Melbourne, FL 
Wickham Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 1st time in Florida

1    8/31/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good distances for long throwers. Coming from the north the palm trees and the local critters make for an interesting change of scenery. The most interesting holes are all on the back 9. And the water on 17 & 18 make this a particulalrly interesting course.
Cons: The layout was confusing and we never found some of the tee boxes or baskets (holes 6-9 if I remember correctly) Being in a busy multi use public park there may be other park users in the line of fire. On number 5 we had a Dad and his 2 children using the fairway for ball golf practice. They were polite and stepped out of the way so we could "play through."
Other Thoughts: I realize reviews should come from a fully played course, but since we could not find all of the tee boxes or baskets, I think this simple review still has merit.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not a lot of variety

5/1/2005   5/20/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As others have said, good for those who like to haul off and throw as hard as they can. It's nice not having to worry about pesky trees, or aiming.

Some holes are completely bare except for a clump of palm trees and bushes right by the hole. This means drives can be huge, but you do need to control your approach, so you come in from the right angle.
Cons: Being from the Mid-West, the course seemed very one dimensional to me. Also, perhaps silly of me, but I was a bit concerned about Florida's well-known snakes, lizards, scorpions, and other assorted insects - especially when I was retrieving a disc from under a bush.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 melbourne

3/20/2007   5/20/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 162  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained course, multi use park but no interference from other activities except for the ocassional picnicker on fairways. world class layout/design.
Cons: two dimensional in the respect you need a big-arm to really do well here.
Other Thoughts: an excellent course that would be a welcome addition to any community. will challenge you for long shots, rollers if you have them. a raw beginner may be a little overwhelmed by the length of the course, not too many short technical shots, but if you dont care what your score is a beginner can enjoy it just as much as anyone else. the terrain is flat, and there is great usage of the existing foliage to make you place your approach shots spot on.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wide open

4/9/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: mschmi02
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very wide open well maintained course
Cons: not a lot of tight shots, also the city is eliminating some of the more interesting holes to make way for a horse pond
Other Thoughts: I play Wickham at least once a week... its a great all-year-round course since it is sprayed for bugs frequently. It is a very wide open course which makes it great for big drivers. Hole 18 is a 250 ft over the water shot, only 17 and 18 have water hazards. Very fun course to play. Weds and sundays have doubles and handicapping matches.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.