Course Extinct
Oceanside, CA
Emerald Isle Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 240ft.   3 / 381ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Don't throw your arm out

5+    4/3/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good driver workout on the wide open course. There are some fun water shots. Some killer elevation change holes.
Cons: Expensive for disc golf. Lacks technical holes to balance it out.
Other Thoughts: A fun course all in all. Bring your heavy discs as it gets windy. And save you're arm...all those wide open looks can be tempting to just unload.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unique playing experience

1    4/24/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 84  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A solid course with a good test of distance. Some very lengthy true par 4s make for a true test of distance. The course itself is very well maintained as you can imagine being on a ball golf course. Well marked with pro and am tees.
Cons: any of the holes are just alike. In an effort to blend with the ball golf course it takes very similar lines and uses the same fairways which leads to a lot of boring straight shots.
Other Thoughts: Being from Birmingham, Al. this course provided a very unique experience for me as I've always been curious to see what its like to have a combined disc golf/ ball golf course. During my particular round there was a pairing of ball golfers playing almost simultaneously with me. I felt like the flow worked well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Top notch

5+    7/30/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: LeBeau
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes
Challenging breeze/wind conditions
Usually not crowded
Good Innova baskets visible from a distance
Really well-groomed course
Ball golfers tend to cooperate in letting you play through
Cons: Sharing the course with ball golfers can be a drag.
Disc Golf is restricted to 4 pm. or later during daylight savings season.
Other Thoughts: Aesthetically this course is one of the best I've played. (As a reference, Milo McIver is the best course I've played.) The course's challenges come mainly from elevation changes and having to deal with OB in the form of ball-golf greens and sand traps. In general, the course requires a pretty good power shot on the drive. There are numerous holes in which the basket is within 15 feet of a ball-golf green, so you may have to putt conservatively on occasion, or grow a pair.
This is my favorite local course by far; the $5 admittance fee is well worth the price, as is the 40 minute drive to get there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Done

1    1/18/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, nice rubber tee pads, great water hazards, can rent golf carts, snacks, beverages, and beer available, pro shop on site
Cons: Played alongside ball golfers, price is a little steep (carts and def worth paying for), we had trouble spotting some of the teepads
Other Thoughts: This was a great disc golf experience. The course as you can imagine is kept in great condition. There are multiple tees for each hole and the tees are nice rubber pads with great traction. The water hazards on this course are what make the course. Another interesting obstacle are the greens for the ball golf, your disc can stick or it can send your disc gliding out of control so watch out for that. We got there when they opened and there were only two other people on the course ball golfing, but by the time we finished there was a line for the first tee, so get there early to avoid the crowds. Also keep and eye out for the beer cart, what more could you ask for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Different Kind Of Grass

2-4    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super well maintained course as it shares the grounds with a ball golf course. Amazing tee rubber tee pads with multiple tee pads as well as multiple pin locations. This is a very wide open course as you would expect and there are a couple of nice long holes. There is some great use of elevation change. The club house has a good pro shop as well as more than just snacks for food. If you happen to throw a disc into one of their lakes, they do go diving for discs about once a month and they work really hard to get your disc back to you though you will only have 60 to 90 days to get your disc back. I am not sure if it is always the case but you may be able to rent a golf cart for your round as well.
Cons: You do have to pay a good bit of money to play this course and you will end up sharing it with ball golfers if you do not play this course in the Emerald Isle Open in the spring every year. While the grass is really nice, the way a disc responds on it is very interesting. It is hard to predict if the grass will grab your disc or just let it skip off of it.
Other Thoughts: I did play this course as part of the Emerald Isl Open and had one of my best disc golf experiences yet. I enjoyed the open feel of this course but understand that part of what makes disc golf so great is that there are some really tight places to try and throw your disc through. I would say that this course is definately worth the cost to play it though I will probably not pay to play it until next years EIO if I have the ability to make it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Water holes (3, 9, 15,16) are a thumber thrower's dream. These holes are truly what separate this course from the rest and earn extra points. Manicured, defined fairways as one would expect. Pay-to-play but worth it for the features. Hole 7 is a favorite, a long downhill shot just wide enough to make it reasonable, and perfect for backhand crush drives. Hole 17 is a great 300' downhill RH backhand shot. Rubber tee pads are OK. Skip at the Pro Shop was a big help by stopping by periodically to help me find the next hole, and to avoid ball golfers.
Cons: Kind of tough (but not impossible) to deal with somewhat square group of ball golfers. Not crazy about greens rule (cost me three strokes, maybe putters only?). Most holes are wide open enough for ball golfing, which means none are tight and technical, like for instance, Chavez Ridge in L.A. Busy overall with a 2:1 ball/disc golfer ratio.
Other Thoughts: Need more courses like this with carts and beverages. Move it up to five stars by eliminating ball golf, and planting a few more trees to make some tech holes.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/10/2007   1/20/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 76  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course layout, sitting on a golf course it is hard to make a great disc golf course flow and not get in the way. this is that course, with three teepads and several pin locations this place will find a way to challenge your game. there is a fair amount of elevation change and some extreme change on the later holes. holes play around water hazard but tee selection lets you decide how much of a hazard it is. the greens and sand traps are O.B. so you don't mess up the ball golf course. i really like this it adds some difficulty as the pins are always near the hazards or the O.B. areas. great mix of short and long holes with a fair amount of lefty and righty shots off the tee. on site pro shop and snack shop. OH you can rent golf carts here.
Cons: hazard retrieval, it can be treacherous but its my own fault for putting it there.
Other Thoughts: even though i play ball and disc golf not all of the ball golfers on this course do, sometimes they can be a bit rude.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ball Meets Disc

