Boulder, CO 
Valmont Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: eyke Hole #17
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Hand me my Roc

2-4    9/23/2016   9/23/2016
Review By: MonDragonDisc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 is wooded and has some challenge. I'm a beginner so having a chance to practice touch shots has been beneficial. Back 9 allows you to get 2 distance throws and the rest are wide open (some trees). If I can shoot a -3 here than a good player can probably get into -10 or better territory.
Cons: Crowded as any course can be. Routinely waiting on every hole to throw. The back 9 is somewhat boring compared to the front nine. They need to figure out a way to incorporate a the woods into all 18 holes... not sure how, but the back 9 is lacking.
Other Thoughts: Beat the crowd and get there early.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick 18 when it's not crowded

5+    9/2/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: -Easy to navigate. Signage is good with a large format map at the start, scorecards often available, and color signs at every tee (not that they're necessary).

-Great tee pads. Long, flat and wide poured concrete. No dropoffs after tee.

-Good practice for short/mid game. Can be played quick when it's not busy making it easy to get in 36+ in under what it takes to play a full 18 at a mountain course.

-Usually clean with most patrons being responsible with their trash despite the lack of bins at the holes. Porto John is a plus too.

-If you play this course enough, you will rack up aces.
Cons: -Very short. Only 3 holes require a driver. Not much variety on the back 9. Essentially all open.

-Many holes are bland and uninventive. After 10, you virtually crisscross the field with short midrange shots for the next 5 holes followed by the shortest, most-open hole I've ever played, #16.

-Very crowded at times. I've been there recently when the entire parking lot is full. Large groups of college kids on the course often clog it up.
Other Thoughts: After spending a year living in Boulder, I'm ready to move up into the mountains and get closer to some real disc. With that said, it's been fun having an 18 hole course nearby where I could hone my short game and meet some cool local discers. Valmont, it's been real. Hope to see some improvements in hole design in the future.


5+    7/8/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: Parataxis
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 7 provide fun, short, more technical throws.
Location.
Cons: Holes 8-16 don't have much to them.
Gets packed in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: It's sad that Boulder doesn't have a more exceptional dg course, seems to me it really should have something to shine for the region. All things considered there aren't any other public courses in Boulder county I'd rather go to. I think the course designer did a great job with what he was given (at one point the course was going to go where the bike park is now).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course in Boulder

5+    4/12/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: nolan24970
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Front 9 and back 9 are completely different. This leads to some nice variety.
-Quick round; can get through all 18 holes in around an hour
-Park is reasonably well taken care of
-Course uses the space it is on very well
-Short drive from anywhere in Boulder
Cons: -All of the holes on the back 9 are pretty similar, a good sized drive and maybe a tree or two to shoot around
-Course can get crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: A very fun course to play early in the morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really short course!

1    3/26/2016   4/1/2016
Review By: Ginganinja
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very good tee pads and signs.
-clean course with a good feel to it.
-good elevation usage.
-easy to navigate
-good for someone just passing through wanting to get a quick 18 in.
-very begginer friendly.
Cons: -really short.
-Allot of baskets really close.
-no others really and i guess short really isn't a con
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a casual round and especially good if your looking for your first ace. It's really easy to navigate and to keep going.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    8/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: thecolorofhue
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Full 18 hole course
-A few dog legs
-Good view of the mountains
-You're probably going to make some birdies
Cons: -Ridiculously short for an 18 hole course. People are not kidding when they say the distance posted on the signs are incorrect. Hole 18 was especially disappointing.

-Not much here as far as technical shots go. Most holes simply follow the walking path from the hole to the tee, though there are some dog legs in the beginning.

-The simplicity of the course does get boring on the back 9. These holes show almost no creativity, simply being a little over a 100 feet from the starting tee in a straight line.
Other Thoughts: It's really disappointing that this is all Boulder has to offer. Coming from a small town in Oklahoma that had multiple 18 hole courses (many of them technical courses) this course (the only 18 hole in Boulder) just does not hold up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It Fits

