Disc Golf Store
Chillicothe, OH 
Great Seal State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Split Decision

1    8/3/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Dunksmooth
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9. A great mix of everything you want in a disc golf course: varying degrees of difficulty, great use of elevation changes, a mix of wooded and open holes, etc..
Cons: The back 9. Less effort seems to have been paid. The paths are less navigatable and somewhat overgrown in places. One or two holes are hard to find.
Overall the course could benefit by improved signage.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play this course again...even the back 9 to give it another chance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Such Potential

5+    7/5/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the potential to be a top notched course with excellent design and layout. The holes are well thought out....very challenging to players of all levels...and make great use of elevation changes. The spread of hole distances is also great.

It is a tight wooded course so if this type of course is what you like....you will enjoy it thoroughly...if not..move this sentence to the Cons section.

Baskets will hold putts very well and aces. Restrooms near Tee #1 and the disc golf park is situate inside a tremendously beautiful park. The fall of the year here is beautiful and you have ample deer and other wildlife free ranging.
Cons: This park has so much potential it isn't even funny...however...the Cons are pretty hefty. First, it is all natural tee pads. No concrete anywhere. Some tees have roots and sloping issues and all are pretty greasy during or right after a rain.

The soils here don't like water. Not only are the tee pads slippery..but some baskets are situate on hard sloping hillsides that are sometimes very hard to stand still on and hit that 20ft putt. If it rains the day before...wait until another day.

One of the main reasons I rated this a 3.5 and not higher..besides the tee pads...is the fact that in the summer the course closes in. The fairways start to leave the 'fair' out...and little limbs knock down perfect lines. I am a HUGE fan of tight wooded courses..but the lack up work during the summer on this course shows. I'm fairly sure that the Parks Department probably keep the locals from cutting anything...so I wouldn't fault the locals...but some of the fairways need a serious cleaning. Hole #4 needs some small limbs up top cut that have grown in the last few years. Hole #13 is starting to get very tight...Hole #12 is one ugly hole on an otherwise beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: With a concrete teepads, a little gravel on the walkways...a few bridges across the creeks, and a whole lot of trimming the tiny limbs on the sides of large trees...this could be a 4.5 or even 5.0 course. The design is great...the land is great....but with such rustic amenities...it is simply a 3.5.

If you are ever in the area in late fall...you simply have to play this course...if it is wet or the middle of summer...you may want to wait.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/11/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: the_brumley
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is stupid hard but that is what I like about it. The course make you throw every thing you know. This course has some nice woods fairways and long drives(love the road hole).Some creek beads but it rained the day before so they where full. If you play at this course every day and do good you would be one of the best disc golf players iv seen.
Cons: Hope you have some tough disc because they will take some beating from trees and creek beads. The sign at each hole dos not have a sign showing were the hole is but you can see most. The natural teepads where a change for me when ever I was not slipping ( but I am use to concrete, and it rained).the pars where kinda dumb most of the par 3 should have been 4 but I handled it. THIS IS NOT A BEGINNER COURSE. If you are just starting playing it might ruin it for you.
Other Thoughts: it is a must play if you are ready for it i was not but i will be back.the course might be a little overgrown in the summer so hit it in the spring, fall, and winter. If you thank you are doing bad you might not be, i Finished 10 over the first time and 4 over the second time. It is good to have a group because if some one pulls ahead then make it a challenge between you and the other group members, and easy to spot disc. The fair ways can be narrow so get some straight flying disc. This is one if not the best course I have played on. Go have fun and hope you do better then me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenge

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a challenge play this course! The first hole is a teaser hole and the rest will challenge you on the front nine. The back nine is a little easier than the front, but there is one nice long hole along the road. Pretty much the whole course is wooded with lots of elevation changes and many many trees.
Cons: No concrete pads, but I could only imagine how tough it would be to haul the necessary materials to create them for each hole. Some baskets only have one ring of chains, but those baskets allow the disc to fall if you land on top, they are mainly on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Pins are hard to spot if you have never played this course before. I went with some one who knew where the pins were, but it still was a tough challenge.

