Layout Extinct

Grand Ledge, MI 
Fitzgerald Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: worthdan Hole #11
3 / 275ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not bad – but could be so much better.

1    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great setting in a nice multi-use park. Who knew central Michigan was so scenic?
Great shot variety with cliffs, water, elevation changes, wooded shots, a few wide open, uphill, downhill, and a few blind shots. Holes really do range from the ordinary to the sublime. Some really unique shots here: Hole 6's fairway is a short but sweeping left turn downhill wrapping around a cliff face. Truly one of the more scenic holes I've seen on any course. Hole 13 has you throwing downhill over a very steep drop-off to a basket about 60-70 ft below you. There are a few other pretty neat holes as well.

Course favors precision over distance. Although there are a few holes where most players can let rip, big arms are not needed for pars and birdies - course all about placement and avoiding trees and other hazards.

Score card with map provided - not the best map, but very useful given course layout and navigation.

Course was clean - did not see much trash. Rest of park was pretty well maintained.
Cons: Tee pads vary from dirt box, to dirt patch to… nothing. Surfaces were inconsistent, and some are VERY slippery in wet conditions (as I was playing in).

Navigation was quite difficult, even with the map provided. Even when you knew the general direction to go, it was hard to tell where the next "tee pad" was, even when you got to it. Saw several bright red/pink spray paint marks on the ground, but it was still hard to tell where you were supposed to throw from most of the time.

Most of the dirt pads were worn in depressions that had become 3-4 inch deep puddles.

Baskets are in pretty bad shape, and the few tee signs that remain often disagree with score card distance (sometimes substantially) - not sure either was right.

What's the deal with hole 18 and the fenced in area on the concrete? Guess it's an obstacle.

Makes me wonder where the park entry fees are going - definitely not into course maintenance.
Other Thoughts: I left this course feeling very conflicted. This course has so much to like: truly unique shots, wonderful scenery, great shot variety, decent challenge, clean park - but there's also a lot not to like: very tough navigation, tee pads, rusty old baskets, last hole was a bit of a let down after the first 17. I really want to rate this course higher, but it simply falls short on too many essential elements.

With some TLC and $$ for pads, baskets and "Next Tee" signs, this could be a truly great course. Each hole on this course was pretty good and fun to play - I really enjoyed the disc golf itself here. It's all the other stuff that goes into making a round a memorable experience that I found disappointing. I've played close to 60 courses, and never have I seen a course that had so many things right while having so many things wrong. All in all, it's still worth playing if you're in the area - just plan to take some time on this disc golf scavenger hunt.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fitz (can be) Phenomenal if you're Prepared for a Challenge!

1    6/13/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Astronaut_79
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes, mix of wooded and open, a few elevation change holes, nice blind hill/roller hole (10), a couple of water hazards, plus a few holes playing on top of or alongside the ledges! Usually not too crowded, convienent beverage machine, drinking fountains and restrooms with running water (seasonally).

Signature hole 6 (aginst the ledge) is great, hole 13 too!
Cons: Few tee markings, rough terrain and a fair amount of walking (not a great course for new, young, or some elderly players), some small rusty baskets (challenge?), plus one big layout issue on 10/12 hill where you're throwing at each other if others are playing.

Holes 3 and 4 are near a fairly steep hill. I've been down there quite a few times to resuce discs for friends and myself encountering a little bit of trouble. Though it's far from impossible to get down and up, I don't reccomend it and have seen a couple of guys get roughed and scraped up

On holes like 10, 12 and during the walk to 6's tee, keep your head up if others are throwing!
Other Thoughts: When I first played this course years ago, I basically hated it. I found out early on that it had only been a short time since some of the tees had been moved (due to flooding) and the maps hadn't been updated. I had to ask where certain tees were several times! Didn't like occasional small rusty basket!

Lucky for me, I live very close by and have been back dozens of times. For those looking to visit, the updated maps are better, but you will likely spend some time looking for certain tees. Some are spraypainted every so often, but the paint does wear off. Maintainence is pretty good, but there are some leafpiles and brush that'll have you looking at least once if you go off some of the fairways.

