Greensboro, NC 
Guilford Meadows Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #11 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    8/22/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course that offers a nice variety of open and wooded holes that caters to newer players. There is a bit of length here but nothing above the three hundred range and experienced players should find they can go at most pins from the tee, while rookies should not have to undertake too many throws to reach the basket. The wooded holes offer turns to both directions and even some quick elevation changes to introduce new players to different types of throws. Number 2 is particularly nice: the hole starts in the open where the player aims for the entrance to the woods then it is down and up to the pin. 3 plays alongside a shallow creek, introducing a little water challenge with too much danger.
A few of the signs are down but the majority of the holes have a well-done wooden placard with a drawing of the hole and an arrow pointing to the following tee. Even if you forget, it is usually fairly obvious where to go. Nice flow with no real navigation issues.
My least favorite type of hole is the open hole where the fairways are mowed out of tall grass, leaving "rough" of knee-to-waist high grass. These are still open holes: the disc can fly unobstructed, no matter where you are throwing from. All this does is make you walk through high grass. I have occasionally seen this done to an ok effect, at a difficult course where landing zones are mowed on par 4s instead of straight fairways. But on a course aimed at beginners, all this will do is add frustration. And there are about six of these holes here. Combine that with a hole or two that will have said beginners throwing down fairways lined with grabby pines and you've got a bunch of elements that don't quite line up with the skill level aimed at here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Looking better!

5+    7/26/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 59  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a really nice piece of property next to a community garden.

The Innova Discatcher baskets are in great shape.

I have played this course several times and have only run into one other person playing. So it is not likely to be crowded.

The fairways are in much better shape than they were when I played this course last year. That one other golfer I met is named Rob and he has been doing some work on the course, with the permission of Guilford College.

The signs are new to me and pretty cool. Some were missing and others laying on the ground beside their makeshift posts, though.

There is a nice mix of left, right and down the middle basket placements. You can air it out on 9,10,11, where fairways are clearly mowed and the rough is only 7 or 8 inches high, so finding discs is no issue.

Cons: Some of the baskets (particularly 3,4,13) are surrounded by trees that make them like a fortress. Possibly the only option at an ace run is to throw a spike and hope for the best.

The rough here is rough. The only saving grace is that in most places it is so thick that your disc won't go far into it. The trees here are grabby. I've had more discs stuck in a tree on this course than all others I've played combined. There are a few other places where you are forced to throw way high or low due to limbs.

Some of the lines and gaps on this course are tight, tight, tight. This may be a pro for others, but I'd prefer a little more room to maneuver.

There was trash all over the course. I will be armed with a trash bag when I return. It is probably not students doing this as there aren't many here over the summer.

Navigation is not intuitive, so take a map or go with someone who knows the course.

The rubber mat tee pads aren't that bad, but some are really short.
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly wooded other than 9,10, 11 which are in an open field. There are sharp turns left and right to baskets. Hole #1 provides the hardest gap as you throw about 60 feet in the open to a six foot gap between some trees into the woods.

On our second round we took turns spotting, as there are a lot of blind throws. On hole #6 the basket is blind and to the right. Do not throw to the basket you can see straight ahead, that is 17.

Even with the negatives, this course is fun and could be a real gem with a little more TLC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well... it's unique!

1    4/13/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Atmosphere: The course encompasses a few different areas that have a mix feel to them. The first couple holes have a grove feeling with undulating terrain. Then you pop out in to an area of congested cedars and the course thins out as you go farther in until you get to some open meadows. Then you reverse that towards the end. It's a quaint little area that sits next to a community garden, pretty cool digs for this type of course; it also has a small creek that runs through parts You probably won't run in to many other people out there.

Layout: Overall it's a short course with tight lines and a few open holes thrown in.

For the most part I think the course strives to create some challenge given the general short length of the holes, and it achieves that goal as well as giving you some interesting lines and gaps to hit.

You definitely have to think about how you're going to attack a few holes by working some unusual lines or just pureing a tiny vertical/horizontal gap.

I think this is a good place to come work on your short game because it exaggerates the technicality of true courses in some areas.

It does mix up the shot types and hole types which is a plus, you have some tight holes some less tight holes and then some open ones.

