Boulder, CO
Valmont Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: eyke Hole #9
3 / 429ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Ehhhhh...

2-4    3/3/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: libertine5010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tree placement was decent at first but now I'm not so sure how I feel about it with all of them being cleared out. The gates and fences to keep the prairie dogs out are pretty sweet. The baskets themselves are quite nice as well.
Cons: TOO SHORT! I know they didn't have the space and I appreciate the fairways not crossing but you only need a putter for half of these holes.
Other Thoughts: Right now, its decent. I can see this being a pretty nice course by mid summer but that's if they can either add a few more trees or adjust the basket locations to make it a little more technical.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you build it, they will play...

2-4    1/21/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: deltabrainwaves
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Boulder finally has an 18-hole course. A heck of a lot is done with a relatively small amount of space, and although many holes play short, it is challenging enough especially on the typically windy day here. There were many players out there but things never seemed to bottleneck. You'll get your ace runs here and enjoy some beautiful views. This course is only going to get better with time.
Cons: Not many chances to stretch things out aside from two long holes (8 & 9).

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Place for Bouldering

2-4    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Guezo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/5/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Skills course. Good place to work kinks out of your midrange and short game
Excellent equipment: tee pads, maps, signage, baskets.
Best Flatirons views imaginable.
Hawks live on the hill with a prairie dog town beneath--nice place to see nature in action.
Close to the Boulder Beer taproom.
Cons: An abundance of short holes, many under 200 ft.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of the bike park on the other side of Valmont. It's a great place to work out some interesting problems devised by the devious John Bird. The hill is ringed by baskets and tee pads, and lots of alternative looks are possible. It's a stunt park, a place for Bouldering, with most of the work to be done with midranges and putters. Windy conditions can be expected, which makes everything more interesting.

The Front Range DG community is encouraged to share opinions about the current design and suggest ideas for the future redesign as more parcels of land at Valmont become available. I wonder, for instance, if we can use some man-made obstacles for the wide-open areas we might get.


Drinking water can be acquired at the bike park across Valmont. Better to bring some, though.

Prickly pear abounds on the hill--boots recommended and watch your fingers when retrieving discs from the ground.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Community Effort

5+    12/22/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: evanmanee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -It is the perfect place to improve your putting, approaches, mid range, practice various touch shots, and flight paths.
-It's 18 holes in boulder!
-Great views

Cons: -I would love more obstacles, technical challenges, trees and length. But who wouldn't.
Other Thoughts: This is the course we have now, it's not perfect but it is a step in the right direction. If the Boulder Disc Golf Community can stay patient, proactive, and involved then this course could really become something special.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 junkyard 18 hole

2-4    12/22/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: eyke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of the flatirons
Raptors
Still has that new course smell
Not crowded, yet
First 7 holes are challenging
Bathroom
bus/ bike access
Good for new-average players
Cons: Until 2014 when final development and construction is complete, the back 11 holes are not complicated.
Only 2 big holes, some are too short.
Airport rd parking lot full on weekends, park on the W side, Sterling dr
Other Thoughts: Old junkyard parts all over. (collection pile in SW corner of course)
2 holes on groomed grass, 11 on native grass, 5 on cactus
The course will improve and grow in 2014.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Happy March!

5+    10/19/2013   12/22/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in Boulder!

The course is short enough to make it fun to learn and grow on.

The variety of throws available is complete. I've seen every type of throw executed well (and tried most with mixed results).

Excellent place to work on mid-short game, with two long shots.

Saturday's standing round happens every week, regardless.

Existing tall cottonwoods and siberian elm trees are perches for big raptors, who are fun to watch as they stalk prairie dogs and squirrels.

I saw a plains spadefoot (a toad) there the other morning. Watch your step!

NO prairie dogs were killed during the preparation of the course. They were censused, evicted,and re-located.
Cons: Prairie dogs- the fence is meant to keep them out, but it is flimsy, and the gates are going to get beat up.

Holes 1-7 are a virtual cactus patch. Bring boots, not sandals.

The status of the park as a previous auto junk yard means that there are weird hazards- rebar, sharp and rusty pieces of metal, etc.

No trash cans, yet.

It took 10 YEARS to get this park in place. Expanding it into the athletic field and prairie dog town will take forever.
Other Thoughts: Recent floods have kept the park green, and heavy with foliage. Chances of losing discs have gone up. Wood chips have filled in heavy-usage spots, but more could be done. No trash cans installed, yet, but parks staff keep existing containers clear. I've seen unleashed dogs earn their owners citations, so clean up after yourself, and follow the rules.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Thanks for the new course!

2-4    12/14/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: bshaft42
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Only 18 hole in Boulder
-Variation on length of shots
-Amazing views of the nearby mountains
-Right next to the mtn bike park
-Not crowded
Cons: -Not much elevation change or obstacles
-Most shots are fairly standard
-Not my favorite chains
Other Thoughts: Really stoked on a new 18-hole near my house! I know it's been a longtime coming and appreciate the work of John et al getting this course going. Word is this is only v1.0 and might expand as time moves on and Parks n Rec gets it together. I see some serious potential for this plot of land, but don't bother coming from miles away yet. It's still your standard Boulder area course (read: short and a little boring) but there's not much to work with. Definitely good to have another course in the area and while most of the shots are open-field, I think the location of 1-8 might give us some more technical options.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Are you serious?

2-4    11/29/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: yakuza sean
Played: 51  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets, nice tee pads. (this is the only reason I gave it 1/2 a point). Nice views, but it's hard NOT to get a view of the flatirons in Boulder.
Cons: Awful use of the space provided. They seemed to purposely avoid all surrounding trees on the back 11 which would be great for obstacles.
The front 7 holes play on a hill with aged trees, lack anything over 300ft, and are tough NOT to birdie. They seemed to run out of room at the last few holes so they jammed a zig-zag pattern of 200ft holes instead of utilizing the beautiful grass area where holes 17 and 18 are.
I appreciate the work put in to build the course, but 11 years?! 11 years and this is the result? I would imagine that the general publics definition of a 11 year in the making, great course wouldn't be a place where you would only have to use the same two discs during your entire round.
People that are true enthusiasts of the sport don't spend time in a car for the view. We do it for the fun and challenge. The #1 rated course in Colorado is Phantom Falls which is a slew of trees and no mountain views but incorporates difficulty.
Other Thoughts: They seemed to place the course on the most level piece of land that boulder has. Not only that, but they avoided all trees on the back 9 so they WOULDN'T come into play. C'mon guys, I appreciate that it is another course in the neighboring area, but if you're traveling to boulder to shoot, it's only a great place to practice an upshot if you get my drift. It's a shame that the money granted was spent on this being that Boulder would seemingly be a mecca for the sport of disc golf.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.