Greensboro, NC 
Guilford Meadows Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #12 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Tight and technical but fair

1    5/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: asromatifoso
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great signs and easy to navigate.
Nice variety of holes. Many left to right and a few right to left holes through tight tree-lined tunnels. Some longer open holes through the meadows. You will need to throw forehands and some fairly big hyzers in addition to your standard backhand. If you aren't accurate, getting out of the trees may require some creativity. I threw two or three from my knees, a couple of tomahawks, and a low forehand skip to get out of trouble. That said, I made a couple of birdies and my playing partners made more. You can score if you can hit your line; accuracy and intelligent play are certainly more important than distance here.
Baskets are all in good shape and fairly placed.
Some small elevation changes and some uphill/downhill putts lend interest to the course.
Not crowded at all; we saw one other group as we were leaving and that was it for the entire morning.
Cons: Tee boxes are awful. Tee pads are slippery and too short. We teed off from beside them where possible but on a few holes there was no choice due to trees right by the box. Absolutely the worst tee boxes I've seen.
Rough is really high in the meadows holes, leading to some searching for discs.
Other Thoughts: I played my best round ever here and am very happy to add this course to my normal rotation. My group all played really well, actually. I like that this course forces you to use a lot of different tee and approach shots with a focus on accuracy and disc selection over distance. I liked playing here and will play here quite a bit in the future. If the tee boxes were replaced with something better than the rubber mats currently in use or if the mats were simply removed, the most significant negative to the course would be rectified. Overall, a really good place to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finesse is Best

5+    3/16/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: Colicus
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the best course no one knows about. It will test your accuracy. Offers both left and right handers a test. It is both wooded and open.
Cons: Rubber mats get slick in wet conditions. The signage is passable, but, needs improvement. Course is on Guilford College land, so maintenance can sometimes be iffy and there is no developed program here.
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT for big arms. There is only one hole you can really let it rip. It is a great fit for me and I very much like playing here.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of the land.

1    2/2/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets. Variety of shots required: wooded, open, downhill, both doglegs.
Cons: Rubber tee mats can be dangerous after rainfall. No signage at all. 2 tee missing pads completely. Very few opportunities to swing for the fences.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the land, could just use some good pads and signage.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Addition to the Region

1    12/6/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: ABFutrell
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For a new course I was impressed with how playable it is given the existing vegetation.

There's a good mix of shots and lines. Very putter and mid-range friendly as well as two holes you can pull out max-d drivers.

As a finesse thrower, I find this course to be a good course to practice those types of drives and approach shots.

This course is a relief compared to Barber Park. I don't throw past 350 ft nor do I have a sidearm. Guilford Meadows as whole is very fair to different types of throwers.
Cons: Hole # 10's tee pad needs more space for driving/follow through.
Other Thoughts: Another poster mentioned rubber tee pads being installed. My one experience with rubber tee pads due to their slickness resulted in a calf muscle injury. I hope the material used will be much more porous and and grip-pier.

In all, I really enjoyed this course.

Be sure to look ahead or at the posted map at the course. A few holes can be tricky to navigate for first timers. Hole # 4s tee pad does not go to hole 1s basket. Turn 45 degrees to your left and go down the path.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course Playable But Still Under Construction

5+    11/26/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: DSmith
Played: 156  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes; Open, Wooded, Short, Long, and a fair balance between left to right and right to left turning shots.
Cons: I cant make a fair assesment of cons at this time as the course is still under construction at this moment. Issues with tees and signage are at this time temporary as is clearing. Its still very raw.
Other Thoughts: As I stated above the course is still under construction but the baskets are in. The course will have red and blue level holes when completed but as for now only the red level holes are in.
As far as tee pads, money has been approved for rubber tees from Innova which should be going in in the next few months or so.
Tee signs are also in the works and being made by a few students of the College as I type this review out.

A course map is located in the kiosk by the Community Garden

arking is a minor issue right now but additional parking is available at the Friends School next door on the weekends and the tennis courts during the week.
Do not park in the grass as they will begin ticketing/towing soon.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.