate
-ample parking and across the street from the library for us bookish types
Cons: -several low areas of the course pool water during rainy times, including all around basket 8 making it unplayable during rainy times
-high traffic course with golf cart trails cutting through, more than once i have been rushed by the people behind while having to wait on those ahead.
-manhole to sewer on hole 5 gets pretty rank on hot and wet days.
-lots of trash in the woods, high traffic course gets minimal respect
-a church play yard is on the right of the 8th hole, seems too close to be safe
Other Thoughts: Despite all the cons this is a very fun. very playable course. the holes are quite thoughtful for the space allowed and the bridge is a fun distraction. However, it could use more maintenance than it gets, (the grass has only been mowed once this summer that i know of) and the basket for hole 8 could really stand to be moved at least just in front of the ocean of a puddle that it is in for at least half the year. theres also another mudhole just after the bridge on hole 4 with the first of two sewer manholes on the course right in the middle of it.
Overall this is a great practice course but is little more than that. Its worth a play but don't go too far out of your way. It seems like a city that is so dependent on ball golf for its local economy (there are 3 major courses here) would pay a little more attention to the rest of us. oh well, lets see what the future brings

 

5+    11/27/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: KRATC
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course makes use of trees and a bridge to add some interesting holes.
- Located close to a major road and plenty of places to park
- Good for those days when you do not have much time to play
Cons: - There are only 9 holes
- There are only dirt tee-pads
- The baskets are older, though in fine condition, and do not have double chains
- Pedestrians and golf carts need to watched for carefully, as some of the pathways are blind.
Other Thoughts: This course is a short, nine hole park located in Peach Tree City. It is not very challenging for upper level players, but would be a nice course for beginners to start learning on. Other than old baskets and dirt tee-pads, the only problem is traffic through the course in the way of golf carts. Hole #1 is specifically troublesome because you cannot see if a cart or pedestrian is approaching from the pad. All in all, it is a fun course if you are just looking to throw, especially if you want to play a "putter round", but may be lackluster for adv player. I say play it if you are in the area, but don't drive a day to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course in a nice little city

2-4    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of shade, perfect on a day like today that was 90+ degrees. A decent amount of distance for such a small course. A quiet and secluded feeling area even though it is in the middle of town. A new club in town is taking care of the course.
Cons: The land is pretty narrow so a couple holes are rather close where if you actually ran into someone else playing you would be throwing at each other.
A couple tees are very close to the previous basket.
Hole 8 has a bench right in front of the basket.
No numbers on the tee poles but the course was relatively easy to figure out...one round fixes this problem.
Other Thoughts: The new club has recently repainted the baskets so they are all very visible. The chains were not as badly rusted as others have mentioned as well so they might have done something with them too. Even though they are the older disc-catchers they caught pretty well.
The course has decent distances and a few trees and low hanging branches as obstacles. A few holes also run along the creek which could punish you badly if you griplock or overshoot the basket.

Hole 4 and 7 are probably the signature holes and they both deal with a cart bridge. Hole 4 shoots under it and hole 7 tees off from it so you get a "top of the world" type experience on a flat piece of land.

Overall a pretty nice course for a hot day as there are only a few spots where you are out in the sun.

There is a little park directly across the street that has restrooms.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    2/23/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice nine hole course set on a relatively small piece of property. It is a dedicated disc golf area so you do not have to worry about other people here. The main obstacles are the large trees dotting the property. There is a small stream running the right edge of the property and can come into play with errant shots. Hole one tee shot over water is fun and I especially liked hole four playing under a bridge. The course is clean and well maintained. There was no one else on the course the day I was there and this allowed me to pick a basket to play to and make my own challenges. You can add all the distance you want doing this. Great place to work on any shot you are weak in with the lack of people. Great place to practice and hone your skills.
Cons: The baskets are the old Innova baskets with single sets of chains that are very rusty. The numbers on the baskets are fading making difficult to read at times. They did however seem to catch very well. We had a lot of rain the day I played so there were some wet spots. The tee boxes were natural dirt and a little soft due to the rain in places. However you could always find a spot next to the marked box. No signs that I could find on the course at all only numbers on the baskets and 4X4 stakes to mark the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: If you just play the normal 1 thru 9 here you really don't need anything more that midrange and a putter. However if you pick and choose you can have just about any shot you like.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Village Green

1    9/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good little 9 hole par 3 course. Great for people who haven't been playing the sport that long or for just bringing friends up there who haven't played before. Mostly flat and pretty straight shots on every hole. Pretty easy to navigate through out the course even though there are no signs, but the course design has it set up with an easy flow.
Cons: Not very challenging for advanced players. No long distances, and few elevation changes. The tee pads are dirt and if wet not much traction. It is a multi use park so there is usually a lot of traffic going through and around the park, so be careful for pedestrians. Baskets aren't in the best shape but they don't spit out too many putts.
Other Thoughts: Over all just a "practice" course. If you are looking for a real challenge if you have played before I would suggest you drive a few minutes down the road and go play McCurry Park. But if you don't have much time this is a pretty fun course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short little course

5+    7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 32.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a little 9 hole course. It's a good course for beginners and for introducing people to the sport. The park is small so it's easy to find your way around the course. Hole 1 starts up by the street and you follow the edge of the park around in a counter clockwise direction.

This is actually a fun place to play a little safari golf but be careful for other people in the park.
Cons: Tees are dirt and I don't remember much in the way of tee signs. The course is in a multi use park but the only other things there are picnic tables and benches. You have to be very careful for people at the picnic tables, benches and people on golf carts riding on the path through the park though. There is a high probability of hitting someone here if the park is busy.
Other Thoughts: There's not much interesting about this course but it's a place to play if you live in the area. Every hole is gettable in 2. You just have to string them together and not miss anything.

I always parked in the church parking lot that's near hole 1. If you do that be sure not to park too close to the basket. It's not all that far from the road and I've seen discs get through there and hit cars.

For a more difficult disc golf experience in the area head up the road to the new course in Fayetteville.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.