Yakima, WA 
Wide Hollow DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #8 (Taken 11/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Played many similar courses but still fun.

2-4    7/23/2015   7/25/2015
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide Hollow is one of those courses us course baggers have encountered several times; green grass, fairly open, multi use park, family friendly 9 holer in the middle of nowhere. Although this course is very similar to others it's still quite a fun course and just different enough to entertain us. The course uses several large trees with massive branches/leafs hanging over fairways making some air shots irrelevant and rewarding those that can throw rollers 320+ feet. Most of the hole distances are at or slightly over 300 feet adding challenge to those who are new but mostly this course is designed at those just past the new stage, maybe those starting to figure out trick shots, developing consistent throws, shot selection and being a better course general.

I'm not usually a fan of many mandos but the four that are here are used to make the course play tighter than it actually looks like from the street or parking lot. They also make a few left to right holes so lefties and forehand players like myself get a shot at glory. RHBH only players will have to learn a roller, turnover or FH for a few holes but if they don't it won't make or break them.

Baskets, teepads, etc. are all really nice and in good shape. There are a few porta potties in the parking lot as well. Tee signs tell distance and seem fairly accurate, no signs of vandalism yet on the baskets or tee signs.
Cons: This course although fun is simply too easy for most of us who have been playing a while and with no other courses in the area the only clientele playing the course will be locals and baggers passing through; just not worth driving to. I found most of the holes easy to reach with rollers and when I had a bad drive there was nothing impeding my ability to make par.

Several holes throw right down or across heavily used paved walking trails and could be down right dangerous. Most of us are good about it and realize pedestrians have the right away but I think you need to account for those who will make bad choices and should have kept holes away from the paths a little more. This could be an issue in the future but I really hope not, hopefully the locals will keep this in mind.

I don't really understand holes six and seven. I'm normally not opposed to high grass, rough or whatever you want to call it but throwing over an area of impending doom for your disc, or legs doesn't make much sense anytime especially when playing to the two worst holes on the course. Neither of these holes add much to the course, in fact they take away from it and really don't match the rest of the course in any way almost like they were flown in from somewhere else. They also make you play back in on your self destroying course flow. Seems like another magic number problem where they needed two extra holes to make nine so they were thrown in; I believe the course would be better with these left out and kept a seven hole course.
Other Thoughts: I know the designer of this course, he is a good guy and I think he did a decent job with it and although I disagree with a few decisions it's still a fun little course for those in Yakima. You could bring your spouse, kids and pets here and have a picnic and play a round of golf with your family.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Yakima Course Challenges You With A Variety Of Holes!

1    9/1/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Randall Park is a fairly large green park with just enough of a rolling terrain and enough mature trees to make the course interesting and challenging.

Although it's only a nine hole course, the holes are long enough and tight enough in places to make your work for birdies and pars but still open enough for families and beginners to enjoy the course also.

The baskets are brand new and blue. The tee signs are simple with the hole #, distance and par. The pads are gravel and rough. They're probably the weakest link in the course to date.

Seven of the holes play in the lovely grassy area of the park while #'s 6 & 7 are over the fence by the creek in the undeveloped part of the park (Where the snakes and the bees roam). More on this wildlife later. 6-7 are much tighter than the green grassy park holes and feature more danger with the creek and very thick nasty disc eating rough to contend with.

Several holes feature low tunnels perfect for throwing your rollers (1, 3 and 8). # 9 finishes with a fun little hyser ACE run. And this also completes the loop back to the start of the course and the parking lot.

Cons: The gravel tee pads will always be rough and uneven. I'd love to see them replaced with patio blocks or concrete.

Previous reviewer scubasteve509 encountered snakes on the wilds of 6 and 7 while I stepped on a bees nest while looking for my local guide, Casey's disc. I got stung 11 times and was pretty miserable for a few days. Be careful in there!

Besides the snakes and bees, 6 & 7 are tight and probably not going to be that much fun for someone who can't pinpoint their throws.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice little nine hole course. it's green and pretty and somewhat shaded here in sunny Yakima. There's places to air it out. There's holes to roll on. There are ACE possibilities. There are the two tight technical holes with danger. And with all that, it's still a pretty good course to bring a newbie although I might advise having them skip 6 & 7. The nasty rough, creek and overall hostile environment over there might merit skipping those two holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Snakes on a Course!!

5+    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: scubasteve509
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love it, great open fairways and overhead trees/branches add a great level of difficulty.
Cons: Snakes run rampant on holes 4, 6, and 7. Seriously bad on 6 and 7. Won't take my kid or dog on those anymore :-(
Other Thoughts: Add 9 more and why don't we have s par 4/ .across the big field?!?!?!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great nine hole

2-4    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: used disc seller
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the first nine hole courses that did not feel super cramped. I actually used my driver to drive most off the holes instead of my putter. Great variety of left and right holes.
Plenty of old growth trees to add some challenge. Water is around but not to likely to be landed in. Not many holes are an easy birdie actually had to work for par on most of them.
Easy to find and parking was close to start and finish.
Cons: No signs in yet so it was a little tuff to find the t-pads but it is a new course and I am sure they are working on it.
T-pads are made of gravel right now and are pretty uneven. Hope the do concreat or something more even.
I did have to wait for quite a few dog walkers and there was snow on the ground, not sure if it will be hard to play when the weather is nice. They were all friendly but pretty slow.
I did not see a playground for kids close by, my kids like it when there is a playground.
Other Thoughts: Great to see a course in Yakima. Hope to see more.
Happy that there was a porter potty, most parks don't have restrooms especially in the winter.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/25/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: jherber
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: For a new course its fun for beginners or for those that havn"t played for a while its great that Yakima has a course that any one can play
Cons: holes number 6-7 can eat your disc if you dont aim right
Other Thoughts: fun

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Good beginner course with a few technical shots.

2-4    11/18/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: creach09
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. Good technical shots and nice open flat shots.
Cons: You can lose discs in the marsh on holes. 4, 6 and 7. You need to wait for people walking around in the park.
Other Thoughts: Very nice baskets! A really nice park in Yakima! Can't wait for it to expand to a 18 hole course.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.