Melbourne, FL 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #19 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Disappointed

1    3/8/2014   3/8/2014
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Can't review it becuase THERE WAS NO COURSE.
Cons: On vacation, drove an hour to play. Spent 15 minutes driving around an enormous park with no signage about where the course was. Finally found a single basket. There were pads, benches, holes in the ground for pins and signs, ALL EMPTY.

I am extremely disappointed about this. A beautiful March day kind of wasted.
Other Thoughts: Looks like it may have been fun, the pads were nice, the park was nice, and what looked like nice drive lines, but there simply wasn't a course to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Where are the Baskets?

1    9/21/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked a lot about this course. Don't let the rating fool you. This is almost a 3.5 course. Add next tee arrows, and it would be. But unfortunately, I did have to dock at least an additional half point for what may be a temporary issue. But more on that later. I'm starting with what went right.

The best part about Wickham Park is the flags on top of the baskets. They stand on tall poles and allow you to see the targets when they are behind brush. And frequently, they are behind brush.

Most of the holes force you to find a line through scattered palm trees. The vast majority of the trees are surrounded with a block of shoulder-high shule. What's great about this is that you can visualize both the path and landing area that you are aiming for. The targets are so often protected by brush that needs to be shot over. But, because of the way the vegetation is limited to the immediate vicinity of the palms, you can tell from a distance where it will be safe to land your disc.

The rest of the terrain is mowed grass or open field. There is low risk of disc loss because if you go in the brush. It's well-kept and in an active park, most of the other activities are separated from the course by a decent amount of space.

While the layout of trees and tees will give you a variety of distances and lines, it is the fact that you nearly are shooting over stuff that makes the course distinct. Shots must be kept low, but not too low.
Cons: The problem here is that not all baskets are present. It seems in retrospect as if the 22-hole course as been transformed into an 18-holer. That would be fine if there was some sort of notice. But we ended up playing from several tees to the eight basket, because there was no way to tell from the tee or the sign that the proper basket had been removed. Some of the signs had new numbers taped over them, and by the last few holes, where 20 was now 16, 21 was now 17, we somewhat figured it out. But it was no picnic. On an additional hole we ended up playing to the 8 tee. For whatever reason, some baskets are not where they should be according to tee signs and maps, or are just gone.

If that is the case, than the new hole eleven shoots directly over the seven tee? Strange.

Beyond that issue, which I would assume is temporary or new, the course needs next tee arrows badly. Sometimes, the next tee was visible from the basket, but often I had to consul the map downloaded from this site, but even using that, it was often a chore to find tees here. It is just not obvious what direction you are supposed to begin walking in. 3 and 4 were skipped since I did not assume to walk across the road and had not started using the map until we had found 5.
Other Thoughts: It's pretty simple. A solid, playable course, with debilitating navgation. Next tee arrows, an updated map and the return of missing baskets and this course would be very good.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New in town

5+    1/10/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every tee has a concrete pad and tee sign, which I found to be fairly accurate. The park is well maintained and the baskets are moved what seems to be about once a month or so.This is nice so you don't get used to the same throws. The holes are of good variety as far as distance and basket placement goes. I would suggest an afternoon if you are gonna be close to the area.
Cons: The course is in a VERY busy public park. There always seems to be some person or peoples walking from out behind shrubs as you play and the park is used for a lot of different things so sometimes the entire course is unavailable.
Other Thoughts: Being from the Ohio/Michigan area, I have found Florida disc golf VERY FLAT. Like most disc golfers I am a fan of elevation and trees. But so far this is the better of parks I have found on the Atlantic side.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Where's the next hole?

