Greensboro, NC 
Guilford Meadows Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #1 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So, so bad

1    7/5/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: JoeStewart
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: None at all.
Cons: Tee's are rubber mats that you would find outside of a store, and loose on the ground. The Tee's are not marked or numbered. There are no maps of the course.
There is no logical flow from hole to hole. Fairways are not well groomed.
Other Thoughts: Do not play here. It has been open for two years and in all that time no one has bothered to but a single sign. No post for the tee's, no maps, no benches. I can't believe someone from that course had the nerve to even register this as a course on this website.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great use of the land.

1    2/2/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 52  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great baskets. Variety of shots required: wooded, open, downhill, both doglegs.
Cons: Rubber tee mats can be dangerous after rainfall. No signage at all. 2 tee missing pads completely. Very few opportunities to swing for the fences.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the land, could just use some good pads and signage.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good but needs so much work

1    12/1/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: finesenotstrength
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a wide variety of shots and conditions to use to practice with. There is only #2 holes with long bombs so if you havent developed your range yet it will not pay into your score too much.
Cons: Finding your way from tee to tee is unnerving. This course is horribly marked and when it came to asking people while I was there where the next hole was I got very rude answers.
Other Thoughts: A group of disc golfers came up to myself and my group asked where we were from. We told them. They said that we didnt belong there and that they were trying to make it so it was a college only course and that people like us were the ones who destroy courses. Funny story is they wreaked of weed and couldnt play to save there life.But because of this I will only be going back if I have little time and want to get a quik game in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ehhh

5+    5/31/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: YoMambaSoFly
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok course if your board, has a couple of good holes. Convenient to Greensboro area. First hole is great, #5 is good, hole 8 is a good technical hole with a couple of line options, hole 9 is really not too special, gives you a chance to throw a long shot straight ahead for an easy birdie on your approach. Hole 15 is a good hole if you throw from the pro pad that isn't supposed to be there. : )
Cons: Hole 2, used to have a good tight line to the basket then someone decided to try and knock down the tree down the fairway and pretty much ruined the hole. Hole 4, oh my, what a pointless hole thanks to the engineers in charge. Tee pads are on site but probably won't be in for who knows how long if they don't get stolen first. Hole 7, poorly designed, basket should be placed farther back in my opinion, 16, ehh, the mountain of dirt is getting smaller. Piles of wood scattered through out the course, assuming they are for benches, ugly rickety benches. The occasional stoned, dirty students wandering through leaving beer bottles behind. If you take your dog out, pick up their poop!!

Went out 7.5.13 and played. Uggghhhh. Its a jungle out there. Nothing is mowed, sloppy muddy mess.
Other Thoughts: Course needs to be tweaked by someone who knows what they are doing, current students in charge don't really understand what makes a good course. Not completely terrible like I said, has a few good holes but nothing special.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Guilford Meh-dow

5+    3/8/2013   3/8/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Probably the best part of this welcome addition to Greensboro's DG family is its location, which is conveniently close to the Play It Again Sports and Total Wine on Battleground. This charming and rough around the edges course offers a nice mix of open and moderately wooded holes. You never feel like you're out in nature per se but it's a good spot to get away from the city for a round. Particularly suited for Intermediate and below, the course has several short, technical holes that are deuce or die and an occasional long open hole to air a drive out. The baskets are the standard Innova Discatchers we all know and love and in excellent shape.

Contains lots of short, cedar and fir trees, water vines, and weedy underbrush. A pleasant creek snakes through the course. The open holes are basically fields but they appear to be mowed well enough but the warmer months will test the mower's tenacity.

Most of the holes now have rubber mats put down for tees or some gravel. They help locate the tees easier and the rubber mats are nice since the course tends to get muddy.

The first 2 holes have really cool terrain for disc golf, decent elevation change and a creek that cuts deep into the earth. Then you have the cedar/fir whatever they are mini forest to navigate, another dinky creek hole, then 7-12 are more or less open. 15's a neat little valley hole, 16's a wooded -> open hole, 17's another dinky creek hole, and 18's a tough, uphill fairway with a low ceiling and punishing rough.
Cons: Foremost, it is currently a navigational nightmare. Even with a map, I was scratching my head too often and fortunately joined up with a duo to finish the back 9.

The tees are a welcome addition but they're rarely level or even, so footing is not great. They also tend to be short on a few holes which doesn't bother me too much (they're on short holes that don't require much run-up) but I know it will turn off some.

Finding #16 and #17 is cumbersome, locate the deer paths going back into the woods around the creek.

One of the constant problems plaguing this course is late trouble. Baskets are annoyingly too well-guarded by cedar trees and other vegetation that grows thick from ground to sky. A parked drive can leave you with a completely obscured putt on more than one hole. I actually like late trouble on short holes but they need to be done well (like Wellspring for example). This course needs some significant thinning out in strategic areas. Early trouble detracts from a few holes as well, i.e. the left tree right in front of #10 and a little on #17. Hole #16's ceiling could probably stand raising, the last branch you pass under when leaving the woods off the tee kinda makes a driver optimal but throwing a driver on a short wooded hole is always kind of dodgy. Trim that branch a little (you definitely don't need to lop the whole thing down) and it would really open up the lines and make it more fun.

