Layout Extinct

Grand Ledge, MI 
Fitzgerald Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: worthdan Hole #5
4 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful Cliffs

1    7/28/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good amount of elevation change. A couple of left and right hooks. Beautiful scenery.
Cons: Rubber/Concrete pads would be nice, especially considering that you have to pay to play. The baskets are really old and some are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I enjoyed my visit to this park and would come back to play if I was in the area. Unfortunately holes 10 and 11 were closed due to construction on the water treatment plant.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 WATCH YOUR STEP

1    6/24/2008   5/22/2010
Review By: NateDiscFlip
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cool use of area....which is pretty open in many areas, yet technical.....I would say of the two Lansing courses, this one is better, cleaner, and less crowded...probably because of the fee and the fact that its on the good side of town.
Cons: Careful if you do not know the layout....it is in Grand Ledge...and trust me there is ledges in some spots of the course....like 100 feet str8 down.....holes are descent...but the course is far from anything I would rate above a +4...don't play at night unless you have wings or a good tour guide who has you on a leash.
Other Thoughts: Play this course if your in town...but truly not worth the trip if your an out of towner.....but for locals....its a good time.

"don't take this the wrong way" but, ....With such a huge area....."Lansing DiscGolf".....YOU NEED MORE & deserve it for as many of you as there is.....gl

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short and scenic.

5+    11/10/2009   1/25/2010
Review By: DangeRuss
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first pro about this course is the scenary. There are three or four holes on the course that stand out because of the views and elevation changes. There are rock ledges hundreds of feet tall with the Grand River winding through it and plenty of holes that are straight downhill or uphill.

I wouldn't say any of the holes are too easy but they also aren't extremely hard. If it's a short hole, your dealing with a water hazard or a 100 foot drop on the sides of the fairway. If it's long, your going to have trees or a long anhyzer shot or your hands. There also is a good variation of shots you will have to deal with.

This course sets up good for beginers but will still offer a challenge to the seasoned pro.
Cons: Pay to play is usually a con unless your paying for a champioship level course but it costs a few dollars to get in the park.

The biggest con about this course is the lack of teepads and decent baskets. All the teepads here are dirt which makes four season play difficult due to mud and other slippery conditions. They aren't bad areas to throw off of but nothing compared to concrete. Also, there are 2 or 3 baskets which are rusted to all hell and smaller than usual (don't know which kind of baskets they are) but if you aren't too picky about baskets, you wont even care.

If you haven't been here before, you probably will get lost between a few holes. They do provide a map on hole 1 but if you can, ask a local. They will give you (usually) a quick layout of the course and after that, it will be easier to get around.
Other Thoughts: If you just want to play some fun disc golf and you don't sweat the small imperfections of a course, you will have a good time here. The scenary and elevation changes will make up for the lack of teepads and you will want to come back!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad – but could be so much better.

1    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great setting in a nice multi-use park. Who knew central Michigan was so scenic?
Great shot variety with cliffs, water, elevation changes, wooded shots, a few wide open, uphill, downhill, and a few blind shots. Holes really do range from the ordinary to the sublime. Some really unique shots here: Hole 6's fairway is a short but sweeping left turn downhill wrapping around a cliff face. Truly one of the more scenic holes I've seen on any course. Hole 13 has you throwing downhill over a very steep drop-off to a basket about 60-70 ft below you. There are a few other pretty neat holes as well.

Course favors precision over distance. Although there are a few holes where most players can let rip, big arms are not needed for pars and birdies - course all about placement and avoiding trees and other hazards.

Score card with map provided - not the best map, but very useful given course layout and navigation.

Course was clean - did not see much trash. Rest of park was pretty well maintained.
Cons: Tee pads vary from dirt box, to dirt patch to… nothing. Surfaces were inconsistent, and some are VERY slippery in wet conditions (as I was playing in).

Navigation was quite difficult, even with the map provided. Even when you knew the general direction to go, it was hard to tell where the next "tee pad" was, even when you got to it. Saw several bright red/pink spray paint marks on the ground, but it was still hard to tell where you were supposed to throw from most of the time.

Most of the dirt pads were worn in depressions that had become 3-4 inch deep puddles.

Baskets are in pretty bad shape, and the few tee signs that remain often disagree with score card distance (sometimes substantially) - not sure either was right.

What's the deal with hole 18 and the fenced in area on the concrete? Guess it's an obstacle.

Makes me wonder where the park entry fees are going - definitely not into course maintenance.
Other Thoughts: I left this course feeling very conflicted. This course has so much to like: truly unique shots, wonderful scenery, great shot variety, decent challenge, clean park - but there's also a lot not to like: very tough navigation, tee pads, rusty old baskets, last hole was a bit of a let down after the first 17. I really want to rate this course higher, but it simply falls short on too many essential elements.

With some TLC and $$ for pads, baskets and "Next Tee" signs, this could be a truly great course. Each hole on this course was pretty good and fun to play - I really enjoyed the disc golf itself here. It's all the other stuff that goes into making a round a memorable experience that I found disappointing. I've played close to 60 courses, and never have I seen a course that had so many things right while having so many things wrong. All in all, it's still worth playing if you're in the area - just plan to take some time on this disc golf scavenger hunt.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/24/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Course Atmosphere-
This course has amazing scenery! I would have never thought there were canyons/cliffs this big in south-central Michigan.

Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Mostly a technical course, but still has its open holes (a couple with good elevation). The cliff side holes are really fun, a couple of them have to be some of the coolest iv'e played.
Cons:
Course Navigation-
This course is very hard and almost impossible to navigate if you've never played here. There are maps at hole #1 but it doesn't always help and can confuse you worse if read wrong. There was a guy selling discs at hole #1 named "Krazy Larry" who gave us a run down of the layout, even with him telling us every hole we still got lost a few times.

Course Maintenance-
This course has no tee pads (even rubber would be nice to help with navigation). Also most of the signs are gone, and some of the baskets are very old and rusty. The park itself is pretty clean though.
Other Thoughts:
-I badly wanted rate this course higher because of the awsome scenery and a couple unique holes, but the terrible navigation and lack of maintenance hurts the course too much.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

3/2/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: Smoke62
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Usually not very crowed.
Cons: Sometimes overly technical. Trees on almost every single hole, gets tiring after a while.
Other Thoughts: Pretty technical course, lots of hills. Trees are in the way on almost every shot, if thats your thing then this course is for you. Don't get me wrong it's a good course, just not one that I like playing constantly.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.