Greensboro, NC 
Guilford Meadows Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #12 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Has a lot of potential

5+    7/23/2016   7/23/2016
Review By: Mfinchit
Played: 61  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just an initial statement before going into the review.
#I'm the person that's been maintaining this course and trying to get it to live up to its potential Since December. So, when someone says "They need", I just want to let you know, there is no "They". It's just a disc golfer that was sick of this course being over grown. Now onto the review:

Pros:

* There's potential at this course to be much better than it is. I'm currently working on mapping out alternate blues. Just as others have pointed out, there's really only 1 hole deserving of a driver.

* I know some people don't like the rough on #9, 10, and 11, but it was done in such a way that the fairways on these 3 are roughly 50' wide which will ultimately help those who work on accuracy and not just slinging wildly. It definitely helps me to throw a bullet instead of a huge 'S'.

* Tee signs were created by some volunteers (I believe they may work for Timco, but could be remembering incorrectly).

Cons: *Littering - The biggest con here is some people really suck. What I mean by that is, I'm always picking up peoples trash, beer cans, beer bottles, etc. I've incidentally run over a couple glass bottles with the mower and cut myself more than I'd like bc someone throws a bottle in the grass. So if the community will call these people out when you see it, that'd be much appreciated. If you're someone who throws their trash on the course, please know that the players are the ones picking up after you. If you could please pick up your own trash that would be great!

* Tee pads - They aren't my favorite. On humid days you stick to them, and on rainy days you slide right off. To top it off, they aren't level and just waiting for you to sprain your ankle. I haven't had any luck convincing Guilford College to allow me to put in concrete pads so as of right now my next best effort will be to level them and try and get more rubber so they can all be the same length/width.

*Vandalism - This goes hand in hand with the first con. The signs were put in less than a year ago and I already have to concrete them in because people are either just entitled, destructive, or terrible at disc golf (taking their anger out on the signs). So if it keeps up, they'll be gone as well.
Other Thoughts: Volunteering my time to maintain this course can be discouraging when there is so many people throwing there trash all over the place, leaving it for others to pick up. If people would be interested in volunteering to help me keep this course cleaned up you can PM me, email me at mfinchit@gmail.com, or I'm at the course throughout the week (always on Sundays at 1:30). If you see a yellow Jeep there, I'm there.

The more people that we can get out who care about maintaining the course, the better it will be.


Currently working on:
updating the tee pads
concreting signs
mapping out blues
cutting back shrubs/overgrowth
cutting grass

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Through the woods to get to the Meadows

1    6/20/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 83  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice tee signs and next tee signs. The tee signs have a picture of the hole and two aerial map photos on each hole. Along with the hole distance and par, these are very nice. Not sure how long they will stand up to the elements though.
Baskets are in good shape, the yellow bands really help spotting the basket in the woods.
Mostly wooded holes with 3 open meadow holes in the middle then a couple toward the end.
Good location at the edge of Guilford College campus, moves around the campus garden area, with only minimal interaction.
Cons: Several of the front nine holes are very short.
Tee pads are pretty short rubber mats. Not a big issue on the shorter holes, but need to be longer on the open holes. Also, these look like the kind that can get slippery when wet, and some are uneven.
Small parking lot and no restrooms or drinks available.
Other Thoughts: For a college campus course, this is not too bad. The wooded holes are pretty short and most are tight. Tight but fair, so I didn't list them as a Con. If beginners are playing they shouldn't get too frustrated.
As I mentioned, there are several holes in the open meadow and a couple others with limited trees, so it does provide some variety.
The course also uses some straight clearings through the woods for multiple holes, not a bad place to put a fairway, but be careful if you kick into the woods.
Upkeep is being done on this course, almost no trash around and the grass on the open holes was mowed to a reasonable level.
I really enjoyed #16, tee shot is downhill, over dirt mounds dropped for the gardens to a basket protected behind a tree. Cool change of scenery on this one.
Overall, not a must-play or challenging course, but a fun one to play. From what I read in previous reviews, the quality of the course has definitely improved.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Out into the Meadows and Back Again

1    2/13/2016   2/13/2016
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Guilford Meadows is an interesting little course situated at the far corner of the Guilford College campus. This secluded parcel of woods and meadow land is a nice getaway and a fairly interesting place to play disc golf.

For an eighteen hole course, most of the holes here are actually quite short. This is made-up for with mostly well thought out tunnel shots through the woods. I was impressed by the good balance of both left and right hand dogleg holes which test both players' forehands and backhands. Many of these short holes are definitely able to be birdied with a good approach. Often, on courses where there is overall little length variety, play can become monotonous but I actually felt like most of these holes presented unique challenges.

All of the tees are laid out in rubber mats which for the most part are in pretty good shape. Baskets are in good shape and a really nice attempt at tee signs has been made (though see below, they are mostly destroyed). Kiosk at the small parking lot helps guide players to the first tee.