That all said, this is a really great course, far better than Grand Woods in my opinion for many reasons. If you make the drive to one of the mid-Michigan courses, or live close and have never been, Fitzgerald is fun and challenging. That's what I call the junky baskets. It feels like you're good if you play well out here!

Usually not too busy with other discers (compated to Grand Woods in Lansing) plus some great scenery, if you know/can figure out where to go!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Home

5+    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Jim Play Two
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Must use many different shots to navigate the coarse. Nice elevation changes with many signature holes.
(#4, #6, #10, #13 and #15 are unique) Trees are in play on almost every hole. May be left or right of the fairway or right in the middle.
Very quiet on the weekends
Cons: Busy during the week and on league night. 1st time visitors, get some help finding your way around the back 9. Easyto spot the rookies because they are found wandering around lost in the woods on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Although I can drive to 6 coarses in less than a half hour, I return to Fitz 4-5 days a week.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: ejvogie
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery! Good use of elevation. Mostly wooded with a few open holes, which is what I like. Forces you to use different shots.
Cons: 16 natural (dirt)'tees, 1 asphalt tee and 1 concrete. The asphalt was a box marked out on a road, and the concrete was a 30x30ish pad with a box marked on it. Difficult to navigate without a guide. Holes 10 and 12 share a fairway in opposite directions.
Other Thoughts: Hole #6 is probably the shortest un-aceable (barring a miraculous bounce) I've ever seen, but also the coolest hole I've played. Downhill and around a cliff wall. I found the course maps available at the toll gate to be fairly accurate, if not crudely drawn. This and Grand Woods made a great day of DG.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/24/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Course Atmosphere-
This course has amazing scenery! I would have never thought there were canyons/cliffs this big in south-central Michigan.

Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Mostly a technical course, but still has its open holes (a couple with good elevation). The cliff side holes are really fun, a couple of them have to be some of the coolest iv'e played.
Cons:
Course Navigation-
This course is very hard and almost impossible to navigate if you've never played here. There are maps at hole #1 but it doesn't always help and can confuse you worse if read wrong. There was a guy selling discs at hole #1 named "Krazy Larry" who gave us a run down of the layout, even with him telling us every hole we still got lost a few times.

Course Maintenance-
This course has no tee pads (even rubber would be nice to help with navigation). Also most of the signs are gone, and some of the baskets are very old and rusty. The park itself is pretty clean though.
Other Thoughts:
-I badly wanted rate this course higher because of the awsome scenery and a couple unique holes, but the terrible navigation and lack of maintenance hurts the course too much.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful scenery abound!

2-4    10/17/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --
--Scenic course worth playing!!
--Great signature holes that really make this course special. I love hole #6 (it goes down hill next to a cliff and creek). Hole #5 is also highly scenic and challenging with big tree's in the way, and hole #10 (big dog leg right) is unique.
--The course makes use of good elevation, there are a good amount of trees, and some water holes sprinkled in to add to the challenge.
--The course has an excellent variety of holes it offers.
--The course is overall clean and enjoyable.
Cons: --
--There are some major cons/flaws that are hurting this score of this would be excellent course.
--Some hole placements are not very logical. I found myself walking back the hole I just shot to shoot the next hole which can be dangerous if you have people waiting to shoot.
--My major gripe is nothing is marked, or marked well. There were maps that really did not help us find the holes.
--Tee pads are all natural and would make play in wet and slippery conditions hazardous.
--The baskets are old and worn, so don't catch the disc as they should.
--Watch out for some steep cliffs, it could be a pain trying to find your disc!
--I would not attempt to play this course in rough slippery weather. Winter play seems out of the question.
Other Thoughts: --
Nice area, I hope that they mark the course to make it easier to play. Cool locals easy to ask for help. I played a tourney and had a blast but we still had trouble locating holes!!! Don't overdrive #11 it is the easiest hole to go for a drink.

