Altoona, PA 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Welcome to Disc Golf.

2-4    5/4/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just 5 minutes from many things to do in Altoona... eating, shopping, hangin' at the mall, etc. and just a few more minutes to another 9 at Valley View Park. About 5 minutes off of I99. In a nice neighborhood park with walking trails, a playground, picnic tables, etc. The course begins and ends close to the parking lot. Bathrooms on site.

Brand new Innova Discatchers. Nice, large, framed in rubber tees that were obviously given a lot of thought and laid very nicely. Simple but effective tee signs with hole #, par and distance. (If I'm not mistaken, the frames for the signs are made from school cafeteria trays and I think that's awesome!) Plus the signs are placed a couple feet in front of, and about 5 feet to the side of, the tees so they're totally out of the way. And they ALWAYS face the direction of the basket/fairway which is very helpful. Next tee signs are also now in place, although they look to be temporary.

(For comparison purposes for the following information, I throw RHBH about 325' off the tee on level ground.)

The holes are relatively short, ranging basically from 150' to 250', but are well thought out. #1-2 and #7-9 play basically level, through large hardwood trees. For the most part there is generous space between the trees, allowing for more than one path to the basket off of the tee. So off the tee there are straight , hyzer and anhyzer lines to try.

Holes #3-6, in contrast to the others, play through the woods on reasonably wide fairways and take advantage of the elevation changes on the property. The elevation change may not be "dramatic", but it is substantial. I found it interesting how the 4 wooded holes worked out. #3 is a downhill hyzer. #4 is an uphill hyzer. #5 is a downhill anhyzer. And #6 is an uphill anhyzer.

I feel that this would be a great beginner course, especially the more open holes. The wooded holes would be OK, too, but I would definitely recommend a spotter on the downhill holes.

I only needed putters and mid-ranges off of the tee and this worked out well for me as practice for my "short-ish" game. So if you need big bomb holes, or a great challenge, then this isn't the course for you.
Cons: OK, the course is very short. There's nothing more to say about that.

Currently there are just single tees and baskets. It looks like there might be room to add some alternate tees which could definitely be a nice addition.

The wooded holes could provide the distinct opportunity to lose a disc without a spotter, especially the two downhill holes since they're both blind t-shots. I actually had to search for about 5 minutes to find my tee shot on #5 as it caught an early shrub at the dogleg and, instead of getting caught as I thought it did, it rolled about 75' down the hill and into the woods. The foliage wasn't fully in yet, and the leaves on the ground weren't bad, since it's Spring. I can see this becoming more of an issue in Summer and Fall.

The park wasn't very busy when I played, but even so, I still had to pause a couple times to allow other park-goers to clear the fairway. I could see the course getting congested when the park is busier. When it's busy, you would have to be extra careful to wait for other park users to clear the fairways, and to watch errant throws since the walking paths do run throughout the entire park.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole would probably be #2. It was just a fun little ace run anhyzer for me with a nice, beat in DX Aviar P & A. #6 took the most effort off of the tee as it probably gains 30' or so of elevation. #7 is just a classic looking golf hole. And I really like the way that the #8 green is kind of a funnel down to the basket from the front and right sides.

I enjoyed the course for what it was... a quick, practice round type course for me. It took me less than 30 minutes per 9 holes, taking my time and throwing multiple shots on several holes. Next time, I hope to get my 8 year old daughter, and maybe even my wife, to play with me. I don't think that it would overwhelm them in the least.

What I really like about the course is how it's like a mini-version of just about everything that disc golf has to offer, with the exception of any water hazards. It requires multiple types of shots, introduces you to both "field golf" and "woods golf" and gives you an introduction to elevation changes on a course.

Is this a destination course? Definitely not.

But is it worth playing if you have new people who you want to introduce to the game? Definitely yes.

And what if you want to work on your putter and mid-range approach game? Definitely yes.

Basically, if you're in Altoona it should be worth your time to check it out, especially with Valley View just across town, too. Even if you're at Canoe Creek, it's still probably worth the drive to check it out.

Enjoy!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Technical Toona

2-4    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 67  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a bunch of elevation change in the middle of the course which helps the course. The "longer" holes require you to have nice straight drives. The tee pads are awesome and so are the signs at each hole. The signs on the trees help you get from hole to hole easily.
Cons: The holes are short, but with that said they are well done so you do not always realize they are short. Had to wait a few times for people walking their dogs on the paths through the course. Someone parked their car right next to number 7 also.
Other Thoughts: If you play the course by yourself you can get 9 holes played in about 20- 30 minutes. With the land given the designer did a great job putting a quality course in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great short 9 holer!

2-4    5/1/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: I_Like_Juice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Newest course in Altoona! Great use of the space within the park. Holes are easy to navigate, they flow in a natural direction. I love the more open holes, yet still have trees to get around. Easy to find, park was closed, but yet there is still space on the street to park and walk in without being unreasonably far. Other than the 3 holes in the woods, beginners should be like this course. The rubber tee pads are really nice, much better than a lot of other rubber tees I've played on.
Cons: Must be careful and conscience of other park visitors because of throwing over the walking paths. Looks like a lot of people walk their dogs (poop) here as well, could potentially snatch a disc. The holes in the wooded area are extremely steep, and cannot see the baskets from the tees. Also in the wooded holes it is a bit slippery when it is wet.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is going to be a great addition to the area. Since my 1st review they have put a lot of work into clearing out trees and brush and made this a great little course. My family lives in town, and it will be nice to go get in a quick round while visiting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short, yet still fun!

