Boulder, CO 
Valmont Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: eyke Hole #11
3 / 201ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Short holes but fun

2-4    2/2/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice terrain, Easy course- come here if you want to get a better score, easy to navigate around, there are a few holes that are technical and fun to play, come here to work on your short game
Cons: The course as a whole is way too short. Other than that it is a descent course but a little boring with no water or other interesting characteristics.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for intermediate players. I just can't justify driving up to boulder to play a little course like this. If you live there it is really your only close choice

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1-7 Were Fun

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid baskets and tees. They were in good working order and looked fine.
-Pretty easy to find your way around. The next tee was always close by. There were no blind tee shots so you always knew which basket you were throwing at. They had number plates just to be sure.
-Ace Runs! For almost everybody there will be the chance at an ace on at least a few holes if not all of them.
-I liked the start of this course. 1-7 were short and relatively easy but they did have some tempting ace runs where you might have a long putt back if you blow past the basket. 1-7 had some fun elevation as well.
-Good for bringing the young and the old, beginners, kids, etc. They will enjoy this course and won't be overwhelmed.
-There really isn't any chance to lose a disc.
-Nice views of the Flatirons (not as good as Harlow Platts)
-Boulder has beautiful weather.
-They keep the prairie dogs off the course so that you won't break a leg in a hole.
Cons: -Extremely short and easy.
-8-16 got really boring. I can't imagine playing this course again. Maybe I would play 1-7 on repeat instead of playing the later holes.
-This course could be busy as it is one of two courses in Boulder and this is an active community.
-Prairie dog fences were kind of annoying but I guess it is the lesser of two evils.
-Not a lot of shot shaping required, a little on 1-7 and then it's completely open (with a few scattered trees) until the final 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: -I think they should have made this an interesting pitch and putt/ace run course in the area where 1-7 were and maybe a hole or two in the middle area where 17 and 18 were. The area where 8-16 were located was flat, open, and generally boring. 18 holes isn't always a pro in my opinion and I think they could have used the other 9 baskets in another park in town.
-This course won't disappoint if you know what to expect. I won't stop here again because I was getting bored during this round. If you haven't played here, you might as well stop and bag this course and hope for an ace. It is a quick play if it isn't busy.
-As many reviewers have said, Boulder is lacking in both quantity and quality of disc golf courses. There should be some space in the foothills where a challenging, hilly, and fun course could be put in. For such an active town, there is much to be desired in the disc golf world.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Beginner Course

5+    2/24/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: Dan13LP
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee-pads and good signage on every hole (some of the distances are a little off, +/-25ft)
-Since it's a newer course, the baskets are still in great shape
-There are few benches and places to sit along the first 7 holes and a porta-potty in between 11 and 12.
-Course has been manicured well by the designers. A lot of the cacti have been removed along with some of the metal remains from the junkyard that I've been told used to exist where the course does now.
-A great place for an experienced player to practice their mid-range and putting, and an even better place to bring out a beginner or someone who has just started playing disc golf.
Cons: -The lack of obstacles and poor design really bring this course down.
-Course design. Almost every hole has a clear, wide open shot to the basket. Even those holes with trees near the basket don't utilize the land well, and most of your shots end up being straight, short shots, with a clear line right to the basket.
-Overall length of the course. The average hole length is maybe 220' and that could even be a little generous. Only two holes, #8 and #9, are over 350'. #10 is 300'. The rest are all real short.
-Lack of challenge. This course is ridiculously easy, and any experienced player is poised to shoot very very low (which could be a pro depending on how you look at it)
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course, so I play it all the time, I really just wish that it offered up more of a challenge. If you haven't ever hit an ace, just play this course a couple of times, you'll get one eventually. Given the lay of the land as-is, there are several baskets that could be moved, even if it was just 20-30ft, it would make the course have a bit more challenge. There are way to many pitch-and-putt straight on shots. The only reason this course gets 2.5 is because the baskets are in great shape, there is proper signage on every hole, and the tee-pads are really nice too. I do hope the rumors of a re-design are true, this course has potential, but unfortunately right not, it's just not living up to it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Practice Course

1    11/28/2013   11/28/2013
Review By: TBabb
Played: 49  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Baskets, very nice tees (could be a little longer for the longer holes), and decent signage. Tee signs have distance, map and par info. Navigation is intuitive. There is some nice elevation to work with on the first 7 holes. The grounds are clean and the walls/fences keep prairie dogs off the course. There is adequate parking, beautiful Boulder scenery and a weekly league.
Cons: Very little challenge on this course. I shot -6 with no bogies which is exceptionally good for me. More than half the holes are under 200ft and 8-10 are the only three that really need a driver. There is very little in the way of obstacles save for a few trees, which probably make life a little tougher in spring/summer. But still, this is a very underwhelming course for people who want a challenge. And it seems like there's a lot more space to work with to get some longer holes, especially the open field on 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: It's kind of a shame that this course couldn't be more exciting. At least Boulder has a full 18-hole course now. Great for practicing your mid/short game, great for beginners who've never played as well as recreational players, great for a confidence boost (you'll score much better here than you would on a hard course) and it would also be a challenging one disc round. I think I may try it next time I'm out to play...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Course for a practice

1    11/14/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: POLeary29
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 1-7 are fun but short. There are lots of trees and elevation changes on these holes and you can practice many multiples shots.
Cons: Holes 8-18 are straight and fairly short. The holes are extremely close together. It may have benefited the course to eliminate some of these hole and perform a re-design.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest playing the first seven holes and either going back to hole one and playing 1-7 again or going home. The remaining holes can be dangerous on busy days and are boringly straight. Trees would benefit 8-16 and make them more difficult.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

fun for what it is.

