Round Top, TX 
Snow Farm Share
Uploaded By: Hole #13 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 138ft.   3 / 138ft.   3 / 138ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Snow Farm

5+    3/1/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: texas80
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. Very well maintained. 21 holes of good golf. Water hazards on a few (sometimes the creek is dry) but nothing terrible. Lots of fun. Texas State Doubles Amateur Championships are held here and well worth the trip.
Cons: Private course, pay to play call ahead to get permission. Hole #10 eats discs. If you don't watch your disc it will and does disappear. The course is a bit long and there are some elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: I love spending the day playing this course. One of my favorites.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Country Course

5+    3/1/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Disclaimer: to date I've only played the Red/Short and Blue/Long tees; not the White/mids.

Twenty-one holes of DG in a nice environment. The fairways are fair and well defined. The rubber mat tees on the Blue and White tees are in decent condition but starting to show some age. The Red tees are natural, but since they're probably not played all that often are in rather nice shape, i.e. not rutted.

Nice use of elevation on many holes. There seem to be a lot more downhill holes than uphill ones. A great balance of wooded holes and more open holes. Most of the "open" holes still have some foliage with which to contend.
Cons:
The course loses points for no tee signs and some navigation issues that only effect first time players: There are a few non-obvious and/or long walks from one hole to the next (#9-#10, #17-#18-#19-#20-#21), but other than those the course generally flows pretty well. No tee signs, just small flags, so a map will greatly help first time players figure out which hole they're on. After playing once it's pretty easy to not get lost. There are old discs nailed to trees and Sharpie'd with directions to the next hole in some areas.

The baskets are in various stages of wear with some new and some showing their age.

On some of the Blue and White tees: they seemed to be a mix of "just back it up to make the hole longer" and "really change the lines to up the challenge". This is probably only a con when viewed from the Red tee perspective as I suspect the Blues were designed first and then the Reds added later to just shorten them up.
Other Thoughts:
Pay to play course. Contact the owner to arrange playing times.

Thinking back on this course there are several memorable holes:

From the Red tee #8 is a challenging tee shot over some pretty tall trees with a sharp left fade to the basket. From the longer tees you may need to pick your lay-up landing spot for the second shot over the trees.

If you've got a cannon, hole #10 is a fun 800-1000' hole on a mild downhill slope. It's just begging to be rolled and with the right wind seems like you could '3' the thing; but I was told that's only been done three times from the Blue/Long tee.

Both #6 and #20 are neat shorter holes with one specific low RHBH hyzer line through the trees to hit and you'll be parked by the basket.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Private Course

2-4    7/19/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic hill country course that will test your accuracy and well as your ability to drive and gamble on shot placement (Various pucker shots). The course has varied lengths of holes, including an epic #10 - at just over a 1000 feet on an open downward slope overlooking the property.

There are multiple tees for different skill levels, and the boxes are mostly rubber pads with some dirt boxes for the alternate tees. Also, by being in the middle of no where and having to pay $5 to play - the course was empty and open enjoy without delays or other golfers.

There are campgrounds on the property, and the owner is great. He was more than happy to give us a map and scorecard, as well as go over the layout to make sure we wouldn't get lost. You must contact him to play, but he responded to my email within 24 hours.

The elevation changes, technical holes, long drives, and water make this course diverse and enjoyable. Any experienced disc golfer will fall in love with this course and what it has to offer, but beginners will be huffing and puffing by the end.

Also, the course only plays on about 60 of the 90 acres, and the map looks like hopefully someday another 6 holes could go in - since it almost felt like it should have been a 27-hole course anyway.

As an added bonus - don't forget to drive a few more miles after your round and stop by Royers Cafe in Round Top on Thursdays through Sundays for some of the best pie you'll have have.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #10
Cons: This is a private course, so you pay 5$, but that is to play all day, and it took us a couple solid hours with 2 people.

This part is with a grain of salt since I do take into account the fact that one man is maintaining an entire course:
- The tee boxes are rubber (good), but are only marked with flags, so if you don't have the map you're basically screwed.
- The pins are a mishmash of mostly DisCatcher, but some are in very poor shape.

Also, the layout can be very confusing, and the course has trouble flowing in parts. To me it looks like the owner has walked his property many times, and found elements he loved and just made the holes work.

WORST HOLE/S: #8; #9
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course. Granted, it was the first time I had played it and my putting was off a bit, but I still managed a frustrating +15. The mix of trees and having to play certain shots have told me I need more practice, and make me definitely want to come back.

I also love that the front nine is tight and technical, but the back nine plays more open and long, so you don't feel like your playing the same hole over and over. With the elevation changes, I wouldn't bring a stroller or small kids, but if your serious about disc golf you owe it to yourself to devote a day to playing this course.

Overall, this course borders on a 4.5, but given the pin conditions, course flow, and pay to play I had to drop it to a 4. However, that being said - I enjoyed it more than Pease Park in Austin and that is always rated high, so you really just need to experience it for yourself.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.