There's not a lot of elevation change but some interesting bits of it as you go through the place.

The flow is good and the few parts that can be confusing are short walks either way so you should never really get off track.

Equipment - Rubber mats, the eh kind but better than nothing. Baskets seemed in good shape. Some tee-signs on some holes, not all. Course map at the beginning.

Cons: Atmosphere - Not the most secluded place ever, next to a school and some houses back up next to part of it. I could see this place being grown up during parts of the year if nobody is caring for it.

Layout - Some of the holes are just a bit to tight for my liking, I think part of that has to do with the cedar branches growing in to the fairway and nobody cutting them back. They also cut some greens in to really tight little areas, I like the idea of it and where they were going it just seems a bit to much in most cases.

Some of the holes are just to short to be that interesting and are open to just dropping an OH over the top instead trying to navigate a really tight line. A few of the more open holes are more like ace or die kind of shots.

Equipment - The rubber pads could be better. Some holes have no tee sign.
Other Thoughts: Again I think if you're local this is probably a fun place to come throw every now and then, maybe get some practice in. Overall it's not a well rounded course and definitely not something to go out of your way to play.

There's some really cool landscapes and features within the course but overall it's just not big enough to sustain a larger and better course, it is what it is.

I do think they could of maybe put a 9 holer with short/long pads and possibly better utilized the area but again, it is what it is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sad state of affairs

1    2/20/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: nc_ldi_agent
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: location
Cons: everything - no one maintains this poor thing.

supposedly the student body has a group who "runs" the course but no signage, pads, baskets, etc. have been updated in far too long
Other Thoughts: great location and could be a little gem but complacency and lack of interest have taken their toll

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Finesse is Best

5+    3/16/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: Colicus
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the best course no one knows about. It will test your accuracy. Offers both left and right handers a test. It is both wooded and open.
Cons: Rubber mats get slick in wet conditions. The signage is passable, but, needs improvement. Course is on Guilford College land, so maintenance can sometimes be iffy and there is no developed program here.
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT for big arms. There is only one hole you can really let it rip. It is a great fit for me and I very much like playing here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

So, so bad

1    7/5/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: JoeStewart
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: None at all.
Cons: Tee's are rubber mats that you would find outside of a store, and loose on the ground. The Tee's are not marked or numbered. There are no maps of the course.
There is no logical flow from hole to hole. Fairways are not well groomed.
Other Thoughts: Do not play here. It has been open for two years and in all that time no one has bothered to but a single sign. No post for the tee's, no maps, no benches. I can't believe someone from that course had the nerve to even register this as a course on this website.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great use of the land.

1    2/2/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great baskets. Variety of shots required: wooded, open, downhill, both doglegs.
Cons: Rubber tee mats can be dangerous after rainfall. No signage at all. 2 tee missing pads completely. Very few opportunities to swing for the fences.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the land, could just use some good pads and signage.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good but needs so much work

1    12/1/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: finesenotstrength
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a wide variety of shots and conditions to use to practice with. There is only #2 holes with long bombs so if you havent developed your range yet it will not pay into your score too much.
Cons: Finding your way from tee to tee is unnerving. This course is horribly marked and when it came to asking people while I was there where the next hole was I got very rude answers.
Other Thoughts: A group of disc golfers came up to myself and my group asked where we were from. We told them. They said that we didnt belong there and that they were trying to make it so it was a college only course and that people like us were the ones who destroy courses. Funny story is they wreaked of weed and couldnt play to save there life.But because of this I will only be going back if I have little time and want to get a quik game in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/31/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: YoMambaSoFly
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok course if your board, has a couple of good holes. Convenient to Greensboro area. First hole is great, #5 is good, hole 8 is a good technical hole with a couple of line options, hole 9 is really not too special, gives you a chance to throw a long shot straight ahead for an easy birdie on your approach. Hole 15 is a good hole if you throw from the pro pad that isn't supposed to be there. : )
Cons: Hole 2, used to have a good tight line to the basket then someone decided to try and knock down the tree down the fairway and pretty much ruined the hole. Hole 4, oh my, what a pointless hole thanks to the engineers in charge. Tee pads are on site but probably won't be in for who knows how long if they don't get stolen first. Hole 7, poorly designed, basket should be placed farther back in my opinion, 16, ehh, the mountain of dirt is getting smaller. Piles of wood scattered through out the course, assuming they are for benches, ugly rickety benches. The occasional stoned, dirty students wandering through leaving beer bottles behind. If you take your dog out, pick up their poop!!