A nice looking park with more then just disc golf to offer. It has a full skateboard park. The course is beautiful, ample parking, picnic areas, and bathrooms.

UPDATE August 2010
Played recently, new holes added old ones taken away. Construction has made the course somewhat unplayable. 5$ fee for out of county residents to steep for what this course offers. No signs dangerous play on some holes. Totally not worth playing and with the fee they should put some effort into making this course better. As of now course is incomplete and in DIRE need of upgrading.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course! Bias Review!

5+    8/13/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.4 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: First of all, I started playing here. Don't let that sway your opinion due to bias because this course is really a gem. This park is part of Michigan History. There are sandstone cliffs that rival anything in the lower peninsula. The local colleges train in rock climbing here. I know I've said nothing of the play because it speaks for itself. This park is full of great views, great climbs, great hikes, and a few hidden treats, like old mining caves, and blue lagoon quarries. Ok, the play. You've got 18 good baskets, double chains. Great placement, and layout with some really nice big shots. There is great elevation for this part of the state. You've got water on 6,7 and 11. Although even moderate players don't fear the water here. There is a really nice mix of open and tight shots with the back 9 being a little more wooded. There's bathrooms, water and soda machines, cool people. There's a great party store just down the street, and Grand Ledge is a great town to visit otherwise.
Cons: During the hot summer and times when the wind is just right, the water treatment facility come into play. Yeah it reeks! Should only effect your play on three holes. You have to pay during the warm season. 2 bucks a car. Locals use a year pass or walk in. This park needs a good set of tee signs!! You can get lost if you're not accustomed to many courses.
Other Thoughts: I know the delight of playing courses for the first time, it seems like every hole is great the very first time you see it! Since I've learned here, played here 1000 times! I don't have the same luxury of knowing what playing this course is like for the first time, (i can't remember and I sucked than). I can imagine however because there are some really sweet holes here! There are some "what the crap?" holes here too, but overall you'll enjoy your trip to Fitzgerald Park. Don't forget to sign a picnic table, or spot a hippie!

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/19/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice, moderately wooded park. Holes 10-11 offer nice tee views on hills near river. Low entrance fee ($2). Holes that wind through big trees on front nine offer play similar to McGraft Park in Muskegon, with the exception of signature river holes along cliffs (6 and 7). Holes on back nine in less developed part of the park are my favorites. Met some cool locals during Harvest Doubles tourney.
Cons: Poor old baskets on many holes, poorly marked and very hard to navigate, poor unmarked tee pads (especially hole 9, with no signs and no visible teepad). Some teepads identified by spray paint on nearby rocks (WTF?), Cliffs on holes 13 and 14 make winter play difficult. Map of course does little to help navigate.
Other Thoughts: This course needs better baskets, better signs and better tee pads in a big way. Implementation of these improvements would up my rating by a full star. However, as is, Lansing-area courses are generally outclassed by those in Ludington, Ann Arbor and Kalamazoo.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A lot of great shots, Some fun downhill ones, water, woods, open. Everything you want is here.
Cons: 2 dollars to enter with a car, if you're not with someone who knows the course it can be hard to figure it out. It's by a sewage plant so there are times it can smell pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: Score Cards are nice, some of the courses can have a huge drop if you lose you go O.B. When we went we found 3 discs in some pretty easy spots, so look out for them!! :D

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fitzgerald

5+    8/29/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: worthdan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course! not very crowded most of the time. mix of open and wooded holes. beautiful scenery with the cliffs and river. elevation changes. straight holes and right and left hooking holes. just an all around great course.
Cons: if you have never played fitz before then it can be a little confusing to navigate. there are maps at hole #1 that will help you find your way but they are a little off. also, most of the time there is a $2 daily entrance fee. you can buy a yearly pass for $15, definitely worth it if you plan on playing here regularly.
Other Thoughts: my favorite course in the area, but some would disagree and pick grand woods which is also a good course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.