Chillicothe, OH 
Great Seal State Park Share
Uploaded By: jtmelton Hole #13
3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Talk about History!

2-4    10/26/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 164  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This State Park course near Chillicothe, Ohio has some of the most scenic hills and woods in the region, and they are preserved so well that we're lucky to have a spectacular disc golf course to enjoy in them. The drawback is there will never be concrete tees on these paths, but the shots! Here, you get to play a long bomb downhill along a path that was carved out of the woods by Wooly Mammoths nearly 10,000 years ago. And it's not just a simple 500 footer: it finishes hard to the right on a sloping 'green'.

With holes ranging from 186 to 589 feet, wooded, open, left, right, up and downhill, you'll get a good workout that will challenge the Intermediate to Advanced player to match tourney par (54). A fair round by a recreational player would be to match course par (63). Natural tees are mandated here to start each hole, but the DISCatcher baskets are all in good shape to catch your shots (even though most are the old single set of chains variety). In the woods, the fairways and lines to the basket are very tough, but they can be hit with a great deal of control. It's tough because so many of the holes (2,3,9,10,15,16 &17) play slightly uphill, and feel longer than they really are. The undergrowth is not (usually) forbidding (but does contain a lot of prickly thorns, at least this time of year(fall)).

Starting by the main parking area (bathroom & shelter) with an anny shot (rhbh) across a park-like opening, then looping the front nine to the east up into the woods, down the mammoth trail / ravine on 6 (7 & 8), you'll actually be near your car after the steep uphill hole 9 (watch out for the really tough pin position on 7: it's a ridge-top there, with roll-aways in ALL directions!). If you need a refresher before tackling the western back nine, it's fairly handy. After the pretty hyzer shot on 10, holes 11 & 12 play relatively tight, and might require a little more spotting from the weeds off the fairway. After you ace run hole 13, you might want to leave one party member on the driveway while you tee off on the lengthy, right-bending hole 14, as well (probably the toughest hole on the course, competing with 6-8 for 'memorable). The last four holes are all deuce-able, and lead back to the dropping ace run on 18, and the corner of the parking lot.
Cons: Personally, I enjoy slightly shorter holes when contending with woods, but some folks might consider the majority of these (especially 13 & 15-18) too short on average. You will want to avoid some of the creeks and slopes, as some get very steep. And I'd love to see some acceptable form of tee upgrades. The dirt, roots, and slopes from the tee areas can be tricky when wet. I understand the paths are to stay pristine and natural, so concrete is out, but boxed, compacted gravel tees might add more sure footing. If that's verboten, maybe a more frequent mulch refresher would be possible. In fact, one of the main things keeping this from being a higher rated course is that the infrastructure and amenities are limited by state park rules to being, shall we say, 'rustic'. Finally, wear your sturdiest shoes: the paths used are mostly roots & rock all over the place, and softer soles led me to really sore feet by the end of two tourney rounds here.
Other Thoughts: I've been here two consecutive Autumns, and highly recommend a trip out here when the leaves are in full color. If you can control your tee shots and avoid trouble, this course is worth a visit. Pair it up with OU-Chillicothe, or head toward any of the Bainbridge/Hillsboro courses and make a day of it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good times!

1    9/14/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the layout, lots of elevation change , good exercise !
Cons: Finding a couple holes can be difficult for a first timer . No maps on tee markers.
Other Thoughts: People !! The state park provides us with a free place to play this great game ! Yet we have boneheads that leave their trash laying around and someone was even nice enough to paint a self portrait on a tee marker(pic of male parts) This is how we lose our things!! Please pick up after yourselves!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

1    10/30/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: hipster
Played: 77  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set in a beautiful park outside of historic Chillicothe OH. If you are passing through the area and have a hankerin to huk the plastic, you would be advised to give this course a go. I would not play this course in the summer or when wet due to the nature of the terrain. In the summer, I imagine the bramble on a few of the holes can easily claim an errant throw and the throw would not have to be that off the mark. Stand out holes include 6, 7, 12, and 14. Number 6 is a long down hill 500 ft shot just to see the pin located up on the hillside to the right. The left side of the fairway is bordered by a creek bed and the right side is bordered by a small slope before rising to a mound aligning most of the fairway. #7 is a another down hill gapper shot to a pin that sets atop a 15 ft mound. Do not over shoot because your disc can slide off the other side. The before mentioned creek meanders through this hole also. You have to keep an eye on your disc in the fall because the leaves are deep. Care is also needed to watch where you are walking since the ground cover is hiding potential ankle busters. #12 is a tight tunnel shot with little room for error. Bramble on the left and right is waiting for off target shots. #14 is a downhill shot with the park road rising on your left and the woods to the right. if your disc gets stuck on the hill sloping down from the road, you can forget about getting a run up for your throw. This is a recurring theme through out part of the course. Due to the terrain you'll often find yourself precariously balancing yourself on a slope trying to make an upshot. After hole 12 there is a little climb up to 13 where there is a bench waiting for the weary. After a brief rest, there is an ace/birdie opportunity waiting for you, a 200 ft plus downhill shot.

