Course Extinct
Oceanside, CA 
Emerald Isle Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 632ft.   4 / 732ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Top notch

5+    7/30/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: LeBeau
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes
Challenging breeze/wind conditions
Usually not crowded
Good Innova baskets visible from a distance
Really well-groomed course
Ball golfers tend to cooperate in letting you play through
Cons: Sharing the course with ball golfers can be a drag.
Disc Golf is restricted to 4 pm. or later during daylight savings season.
Other Thoughts: Aesthetically this course is one of the best I've played. (As a reference, Milo McIver is the best course I've played.) The course's challenges come mainly from elevation changes and having to deal with OB in the form of ball-golf greens and sand traps. In general, the course requires a pretty good power shot on the drive. There are numerous holes in which the basket is within 15 feet of a ball-golf green, so you may have to putt conservatively on occasion, or grow a pair.
This is my favorite local course by far; the $5 admittance fee is well worth the price, as is the 40 minute drive to get there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Different Kind Of Grass

2-4    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super well maintained course as it shares the grounds with a ball golf course. Amazing tee rubber tee pads with multiple tee pads as well as multiple pin locations. This is a very wide open course as you would expect and there are a couple of nice long holes. There is some great use of elevation change. The club house has a good pro shop as well as more than just snacks for food. If you happen to throw a disc into one of their lakes, they do go diving for discs about once a month and they work really hard to get your disc back to you though you will only have 60 to 90 days to get your disc back. I am not sure if it is always the case but you may be able to rent a golf cart for your round as well.
Cons: You do have to pay a good bit of money to play this course and you will end up sharing it with ball golfers if you do not play this course in the Emerald Isle Open in the spring every year. While the grass is really nice, the way a disc responds on it is very interesting. It is hard to predict if the grass will grab your disc or just let it skip off of it.
Other Thoughts: I did play this course as part of the Emerald Isl Open and had one of my best disc golf experiences yet. I enjoyed the open feel of this course but understand that part of what makes disc golf so great is that there are some really tight places to try and throw your disc through. I would say that this course is definately worth the cost to play it though I will probably not pay to play it until next years EIO if I have the ability to make it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Water holes (3, 9, 15,16) are a thumber thrower's dream. These holes are truly what separate this course from the rest and earn extra points. Manicured, defined fairways as one would expect. Pay-to-play but worth it for the features. Hole 7 is a favorite, a long downhill shot just wide enough to make it reasonable, and perfect for backhand crush drives. Hole 17 is a great 300' downhill RH backhand shot. Rubber tee pads are OK. Skip at the Pro Shop was a big help by stopping by periodically to help me find the next hole, and to avoid ball golfers.
Cons: Kind of tough (but not impossible) to deal with somewhat square group of ball golfers. Not crazy about greens rule (cost me three strokes, maybe putters only?). Most holes are wide open enough for ball golfing, which means none are tight and technical, like for instance, Chavez Ridge in L.A. Busy overall with a 2:1 ball/disc golfer ratio.
Other Thoughts: Need more courses like this with carts and beverages. Move it up to five stars by eliminating ball golf, and planting a few more trees to make some tech holes.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 clean course

6/16/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: booze2death
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: very clean well manicured course
easily maneuvered layout
several very challenging holes
all around beautiful course
Cons: STRAY GOLF BALLS! my buddy got tagged on like hole 4 by a stray ball and wasn't even given warning
if you're too over confident on the water holes you may lose a disc
Other Thoughts: it was a little more expensive of a course but you could see where that money goes. other than always looking over my shoulder for stray golf balls i had a great time at this beautiful course. i look forward to being able to clear those water traps from the pro tees someday soon.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.