1    12/1/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First pro is a new course in Altoona! The course is very short, but a very technical 9 holes. Holes 3, 4, 5 and 6 are on a very steep hill-side in the park and quite unique to the area. In most cases you cannot see the holes from the tees so that just adds to the challenge. The tees are very nice and large with new rubber tops that give very nice traction. There are a number of right-turn holes so you'll need some good forehand or anhyzer throws. I imagine come spring and summer, the course would be most beautiful!
Cons: Okay, we all know the holes are short. 'nough said on that. I played this course in the late fall so there were no leaves on the trees (they were all on the ground). I image in the summer this course will be even more difficult as you won't be able to lift the disc quite as much. Also, with the amount of leaves on the ground and not being able to see the holes, it's easy to lose a disc. I spent 30 minutes searching for a disc I lost on hole #3 only to have a buddy find it buried in some leaves and a log. Also, with with the steep up-hill holes, newer players may struggle greatly. I also had a difficult time finding the tees for some of the holes. Particularly when navigating holes 3, 4, 5 and 6. Next tee signs would be a huge help here! Never having been to the park before, I had a hard time finding the first tee. It is located to the right of (if entering from the south side of the park) the pavilion near the center of the park. Keep this in mind to help find the tees: if the hole went down-hill, go right to the next tee. If the hole went up-hill, go left to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed playing this course. I was quite excited to see this course "popup" on the map when I checked earlier this month! Holes 7 and 8 are my favorite as you can finally get a nice hard throw in there. The park has signs that say the park is closed in the winter, but if you station your car on the roads in front of the houses, you can enter the park on foot. At the time of this review, the course is new so I'm sure some of the fairways will be cleared better next year. Right now there are 3 foot tree stubs in the middle of hole 5. If you have some newbies with you, try (or warm up with) an abbreviated round with holes 1, 7, 8, 9. They flow well together.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short but scrappy

5+    11/22/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Highland is Altoona's newest course. It balances lines that favor RHFH (#2,5,6) vs.RHBH (#3,8) vs.dead straight (#1,7,9). Elevation is also balanced between holes that go uphill (#4,6,9), downhill (#2,3,5,8), and pretty much level (#1,7).

Nice grippy tees and a fairly intuitive navigation, which will be even better when we put some "next tee" signs in.

Tight technical shots on holes #3,4,5,& 6 that can send errant throws astray. I think it helps negate the disappointment of the short lengths on these holes.

OB possibilites on holes 7 and 8 with the road coming into play on both. Hole #7 is so precariously placed in the corner of the park that a drive or putt with too much power on it can possibly send you OB.

Hole summary:
#1 - Short 150 pitch to the basket. You can either split two trees that are spaced about 5 feet apart or go around them altogether. Basket is right behind the tree obstacles.
#2 - Very very slight downhill right-turning drive to the basket, which is just shortly tucked into the woods. A sharp turning flick will suit most RHFH players here.
#3 - My favorite: a sharp downhill RHBH hyzer that has two lines to the basket. You can go the long way, or take a tighter/more challenging shortcut to the basket. The basket on this hole is well-guarded by an alcove of trees.
#4 - Steep uphill hyzer drive to the basket. Watch the few small sapling trees that taunt you about 80 feet up from the tee.
#5 - Right turning downhill shot to the basket. As of now, there are some trees that still need to be cleared. I've found that an overhand shot works well here.
#6 - Requires a forehand shot that makes the disc travel about 140 feet up a steep hill lined with brush on both sides. Hole then doglegs to the right another 60 feet.
#7 - The only true shot where you get a chance to air out a driver and also the longest hole (257ft). Clear all the trees peppered along the fairway and you have a nice shot at birdie. But, watch that you don't go on the road, as the basket is placed about 30 feet from the road.
#8 - Nice blind downhill shot to the basket. Two trees line the fairway and require accuracy. Put too much air on the shot and it's also on the road.
#9 - Uphill drive to the basket. Get around a giant oak at the top of the hill and you're looking at a birdie.
Cons: Well, the holes are short. I mean, really short; almost pitch-and-putt short. Over half the holes are under 200ft. With the exception of maybe hole #7, you can get by with a midrange and putter on this entire course.

Highland definitely doesn't favor people with big arms and the tightness of the holes can frustrate beginners.

Park can be busy at times, especially with dog walkers. You'll run into most of the crowd traffic on holes #1,2, 7, and 9, so keep an eye out for other parkgoers.

Park closes its gates in the winter to automobile traffic, so if you visit from Nov-April, you'll have to park somewhere outside the course.

Other Thoughts: I helped design this course, but I've reviewed enough courses to know what's excellent and what isn't. As such, I tried to rate this course as objectively as possible.

Our organization was approached about building a course here about a year ago. Knowing we didn't have much land to work with, we did our best to balance the shortness with a slightly technical challenge. Is it the best course in Central PA? Nope. Is it the best in the Altoona area? Nope, but it's definitely worth a visit for a quick game. Play it in tandem with Valley View for a decent 18 holes.

Our organization's to-do list for 2013 is:
- some tree trimming on the fairways (notably hole #5)
- alternate tees
- "next tee" signs
- practice basket
- Defined fairways and lining the pathways between holes

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.