2-4    4/5/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ball Golf course, so fairways are very nice, you can rent a cart and enjoy a relaxed round in Sunny SoCal. Good pin placements near OB on many of the holes. Your driver is a must. Good elevation changes. Many deuces for those with accurate 380-400 foot drives.
Cons: Share the course with ball golfers, although I have played afternoon rounds with almost no BGers around. Wide open, so you are mostly working on your drives, but that is a nice change from Morley.
Other Thoughts: Traffic on I-5 can be a pain, which is why I don't go up there much. If I have the time I would rather play La Mirada, even though it is another 60 miles north.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 challenging

2-4    12/31/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The course is clean, well maintanied, and challenging.
- Living in San Diego you can play here to work on distance and Morley for the short game. I play here in the summer and it is a great change-up from Morley or Montiel.
-Many challenging shots with hills behind holes (Don't go left on hole one, or you'll be at the bottom of the hill).
-Be sure to bring your Dragon for the holes where water comes into play. (They send a diver into the ponds once every few months)
-Some great holes for roller shots if you have a good one in your aresenal.
-Holes are clearly marked with maps and signage. Garbage cans and Benches are present.
-Nice rubber tees make for solid driving surfaces.
-Carts are available as well as Beverage (Beer) cart patrolling the course.
-Great Pro Shop with lots of discs and food.
Cons: -Competing with Ball golfers can be difficult, although it can be fun to play both at the same time (when they aren't busy).
-Course is designed with Ball golfers in mind not us. Accuracy is important, shots on the golf green or sand traps are out of bounds.
Other Thoughts: I don't like that they don't allow play on peak Ball golf times. I tried to go at 2PM on a Saturday during the summer and was turned away. I played again recently and upgrded to a 3.5 Disc rating. I was bitter before about the turn away. This turned me off for a while. I realize that ball golf is where the money is for the owner. Beautiful green setting is a great change of pace from the brown of the SD landscape.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Emerald Greens!

5+    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: whaithai
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Par 4's, Lots of OB's, Water Hazards, Sand Traps, Open Fair ways good for Rightees and Leftees. Golf carts and the occasional Beer.
Cons: Just the occasional inconsiderate Ball Golfer and non local Disc golfers who tear up the greens and wreck golf carts and jeapordize the existance of this great course... don't be an idiot!!!
Other Thoughts: I'm proud to say... this is my local course, less than 10 min. from home. Home to the famous EIEIO tournament and currently 2 of my Aces... This course is challenging everytime I play it. Whether it's the massive amounts of OB's and the occasional 15 - 20 mile per hour winds (I may be exaggerating a little bit) this course has helped me become a better player. Thanks to Skip who always has our backs and all the locals who have become like family. Do me a favor, don't be a Con!!! We are trying to get rid of those.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.