1    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 22 holes and you can really air it out on several of them.
Cons: Really a poorly marked course. Several of the tee maps were incorrect.
Short tees on a lot of holes. Thought I was gonna break my ankle if I didn't start my run from behind the tee.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open spaces

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well thought out and well-maintained course. Each hole has a concrete tee-pad that is of adequate size to tee off. Also, each tee pad has a hole map on it that shows you the multiple basket locations, the mandos, and the direction of the next tee pad (crucial). The park itself is very clean and well-maintained. The course itself has an excellent layout, with mainly wide open shots on most of the holes. Scattered throughout many of the holes were clumps of palmettos and undergrowth, which made for a nice challenge in placing drives. Another plus was that many of the baskets had poles with flags attached that would stick out above the brush so you could see the basket location when it was obscured from the tee.
Cons: Not a lot of shot variety as most holes play straight ahead and wide open. If you don't have a 300 foot drive, you can only hope to par the course.
Other Thoughts: This was a lovely course that really gives you a chance to let loose and get some serious flight time to your drivers. It also did reward precision on several holes in order to avoid palmettos. The last hole that plays over a pond is a nice finishing touch. All in all, a great course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fav Local Place

5+    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are "protected" by shrubs and other natural greenery
Alternate Baskets provide different feel and course so I never get bored
Even though I'm a "Recreational" player, I feel like I have a shot at a Par as long as I can keep from hitting a tree
Concrete Tee areas
Sign posted in each Tee area with hole map and location
Well maintained and clean
Cons: Some times the mark on the post, location "A" when the basket is clearly on location "B", etc
Needs a couple of drinking water spots
Other Thoughts: I'm fairly new to disc golf, but I love this park, different Tees, and different Basket Locations, makes it fun to play every single time. I enjoy having to approach the hole around the shrubs and palmettos

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Wickham

1    2/11/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice sized concrete tees are always my favorite. Red and blue tees are marked on the concrete so you know if you are on the correct tee.

2) I really enjoy the overall feel of this course the way it works in and around large pockets of palmettos and mature evergreen trees. It is an interesting feel I have never had at a Florida course wither, normally the palmettos are just wild and invasive, but here they have limited them to small pockets around the course and the baskets weave in and around these pockets and help protect the basket locations. This is truly something unique . . . it feels almost like a Midwest favorite Anna Page East where they use pockets of woods, but in this case the Florida vegetation is Palmetto shrubs.

3) Mandos are marked well so that you know when there is something the design forces you to throw a certain direction.

4) Nice signs on this course with Hole #, distance, and a map. Next tees are also indicated and the multiple basket locations. They also have indicators with large letters on the pole for the current basket location

5) This is a very clean and tidy looking course . . . partly because of the feel under the evergreens and around those palmetto areas, but also because there does not seem to be a lot of garbage around. This seems to be a well used park and I am sure the population in the park has a lot to do with how the park remains so clean . . . there is no chance for you to litter without someone else seeing you.

6) Very busy park but the course is well isolated to avoid other park users except in a couple places. There was an RV park I think, ball fields, soccer, what seemed to be like a fairgrounds or something, and they even had a RC sailboat regatta in one of the ponds.

7) Water is used on a couple holes to really make for some interesting shots.

8) Routing on this course is pretty intuitive . . . and they have renumbered since holes were added . . . a welcome sight after playing F. Burton Smith earlier in the day and being frustrated with the hole numbering.

9) Restrooms (portos) are available in a couple places on the course and would be a welcome sight during a tourney round or a long busy day on the course.

10) Plenty of benches and garbage cans around the course complete the amenities of this great course.

11) Multiple tees offer up varying challenge and distance.

12) Excellent variation in hole distances with some in the 100's into the 400's too. There is plenty of variation on the holes in the 200's and 300's to make for different feeling holes. You will have plenty of options for disc selection out here.

13) This is a very beginner friendly course because it is relatively open, but it will still challenge the intermediate level player from time to time.

14) Rollers could be a usable shot out here . . . the turf is consistent and the ground is firm. I love having this as an option on courses.

15) The pine needles make for an interesting feature . . .they seem to play more of a skip off the needled areas. I am not sure if they firm up the soil or if they just make the disc skip more because of less friction with the turf. . . and I know it was probably not an intended effect from the design, but it is something you will need to consider.
Cons: 1) No real variety in foliage density here because the palmettos are just pockets and typically lower than your throws would be and the evergreens are so mature that there are very few limbs that you would encounter with your throws.

