Layout Extinct

Grand Ledge, MI 
Fitzgerald Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: worthdan Hole #14
4 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 What a view

3/27/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: GFDGA
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out, many different types of holes. Uphill shots, downhill shots and very cool rock cliffs and ledges.
Cons: Old cages. Inconsistent teepads (woodchips, cement, and unmarked dirt) made our first round a little confusing. Water hazards on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and challenging course to play. It is well laid out around a nice park with tons of scenery. I'm not a fan of water hazards on courses and though this course had a few, the cages are placed in a fairly safe distance. Excellent scenery makes this course like no other I have ever played. The view of the ledges and river are really amazing. The river strong and full but we played in early spring. Possibly less water to work around in the summer. I'd recommend this course for out of town visits. It represents the beauty of a historic Michigan small town nicely.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/24/2007   5/16/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Elevation, trees, water. You'll need every shot in the bag to do well here. Very scenic and rarely crowded.
Cons: Trees can get a bit monotonous and frustrating after a while. Be careful on a few of the early holes skirting the woods, because it is a steep dropoff and a long way down to rescue your discs. The last few holes are very confusing to find, even if you happen to grap a course map from the park entrance. Also, the last few holes surround a rather ugly part of the park, including a rather toxic looking (and smelling) sewage pit(?) - The last few holes could definitely be rethought, there seems to be plenty of room in this park to put them elsewhere. (update '08) More signs seem to be missing, and tees are even harder to find than they were last time I was here.
Other Thoughts: There is a park fee to enter, which probably keeps the casual players away, or you can buy a yearly pass.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

3/2/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: Smoke62
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Usually not very crowed.
Cons: Sometimes overly technical. Trees on almost every single hole, gets tiring after a while.
Other Thoughts: Pretty technical course, lots of hills. Trees are in the way on almost every shot, if thats your thing then this course is for you. Don't get me wrong it's a good course, just not one that I like playing constantly.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dont fall off the cliffs

5/8/2002   11/14/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like this course once you get past the first few holes. Technical and tight through holes 4-9 and open up on the back 9.
Cons: Plenty of cliffs to roll down and hike through. First few holes are difficult to locate and play thorough the busiest part of the park.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful scenery and forest. If playing in the Lansing area, get away from Grand Woods every once in a while and take a drive to the Ledges. This place is a great change from Grand Woods.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

10/13/2007   11/7/2007
Review By: rootc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Lots of hills and unique holes.
Cons: Grass tees and course is not marked very well.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to grab a course diagram brochure before you start - it will save you some time figuring out what hole is supposed to be next.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.