Greensboro, NC 
Guilford Meadows Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #7 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Tight and technical but fair

1    5/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: asromatifoso
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs and easy to navigate.
Nice variety of holes. Many left to right and a few right to left holes through tight tree-lined tunnels. Some longer open holes through the meadows. You will need to throw forehands and some fairly big hyzers in addition to your standard backhand. If you aren't accurate, getting out of the trees may require some creativity. I threw two or three from my knees, a couple of tomahawks, and a low forehand skip to get out of trouble. That said, I made a couple of birdies and my playing partners made more. You can score if you can hit your line; accuracy and intelligent play are certainly more important than distance here.
Baskets are all in good shape and fairly placed.
Some small elevation changes and some uphill/downhill putts lend interest to the course.
Not crowded at all; we saw one other group as we were leaving and that was it for the entire morning.
Cons: Tee boxes are awful. Tee pads are slippery and too short. We teed off from beside them where possible but on a few holes there was no choice due to trees right by the box. Absolutely the worst tee boxes I've seen.
Rough is really high in the meadows holes, leading to some searching for discs.
Other Thoughts: I played my best round ever here and am very happy to add this course to my normal rotation. My group all played really well, actually. I like that this course forces you to use a lot of different tee and approach shots with a focus on accuracy and disc selection over distance. I liked playing here and will play here quite a bit in the future. If the tee boxes were replaced with something better than the rubber mats currently in use or if the mats were simply removed, the most significant negative to the course would be rectified. Overall, a really good place to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fix the Tees and Rating will Improve

5+    4/29/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: skadoosh0019
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A different sort of course from nearby Johnson Street and Patriot. Tight, heavily wooded, and technically challenging in several places.

Cons: - Unreasonably thick underbrush on many holes. Guilford Meadows will murder you if you miss your line.

- Yes, its called Guilford Meadows. But the course needs to be better maintained on the grassy holes, specifically 9-13. Several holes you are forced to walk through knee high grass to get to your disc, because there is no real mowed "fairway". During the summer months this is not going to be a pleasant experience.

- Tees. Oh, god, these tees. They use a rubber frame that from what I understand is supposed to be installed in a wooden box with gravel underneath. It holds the gravel in place and gives a nice even surface somewhat like concrete when installed correctly. What actually happened at Guilford Meadows is they just slapped the rubber frame mats on the ground and called it a day. They're too short, and if there has been any sort of precipitation lately you will be unable to trust your footing on your tee shots. They really need to re-do the tees.
Other Thoughts: I gave it a 1.5 but I still play Guilford Meadows all the time. They've recently installed new tee signs, which are quite nice, and cleared out some small trees on a few holes (#1, in particular, is now a much more reasonable hole after the work they did). I think if they fix the tees this quickly jumps up to a 3 for me, as it provides a unique experience compared to the other courses in the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Out into the Meadows and Back Again

1    2/13/2016   2/13/2016
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 56  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Guilford Meadows is an interesting little course situated at the far corner of the Guilford College campus. This secluded parcel of woods and meadow land is a nice getaway and a fairly interesting place to play disc golf.

For an eighteen hole course, most of the holes here are actually quite short. This is made-up for with mostly well thought out tunnel shots through the woods. I was impressed by the good balance of both left and right hand dogleg holes which test both players' forehands and backhands. Many of these short holes are definitely able to be birdied with a good approach. Often, on courses where there is overall little length variety, play can become monotonous but I actually felt like most of these holes presented unique challenges.

All of the tees are laid out in rubber mats which for the most part are in pretty good shape. Baskets are in good shape and a really nice attempt at tee signs has been made (though see below, they are mostly destroyed). Kiosk at the small parking lot helps guide players to the first tee.

My two favorite holes were 1 and 8. 1 is a nice straightaway hole through and ample tunnel to a basket that sits on a raised mound. Long putts are a fun risk/reward situation. 8 is a really pretty RHFH hyzer up hill to a basket nestled between two rows of trees..
Cons: Upkeep at this course is a major con. There is trash and litter strewn about. The hole signs, which looked to have been handmade and probably took some significant work to make, have almost all been knocked over or destroyed. That is unfortunate because they looked to have been high quality work. They would have also helped navigation because a few of the baskets are blind from the tees, and finding the rubber mat teeboxes is sometimes a bit difficult without navigational aids. I would recommend bringing a map, especially for a few tricky walks on the back 9.