Went out 7.5.13 and played. Uggghhhh. Its a jungle out there. Nothing is mowed, sloppy muddy mess.
Other Thoughts: Course needs to be tweaked by someone who knows what they are doing, current students in charge don't really understand what makes a good course. Not completely terrible like I said, has a few good holes but nothing special.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Guilford Meh-dow

5+    3/8/2013   3/8/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 112  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Probably the best part of this welcome addition to Greensboro's DG family is its location, which is conveniently close to the Play It Again Sports and Total Wine on Battleground. This charming and rough around the edges course offers a nice mix of open and moderately wooded holes. You never feel like you're out in nature per se but it's a good spot to get away from the city for a round. Particularly suited for Intermediate and below, the course has several short, technical holes that are deuce or die and an occasional long open hole to air a drive out. The baskets are the standard Innova Discatchers we all know and love and in excellent shape.

Contains lots of short, cedar and fir trees, water vines, and weedy underbrush. A pleasant creek snakes through the course. The open holes are basically fields but they appear to be mowed well enough but the warmer months will test the mower's tenacity.

Most of the holes now have rubber mats put down for tees or some gravel. They help locate the tees easier and the rubber mats are nice since the course tends to get muddy.

The first 2 holes have really cool terrain for disc golf, decent elevation change and a creek that cuts deep into the earth. Then you have the cedar/fir whatever they are mini forest to navigate, another dinky creek hole, then 7-12 are more or less open. 15's a neat little valley hole, 16's a wooded -> open hole, 17's another dinky creek hole, and 18's a tough, uphill fairway with a low ceiling and punishing rough.
Cons: Foremost, it is currently a navigational nightmare. Even with a map, I was scratching my head too often and fortunately joined up with a duo to finish the back 9.

The tees are a welcome addition but they're rarely level or even, so footing is not great. They also tend to be short on a few holes which doesn't bother me too much (they're on short holes that don't require much run-up) but I know it will turn off some.

Finding #16 and #17 is cumbersome, locate the deer paths going back into the woods around the creek.

One of the constant problems plaguing this course is late trouble. Baskets are annoyingly too well-guarded by cedar trees and other vegetation that grows thick from ground to sky. A parked drive can leave you with a completely obscured putt on more than one hole. I actually like late trouble on short holes but they need to be done well (like Wellspring for example). This course needs some significant thinning out in strategic areas. Early trouble detracts from a few holes as well, i.e. the left tree right in front of #10 and a little on #17. Hole #16's ceiling could probably stand raising, the last branch you pass under when leaving the woods off the tee kinda makes a driver optimal but throwing a driver on a short wooded hole is always kind of dodgy. Trim that branch a little (you definitely don't need to lop the whole thing down) and it would really open up the lines and make it more fun.

Hole #1 is European jeans tight. Cool pin placement but I've about decided that a FH roller is the only option to get down the hallway. Hole #4 is really bad. It has no real fairway and begs you to throw spike hyzers or tomahawks or else you'll have to squeeze through the 1.5 people wide gap of doom. Even a well-placed spike hyzer can leave you with no putt for birdie thanks to the massive amount of late trouble. Holes 12-14 are ho-hum filler holes. This course is definitely to be avoided like a Nickelback concert if it has rained at all recently. Briers are gonna be Hell on a bunch of holes.
Other Thoughts: #11's tee has evidently been moved drastically closer to the basket. It's at the end of the plowed field. I feel like the course would be better if you combined some holes and made it a ~14 hole course. For example, hole 15's tee to hole 16's basket would be a killer hole. Any combination of 12 & 13 or 13 & 14 would be better. #1's tee to #2's basket might be doable.

The best hole here is probably #5. Nothing spectacular but just a solid hole. #15 is a fun, slightly challenging, shallow valley hole. A lot of holes are very RHFH friendly.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.