I don't think I would play this course in the summer time. It will give you a work out, It's a great play in the spring or fall. Check out Pike Lakes course for a similar challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 worth checking out

1    10/23/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is quite scenic with elevation change through out the course. A good mix of long and short holes and also some very technical holes. It is an enjoyable course with the majority of holes being wooded with only a few open holes. No open crush holes but controlled distance is an advantage on the longer wooded holes.
Cons: There seem to be many things that come to mind. The course had innova discatcher baskets but on many of them they were missing the inner chains. The baskets seemed to catch ok but couldn't understand why the inner chains were not installed. The course has natural tees but for the most part footing was good. A couple holes were quite tough to find a distinguishable fairway. Not knowing where the pin locations were made for a much longer round by walking up on many holes to find the basket then going back to tee off. The course has many leaves on the ground in the fall which leads to losing discs. Having someone spot is definitely recommended.
Other Thoughts: This course can be frustrating. You could play even one day and not hit any trees but the next day play 10 over because of a few bad holes. After thinking back through the holes I did really enjoy my round even though I played poorly. A few improvements with the baskets and maybe concrete tees would make this course more appealing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Seal State Park

6/24/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: puppyohio
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: scenic. Hole 9 and 10 are back close to the parking lot. Am beginner to inter player. Has a practice putting hole. Most of the course is in shade, keeps you out of the hot sun.
Cons: Walk up hill to hole 13 rough, but does have a bench at the top.
Other Thoughts: Nice layout, overall good. Will get some exercise. Picnic area's, bathroom, water fountain.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, trees and more trees

5/24/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice setting in the woods and relatively easy to follow. Also, scorecards/maps available near the first tee.
Cons: Tee signs lacked maps so knowing where the baskets were on longer holes was difficult. Also, some wooded holes lacked a defined fairway which made shot placement/planning a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Great Seal had a decent mix of holes with a few open shots, many wooded holes and some with really tight fairways. Having a friend spot would be recommended as there is some really thick rough to be found in a few spots and the longer wooded holes will often have you throwing around a corner or up/down a hill with the landing not easily seen from the tee.

I can't say that I found any one hole to be an epic, stand out hole. There were definitely some fun holes to be played but overall nothing terribly memorable.

Things that would have helped this course are some more informative tee signs. A little map on there to give you an idea of where to throw would have been really nice on many occasions. Some indication of where the next teebox was would have been really nice to have as well. Also, I mentioned the lack of defined fairways on a few holes in the cons. Maybe that is supposed to add to the difficulty (and it certainly does) but it does so at the expense of making the hole less fun/interesting.

So.. the question comes down to should you play this course. There are a lot of faults to be found but if you generally enjoy wooded courses, it's probably worth your time to stop. I doubt the course will blow you away but it won't necessarily leave you disappointed. If you tend to gravitate towards more open courses then I'd definitely take a pass on this course. There are a few holes you might enjoy but they're probably not worth a long trip.

If you only have time for one course in this area, I'd recommend driving the 17 extra miles to Pike Lake. If you don't feel like the extra drive, this certainly isn't a bad course and is quite good in a lot of respects, just don't go in expecting an amazing AAA course and you won't leave disappointed.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Seal = Great Course

6/14/2007   6/14/2007
Review By: jtmelton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was paid for by McDonalds of Chillicothe. Hole #1 is in the open and then the course goes into the woods. Come back out of the woods for Hole #10 and back in the woods for 11, 12 & 13. 14 is between woods and road...a straight shot is important. Back in the woods for the rest of the holes. All fairways are well marked and clear for a drive. Hole #7 drives off a hill over a gully and the baskets sits on top of another hill. Plenty of distance drives, elevation and scenery.
Cons: Not for a beginner.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.