1    12/20/2014   12/22/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was clearly some thought put into this course. There is a local crowd who loves this course and seem to be doing a great job of getting things done and done well. There are lots of features to this course that are clearly designed to keep the course in the ground. The baskets are all in great condition. The tee pads are quite nice and very consistent from hole to hole. Baskets are placed in thoughtful spots. The design uses just about every possible good inch of this piece of land. There is a port-o-potty on the back side of the course. There are other things to do in the park that shares land with this course. There is a good variety of shots in the first seven holes. This would be a very good place to take a beginner to play disc golf. It does a descent job of keeping more advanced players somewhat entertained for at least a few holes.
Cons: This course is mostly short and they really tried to fit a course in on a piece of land that is not really well suited for a full 18 hole disc golf course. The best holes are the first seven and they are squeezed onto a small mound in the park. Holes are close to each other throughout the course and there are a few times when one needs to ask which basket they are throwing to. There are only three holes over or at 300 feet. There are plenty of holes under 200 feet. There are so many filler holes it really takes away from some of the better holes on this course. There are some erosion issues that appear to be noticed at this point, but hard to say what can be done moving forward. There is a prairie dog issue that is mitigated at this point as long as people keep the fences working correctly.
Other Thoughts: This course also has a nickname of the Junkyard since holes 8 through 16 are on an old junkyard. There are still random rusted car pieces that can be found on the ground. Really the first seven holes were enjoyable, even if one of them is basically a jump putt. After that it gets boring for the most part. The last two holes are in the green part of the park where other people may be using the park and may cause some issues with pedestrians. Otherwise the prairie dog fences should keep out other park traffic fairly well. This really isn't a course to go out of your way to play but may be a great place to take people who have never played before. It really does just barely fit into the land that it is on. I am sure with the local crowd that is there, it will get good care.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sometimes 9 holes would be better...

2-4    12/20/2014   12/20/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 50  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 25.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Biggest pro is the teepads. Some of the best in Colorado, seriously. Wide, long, level and we'll bordered. Too bad they aren't necessary on these short holes

-Good spot for begginers. Super short, but with enough obstacles and shot shaping on the first seven holes to give a challenge as well

-Great views of the mountains in the background

-Great full color, informative tee signs. Big Map at the entrance to the course, and lots of signs pointing you to hole 1 and hole 8 as well (which could be confusing without them)

-Land is well-maintained with trash cans, benches and gopher fences to protect the land
Cons: -Way too short. Marked distances are incorrect on some of the shortest holes. Hole 16 is a joke. It's made 140 feet. During a doubles event here, I saw more than a few people jump putting....from the teepad.

-With the decision to split the course into three separate sections, I fail to see why they didn't add more distance to the back nine holes

-After the first seven holes there is really no obstacles to speak of aside from an OB fence and a port-a-john

-the basket for holes 13 and 16 are right next to each other, but the backside of 13 is blind from its teepad. I could easily see someone getting pegged while they are trying to putt out. There are other safety issues, but this is the biggest one

-The first seven holes are the highlights, but could be retooled to be three or four holes and it would still be good for beginners and add challenge to more experienced players

-Holes 8 and 9, both over 350 (hole 9 plays like a 400 foot hole as it is slightly uphill) kind of come out of nowhere. What I mean by this is after seven holes of very short touch shots, it's odd to have two holes to air it out. Difficult to adjust to.
Other Thoughts: Valmont is a local favorite, and said local players put in a lot of work to keep this course in good order. And it's good for what it is. I had fun playing the Winter Warriors doubles series here. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, and neither should you. However, it is unique enough that if you're in Boulder, you should give it a shot.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

should be a 9 hole course

1    8/15/2013   9/28/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -holes 1-7 are fun
-elevation, trees, and interesting shots on 1-7
-concrete tees and the mach 5 baskets are in good condition
-course map, navigation is pretty easy
-fences to keep the prairie dogs off the course
-good course to bring beginners
Cons: -flat, wide open, and little challenge or fun after the first 7 holes
-lots of reeds around the creek, good luck if you throw into it
-seems like there are 18 holes just for the sake of 18
-only 18 in Boulder, busy course and lots of pedestrians
-i had someone walk off with my disc off the walking path before i got down there, keep an eye out on holes 3 and 7
Other Thoughts: Valmont is a fun pitch and putt course for the first 7 holes. They have elevation, trees, lines to hit, and fun ace runs. This part of the course is really enjoyable.

Once you leave that area of the park, the course is wide open, flat, and totally boring. Holes 8-11 are in a field and 12-16 are in another field that has a tiny ridge along one side. 17 and 18 are in a small grassy area that has two patches of very small trees and ball fields in the middle.

I think this course would be much better as a 9 hole with 17 and 18 redesigned to flow from hole 7. I agree with mndiscg that the other 9 baskets could surely be put to better use somewhere else. I guess some people would rather have an 18 hole course, even if it totally sucks, but I'd be rooting for changes if I were a Boulder local. It's no fault of the designer, there is just no way to put good holes on some of this land.

As it is, this is a good course to bring beginners. It is easy and there shouldn't be too much danger of a lost disc. Only holes 8-10 will require a driver, even for shorter arms. It gets a bit busy since it's one of only two courses in Boulder and the only 18. This area really needs a real course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short holes but fun

2-4    2/2/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice terrain, Easy course- come here if you want to get a better score, easy to navigate around, there are a few holes that are technical and fun to play, come here to work on your short game
Cons: The course as a whole is way too short. Other than that it is a descent course but a little boring with no water or other interesting characteristics.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for intermediate players. I just can't justify driving up to boulder to play a little course like this. If you live there it is really your only close choice

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.