My two favorite holes were 1 and 8. 1 is a nice straightaway hole through and ample tunnel to a basket that sits on a raised mound. Long putts are a fun risk/reward situation. 8 is a really pretty RHFH hyzer up hill to a basket nestled between two rows of trees..
Cons: Upkeep at this course is a major con. There is trash and litter strewn about. The hole signs, which looked to have been handmade and probably took some significant work to make, have almost all been knocked over or destroyed. That is unfortunate because they looked to have been high quality work. They would have also helped navigation because a few of the baskets are blind from the tees, and finding the rubber mat teeboxes is sometimes a bit difficult without navigational aids. I would recommend bringing a map, especially for a few tricky walks on the back 9.

There are a few holes that are headscratchers. 7 is a short snapshot dogleg to the right. I really struggled to see an actual path for a disc to fly to navigate that curve because the start of the hole requires a very straight flightpath. 13 is another short hole that appears to be a short RHBH hyzer down to a tucked basket, but getting down to the basket the golfer realizes there is actually no approach to the basket whatsoever other than the poke-and-pray method due to all of the trees. I got lucky and ended up on the green with a tomahawk, but even on the green, I was almost completely blocked out from the basket and had no putt.

As has been mentioned on other reviews, there is certainly a lot of "late trouble." Many of the baskets are tucked in very tight locations and some greens have a lot of small trees on them - I was faced with a few putts that forced me to lay up to the basket. I am not sure being forced to pitch out while being on the green is necessarily a good design feature.

Much of the underbrush here is very thick. I noted above that there are a lot of birdie opportunities, but there are also plenty of places where a stray kick off of a tree can land a player in serious trouble and needing multiple throws to get back to the fairway.

I was also not a huge fan of the holes 9-11 out in the "meadow." It was a weird transition to go from tight lines on nearly every hole to three straightaway holes out in a huge field. Hole 10 needs a redesign - there is an electric fence that is on the back of the green and I don't really think that is a safe idea. If fitting 3 holes into that field is a necessary course feature, there has to be a way to do so that keeps the electric fence out of play.

The last con is access. The course seems to be closed down at times for cross-country practice.
Other Thoughts: Guilford Meadows is a fun course. Even though the hole length variety is minimal, most of the holes really kept my interest. There are a few screwy hole designs; overall the course seemed to be a fair, balanced test of disc golf. The difficulty is high enough to keep a player's interest but not extreme (except for some of the rough that I mentioned above).

The course does suffer from lack of upkeep and that was one of the major detractors I noticed - broken down tee signs and tons of trash scattered about. It does seem that there is a DG club from reading some of the signage and I hope that they are able to keep discs flying at Guilford Meadows. I thought this course was most certainly more enjoyable than the reputation it tends to have in the area. It is by no means a worldbeater of a course, but it is certainly a serviceable loop. With more upkeep and a few of the "little things," it could be much much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Looking better!

5+    7/26/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 67  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a really nice piece of property next to a community garden.

The Innova Discatcher baskets are in great shape.

I have played this course several times and have only run into one other person playing. So it is not likely to be crowded.

The fairways are in much better shape than they were when I played this course last year. That one other golfer I met is named Rob and he has been doing some work on the course, with the permission of Guilford College.

The signs are new to me and pretty cool. Some were missing and others laying on the ground beside their makeshift posts, though.

There is a nice mix of left, right and down the middle basket placements. You can air it out on 9,10,11, where fairways are clearly mowed and the rough is only 7 or 8 inches high, so finding discs is no issue.



Cons: Some of the baskets (particularly 3,4,13) are surrounded by trees that make them like a fortress. Possibly the only option at an ace run is to throw a spike and hope for the best.

The rough here is rough. The only saving grace is that in most places it is so thick that your disc won't go far into it. The trees here are grabby. I've had more discs stuck in a tree on this course than all others I've played combined. There are a few other places where you are forced to throw way high or low due to limbs.

Some of the lines and gaps on this course are tight, tight, tight. This may be a pro for others, but I'd prefer a little more room to maneuver.

There was trash all over the course. I will be armed with a trash bag when I return. It is probably not students doing this as there aren't many here over the summer.

Navigation is not intuitive, so take a map or go with someone who knows the course.

The rubber mat tee pads aren't that bad, but some are really short.
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly wooded other than 9,10, 11 which are in an open field. There are sharp turns left and right to baskets. Hole #1 provides the hardest gap as you throw about 60 feet in the open to a six foot gap between some trees into the woods.

On our second round we took turns spotting, as there are a lot of blind throws. On hole #6 the basket is blind and to the right. Do not throw to the basket you can see straight ahead, that is 17.

Even with the negatives, this course is fun and could be a real gem with a little more TLC.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Start

5+    12/16/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: avillion23
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Decent flow from hole to hole
-Good mix of technical shots, some holes for the big arms too
-Seems to improve each time I get out and play
-Nice new baskets
Cons: -Thick and sometimes thorny undergrowth is everywhere, off the fairway...wear long pants or be accurate
-To me this is a pro because I am left handed, but the course plays really well to lefties or a good RH flick
-No teepads yet, but I hear they are on the way
-No signage yet, take a pic of the map with you the first time or head out with someone that has played previously
Other Thoughts: This course is improving quickly, and in a year or two it should be in pretty darn good shape. Just need some bush hogging of the briars and some trees trimmed and it will improve dramatically. The tee pads are still being adjusted to improve play and I think once it is dialed in, this will be a really fun course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.