There are a few holes that are headscratchers. 7 is a short snapshot dogleg to the right. I really struggled to see an actual path for a disc to fly to navigate that curve because the start of the hole requires a very straight flightpath. 13 is another short hole that appears to be a short RHBH hyzer down to a tucked basket, but getting down to the basket the golfer realizes there is actually no approach to the basket whatsoever other than the poke-and-pray method due to all of the trees. I got lucky and ended up on the green with a tomahawk, but even on the green, I was almost completely blocked out from the basket and had no putt.

As has been mentioned on other reviews, there is certainly a lot of "late trouble." Many of the baskets are tucked in very tight locations and some greens have a lot of small trees on them - I was faced with a few putts that forced me to lay up to the basket. I am not sure being forced to pitch out while being on the green is necessarily a good design feature.

Much of the underbrush here is very thick. I noted above that there are a lot of birdie opportunities, but there are also plenty of places where a stray kick off of a tree can land a player in serious trouble and needing multiple throws to get back to the fairway.

I was also not a huge fan of the holes 9-11 out in the "meadow." It was a weird transition to go from tight lines on nearly every hole to three straightaway holes out in a huge field. Hole 10 needs a redesign - there is an electric fence that is on the back of the green and I don't really think that is a safe idea. If fitting 3 holes into that field is a necessary course feature, there has to be a way to do so that keeps the electric fence out of play.

The last con is access. The course seems to be closed down at times for cross-country practice.
Other Thoughts: Guilford Meadows is a fun course. Even though the hole length variety is minimal, most of the holes really kept my interest. There are a few screwy hole designs; overall the course seemed to be a fair, balanced test of disc golf. The difficulty is high enough to keep a player's interest but not extreme (except for some of the rough that I mentioned above).

The course does suffer from lack of upkeep and that was one of the major detractors I noticed - broken down tee signs and tons of trash scattered about. It does seem that there is a DG club from reading some of the signage and I hope that they are able to keep discs flying at Guilford Meadows. I thought this course was most certainly more enjoyable than the reputation it tends to have in the area. It is by no means a worldbeater of a course, but it is certainly a serviceable loop. With more upkeep and a few of the "little things," it could be much much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    8/22/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 275  Reviewed: 274  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course that offers a nice variety of open and wooded holes that caters to newer players. There is a bit of length here but nothing above the three hundred range and experienced players should find they can go at most pins from the tee, while rookies should not have to undertake too many throws to reach the basket. The wooded holes offer turns to both directions and even some quick elevation changes to introduce new players to different types of throws. Number 2 is particularly nice: the hole starts in the open where the player aims for the entrance to the woods then it is down and up to the pin. 3 plays alongside a shallow creek, introducing a little water challenge with too much danger.
A few of the signs are down but the majority of the holes have a well-done wooden placard with a drawing of the hole and an arrow pointing to the following tee. Even if you forget, it is usually fairly obvious where to go. Nice flow with no real navigation issues.
Cons:
My least favorite type of hole is the open hole where the fairways are mowed out of tall grass, leaving "rough" of knee-to-waist high grass. These are still open holes: the disc can fly unobstructed, no matter where you are throwing from. All this does is make you walk through high grass. I have occasionally seen this done to an ok effect, at a difficult course where landing zones are mowed on par 4s instead of straight fairways. But on a course aimed at beginners, all this will do is add frustration. And there are about six of these holes here. Combine that with a hole or two that will have said beginners throwing down fairways lined with grabby pines and you've got a bunch of elements that don't quite line up with the skill level aimed at here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Looking better!

5+    7/26/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 60  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a really nice piece of property next to a community garden.

The Innova Discatcher baskets are in great shape.

I have played this course several times and have only run into one other person playing. So it is not likely to be crowded.

The fairways are in much better shape than they were when I played this course last year. That one other golfer I met is named Rob and he has been doing some work on the course, with the permission of Guilford College.

The signs are new to me and pretty cool. Some were missing and others laying on the ground beside their makeshift posts, though.

There is a nice mix of left, right and down the middle basket placements. You can air it out on 9,10,11, where fairways are clearly mowed and the rough is only 7 or 8 inches high, so finding discs is no issue.



Cons: Some of the baskets (particularly 3,4,13) are surrounded by trees that make them like a fortress. Possibly the only option at an ace run is to throw a spike and hope for the best.

The rough here is rough. The only saving grace is that in most places it is so thick that your disc won't go far into it. The trees here are grabby. I've had more discs stuck in a tree on this course than all others I've played combined. There are a few other places where you are forced to throw way high or low due to limbs.

Some of the lines and gaps on this course are tight, tight, tight. This may be a pro for others, but I'd prefer a little more room to maneuver.

