Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Red Fox Share
Uploaded By: mashnut Hole #4 (Taken 11/2012)
-- / --   3 / 220ft.   -- / --   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice introductory course to the sport

1    8/22/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 61  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: I am from Colorado so our courses are different. However, if I lived in Wisconsin this would be a perfect place to introduce someone to the sport. The holes are manageable, mostly wide open with a small amount of challenge. For the experienced player there are a lot of Ace runs and Birdie opportunities. Excellent, grippy tee pads. Trash buckets at every location. A beautiful setting.
Cons: As previously stated, the holes are not necessarily for the experienced player. There is a lot of graffiti on the benches that reinforce the stereotype of the Stoner (blunt charger, Dick charger). I would hate to bring my kids to see that. The majority of the tee signs and distances were absent.
Other Thoughts: This is a exceptionally well maintained park, and the parks department should be applauded. It does Pale in comparison to the difficulty of the gray fox course, but on it's own it is a solid, fun course for beginners.

Good warm up for the grey fox

2-4    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
Pros: This course serves as an excellent warm up for the grey fox 18 hole course on site. The baskets are discatchers that are in pretty decent shape and catch fine. The flow of the course is very intuitive and easy to follow. The tee pads are nice very level and grippy concrete. They also have mulch long tee pads on each hole as well to add a little length. The posts have the hole number on them. There's a little bit of elevation on this course but it's used really nicely. A number of trees serve as obstacles throughout as well. There are trash cans at every hole too which people actually use. The course is always very clean, well mowed and maintained.
Cons: The holes are all pretty short and aceable so it's not too exciting for more experienced players. The bugs can get pretty nasty but it is WI, so they are everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty decent course itself. If it was located in a park by itself it would get more respect but with grey fox being on site it gets overlooked a bit. It's definitely worth playing if you're here for the grey fox.

Nice Warm Up Course

1    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Baskets - Nice new Innova baskets.

- Teepads - Nice and long almost a bit too long for the course, but that can't be a con right.

- Great as both a beginner course and a warm up course.

-Two tee pads - I didn't play the longs, but they have a long tee pad made in mulch from every hole.

- Trash cans at every hole- this is huge, and you could tell the locals don't throw trash/cans all over the place, making it easy sometimes pays off :D
Cons: - a lot of point and shot style holes.

- Navigation - This is a huge nit pick, but they don't have tee signs, hole 4 was the only hole where I couldn't see the basket from the basket, but figured I would bring it up as it "could" be a problem for someone.

Other Thoughts: This course is super super easy, I was waiting to meet someone and played it in about 30 minutes from the normal pads. If I had my bag I would only use putters and mids here (had to use a FW only because it was my only under stable disc.)

The wind seemed to play a huge factor on this course.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2.5

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 100  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course enjoys a lot of the same benefits as its neighbor, the Grey course.

The park is huge and absolutely beautiful! This is a great place to go if you want to just get away from it all and enjoy disc golf with your friends.

The Red course is very different from its Grey counterpart.

*It's definitely more beginner accessible than Grey

*There's a fun downhill drive that will make you want to empty your bag

*Decent shot-shaping, without intense difficulty makes the course accessible and good to practice on

*Pretty good maintenance as far as tee-pads and garbage cans go.
Cons: There is an overall lack of exciting disc golf at this little course...

*Laughably short distances on four or five of the holes
*A few of the holes don't have any elevation changes or trees... just baskets in a field
*No tee-signs, which stinks because there are several blind holes
*Course doesn't really make use of the woods.
Other Thoughts: The obvious idea here is to play this course as a warmup for the Grey course, or to bring a beginner. For these roles this course is wonderful!

If for some reason you have to choose between the two, then play the Grey

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course redesigned

1    2/1/2013   2/1/2013
Review By: Jim O'Neill
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has been redesigned. One basket location with long and short tees. Short tees are concrete and long are wood chips, soon to be concrete. Great design by Terry miller the DG Guy! Now Fox River Park in Kenosha county Wi. has a fantastic 27 Basket facility!
Other Thoughts: Rating is for old course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Much better

1    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in the area of the old Red Fox course and along the adjacent sled hill. There are two fun downhill shots, including one the uses the elevation of the sled hill with plenty of room to air out some drives. Two shots have nice uphill tee shots for a little more challenge.

There are a couple shots that make you throw specific lines, and enough trees on a few of the holes that you can't just throw a simple hyzer. The short tees have nice concrete pads, the long tees offer some more interesting and more challenging looks along with a good amount more distance and have woodchip tees.
Cons: A lot of the holes are very short and straightforward, not offering much of an obstacle to throwing whatever line is easiest for you. The longs are better, but still play fairly open. There really isn't much punishment for errant shots, you can fairly easily recover for par anywhere on the course. The long tees are terrible, deep fluffy piles of woodchips just don't provide good footing. I would rather see natural tees than the current setup.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course much more approachable than the Grey Fox course onsite, it's a great course for trying out the sport without too much frustration. More experienced players can use the shorts for some ace runs or a nice quick warmup, and the long tees provide a few fun shots. This course complements the longer 18 holer very well, I like seeing complexes with options for different levels of players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.