Chillicothe, OH 
Great Seal State Park Share
Uploaded By: jtmelton Hole #17
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Talk about History!

2-4    10/26/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This State Park course near Chillicothe, Ohio has some of the most scenic hills and woods in the region, and they are preserved so well that we're lucky to have a spectacular disc golf course to enjoy in them. The drawback is there will never be concrete tees on these paths, but the shots! Here, you get to play a long bomb downhill along a path that was carved out of the woods by Wooly Mammoths nearly 10,000 years ago. And it's not just a simple 500 footer: it finishes hard to the right on a sloping 'green'.

With holes ranging from 186 to 589 feet, wooded, open, left, right, up and downhill, you'll get a good workout that will challenge the Intermediate to Advanced player to match tourney par (54). A fair round by a recreational player would be to match course par (63). Natural tees are mandated here to start each hole, but the DISCatcher baskets are all in good shape to catch your shots (even though most are the old single set of chains variety). In the woods, the fairways and lines to the basket are very tough, but they can be hit with a great deal of control. It's tough because so many of the holes (2,3,9,10,15,16 &17) play slightly uphill, and feel longer than they really are. The undergrowth is not (usually) forbidding (but does contain a lot of prickly thorns, at least this time of year(fall)).

Starting by the main parking area (bathroom & shelter) with an anny shot (rhbh) across a park-like opening, then looping the front nine to the east up into the woods, down the mammoth trail / ravine on 6 (7 & 8), you'll actually be near your car after the steep uphill hole 9 (watch out for the really tough pin position on 7: it's a ridge-top there, with roll-aways in ALL directions!). If you need a refresher before tackling the western back nine, it's fairly handy. After the pretty hyzer shot on 10, holes 11 & 12 play relatively tight, and might require a little more spotting from the weeds off the fairway. After you ace run hole 13, you might want to leave one party member on the driveway while you tee off on the lengthy, right-bending hole 14, as well (probably the toughest hole on the course, competing with 6-8 for 'memorable). The last four holes are all deuce-able, and lead back to the dropping ace run on 18, and the corner of the parking lot.
Cons: Personally, I enjoy slightly shorter holes when contending with woods, but some folks might consider the majority of these (especially 13 & 15-18) too short on average. You will want to avoid some of the creeks and slopes, as some get very steep. And I'd love to see some acceptable form of tee upgrades. The dirt, roots, and slopes from the tee areas can be tricky when wet. I understand the paths are to stay pristine and natural, so concrete is out, but boxed, compacted gravel tees might add more sure footing. If that's verboten, maybe a more frequent mulch refresher would be possible. In fact, one of the main things keeping this from being a higher rated course is that the infrastructure and amenities are limited by state park rules to being, shall we say, 'rustic'. Finally, wear your sturdiest shoes: the paths used are mostly roots & rock all over the place, and softer soles led me to really sore feet by the end of two tourney rounds here.
Other Thoughts: I've been here two consecutive Autumns, and highly recommend a trip out here when the leaves are in full color. If you can control your tee shots and avoid trouble, this course is worth a visit. Pair it up with OU-Chillicothe, or head toward any of the Bainbridge/Hillsboro courses and make a day of it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great day, Great course, Great Seal

1    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start!! OH yeah, AWESOME!!!!
A great wooded course that plays into some of the most scenic landscape that you could ask for. It was tough but fair and really made use of the flow of the land. I was seriously impressed with the front 9 and #6 was unbelievable. Even though we went when the trees were bare it still was and amazing hole. I can still picture it in my mind and can not wait to return to this course to see it again.
Cons: A couple cons stood out:
1: dirt tee pads
2: rough will be bad in summer and fall
3:# 14 is a little close to the road but the lay out of the hole is great.
That's about it
Other Thoughts: I am not one to review courses as you see and generally don't unless I feel a need to. I think the last reviewer may not have played the same course as I did. Yes there are thorns but isn't that part of disc golf. I loved the feel of this course. It was rough and tough and you can't be a wimp to play it. The tee pads need work but really I never felt like it was hindrance to tee off. When we started to play we basically got out in the hills and we were the only ones out there. What an awesome feeling and the thought of the history in the surrounding area made it that much more interesting. Go play this course and complain about the thorns and tee pads but then just realize the beauty that is Great Seal State Park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awful awful awful!!!

