Greensboro, NC 
Guilford Meadows Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #1 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/22/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 234  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course that offers a nice variety of open and wooded holes that caters to newer players. There is a bit of length here but nothing above the three hundred range and experienced players should find they can go at most pins from the tee, while rookies should not have to undertake too many throws to reach the basket. The wooded holes offer turns to both directions and even some quick elevation changes to introduce new players to different types of throws. Number 2 is particularly nice: the hole starts in the open where the player aims for the entrance to the woods then it is down and up to the pin. 3 plays alongside a shallow creek, introducing a little water challenge with too much danger.
A few of the signs are down but the majority of the holes have a well-done wooden placard with a drawing of the hole and an arrow pointing to the following tee. Even if you forget, it is usually fairly obvious where to go. Nice flow with no real navigation issues.
Cons:
My least favorite type of hole is the open hole where the fairways are mowed out of tall grass, leaving "rough" of knee-to-waist high grass. These are still open holes: the disc can fly unobstructed, no matter where you are throwing from. All this does is make you walk through high grass. I have occasionally seen this done to an ok effect, at a difficult course where landing zones are mowed on par 4s instead of straight fairways. But on a course aimed at beginners, all this will do is add frustration. And there are about six of these holes here. Combine that with a hole or two that will have said beginners throwing down fairways lined with grabby pines and you've got a bunch of elements that don't quite line up with the skill level aimed at here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good but needs so much work

1    12/1/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: finesenotstrength
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a wide variety of shots and conditions to use to practice with. There is only #2 holes with long bombs so if you havent developed your range yet it will not pay into your score too much.
Cons: Finding your way from tee to tee is unnerving. This course is horribly marked and when it came to asking people while I was there where the next hole was I got very rude answers.
Other Thoughts: A group of disc golfers came up to myself and my group asked where we were from. We told them. They said that we didnt belong there and that they were trying to make it so it was a college only course and that people like us were the ones who destroy courses. Funny story is they wreaked of weed and couldnt play to save there life.But because of this I will only be going back if I have little time and want to get a quik game in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Guilford Meh-dow

5+    3/8/2013   3/8/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 111  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Probably the best part of this welcome addition to Greensboro's DG family is its location, which is conveniently close to the Play It Again Sports and Total Wine on Battleground. This charming and rough around the edges course offers a nice mix of open and moderately wooded holes. You never feel like you're out in nature per se but it's a good spot to get away from the city for a round. Particularly suited for Intermediate and below, the course has several short, technical holes that are deuce or die and an occasional long open hole to air a drive out. The baskets are the standard Innova Discatchers we all know and love and in excellent shape.

Contains lots of short, cedar and fir trees, water vines, and weedy underbrush. A pleasant creek snakes through the course. The open holes are basically fields but they appear to be mowed well enough but the warmer months will test the mower's tenacity.

Most of the holes now have rubber mats put down for tees or some gravel. They help locate the tees easier and the rubber mats are nice since the course tends to get muddy.

The first 2 holes have really cool terrain for disc golf, decent elevation change and a creek that cuts deep into the earth. Then you have the cedar/fir whatever they are mini forest to navigate, another dinky creek hole, then 7-12 are more or less open. 15's a neat little valley hole, 16's a wooded -> open hole, 17's another dinky creek hole, and 18's a tough, uphill fairway with a low ceiling and punishing rough.
Cons: Foremost, it is currently a navigational nightmare. Even with a map, I was scratching my head too often and fortunately joined up with a duo to finish the back 9.

The tees are a welcome addition but they're rarely level or even, so footing is not great. They also tend to be short on a few holes which doesn't bother me too much (they're on short holes that don't require much run-up) but I know it will turn off some.

Finding #16 and #17 is cumbersome, locate the deer paths going back into the woods around the creek.

One of the constant problems plaguing this course is late trouble. Baskets are annoyingly too well-guarded by cedar trees and other vegetation that grows thick from ground to sky. A parked drive can leave you with a completely obscured putt on more than one hole. I actually like late trouble on short holes but they need to be done well (like Wellspring for example). This course needs some significant thinning out in strategic areas. Early trouble detracts from a few holes as well, i.e. the left tree right in front of #10 and a little on #17. Hole #16's ceiling could probably stand raising, the last branch you pass under when leaving the woods off the tee kinda makes a driver optimal but throwing a driver on a short wooded hole is always kind of dodgy. Trim that branch a little (you definitely don't need to lop the whole thing down) and it would really open up the lines and make it more fun.

Hole #1 is European jeans tight. Cool pin placement but I've about decided that a FH roller is the only option to get down the hallway. Hole #4 is really bad. It has no real fairway and begs you to throw spike hyzers or tomahawks or else you'll have to squeeze through the 1.5 people wide gap of doom. Even a well-placed spike hyzer can leave you with no putt for birdie thanks to the massive amount of late trouble. Holes 12-14 are ho-hum filler holes. This course is definitely to be avoided like a Nickelback concert if it has rained at all recently. Briers are gonna be Hell on a bunch of holes.
Other Thoughts: #11's tee has evidently been moved drastically closer to the basket. It's at the end of the plowed field. I feel like the course would be better if you combined some holes and made it a ~14 hole course. For example, hole 15's tee to hole 16's basket would be a killer hole. Any combination of 12 & 13 or 13 & 14 would be better. #1's tee to #2's basket might be doable.

The best hole here is probably #5. Nothing spectacular but just a solid hole. #15 is a fun, slightly challenging, shallow valley hole. A lot of holes are very RHFH friendly.


11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Guilford Meadows

2-4    11/23/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: BryanB
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great location near Guiford College.
- Brand new baskets.
- Nice mix of wooded/open holes, good variety of hole length.

Cons: - No tee pads. Tee location marked by tiny surveyor flags and painted line on the ground.
- Some holes need additional clearing (lots of brush and briars).
- Difficult to navigate/find tee pads without map.
Other Thoughts: Course designed and constructed by Guilford College students. Course is very new and should improve with additional play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.