There is a good chance you may have the course to yourself, When I played on a weeknight, there were only 2 other cars there. I did see some people on horseback but it was not an issue.
Cons: No teepads. The tee boxes are marked with a sign and a four by four marking the foul line.
Tee signs are expensive looking plaques noting the hole number, distance, and the corporate sponsor of the course. For the money invested in the tee sign material, they could've diagramed the hole and noted the elevation changes. Two or three holes should be thinned to allow for more of an opportunity to reward good shots.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. Challenging and beautiful scenery. In the summer I imagine the canopy closing in on the majority of the course. Need for caution when trekking off the beaten path.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice And Beautiful

1    9/4/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start it off it is very easy to find. Many signs directing you to the state park. With the map and scorecard at the front it makes it very easy to follow the course and to keep score. All of the baskets are innova discatcher baskets. These are always good. They may not have concrete tees, but they do have nice and flat dirt tees. They had great elevation changes. Most of the time you were never throwing flat. It was always up or down hill. The practice pin is nice and fun to mess around with before you go and play. Normally you could see the basket from the tee, but not always. Almost every hole is different. Some are wide open and ok if you make a mistake, but others are very tight and if you go into the woods you may have some trouble. The big board at the first tee lets you know everything you need to know about the course.
Cons: The one major con that i had here was the hiking trails. Many times you would have to wait for someone to walk through before you could throw. The pedestrians will get in your way alot. You will always need to be aware of this. Getting to the second tee was challenging but the map helped with that. The sign at the tee was not very helpful. All it said was the distance and the par, we already knew that because of the score sheet. There was no map on the sign. On a few of the holes with tight fairways the woods were thick. Finding hole 15 you have to cross a road to get there. Lots of trees are knocked down from here to there so make sure you dont trip.
Other Thoughts: Out of the two courses in Chillicothe this is for sure the better one. If you cant decide between this or the university definately go to this one. They offer much more and overall it is just a nicer course. When i was here there was a deer that ran out in the middle of the fairway so it looks like there is alot of wild life here. All they need to do to make it a nicer course is to just make better signs and seperate the disc golf from the hiking trails. I thought it was very interesting how they had mc'donalds logos all over the signs and on the baskets. That was the first time that i've seen anything like it. So come prepared and watch out for the wild life.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Tough One

2-4    8/20/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Combination Nature Hike/Disc Golf Course
Playing this course will help you improve your distance and accuracy.
Great use of land
The majority of these holes are great dense wooded holes
Park is well kept/course is well maintained
Challenging
Not too crowded
Cons: A couple of the wooded holes are frustrating because you don't know where the pin is and you have to throw through very thick trees and forest growth
If your not in shape, this course will wear you out
Not for beginners
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It's probably on the low end of my Ohio top 10. You would expect a lot of insects but this was not the case any time I have been there. I love most of the wooded holes but the forest is way too dense for me at times (and I prefer wooded holes) It would be nice to see a tunnel or opening to make a flight path strategy. I usually just throw it and hope it goes far before it hits the unavoidable tree. I would suggest it if you live anywhere near it and even for a road trip.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Such Potential

5+    7/5/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the potential to be a top notched course with excellent design and layout. The holes are well thought out....very challenging to players of all levels...and make great use of elevation changes. The spread of hole distances is also great.

It is a tight wooded course so if this type of course is what you like....you will enjoy it thoroughly...if not..move this sentence to the Cons section.

Baskets will hold putts very well and aces. Restrooms near Tee #1 and the disc golf park is situate inside a tremendously beautiful park. The fall of the year here is beautiful and you have ample deer and other wildlife free ranging.
Cons: This park has so much potential it isn't even funny...however...the Cons are pretty hefty. First, it is all natural tee pads. No concrete anywhere. Some tees have roots and sloping issues and all are pretty greasy during or right after a rain.

The soils here don't like water. Not only are the tee pads slippery..but some baskets are situate on hard sloping hillsides that are sometimes very hard to stand still on and hit that 20ft putt. If it rains the day before...wait until another day.

One of the main reasons I rated this a 3.5 and not higher..besides the tee pads...is the fact that in the summer the course closes in. The fairways start to leave the 'fair' out...and little limbs knock down perfect lines. I am a HUGE fan of tight wooded courses..but the lack up work during the summer on this course shows. I'm fairly sure that the Parks Department probably keep the locals from cutting anything...so I wouldn't fault the locals...but some of the fairways need a serious cleaning. Hole #4 needs some small limbs up top cut that have grown in the last few years. Hole #13 is starting to get very tight...Hole #12 is one ugly hole on an otherwise beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: With a concrete teepads, a little gravel on the walkways...a few bridges across the creeks, and a whole lot of trimming the tiny limbs on the sides of large trees...this could be a 4.5 or even 5.0 course. The design is great...the land is great....but with such rustic amenities...it is simply a 3.5.

If you are ever in the area in late fall...you simply have to play this course...if it is wet or the middle of summer...you may want to wait.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.