1    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Wide range of shots and elevation changes.
I liked the signature holes that ran along the creek bed. That is pretty much where the pros end.
Cons: Thorns, stickers, and more thorns everywhere! No indication of where the next hole is. The tee pads are pathetic...muddy, tons of roots, uneven...for a course that is hyped to be this good, no concrete pads makes this course almost unplayable at times. Back to the thorns....they are everywhere, even 10 feet away from some of the baskets. How hard is it to have a crew come out and do some cleanup and remove some of the thorns? For a state park, this course is in pathetic shape. I am sorry my friends and I drove almost an hour to play this lousy course.
Other Thoughts: If this is the only reason you are coming to Chillicothe, save your gas and play elsewhere, where they have better pads and no thorns!

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Drive, Eat CASA DEL TACO

5+    10/1/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great course flow
-Great Elevation usage
-Nice Baskets
-Great distances variation 187'-589'
-Beautifully scenenic
-Very Challenging
-You will use every shot in your bag
-Heavily wooded
-Creeks come into play
-Score cards/Restrooms/water fountain(when in season)
-Tee Signs with distance only
-tight fair ways (literally hole 16's tee has a tree dead center in front of it) and open fairways
-just as easy to finish +14 as +2
Cons: -no concrete pads (cant have them due to horse trails)
-terrible upkeep (I would honestly saw the best front nine I have ever play *if it had concrete tees* but this amazing, never have to wait on a tee, scenic, workout of a course has no care taker, 14 IS NOT WHAT THE PIC SHOWS, the poles are gone and 15' trees now grow there)
-natural tees have roots/loose stones
-only one bench on 13
-not for 'out of shape' people
-no trash cans
-Back 9 is much shorter the front 9
-A few baskets have been damaged by falling trees and #1's basket needs welded to the pole again
-can be soggy after lots of rain (duh)
-Finishing Even is a my best round there ever
-Thorns on 17 are terrible, but not worthy of calling it lousy, this course is a testament for a true golfer
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome, it has it all up hill/ down hill shots, lefty and righty holes, 500+ holes in the woods and the open, over the creek and through the woods! But mind you being this rural comes with some rough rough, long shots in the woods can lead to a lot of time looking for your disc so bring your A game and your patience. This course is also one heck of a work out so if you can't jump a creek or climb a steep hill then play conservative.

All in all this course is worth the drive and playing 2 back to back rounds, it is a challenge so if you cant throw more than 250' maybe go play the OUC course instead. This kind of course is what makes disc golf fun, its a beautiful hike and with test on every hole. But i would recommend playing in a group so you can help find disc. KEEP YOUR EYE ON YOUR DRIVE

also if your driving here eat some CASA DEL TACO!!! I never play Great Seal without finishing with some Casa.s



1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good times!

1    9/14/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the layout, lots of elevation change , good exercise !
Cons: Finding a couple holes can be difficult for a first timer . No maps on tee markers.
Other Thoughts: People !! The state park provides us with a free place to play this great game ! Yet we have boneheads that leave their trash laying around and someone was even nice enough to paint a self portrait on a tee marker(pic of male parts) This is how we lose our things!! Please pick up after yourselves!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long!

5+    4/30/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long course with all types of holes
-A lot of elevation changes, I prefer them but depends on the player
-Nice baskets with good hole information at the tee box.
-Good test of throw power
Cons: -Very easy to lose a disc on all holes.
-No hole location given at the tee box
-Not very well kept being a state park
Other Thoughts: This a very challenging course that will test any player. Many risk/reward shots. A good mix of short a long holes. Tunnel shots and open shots. If you like holes in the woods, this is your course. Recently a tree fell on hole #5's basket, dented it up a little bit. All in all, a good course that is very challenging. I highly recommend writing your name and phone # on your discs before playing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Seal State Park

1    5/28/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: vetonoshake
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. The "Wooly Mammouth" hole is really awesome. Parks scenery was used to create the Seal of the State of Ohio. Wasn't at all crowded.
Cons: Can lose discs if you don't have someone spot for you. Back 9 is not nearly as nice as the front 9.
Other Thoughts: Pretty much all in the woods, and very challenging. Worth a play for the scenery alone. Front 9 is a lot more fun and scenic.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

