Boulder, CO 
Valmont Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: markjfun Hole #9 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 429ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short holes but fun

2-4    2/2/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice terrain, Easy course- come here if you want to get a better score, easy to navigate around, there are a few holes that are technical and fun to play, come here to work on your short game
Cons: The course as a whole is way too short. Other than that it is a descent course but a little boring with no water or other interesting characteristics.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for intermediate players. I just can't justify driving up to boulder to play a little course like this. If you live there it is really your only close choice

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great training spot

5+    5/3/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: ttuff
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for novice to intermediate players and a great 'friends and family' course. It's in Boulder, in a beautiful city park, across the street from the nicest dog park I've ever seen and a sweet bike park. For more advanced players, this course forces a variety of shots and gives you a chance to dig deeper into your bag (mid ranges and putters) than other nearby courses. This is my new local training course and I play it a lot. I recommend it for most.
Cons: Small, tight, and soon to be very overcrowded. They have done a great job of utilizing the space they have but that means the holes are on top of each other.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a great job with what they were given but they weren't given much. Errant throws seem to be constantly flying past your head and lines can back up at some tees (1 and 8). You must stay patient and relaxed to have a good time on this course. Don't throw onto each other and make friends and you'll have a great time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

If you build it, they will play...

2-4    1/21/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: deltabrainwaves
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Boulder finally has an 18-hole course. A heck of a lot is done with a relatively small amount of space, and although many holes play short, it is challenging enough especially on the typically windy day here. There were many players out there but things never seemed to bottleneck. You'll get your ace runs here and enjoy some beautiful views. This course is only going to get better with time.
Cons: Not many chances to stretch things out aside from two long holes (8 & 9).

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Place for Bouldering

2-4    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Guezo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/5/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Skills course. Good place to work kinks out of your midrange and short game
Excellent equipment: tee pads, maps, signage, baskets.
Best Flatirons views imaginable.
Hawks live on the hill with a prairie dog town beneath--nice place to see nature in action.
Close to the Boulder Beer taproom.
Cons: An abundance of short holes, many under 200 ft.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of the bike park on the other side of Valmont. It's a great place to work out some interesting problems devised by the devious John Bird. The hill is ringed by baskets and tee pads, and lots of alternative looks are possible. It's a stunt park, a place for Bouldering, with most of the work to be done with midranges and putters. Windy conditions can be expected, which makes everything more interesting.

The Front Range DG community is encouraged to share opinions about the current design and suggest ideas for the future redesign as more parcels of land at Valmont become available. I wonder, for instance, if we can use some man-made obstacles for the wide-open areas we might get.


Drinking water can be acquired at the bike park across Valmont. Better to bring some, though.

Prickly pear abounds on the hill--boots recommended and watch your fingers when retrieving discs from the ground.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Thanks for the new course!

2-4    12/14/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: bshaft42
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Only 18 hole in Boulder
-Variation on length of shots
-Amazing views of the nearby mountains
-Right next to the mtn bike park
-Not crowded
Cons: -Not much elevation change or obstacles
-Most shots are fairly standard
-Not my favorite chains
Other Thoughts: Really stoked on a new 18-hole near my house! I know it's been a longtime coming and appreciate the work of John et al getting this course going. Word is this is only v1.0 and might expand as time moves on and Parks n Rec gets it together. I see some serious potential for this plot of land, but don't bother coming from miles away yet. It's still your standard Boulder area course (read: short and a little boring) but there's not much to work with. Definitely good to have another course in the area and while most of the shots are open-field, I think the location of 1-8 might give us some more technical options.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.