Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Grand Ledge, MI 
Fitzgerald Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: worthdan Hole #1
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My Home

5+    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Jim Play Two
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Must use many different shots to navigate the coarse. Nice elevation changes with many signature holes.
(#4, #6, #10, #13 and #15 are unique) Trees are in play on almost every hole. May be left or right of the fairway or right in the middle.
Very quiet on the weekends
Cons: Busy during the week and on league night. 1st time visitors, get some help finding your way around the back 9. Easyto spot the rookies because they are found wandering around lost in the woods on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Although I can drive to 6 coarses in less than a half hour, I return to Fitz 4-5 days a week.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: ejvogie
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery! Good use of elevation. Mostly wooded with a few open holes, which is what I like. Forces you to use different shots.
Cons: 16 natural (dirt)'tees, 1 asphalt tee and 1 concrete. The asphalt was a box marked out on a road, and the concrete was a 30x30ish pad with a box marked on it. Difficult to navigate without a guide. Holes 10 and 12 share a fairway in opposite directions.
Other Thoughts: Hole #6 is probably the shortest un-aceable (barring a miraculous bounce) I've ever seen, but also the coolest hole I've played. Downhill and around a cliff wall. I found the course maps available at the toll gate to be fairly accurate, if not crudely drawn. This and Grand Woods made a great day of DG.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A lot of great shots, Some fun downhill ones, water, woods, open. Everything you want is here.
Cons: 2 dollars to enter with a car, if you're not with someone who knows the course it can be hard to figure it out. It's by a sewage plant so there are times it can smell pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: Score Cards are nice, some of the courses can have a huge drop if you lose you go O.B. When we went we found 3 discs in some pretty easy spots, so look out for them!! :D

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fitzgerald

5+    8/29/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: worthdan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course! not very crowded most of the time. mix of open and wooded holes. beautiful scenery with the cliffs and river. elevation changes. straight holes and right and left hooking holes. just an all around great course.
Cons: if you have never played fitz before then it can be a little confusing to navigate. there are maps at hole #1 that will help you find your way but they are a little off. also, most of the time there is a $2 daily entrance fee. you can buy a yearly pass for $15, definitely worth it if you plan on playing here regularly.
Other Thoughts: my favorite course in the area, but some would disagree and pick grand woods which is also a good course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a view

3/27/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: GFDGA
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out, many different types of holes. Uphill shots, downhill shots and very cool rock cliffs and ledges.
Cons: Old cages. Inconsistent teepads (woodchips, cement, and unmarked dirt) made our first round a little confusing. Water hazards on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and challenging course to play. It is well laid out around a nice park with tons of scenery. I'm not a fan of water hazards on courses and though this course had a few, the cages are placed in a fairly safe distance. Excellent scenery makes this course like no other I have ever played. The view of the ledges and river are really amazing. The river strong and full but we played in early spring. Possibly less water to work around in the summer. I'd recommend this course for out of town visits. It represents the beauty of a historic Michigan small town nicely.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/24/2007   5/16/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Elevation, trees, water. You'll need every shot in the bag to do well here. Very scenic and rarely crowded.
Cons: Trees can get a bit monotonous and frustrating after a while. Be careful on a few of the early holes skirting the woods, because it is a steep dropoff and a long way down to rescue your discs. The last few holes are very confusing to find, even if you happen to grap a course map from the park entrance. Also, the last few holes surround a rather ugly part of the park, including a rather toxic looking (and smelling) sewage pit(?) - The last few holes could definitely be rethought, there seems to be plenty of room in this park to put them elsewhere. (update '08) More signs seem to be missing, and tees are even harder to find than they were last time I was here.
Other Thoughts: There is a park fee to enter, which probably keeps the casual players away, or you can buy a yearly pass.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Dont fall off the cliffs

5/8/2002   11/14/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like this course once you get past the first few holes. Technical and tight through holes 4-9 and open up on the back 9.
Cons: Plenty of cliffs to roll down and hike through. First few holes are difficult to locate and play thorough the busiest part of the park.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful scenery and forest. If playing in the Lansing area, get away from Grand Woods every once in a while and take a drive to the Ledges. This place is a great change from Grand Woods.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

10/13/2007   11/7/2007
Review By: rootc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Lots of hills and unique holes.
Cons: Grass tees and course is not marked very well.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to grab a course diagram brochure before you start - it will save you some time figuring out what hole is supposed to be next.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.