1    10/30/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: hipster
Played: 77  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set in a beautiful park outside of historic Chillicothe OH. If you are passing through the area and have a hankerin to huk the plastic, you would be advised to give this course a go. I would not play this course in the summer or when wet due to the nature of the terrain. In the summer, I imagine the bramble on a few of the holes can easily claim an errant throw and the throw would not have to be that off the mark. Stand out holes include 6, 7, 12, and 14. Number 6 is a long down hill 500 ft shot just to see the pin located up on the hillside to the right. The left side of the fairway is bordered by a creek bed and the right side is bordered by a small slope before rising to a mound aligning most of the fairway. #7 is a another down hill gapper shot to a pin that sets atop a 15 ft mound. Do not over shoot because your disc can slide off the other side. The before mentioned creek meanders through this hole also. You have to keep an eye on your disc in the fall because the leaves are deep. Care is also needed to watch where you are walking since the ground cover is hiding potential ankle busters. #12 is a tight tunnel shot with little room for error. Bramble on the left and right is waiting for off target shots. #14 is a downhill shot with the park road rising on your left and the woods to the right. if your disc gets stuck on the hill sloping down from the road, you can forget about getting a run up for your throw. This is a recurring theme through out part of the course. Due to the terrain you'll often find yourself precariously balancing yourself on a slope trying to make an upshot. After hole 12 there is a little climb up to 13 where there is a bench waiting for the weary. After a brief rest, there is an ace/birdie opportunity waiting for you, a 200 ft plus downhill shot.

There is a good chance you may have the course to yourself, When I played on a weeknight, there were only 2 other cars there. I did see some people on horseback but it was not an issue.
Cons: No teepads. The tee boxes are marked with a sign and a four by four marking the foul line.
Tee signs are expensive looking plaques noting the hole number, distance, and the corporate sponsor of the course. For the money invested in the tee sign material, they could've diagramed the hole and noted the elevation changes. Two or three holes should be thinned to allow for more of an opportunity to reward good shots.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. Challenging and beautiful scenery. In the summer I imagine the canopy closing in on the majority of the course. Need for caution when trekking off the beaten path.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice And Beautiful

1    9/4/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start it off it is very easy to find. Many signs directing you to the state park. With the map and scorecard at the front it makes it very easy to follow the course and to keep score. All of the baskets are innova discatcher baskets. These are always good. They may not have concrete tees, but they do have nice and flat dirt tees. They had great elevation changes. Most of the time you were never throwing flat. It was always up or down hill. The practice pin is nice and fun to mess around with before you go and play. Normally you could see the basket from the tee, but not always. Almost every hole is different. Some are wide open and ok if you make a mistake, but others are very tight and if you go into the woods you may have some trouble. The big board at the first tee lets you know everything you need to know about the course.
Cons: The one major con that i had here was the hiking trails. Many times you would have to wait for someone to walk through before you could throw. The pedestrians will get in your way alot. You will always need to be aware of this. Getting to the second tee was challenging but the map helped with that. The sign at the tee was not very helpful. All it said was the distance and the par, we already knew that because of the score sheet. There was no map on the sign. On a few of the holes with tight fairways the woods were thick. Finding hole 15 you have to cross a road to get there. Lots of trees are knocked down from here to there so make sure you dont trip.
Other Thoughts: Out of the two courses in Chillicothe this is for sure the better one. If you cant decide between this or the university definately go to this one. They offer much more and overall it is just a nicer course. When i was here there was a deer that ran out in the middle of the fairway so it looks like there is alot of wild life here. All they need to do to make it a nicer course is to just make better signs and seperate the disc golf from the hiking trails. I thought it was very interesting how they had mc'donalds logos all over the signs and on the baskets. That was the first time that i've seen anything like it. So come prepared and watch out for the wild life.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Tough One

2-4    8/20/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Combination Nature Hike/Disc Golf Course
Playing this course will help you improve your distance and accuracy.
Great use of land
The majority of these holes are great dense wooded holes
Park is well kept/course is well maintained
Challenging
Not too crowded
Cons: A couple of the wooded holes are frustrating because you don't know where the pin is and you have to throw through very thick trees and forest growth
If your not in shape, this course will wear you out
Not for beginners
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It's probably on the low end of my Ohio top 10. You would expect a lot of insects but this was not the case any time I have been there. I love most of the wooded holes but the forest is way too dense for me at times (and I prefer wooded holes) It would be nice to see a tunnel or opening to make a flight path strategy. I usually just throw it and hope it goes far before it hits the unavoidable tree. I would suggest it if you live anywhere near it and even for a road trip.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center