1    10/16/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front 9 offered varying shots.
Fun to play casually and run a few baskets.
Hone your short game.
Well groomed with no tall grass on my visit.
Cons: I heard the course was short so I only pulled a comet and ion from the bag. I could reach every hole.
The middle of the course is practically open but makes good use of the few trees and elevation changes that are there.
Not worth the trip if you are here traveling.
Other Thoughts: Putter only practice rounds would be a great way to hone some skills or learn a new disc as the front 9 will make you throw different lines.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Putt and putt

1    9/26/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: messyfloor
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/20/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked and easy to navigate.
Park is well kept and clean
Basket and Tees in good condition
Ace runs nearly every hole
Great upshot practice
Cons: Too short and monotonous.
Lots of holes 200' or under
Only two holes 300' or higher
Little obstacle or challenge
Other Thoughts: I recently moved from Oregon to Boulder and wanted to check out the local 18. I basically came from disc golf Mecca playing courses like Milo Mciver, Hornings, Adair Park etc. So in Comparison this course is very weak. But on its own it has a certain charm and is maintained well. The front nine are very short holes with a litte elevation and trees. Actually aced hole #3 with my Zone which was cool. ( I would say I used my Zone off the tee more often than not). In fact 80% of the holes I used a putter off the tee. I'm no expert or bomber by any means but 160' -180' holes abound here. There was a couple holes I pulled out the driver and it was a nice change.

All in all this course will make you a better player as it challenges you to have an accurate mid game and putt game. Also it is a perfect course for beginners to learn on. Advanced players will have fun getting double digit scores here. I wish there was a course within 10 miles that offered more of a complete experience. But hey I had fun anyway!

UPDATE: So after playing this course a few more times I can see how a lot of people were disappointed in the final layout. There a bunch of unnecessary holes on the back 9. I mean a dead straight 150' shot with no obstacles is frankly worthless. And there a few that are exactly that. It seems as the "18 hole course" label was more important than actually designing fun shots. Now I don't claim to know how to design a course or anything but I think there would have been no harm in developing a 12-15 hole course of more quality shots or at least more variety. That said I'm going there now! Perfect weather!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

nice 18 in boulder colorado

1    8/23/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: dooditsmealfredd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varying lengths a few nice long holes, lots of wind action off the open plains nearby, quite a few trees making you choose your shots wisely(especially on the front 9) gated off from the local prairie dogs, lots of variation of height(on the first 9 ). awesome mach 5(i think) baskets
Cons: back nine is covered with very high grass for majority making losing a disc very easy, less trees or elevation variations, make for a real relaxing back 9.
Other Thoughts: If they started to do some ground work or fence off the back nine to help keep the prairie dogs out it would be a much better course. be sure to keep your eye on your disc on the back nine and on the 18th keep your throw right (otherwise u may loose it in the marshy area along the left).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not too bad...

1    7/8/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: melkijek
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First 7 holes are fairly challenging
Seemed to be well kept
Great views
Cons: Some really short shots and needs to have some length brought to the course.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice mid range and putts since some of the holes are very short...first 7 holes are fairly technical but the rest of the holes are not very challenging unless you are not consistent with your throws (ex. me...).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent 18 Hole Course in a Great Town

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Boulder finally has an 18 hole course
-Nice big concrete tee-pads
-Tee-signs are solid and show the hole layout and give distance and par.
-The course is easy to navigate (there is a path running between most of the holes and it is usually pretty obvious as to which hole is the next hole).
-Elevation comes into play on quite a few of the holes (especially the first 7).
-Nice brand new baskets
-Lots of ace runs
-Holes 1-7 make good use of the hill they are on to provide some fun holes that take advantage of the available and elevation. Holes 1 through 7 are easily the best holes on the course.
-Holes 8+9 give you a chance to air it out and throw your drivers on a course where all the other holes are really short.
-Good course for practicing with your putters and mid-ranges
--Holes 17 + 18 and bring some more trees back into play and are a good way to finish off the course.
-Benches are located at the tee-pads for about three of the holes
Cons: -This course has very little distance (only two of the holes, 8 and 9, are over 300 feet and most of the holes are under 200 feet).
- Holes 10-16 start to get boring and repetitive. They are mostly short straight shots to the basket
-Lots of the holes play really close to each other (if the course is crowded I would definitely keep an eye out for incoming discs).
-The course could use some trashcans (the only trashcan is near a porta- potty near hole 12).
-The course can get really crowded
-A few areas of the course could get overgrown and make finding a disc a bit of a pain.
-The parking lot is busy, and fills up really quickly on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This course's greatest weakness is how short most of the holes are, but despite that holes 1-7 and 17+18 provide some fun shots. If you are in Boulder give this course a shot, just don't expect to throw your driver very much on it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.