Boulder, CO 
Valmont Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: eyke Hole #11
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Putt and putt

1    9/26/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: messyfloor
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/20/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked and easy to navigate.
Park is well kept and clean
Basket and Tees in good condition
Ace runs nearly every hole
Great upshot practice
Cons: Too short and monotonous.
Lots of holes 200' or under
Only two holes 300' or higher
Little obstacle or challenge
Other Thoughts: I recently moved from Oregon to Boulder and wanted to check out the local 18. I basically came from disc golf Mecca playing courses like Milo Mciver, Hornings, Adair Park etc. So in Comparison this course is very weak. But on its own it has a certain charm and is maintained well. The front nine are very short holes with a litte elevation and trees. Actually aced hole #3 with my Zone which was cool. ( I would say I used my Zone off the tee more often than not). In fact 80% of the holes I used a putter off the tee. I'm no expert or bomber by any means but 160' -180' holes abound here. There was a couple holes I pulled out the driver and it was a nice change.

All in all this course will make you a better player as it challenges you to have an accurate mid game and putt game. Also it is a perfect course for beginners to learn on. Advanced players will have fun getting double digit scores here. I wish there was a course within 10 miles that offered more of a complete experience. But hey I had fun anyway!

UPDATE: So after playing this course a few more times I can see how a lot of people were disappointed in the final layout. There a bunch of unnecessary holes on the back 9. I mean a dead straight 150' shot with no obstacles is frankly worthless. And there a few that are exactly that. It seems as the "18 hole course" label was more important than actually designing fun shots. Now I don't claim to know how to design a course or anything but I think there would have been no harm in developing a 12-15 hole course of more quality shots or at least more variety. That said I'm going there now! Perfect weather!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice 18 in boulder colorado

1    8/23/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: dooditsmealfredd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varying lengths a few nice long holes, lots of wind action off the open plains nearby, quite a few trees making you choose your shots wisely(especially on the front 9) gated off from the local prairie dogs, lots of variation of height(on the first 9 ). awesome mach 5(i think) baskets
Cons: back nine is covered with very high grass for majority making losing a disc very easy, less trees or elevation variations, make for a real relaxing back 9.
Other Thoughts: If they started to do some ground work or fence off the back nine to help keep the prairie dogs out it would be a much better course. be sure to keep your eye on your disc on the back nine and on the 18th keep your throw right (otherwise u may loose it in the marshy area along the left).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad...

1    7/8/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: melkijek
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First 7 holes are fairly challenging
Seemed to be well kept
Great views
Cons: Some really short shots and needs to have some length brought to the course.
Other Thoughts: Good course to practice mid range and putts since some of the holes are very short...first 7 holes are fairly technical but the rest of the holes are not very challenging unless you are not consistent with your throws (ex. me...).

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 18 Hole Course in a Great Town

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Boulder finally has an 18 hole course
-Nice big concrete tee-pads
-Tee-signs are solid and show the hole layout and give distance and par.
-The course is easy to navigate (there is a path running between most of the holes and it is usually pretty obvious as to which hole is the next hole).
-Elevation comes into play on quite a few of the holes (especially the first 7).
-Nice brand new baskets
-Lots of ace runs
-Holes 1-7 make good use of the hill they are on to provide some fun holes that take advantage of the available and elevation. Holes 1 through 7 are easily the best holes on the course.
-Holes 8+9 give you a chance to air it out and throw your drivers on a course where all the other holes are really short.
-Good course for practicing with your putters and mid-ranges
--Holes 17 + 18 and bring some more trees back into play and are a good way to finish off the course.
-Benches are located at the tee-pads for about three of the holes
Cons: -This course has very little distance (only two of the holes, 8 and 9, are over 300 feet and most of the holes are under 200 feet).
- Holes 10-16 start to get boring and repetitive. They are mostly short straight shots to the basket
-Lots of the holes play really close to each other (if the course is crowded I would definitely keep an eye out for incoming discs).
-The course could use some trashcans (the only trashcan is near a porta- potty near hole 12).
-The course can get really crowded
-A few areas of the course could get overgrown and make finding a disc a bit of a pain.
-The parking lot is busy, and fills up really quickly on weekends.
Other Thoughts: This course's greatest weakness is how short most of the holes are, but despite that holes 1-7 and 17+18 provide some fun shots. If you are in Boulder give this course a shot, just don't expect to throw your driver very much on it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great training spot