Hole #1 is European jeans tight. Cool pin placement but I've about decided that a FH roller is the only option to get down the hallway. Hole #4 is really bad. It has no real fairway and begs you to throw spike hyzers or tomahawks or else you'll have to squeeze through the 1.5 people wide gap of doom. Even a well-placed spike hyzer can leave you with no putt for birdie thanks to the massive amount of late trouble. Holes 12-14 are ho-hum filler holes. This course is definitely to be avoided like a Nickelback concert if it has rained at all recently. Briers are gonna be Hell on a bunch of holes.
Other Thoughts: #11's tee has evidently been moved drastically closer to the basket. It's at the end of the plowed field. I feel like the course would be better if you combined some holes and made it a ~14 hole course. For example, hole 15's tee to hole 16's basket would be a killer hole. Any combination of 12 & 13 or 13 & 14 would be better. #1's tee to #2's basket might be doable.

The best hole here is probably #5. Nothing spectacular but just a solid hole. #15 is a fun, slightly challenging, shallow valley hole. A lot of holes are very RHFH friendly.


9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good Start

5+    12/16/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: avillion23
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Decent flow from hole to hole
-Good mix of technical shots, some holes for the big arms too
-Seems to improve each time I get out and play
-Nice new baskets
Cons: -Thick and sometimes thorny undergrowth is everywhere, off the fairway...wear long pants or be accurate
-To me this is a pro because I am left handed, but the course plays really well to lefties or a good RH flick
-No teepads yet, but I hear they are on the way
-No signage yet, take a pic of the map with you the first time or head out with someone that has played previously
Other Thoughts: This course is improving quickly, and in a year or two it should be in pretty darn good shape. Just need some bush hogging of the briars and some trees trimmed and it will improve dramatically. The tee pads are still being adjusted to improve play and I think once it is dialed in, this will be a really fun course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Birthing Pains

5+    12/6/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: jlherrmann
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 29.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Meadows has a nice mix or shots. There is something for everyone. Several tight wooded tunnel shots, several wide open meadow shots, Some really tough holes, and some easy ones. I think that maintaining a variety is one of the most important features to keeping a course interesting.
Cons: The underbrush along the side of some of the fairways needs clearing. Right now it's easy to lose a disc in some areas. Time and traffic will help that out a lot.
Natural tee pads are a detriment, but I know plans are in the works to set the tees, once the course is finalized.
Other Thoughts: For a new course, in a town that is hungry for new courses, The Meadows does a great job of filing the need. My score on this review is a bit future based. I can see that the course will be a really nice one once the tees and underbrush are taken care of, and these will happen sooner than later.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Pleasant Addition to the Region

1    12/6/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: ABFutrell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For a new course I was impressed with how playable it is given the existing vegetation.

There's a good mix of shots and lines. Very putter and mid-range friendly as well as two holes you can pull out max-d drivers.

As a finesse thrower, I find this course to be a good course to practice those types of drives and approach shots.

This course is a relief compared to Barber Park. I don't throw past 350 ft nor do I have a sidearm. Guilford Meadows as whole is very fair to different types of throwers.
Cons: Hole # 10's tee pad needs more space for driving/follow through.
Other Thoughts: Another poster mentioned rubber tee pads being installed. My one experience with rubber tee pads due to their slickness resulted in a calf muscle injury. I hope the material used will be much more porous and and grip-pier.

In all, I really enjoyed this course.

Be sure to look ahead or at the posted map at the course. A few holes can be tricky to navigate for first timers. Hole # 4s tee pad does not go to hole 1s basket. Turn 45 degrees to your left and go down the path.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Course Playable But Still Under Construction

5+    11/26/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: DSmith
Played: 131  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes; Open, Wooded, Short, Long, and a fair balance between left to right and right to left turning shots.
Cons: I cant make a fair assesment of cons at this time as the course is still under construction at this moment. Issues with tees and signage are at this time temporary as is clearing. Its still very raw.
Other Thoughts: As I stated above the course is still under construction but the baskets are in. The course will have red and blue level holes when completed but as for now only the red level holes are in.
As far as tee pads, money has been approved for rubber tees from Innova which should be going in in the next few months or so.
Tee signs are also in the works and being made by a few students of the College as I type this review out.

A course map is located in the kiosk by the Community Garden

arking is a minor issue right now but additional parking is available at the Friends School next door on the weekends and the tennis courts during the week.
Do not park in the grass as they will begin ticketing/towing soon.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Guilford Meadows

2-4    11/23/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: BryanB
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great location near Guiford College.
- Brand new baskets.
- Nice mix of wooded/open holes, good variety of hole length.

Cons: - No tee pads. Tee location marked by tiny surveyor flags and painted line on the ground.
- Some holes need additional clearing (lots of brush and briars).
- Difficult to navigate/find tee pads without map.
Other Thoughts: Course designed and constructed by Guilford College students. Course is very new and should improve with additional play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.