Melbourne, FL 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: crouchingwombat Hole #9
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wide open spaces

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well thought out and well-maintained course. Each hole has a concrete tee-pad that is of adequate size to tee off. Also, each tee pad has a hole map on it that shows you the multiple basket locations, the mandos, and the direction of the next tee pad (crucial). The park itself is very clean and well-maintained. The course itself has an excellent layout, with mainly wide open shots on most of the holes. Scattered throughout many of the holes were clumps of palmettos and undergrowth, which made for a nice challenge in placing drives. Another plus was that many of the baskets had poles with flags attached that would stick out above the brush so you could see the basket location when it was obscured from the tee.
Cons: Not a lot of shot variety as most holes play straight ahead and wide open. If you don't have a 300 foot drive, you can only hope to par the course.
Other Thoughts: This was a lovely course that really gives you a chance to let loose and get some serious flight time to your drivers. It also did reward precision on several holes in order to avoid palmettos. The last hole that plays over a pond is a nice finishing touch. All in all, a great course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fav Local Place

5+    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: cesar32935
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are "protected" by shrubs and other natural greenery
Alternate Baskets provide different feel and course so I never get bored
Even though I'm a "Recreational" player, I feel like I have a shot at a Par as long as I can keep from hitting a tree
Concrete Tee areas
Sign posted in each Tee area with hole map and location
Well maintained and clean
Cons: Some times the mark on the post, location "A" when the basket is clearly on location "B", etc
Needs a couple of drinking water spots
Other Thoughts: I'm fairly new to disc golf, but I love this park, different Tees, and different Basket Locations, makes it fun to play every single time. I enjoy having to approach the hole around the shrubs and palmettos

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local

5+    3/21/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I play this course about 2 times a week sometimes more. It is a really fun course to play! Often change basket placements which adds a lot more variety of play.
Cons: too many bushes!! sometimes have to wait for players due to losing disc.
Other Thoughts: love it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun

1    11/29/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really like this course. Once I found the tees everything was smooth. All of the holes are different and some offer nice challenges. 18 was fun with the lake in the middle.
Cons: With so many pin positions there needs to be a map at the beginning to show the current pin locations. Some next tee signs would be nice also, but aren't necessary.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 melbourne

3/20/2007   5/20/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained course, multi use park but no interference from other activities except for the ocassional picnicker on fairways. world class layout/design.
Cons: two dimensional in the respect you need a big-arm to really do well here.
Other Thoughts: an excellent course that would be a welcome addition to any community. will challenge you for long shots, rollers if you have them. a raw beginner may be a little overwhelmed by the length of the course, not too many short technical shots, but if you dont care what your score is a beginner can enjoy it just as much as anyone else. the terrain is flat, and there is great usage of the existing foliage to make you place your approach shots spot on.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wide open

4/9/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: mschmi02
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very wide open well maintained course
Cons: not a lot of tight shots, also the city is eliminating some of the more interesting holes to make way for a horse pond
Other Thoughts: I play Wickham at least once a week... its a great all-year-round course since it is sprayed for bugs frequently. It is a very wide open course which makes it great for big drivers. Hole 18 is a 250 ft over the water shot, only 17 and 18 have water hazards. Very fun course to play. Weds and sundays have doubles and handicapping matches.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.