5+    5/3/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: ttuff
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for novice to intermediate players and a great 'friends and family' course. It's in Boulder, in a beautiful city park, across the street from the nicest dog park I've ever seen and a sweet bike park. For more advanced players, this course forces a variety of shots and gives you a chance to dig deeper into your bag (mid ranges and putters) than other nearby courses. This is my new local training course and I play it a lot. I recommend it for most.
Cons: Small, tight, and soon to be very overcrowded. They have done a great job of utilizing the space they have but that means the holes are on top of each other.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a great job with what they were given but they weren't given much. Errant throws seem to be constantly flying past your head and lines can back up at some tees (1 and 8). You must stay patient and relaxed to have a good time on this course. Don't throw onto each other and make friends and you'll have a great time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhhhh...

2-4    3/3/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: libertine5010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tree placement was decent at first but now I'm not so sure how I feel about it with all of them being cleared out. The gates and fences to keep the prairie dogs out are pretty sweet. The baskets themselves are quite nice as well.
Cons: TOO SHORT! I know they didn't have the space and I appreciate the fairways not crossing but you only need a putter for half of these holes.
Other Thoughts: Right now, its decent. I can see this being a pretty nice course by mid summer but that's if they can either add a few more trees or adjust the basket locations to make it a little more technical.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If you build it, they will play...

2-4    1/21/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: deltabrainwaves
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Boulder finally has an 18-hole course. A heck of a lot is done with a relatively small amount of space, and although many holes play short, it is challenging enough especially on the typically windy day here. There were many players out there but things never seemed to bottleneck. You'll get your ace runs here and enjoy some beautiful views. This course is only going to get better with time.
Cons: Not many chances to stretch things out aside from two long holes (8 & 9).

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  A Place for Bouldering

2-4    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Guezo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/5/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Skills course. Good place to work kinks out of your midrange and short game
Excellent equipment: tee pads, maps, signage, baskets.
Best Flatirons views imaginable.
Hawks live on the hill with a prairie dog town beneath--nice place to see nature in action.
Close to the Boulder Beer taproom.
Cons: An abundance of short holes, many under 200 ft.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of the bike park on the other side of Valmont. It's a great place to work out some interesting problems devised by the devious John Bird. The hill is ringed by baskets and tee pads, and lots of alternative looks are possible. It's a stunt park, a place for Bouldering, with most of the work to be done with midranges and putters. Windy conditions can be expected, which makes everything more interesting.

The Front Range DG community is encouraged to share opinions about the current design and suggest ideas for the future redesign as more parcels of land at Valmont become available. I wonder, for instance, if we can use some man-made obstacles for the wide-open areas we might get.


Drinking water can be acquired at the bike park across Valmont. Better to bring some, though.

Prickly pear abounds on the hill--boots recommended and watch your fingers when retrieving discs from the ground.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Community Effort

5+    12/22/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: evanmanee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -It is the perfect place to improve your putting, approaches, mid range, practice various touch shots, and flight paths.
-It's 18 holes in boulder!
-Great views

Cons: -I would love more obstacles, technical challenges, trees and length. But who wouldn't.
Other Thoughts: This is the course we have now, it's not perfect but it is a step in the right direction. If the Boulder Disc Golf Community can stay patient, proactive, and involved then this course could really become something special.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  junkyard 18 hole

2-4    12/22/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: eyke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 25 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of the flatirons
Raptors
Still has that new course smell
Not crowded, yet
First 7 holes are challenging
Bathroom
bus/ bike access
Good for new-average players
Cons: Until 2014 when final development and construction is complete, the back 11 holes are not complicated.
Only 2 big holes, some are too short.
Airport rd parking lot full on weekends, park on the W side, Sterling dr
Other Thoughts: Old junkyard parts all over. (collection pile in SW corner of course)
2 holes on groomed grass, 11 on native grass, 5 on cactus
The course will improve and grow in 2014.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.