2) Most holes can be attacked from whatever direction you want to. I usually like to see a few holes per course that force certain shots, but there is nothing in the "airways" that will force you to do any particular shot. You can pick your favorite shot on each hole and try to execute.

3) I had a lot of drop in 3's out here because if you cannot park the basket you will likely have a simple upshot. This gets a little repetitive and is partly due to my current distance limit (300' or so). If I could throw further I would be able to deuce more holes.

4) No elevation change on this entire course really. It is what it is, but this lacking feature takes away from the course.
Other Thoughts: I cannot believe this course currently sits under a 3 disc rating . . . perhaps the upgrades and added holes made this course that much better than the old ratings, but this is by far a more fun and scenic course than F. Burton Smith which was rated over 3 discs. I would choose this course anyday if it was local because it is not just fun and challenging but also very scenic in my opinion. I do not have a lot of negatives about the course because there just isn't that much wrong, and the pros are overwhelming. The lack of the tighter wooded holes keeps this course under the 4 disc rating but it is so close. A little more diversity and it would be right up in my favorites. With that said . . . this is just a solid course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Open, Fun Play

5+    2/5/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: bdaigle20
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park full of amenities. Restrooms are easy to find. Plenty of parking. Free.

Lots of space for the long bomb plus a few holes that require some technical play.

Benches on every hole with trees to provide shade and cover from the Florida sun. Nice launch pads.

The baskets are moved every 8 weeks or so, which helps mix it up a bit.

Hole 22 is right over a pond, which is fun.
Cons: Very flat and open.

It can be difficult to navigate the course but there are always people playing who are happy to help.

Other Thoughts: There are often guys selling discs out of their truck and the Walgreen's down the street carries a nice selection of discs too.

If it has been raining a lot, the park may flood, meaning you might have to wade through several inches of water to play. Depending on who you are, this is either great fun or horrible!

In general, this is a fantastic park. It is the largest and best-maintained park in the county and offers all kinds of things besides disc golf (camping, swimming, dog park, volleyball, horseshoes, there's a senior center now, sports fields, playgrounds, etc).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course to play, bring a map!

1    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There is a ton of life around the course! There is a pond for fishing, a large archery range, a dog park, as well as volleyball courts and softball fields.

-Holes are a decent distance, not too big and not too small.

-All teepads are in great shape.

-Multiple tee and basket placements for a lot of the holes.

-Good use of the trees and bushes, there were "protected" baskets and no random trees that bother you.

-Hole 22 (the lake hole) is beautiful!
Cons: -The holes do not always play into each other, and there are no maps or "next tee" signs.

-Lack of elevation change, I do not recall a hole that wasn't flat.

-There is not much signage as to where the first hole was, so I started on hole 5 and continued from there. Reading other reviews it seems like this is a common problem.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to have a smart phone on me so I could look up the course map. Otherwise I would have been completely lost on the course. You can find a copy of the map on the club website listed under Links/Files.

I am from Ohio and was very pleased to play at Wickham park with the great Floridian scenery and the great locals playing the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not the Best

5+    6/15/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is located in a big park with other amenities such as volleyball, swimming, fishing, and camping. The schule factor and resulting chances of losing discs is on the lower side. There are plenty of opportunities to crush the disc. The course provides a great place to practice playing in the wind. The ground is friendly for rollers. At one point in time this was the location of one of the biggest events on the pro tour.
Cons: The course is totally flat and mostly wide open. Few holes require much technical skill and the course overwhelmingly favors the power player. All par 3's. There is almost no tree canopy to provide any respite from the hot Florida sun.

The navigation is extremely difficult. The tee sign hole numbers don't match the numbers on the baskets. There are no directional signs between holes.

Several of the baskets are dangerously close to tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.