There was trash all over the course. I will be armed with a trash bag when I return. It is probably not students doing this as there aren't many here over the summer.

Navigation is not intuitive, so take a map or go with someone who knows the course.

The rubber mat tee pads aren't that bad, but some are really short.
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly wooded other than 9,10, 11 which are in an open field. There are sharp turns left and right to baskets. Hole #1 provides the hardest gap as you throw about 60 feet in the open to a six foot gap between some trees into the woods.

On our second round we took turns spotting, as there are a lot of blind throws. On hole #6 the basket is blind and to the right. Do not throw to the basket you can see straight ahead, that is 17.

Even with the negatives, this course is fun and could be a real gem with a little more TLC.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well... it's unique!

1    4/13/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Atmosphere: The course encompasses a few different areas that have a mix feel to them. The first couple holes have a grove feeling with undulating terrain. Then you pop out in to an area of congested cedars and the course thins out as you go farther in until you get to some open meadows. Then you reverse that towards the end. It's a quaint little area that sits next to a community garden, pretty cool digs for this type of course; it also has a small creek that runs through parts You probably won't run in to many other people out there.

Layout: Overall it's a short course with tight lines and a few open holes thrown in.

For the most part I think the course strives to create some challenge given the general short length of the holes, and it achieves that goal as well as giving you some interesting lines and gaps to hit.

You definitely have to think about how you're going to attack a few holes by working some unusual lines or just pureing a tiny vertical/horizontal gap.

I think this is a good place to come work on your short game because it exaggerates the technicality of true courses in some areas.

It does mix up the shot types and hole types which is a plus, you have some tight holes some less tight holes and then some open ones.

There's not a lot of elevation change but some interesting bits of it as you go through the place.

The flow is good and the few parts that can be confusing are short walks either way so you should never really get off track.

Equipment - Rubber mats, the eh kind but better than nothing. Baskets seemed in good shape. Some tee-signs on some holes, not all. Course map at the beginning.

Cons: Atmosphere - Not the most secluded place ever, next to a school and some houses back up next to part of it. I could see this place being grown up during parts of the year if nobody is caring for it.

Layout - Some of the holes are just a bit to tight for my liking, I think part of that has to do with the cedar branches growing in to the fairway and nobody cutting them back. They also cut some greens in to really tight little areas, I like the idea of it and where they were going it just seems a bit to much in most cases.

Some of the holes are just to short to be that interesting and are open to just dropping an OH over the top instead trying to navigate a really tight line. A few of the more open holes are more like ace or die kind of shots.

Equipment - The rubber pads could be better. Some holes have no tee sign.
Other Thoughts: Again I think if you're local this is probably a fun place to come throw every now and then, maybe get some practice in. Overall it's not a well rounded course and definitely not something to go out of your way to play.

There's some really cool landscapes and features within the course but overall it's just not big enough to sustain a larger and better course, it is what it is.

I do think they could of maybe put a 9 holer with short/long pads and possibly better utilized the area but again, it is what it is.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sad state of affairs

1    2/20/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: TheTeeboxCo._Levi B.
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: location
Cons: everything - no one maintains this poor thing.

supposedly the student body has a group who "runs" the course but no signage, pads, baskets, etc. have been updated in far too long
Other Thoughts: great location and could be a little gem but complacency and lack of interest have taken their toll

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Finesse is Best

5+    3/16/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: Colicus
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the best course no one knows about. It will test your accuracy. Offers both left and right handers a test. It is both wooded and open.
Cons: Rubber mats get slick in wet conditions. The signage is passable, but, needs improvement. Course is on Guilford College land, so maintenance can sometimes be iffy and there is no developed program here.
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT for big arms. There is only one hole you can really let it rip. It is a great fit for me and I very much like playing here.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

So, so bad

1    7/5/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: JoeStewart
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: None at all.
Cons: Tee's are rubber mats that you would find outside of a store, and loose on the ground. The Tee's are not marked or numbered. There are no maps of the course.
There is no logical flow from hole to hole. Fairways are not well groomed.
Other Thoughts: Do not play here. It has been open for two years and in all that time no one has bothered to but a single sign. No post for the tee's, no maps, no benches. I can't believe someone from that course had the nerve to even register this as a course on this website.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of the land.

1    2/2/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets. Variety of shots required: wooded, open, downhill, both doglegs.
Cons: Rubber tee mats can be dangerous after rainfall. No signage at all. 2 tee missing pads completely. Very few opportunities to swing for the fences.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the land, could just use some good pads and signage.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.